(2010) 2010 Brides

angelia> Aiyo! Coz i told him b4 tat he muz propose de mah! Den after ROM liao legally married leh, but still no proposal, so i "remind" him lor. Ya lah, at least he did it eventually. lol... But i told him 'no' a few times, coz i say he din kneel properly. lol...

darrel> Icic... I tot how come so fast sit down tok liao. haha! But do earlier oso gd lah...

elsie> ya lor... I dun tink i'll 4get tat moment bah! lol... Mayb nearer to ur AD ur parents will eventually tink 2 gif u back the ap money leh? Coz my sis was telling me tat she wont let our dad take the ap money (but i dunno how she's gonna do tat), coz her AD is tis yr oct. Coz my sis says tat we're paying for everyting for our wedding, den dad jus 1 2 take $5k wen he din fork out anyting for the wedding, so she said she wont let tat happen.

alicia > so cute ... haha. Actually nowadays, singaporean guys are amazingly unromantic. Me incl. I honestly admit that I dunno what my wife means when she said ... "oh, this place is so romantic" ... i just go ... "er.. ok"

elsie > i just randomly pick one date out of my head marr... how i know its qing ming. My parents also not pantang one.

So now we're going to meet after the ROM :P

alicia> u very strict leiz.... i can imagine in the future you will tell ur daughter if your bf nv propose to u, don't agree to marry him! =)

elsie> y sianz?

darrel> talk earlier also gd.. at least settle the major issue...

angelia> Haha! Coz i told him he not sincere enuff, coz kneel oso nv kneel properly, how to agree?! haha! Eh, mayb hor, i'll tell my daughter her bf has to propose to her 1st b4 they plan for rom & AD. =)

alicia > well, her parents suggested that we go to their house. I think the atmosphere a bit too tense. Want to meet also meet somewhere neutral larr.

I'm planning to bring the nieces and nephew, overwhelm them with numbers, easier to negotiate. =P

ok larr. Got kids around not so tense. ice-breakers =)

darrel> Eh, i told my hubby tat dad's gonna take $5k out of the ap $, he onli say "huh?!", but nth else. It's my sis who's more pissed off wif tis. lol...

elsie> Ya lor, coz my sis is the more domineering one.

alicia: i think cos he knows & understand, although is a custom or so call tradtion.. but nowadays seldom parents will not do that, the cost of living now is so high compare to last time.. aiyo.... alicia... we very cham rite. hahahaa!

elsie> den hold the discussion for a while.. talk to them again some other day...

darrel> i tink outside will be better, rather than at home, who noes wat will happen to the discussion.... '~' but bringing the children is it a gd idea? later they create more noise den ur cannot discuss abt anything n got to meet up again...

elsie> Haiz... Nvm lah! Coz i tink traditionally, it's supposed to be like tat de lah. Bride's parents will request for X no. of tables, den all ap for tat X no. of tables will go to the bride's parents. So i tink it's not wrong tat they take the $$, jus tat nowadays banquets r so ex, so some parents dun 1 their children to be burden by the financial, so gave them part or all the ap $$. Ours are the "traditional" parents bah... Or can try to neg not to gif them so many tables?

angelia: i tried 3 times. failed. 3rd time incurred innocent party too! so now i dun wanna say anymore..

darrel: bring kids if they too noisy will make ppl frustrated & cannot concentrate wor..

well... the atmosphere may be quite intimidating, thats why we're bringing the kids. if not later they go to the restaruant, stack tea cups like those 80's gangster shows. -.-"

elsie > go tell ur parents, u not intending to have kids until europe honeymoon too... =P and after the banquet loss plus saving up for the trip, it will take at least 2 years.

alicia: u are right. but last time when traditionally saying is when alot mother is not working thats why they takes their aps, nowadays alot ppl working ma. thats what my cousin says. moreover im giving my parents monthly allowance too, last time ppl dont..

elsie > thats right. last time once the daughter marries out, the don't contribute to the household income liao. which is why I'm a bit pissed, cos after getting married, my wife will still give her parents money.

elsie> I'm oso giving them mthly allowance, & my mum even ask me 1 day suddenly tat after i got married, i'll still gif her mthly allowance rite? -_-" Bo bian leh, it's like tat de lor...

alicia > actually u can be nasty .. just tell them straight out "no, cos i'll be in debt, so after i sort out my finances, then i'll see what i can do" ...

but say only larr, end of the day still give =P

sometimes must make them sweat a bit too.

i still think my wife tell her parents about "no kids until europe" really champion. but then she told me she want 1 kid to be born in the year of the dragon.

hmmm actualli my mum also requested for 10 tables and keeping the $$, personally i don;t find it a issue as i tink it's a tradition and i don't want to realli make a big issue out of it, afterall it's a happy occasion. who noes they will give us some $ back if they see us sweat when paying the $...

darrel> mayb ur wife can decrease the amt of $ after the marriage?

angelia > the amount that she gives to her family, she will make that decision herself. I don't really want to get into that aspect. $$ issues is always a bit tricky.

darrel> Y muz be born in the yr of dragon? Haha! Aiya, gif my parents allowance is 1 ting, the ap $$ for tables is another, but my mum says if it's her, she'll gif us back the ap $$ for the 10 tables, but not my dad, i'll jus see wat my sis do den follow suit bah...

darrel: ya! my bf also say alot couple stuck over here, cos is like... money problem loh!

i heard & i do agree that we cannot mix up the monthly allowance thingy together with the aps money. we give them allowance is out of our filial rite guys...

im thinking maybe my parents tot after im married out not going to give them allowance that's why they taking it from the aps..

elsie> haha! My parents dun tink tat way, at least not my dad. For him, as long as he's got $$, he'll come home play mahjong till he's got nth left! Now is oso the case, wen he's got $$, he'll play mahjong at home. My mum still alrite, at least she still tries to save. I always tink my dad is quite useless as a man lah, coz he doesnt contribute to the hsehold at all. He's got no cpf, so the mthly mortgage for the hse is paid by my mum & sis, & he stopped giving my mum hsehold allowance for buying veg & food for cooking liao, so my mum is always using her own money to buy tings, even utilities, ppty tax & tv licence fee all paid by my mum, so i'm giving my dad lesser mthly allowance compared to the amt i gave my mum.

mmm .. cos i'm a dragon, and she's a monkey.
if the kid is a dragon, it will boost her luck.
if the kid is a monkey, it will boost my luck.
if its a rat, then boost both ours.

i told her, the factory is hers, what/when she want to produce is up to her.

alicia> my situation is the same as yours.. just that my dad holds a job even higher pay den my mum but he don't give any allowance at all to my mum.. hse he also don't contribute.. i onli give my mum allowance and not to my dad.. i tink it's pointless..

alicia > my wife one not as bad ... but her family, currently her dad is overstressed at work and want to quit (retire), her mum work part time, and her 2 brothers still studying. her parents also the type, got money, spend. dun really save much. so when it comes to $$, everything is a question mark.

alciia > actually u can check on geomancy websites, on the compatibility of the horoscopes. even the star signs also. Also got a lot of aunties tell me larr. when i went korea, one of the tour group aunties is a part time geomancer, she told us the same thing.

angelia> Icic... my dad is a taxi driver, so he earns wat, he spends wat. But i still gif my dad $100 mthly, my mum i gif more, coz she's spending more on us. Even wen i'm schooling, wen i need $$ to buy books or allowance, i haf to inform my dad a few days in advance de, or else no $$ from him. So sumtimes i'll ask from mum lor. Since sec 3, i go teach pte tuition to earn my own allowance, so din really take from them since then le. Dad jus doesnt worry abt $$ or wat de lah, jus dun understand how can he be like tat & i told my hubby nv nv nv to be like my dad, & he said he oso dun 1 2 b like my dad. haha!

darrel> Icic... haha! I tink i cant be bothered wif all these geomancy tingy, there's so many tings u can find & follow, so i rather not start. hehe! PPl always tells my parents tat they r lucky to haf 2 gals (me & my sis), coz both r guai & they no need to worry too much on $$. I tink it's more true for my dad lah.

alicia: maybe they all taxi driver sit down exchange "xin de" thats why they think the same way! haha! but to me is my mom that wan the aps.. my dad listen to majority.

elsie > i never hear b4 .. about months which will get twins.

actually horoscope compatability, it seems quite true. I do click well with monkeys. My ex-gf also monkey, and my niece is a monkey.

every sign will have 2 "friends"

think my situation is unique..I never give monthly allowance to my parents =X both r working but only few mths back my dad resign from his job...I do give them some when I have extra..alot will say I unfilial smore I only child etc..sigh but I do help out paying for some groceries n toiletries at times..do some house work etc..

as for the tables of the banquet, we kind of agree that all angbaos will give to us since we paying for the banquet.

elsie> icic... for mine, is my dad wants the ap, not my mum. So even if they took the ap, i'll ask my mum to take part of it, dun gif all to my dad, or else he'll jus spend it on mahjong!

alicia> u very filial lo... sometimes i do tink whether should i give or not but i always tell myself, no need since he's not payin for anythin at all..

Darrel: dunno my fren say theirs even a list to know is bb guy or gal
Alicia: true. ask ur mom to keep for her groceries.

i think i can print out all ur comments & show my father.. see evidence, nowadays alot parents will help their child for banquet. hahahaa!

Jaq> Tink u r 1 lucky gal! My mum ask for mthly allowance wich is getting higher & higher by the yr, although i dun earn as much. My salary i cant even apply for a credit card, & after deducting cpf, it's so miserable. I'm giving my mum abt 22% of my nett salary every mth, giving my dad abt 6%, pay my bills (internet, hp, hse fone, insurances, trasport), left no $$ to save liao. So most of the wedding expenses r paid by hubby. At least he's able to save.