(2010) 2010 Brides

Elsie: oh.. sad to hear this.. but cannot blame ur mum too... maybe to her she thinks that she take it as part of pin jin, for bringing you up?
Who knows maybe ur banquet will not incur any losses??

angelia: bye bye!!yah..and on pay day super motivated to work one!!hahahah...ooo..i love baking too..haha..i dunno leh..juz like to go supermarket..hahaha..

aveline: ahhaa..yah yah!!i agree with u..v romantic one..to do grocery shopping together..hahaha..

Darrel: but i quite like washin dishes too.. and my husband will be using lotsa of dishes when he cooks.. and the kitchen will be oily.. tats wat i hate most... i dun like mopping the floor...

elsie > so has your husband gone to negotiate the "pin li" with ur parents yet ?

sometimes all this is inevitable, instead of arguing about it, think of how to limit the number of tables you give them.

Took me & geri quite a while to get over this too.

i have not talk to him abt it yet..(maybe he dun mind... i dunno)
but is me that mind all these..
cos im not being sell away(but their thinking im being sell away)i still give my parents money monthly when im away... like now..
so.. sigh...

hi elsie .. for me i was also quite upset why my mum wan to take my hard earned money .. quarreled with her also .. den slowly i start to understand it's a tradition and my mum dun wan to ask alot also .. to her she only wan something within our means like maybe 6 tables then if she needs more tables for relatives/frenz, she will pay and all the angbaos for the relatives n their frenz will go to them ... and normally with this practice, the pin jin will be a small amt only (if no or less tables given means have to give more pin jin)

i have also heard of some people whereby e.g. if they are giving 10 tables to parents n cost of per table is $1000, they will give parents $10k and then all angbaos will go to the couple ..

there are also instances where the couples give+sell tables to the parents.

My wife's parents have 10 tables, but we only plan to give them 5 (which means the ang pow go to them). The remaining 5, either it belongs to us or we will sell it to them (i.e. ang pow they keep, but they pay the cost of the table).

come to think abt it, if we can afford to have a wedding dinner at a posh place, wad is 6-8 table costs compared to the money they spent on bringing us up?

Eve > lucky you. I think geri's mum wants 10 tables flat. cos she says .. "your cousin's husband also give 10 tables, so i want 10 also, can answer to relatives" ... the point was her cousin has their dinner at a restaurant ... not at a $1400/table hotel... *grumble grumble*

Dunno which auntie sabo.

Aveline ... then it will be complicated ... cos u need to figure out which ang pow goes where... hee hee

You probably need 3 boxes. 1 for ur parents, 1 for his parents, and 1 for your friends.

darrel >> my mum not asking so many tables as compared to her fren's son, etc cos she sort of compare costs la .. to her, mine is about $800 x 6 tables already abt $4.8k then still got pin jin mah ... so she's ok lah ...

aiyah ... I've accepted it liao.

Geri is still trying to get over it.. and we haven't officially ask her mum how many tables yet. Now when her younger brother gets married, it should be interesting... see if her mum pay for the tables.

but in conclusion ....

elsie, its tradition I guess. Maybe you can ask your mum how much pin jin she is expecting as well.

At least for mine, her mum said she will only take a token sum and return the rest, but she wants the tables.

I wonder how many digits is "a token sum" ... hrmm

i understand their thinking & the explaination you guys gave.. but i dun agree to their old fashion thinking..hai..
cos is differly from praying or what.. if u dun do u will get back luck.. this is just betwn the family. afterall is abt the money.. not the meaning.

but i tot pin yin is guys side say out how much they wanna give then see we agreed to it?
my frens her pin jin is 6k!.. wah.. that alot hor. haha! then her father return 3k to the guys side.. after all 3k still alot.

pin jin... i dunno, but i think better to ask. Later get an unpleasant surprise again. Give big ang pow, and it comes back empty.

So have you booked your venue ?

to me i think if your parents ask for it...... then give it to them..... they are your parents..... when we are young..... they had work so hard for us......
maybe their thinking is.... if u can afford to give them what they want, you are ready to work for your own future......

i can say what my parents ask for is really really ridicuious, but my husband and i still give her, not a single cents is from my in-law side.......... but deep inside my heart i know that what i gave my parents today will make them really happy and make them feel assure that im indepedant enough to start my family...... and i know that what i give them today, they will not spend it..... eventually they will leave it to their children when they are old....or they will leave it to their grandchildren......

it's something like a cycle thingy......... =)

Sharlene> I'm also not working tmr.. Going for some kind of retreat.. =)

Elsie> Think you just dun take it too hard.. it's a tradition like older folks believe in.. just like An Chuan, GDL which means nothing too much to the younger generation.. Have a good talk with your family bah...

For me, I'm lucky.. Both sides will give our AP back.. Pin Jing is also a token sum.. Token sum should be a four digit in my case...

Darrel> One box is already confusing enough.. and you want 3 boxes.. To make them have a tendency to drop into the friend's box, make it red and big compared to the other 2... haha..

Sharlene> Going to coastal sand resort... It's almost all work.. no play kind.. not exactly looking forward to it... just an excuse not to go to office.. haha..

sharlene: not me upset.... it's someone else =)

maybe casually ask ur mummy.....normally it's mummy who decide...... cos they alot san gu liu po friends....... always compare compare.....lol

shar: wah u like supermarkets that much huh? lol. report wrote finish liao? haha

elsie: take it easy, we are all in the same shoes as u too.

wah tml Jaq, Booy and Shar all not working...so good.

ave: novena got thunder just now? nvr hear leh =P

Booy/Darrel/Aveline: melbourne is nice.. went there twice.. hahs.. my bf's sis now there.. she staying there for long, his parents also there now.. they are PR there now..so SG only left my bf.

thought to working in melbourne 2 yrs back.. but my mum could not part with mi.. and i miss my family and friends here..

morning all!!!

thomas> wat happen to ur wife?

Darrel > u r so rite leiz... i like to cook but nv like to wash... so my bf will be the one who wash up for me.. haha

elsie> have a talk with them again. discuss with your parents or HTB about what is your baseline.. i guess it will be better =)