(2010) 2010 Brides

thomas: yah lor..time flies..next year will be yr AD liaoz..hahaha...eh..me ah..still have abt 4 more mths to 1 year anni..hahaha..my PS will be on tat day..hahah..

deerixp: mine ah..my parents wan 20 tables..but they say they will pay some themselves..but i told them we will juz pay for all 20 leh..so in this case..we shld give pin jin?

Sharlene: ?? for mi.. i think most prob will follow my sis.. that means Ang bao by my relatives for those tables will go to my parents..then we will pay for the banquet tables.. so abt 10k gone for 10 tables.

Sharlene: if u already gave 20 tables.. tt's alot le.. abt 10+k to 20k le..i think.. but if u pay for the 20 tables and u also receive all ang bao from ur relatives.. then the pin jin maybe a few k also bah???

deerixp: oh..we payin for the tables..and my mum say..give us back all the APs..so..i was wondering how much the pin jin shld be..hmz..ok...few k is ok..

Sharlene: usually pple go by tables.. like e.g. 5 tables around 5k.. haa.. usually 5 to 10 tables is quite common bah.. but since ur parents already say dun want tables.. maybe they just wanna u to save for reno or holiday.. =)

deerixp: haha..no la..my dad say..she is jia nu er..not mai nu er..he dun expect anything in return..coz he wans hubby to take gd care of me..tats the most impt..so quite touched..

Sharlene> Think you talk to your parents on your own first.. at least get an idea of their expectation before your bf and family come over.. $$$ issue needs to be extra careful..

Darrel> Wow.. you are going to have a crazy party this weekend.... haha..

sharlene> Some parents just want face.. They want to take a bit more from the man's side.. Then will give back most of it to show that they are not selling daughter.. There's a lot of tactics one... So better to talk to your own parent first..

My new Kai Kai Xin Xin image.. Think finalized version liao.. =)

963785.jpg

shar: no fixed amt, up to ur hubby liao. just give an amt which is ok with both sides since ur parents are not that particular abt it. usually the girl's parents will take part of it and return the rest to the groom's side to show that they are not selling their daughter.

booy: haha so cute! must be very happy DIYing urself right?

Tables is quite tricky. Better to check with the bride's parents first before doing the ti-qing. Later quarrel when the parents first official meetup, also not nice.

And don't expect the parents to give back ang pow from the tables. Give back is a bonus. My wife is still pretty upset over it, partly cos she's also paying for the banquet. heee heee ... now she's on my side liao.

Booy > So cute ... DIYed ? I got something I want
made up into a stuffed toy too ... can outsource to you ? hee hee

Morning all..

Thomas> Quite happy that I have finally completed it...

Darrel> The clothes is DIY.. but the tortoises are ready made.. I spent many days on this, dun think I will have the same energy to do another one.. haha.. You can outsourced to another more pro party than me..

morning all...darrel u are early...

Darrel: yup, my MIL also said that she wun be giving any APs back to us if her relatives happen to pass to her instead of dropping into our AP box, which is why I think ur suggestion of redeeming the carpark in exchange for the AP is a good idea hahahahahhahaa....

Booy: the feeling of satisfaction must be there keke

Morning All,

Darrel/Thomas> thanks for advising me... Wow~ like what you mentioned giving back is a bonus...i gotta informed him regards to this le... think his mama got the wrong info? Oops...

Eve> icic.. Good Luck to u then (:

Booy> i love ur gui gui groom... so cute!

booy > I tried making a pair from scratch for my proposal. I ended up making only one after trying for 3 weeks. The result was quite comical. Its pretty hard to source for the materials too. So I'm just gonna keep quiet when my wife ask me where is the other one.

thomas > early cos i got cheated ... tot it was going to rain and rushed out of the house so i dun have to bring umbrella... now its bright and sunny.

annisan> Thanks thanks.. I love that hat..

The AP thingy has to be communicated properly yah...

Darrel> My bf did a bear bear for proposal... Looks decent but very fragile.. Wanted to deco it up but I dun dare to touch it too much.. haha..

Booy > if you go to my blog, at the header, there is this image of 2 characters... I tried to make those into stuffed toys... and fainted. The proportions too wierd. End up got no eyes and mouth cos I'm pretty hopeless in stitching.

Thomas> yah loh... But mine side de relative quite alot compared to him.... as his parents divorced le.. so only gonna invite his mother side de relative and his frens... haiis~

Booy> hahaha... i love that hat too~

Morning All > Abt the Pin jin discussion matters, how early will u guys arrange for both sides parents to met up n discuss the issue? One month b4 the AD or .....??

kelle > normally about 3-4 weeks before the actual day, the parents need to 'guo da li' so the discussion will have to take place before that.

Another thing to note is, some families may insist that after 'guo da li' already then can distribute wedding invitations.

My wedding is in March, so my wife and I are hoping to get it settled before CNY, so during CNY can distribute the cards while visiting.

Darrel > Mine is also in Mar as well....think my PIL can cum to spore after chinese new year, meaning end feb or first week of mar...maybe a bit too rush..

morning allll~~
snoopy:think ours will discuss at the 1st meetup..hahahaha...

btw ask u all some erm stupid qns:
1. u all got see auspicious dates for gown fitting n PS? n also the auspicious colors of gown n suits for guys..I came across some forums saying they do that...hurhur

Jaq: nope my wife didn't, and we didn't see the need to. Auspicious date only for our AD nia, even ROM we also skipped.

As for colours, all colours except black for my wife cos older generations usually think black is taboo. We are not that extreme I guess hahaha...

Darrel > My husband's hometown is in China (shenyang), while his parents are currently in Italy working, their plans is go back to China to celebrate yr 2010 CNY first, then cum to spore for the pin jin discussion n attend our wedding here..after tat, have to fly there n hold another wedding there...

My Dad n PIL noe nthing over computers...they will tink no sincercity, Elders will have this thinking..Hehe

Jaq > too much trouble ... later u go see liao. the shifu tell u ur auspicious colour is some-wierd-colour... like pink with orange polka dots... then jialat.. want to follow also cannot, but now u know liao, dun follow also cannot.

Ignorance is bliss

Thomas > haha...ya rite, man.. I wish to hold there during May - Jun cos the weather there is the best during the whole yr..n take PS as well..