(2010) 2010 Brides

finally back from RT ! *phew* exhausting.

michelle > yup. Its on 20/03/10 (double check calendar in case declare wrongly) :S

I got a SMS from Colin @ bridal veil. They are having a in house fair (and some 1 day promos) at their shop in Orchard Delfi on the 14th (this sat). Those who haven't sign BS can go check it out.

Their gowns are not bad. But my wife and I didn't pick them anyway... My sis and a friend told me that the designer is ... well... a bit stuck up. But then again, there are some good reviews as well

???

Was busy doing some cross stitch.. hehehe

Darrel: wah RT~~~

Jaq: me too many things to think about it now.. ROM, reno.. haiz..

ying > take it a step at a time lorr. now house hunting.

actually look at it from the optimistic side, its pretty fun. and get to know you SO better. This week we're going house hunting again... Geri told me I have to be the miserly,fierce, disagreeble bad husband, so she can be the bad guy.

Darrel: be a bad guy? u bad husband, she gd wife is it? lol.. me house hunting already over, now is reno soon..

Darrel: hahaha.. jus my interest.. not for anything.. now waiting for my precious moment design to come, and start doing ring pillow.. :P

I did one quite long ago, design is photo of both me and my HTB.. as his birthda present..

Darrel: hahaha.. so she got reason to reject and think about the house is it? Then the agent wun rush you to confirm the deal? hahahah

those coffee-table in the above weddy.... those pages inside the book is soft soft one(like books)?

or is it hard hard one(like cardboard)

im looking at those hardhard pages........... those that photograhers charges thousands of dollars..........

Darrel: not yet.. haven't really start to find ID yet.. we planning for something simple.. so not sure to get ID or contractor..

visha > albumstories one is hard page i think. The other 2 are soft pages.

Personally, i find the hard pages one a bit ... (cantonese) zor-dang (take up space). But thats my preference larr...

I like albums with lots of pages and photos ... soft pages can take 80 pages... hee hee

ying > ID will be another headache i think. sure out to ketok unaware people. Have to do lots of research on that.

darrel: ok thanks..... ya very zor -dang...lol... can see those photographer making alot of $$ from the album...lol

anyone here intend to bring doggy for pre-wedding photoshoot?

visha >> the 2 i provided they have both hard and soft pages i think ..

ying3r >> when ur house come u ask my fren for a quote first loh since no obligations ... do a comparison with contractors de den decide loh .. u still have my fren's contact rite?

eve: ya.. still have.. lol.. i wun forgot.. actually now can start to get quote le.. jus my HTB keep dragging.. cause my blk already start to receive letter from HDB to apply for loan matters..

visha > well ... the markup is high cos need a lot of work to do the layout

on average, when i do a wedding shoot, i spend 12 hours shooting, about 20+ hours doing editing work. There's a lot of small details that need to take care of.

dee: i also not much budget for VG already...... all save for PS...lol

anyway....recently i saw a very 'branded' AD VG..... he charges more than $2500...... the film is soooooooooo articstic..... its feel like a funeral....lol

darrel: editing i understand.....=)
ya wanna ask you a question...... i went to a AD PS today...... he say if i wanna confirm with him... must pay him 50% deposit..... then the balance pay on wedding day. is it the normal practise?

AD VG .... Yang from substance films ?

the 50% downpayment is subjective. Some charge more, some charge less. Depends on the photographer actually.

if you don't feel comfortable, can sound out ... tell him "I pay on my WD, then i got no assurance that you will deliver on time" ...

Visha: i paid 40% for mine... hmm i think as long as i trust the photographer.. payment % should not be a problem.. coz reputation is beri impt to a PG. =)

Mic> Just wanna try out some designing website that eve suggested to DIY the photo layout.. Then can ask some printing shop to print..

Darrel> The ID markup can be up to 40% depending on how branded it is... so expensive...

ylng3r> Practicing for the cross stitch of your ring pillow ah..

deerixp> 40% downpayment is quite a lot manz...

My agent called me today and told me that I might be able to take my house key earlier in early Apr.. But I have not decided on the Interior Designer or contractor.. OMG...

40% markup for ID is quite high... :S

I think can flip more magazines, design my own and find a good contractor ... 40% for a 30K reno ... can go for my europe honeymoon :S

wah lau u all hor, last nite still so active...me really concussed like what Darrel said hahaha...

Booy: thanks! good deal leh

Darrel: me too, this weekend househunting again sigh...

shan: can try some of the more popular ones here like Julia Wedding News, Bliss Bridal, Bridal De Couture, Whitelink, Golden Horse Awards etc. etc. Take ur time and go to those u shortlisted and get quotes from them. Have fun!

morning all....

Darrel> This markup is very high esp for big ID firms.. Now I'm looking at ID, steal a bit of their ideas.. then can go to a reliable contractor to perform the same work at a cheaper price...

Sharlene> I'm getting earlier than expected.. So early that I need to buck up to get someone to work on my house..

Yours is becos the owner wants to contra?

booy: nope..my owner can only sell on 2 apr...=( coz the min occupation period not met as at now...ya lo..but lucky..i only need to do minor reno..u leh?redoin everything???

thomas > I'm going house hunting this weekend too ... got 2 appointments. Then need to go IMM so my wife can do her ROM dress fitting.

Next weekend also house hunting... all the appointments made liao.

Booy > "borrow" ideas u mean ... after all most of them also "borrow" from others marr ... hee hee

Eve, angelia or anyone who went thru job agencies to get jobs: anyone knows whether the below is a norm?

1. if manage to get a job thru them, have to pay them $50 as referral fee.

2. If leave within 90 days after job commencement, have to pay them back 80% of ur monthly salary as compensation.

I just got a call just now from one of the agencies I've sent my resume to, this is what the recruiter told me. True? Long time since I last used job agencies to look for a job liao. Thanks for any help/advice here.

thomas: some agencies do that practice while some don't. Some agencies get the fee solely from employer only while some get abit from employee. Usually if u r hired by agency, is quite a SOP to work for at least 1 mth or more else u have to compensate..is like bond thingy.

mornin all!!

thomas> i tink it depands on the company. for me, my company paid for me the agency fees hence i must wrk for them a certain period of time. if not i will have to compensate my company (which i did). the terms and condition will depands on your company. i didn't pay the agency any $ at all..

hmm actualli my suggestion is ask the agency what company is it then go to the company website and apply directly. don't be tied down by all this.

thomas: never heard of this before leh...usually they will get commission from the company ma..not frm u...

darrel and thomas: good luck on ur house hunting!!i totally understand the schedule man..ha..i looked for 1+ year...and hubby said that he wld have looked for 1 more year!!OMG!

Jaq: I didn't know that, last time I knew they get their fee directly from the employer who hired them and not from the job seeker. So was quite surprised when they told me I have to pay them $50 upon successful confirmation.

Regarding the SOP part, yes I know too, usually ard 1mth or so but in this case, it's 3mths leh...norm now ah? Seems like kinda long to me...just worried lah hmm.

thomas > just for the ROM dress though. My wife found someone there to MTM for her. Recommended by her good friend.

alicia > i old man liao ... so need to get married faster. even one day head start is good :P

thomas > about 1 year plus ago. The agencies i applied to, they don't charge me. But what one of the companies told me was, they actually charge 2x of the offered salary to the hiring company.

angelia: thanks for ur reply...how much did u compensate them? convenient to tell here?

huh? can lidat ah? usually they wun allow one right, once they engage the services of a recruitment agency they will leave it all to them liao, wun entertain u de.

Shar: yalor, me never heard of also, that's why I posted her and ask u all. Weird to me too...anyway thanks for ur reply too!

Eve: WAH!!!!!!!! how come u so clever!!!! U are RIGHT...it's really Recruit Express leh!!! U must have gone to a lot of agencies too right, that's how u know lol

thomas: if u want,check whether they r reputable n been in the line for long anot..coz some could be v small companies trying to get ur $$..just my 2cents.