(2010) 2010 Brides

wah KK 40 tables? u dun find it too many? attended my fren's wedding in 2007, 36 tables I oredi wanna faint liao haha

Am trying to limit my FW to max 25 tables haha

Blue_diamond> congrats! can't help u, got no experience on resale flats. paiseh.

thomas> i'm considering Novotel too. will be meeting the coordinator tmr to view ballroom. think their 2010 package will be out soon.

Thanks alicia and thomas...hope both of you are getting on well..

Hopefully it a right choice despite the market outlook...

BD: am waiting (hopefully) for resale prices to drop this yr, so still biding our time

yours sounds reasonable for that location

Good morning gals and guy!

Thomas: Mine is Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel.

I can recommend you my coordinator (Elizabeth) if you are interested. hmm.. pricing sllightly exceed your budget. if it's on weekday / sun then about 840 /900. if fri/sat about 1050+.
The grand ballroom is pillarless. (min 30/40tables) depending weekday/weekend. If I am not wrong, Riverfront Ballroom is also pillarless, max 20 tables.

The waterfront ballroom has pillars (min 22 max 28 tables).

KK: oic...that's A LOT to me seriously. Drawing up the guest list will be a headache too lol.

Imagine going to every table to take pic with them nearing the end of the banquet...smile until face stiff also hahahaha...

Jaq> Thanks.. Will send the details to him...

KK> Looks really comprehensive.. Sophia Wedding die die also dun wanna provide bridesmaid clothing.. Groom's pants also cannot keep.. haiz..

Thomas> I'm KS.. A friend of mine has a wrong calculated date.. by chance, she realised that the date was a super lousy date when she went to a fortune teller.. in the end, needs to change date 3 weeks before the AD.. The whole AD was quite screwed up becos of that.. So I play safe and want to ask another shifu to calculate again..

Blue diamond> So no COV for your house? 440K for 5 room in boon keng is really cheap.. Old house or low floor? You still need to pay 1% to seller agent.. he will settle the messy procedures on your behalf, or else you need to make many trips to HDB..

KK> Yes.. Carlton will have a new ballroom, pillarless.. should be ready at end 2009.. I'm looking out for carlton becos of this new ballroom.. looks nice based on artist impression.. The old and new ballroom can join up to form the big ballroom to hold around 70 to 80 tables... But might have a 20% increase in pricing from 2009.. faintz..

deerixp: thanks! my 1st choice AD date happens to be on a Sun too! haha! Only thing dunno whether wanna go for min 30 tables or not...want to limit to 25 if we can lah.

ok will let u know if I need her contact

Booy: is it? the previous Carlton pricing is quite affordable & value for money.. 20% more is like other hotels le.. around 1.1k le...

booy:I also scare abt giving the wrong auspicious dates ..decided to go shifu liaoz then ask temple..double confirm =X
thomas: max 40 tables is common standard now wor...I been to 50-80 tables before..tat 1s couples' face really cramp n need alot of walking lol

Jaq: thanks for the info

Booy: Groom's pants cannot keep nvm mah, no big deal. $30 per pc nia, I also dun wanna keep, cheapo material one =P

I see...all the best in ur date recal again!

Jaq: 50-80 tables?!?!?! O_o"

I think I better put 2 toothpicks in my mouth to have that smile so that wun be too tired...

Thomas: hmm...fyi.. if GCW, grand ballroom (pillarless) needs 40 on weekend...if 25 will fall into the Waterfront Range which will have 2 or 4 pillars i forgot...

The Riverfront Ballroom is the one without pillar i tink (min 17 max 20 tables).

Haha... maybe u will be a 28 March 2010 groom like my HTB?? hee

Hope it helps.

thomas> sure, will update on my recee on Novotel.
ya, i agree, by the end, i think our expression will be like those "copy & paste" type. but honestly, 35 tbls or above is quite norm now.. most of my frens have ard that no.

Jaq> thanks a lot!

Booy> i must say Qing jie has been helpful. whateva she can give, if we ask, she'll agree to it. but if she really can't do it, u argue with her oso no use. next time when mit up, then i'll tell u the whole package k. =)
Yes tried 6 goens. shiok ah... hahaha
what? 20% increase in price? think if i tell my bf abt this, he will have 2nd thoughts abt holding it there. hmmm...

Booy, i oso dono wad i can ask for e perks... but, i've asked him if he can give addtional perks, he says he will adjust e package for our needs... =D

All, can anione tell me normally u meet up wif PG (rom one) wad will u be discussing in e package ah?

All, i'm thinking of holding my banquet @ carlton too! Or pan pacific or raffles town club...

Hi booy,

Yup...there no cov...manage to bargain the price down by 30k.

It a 20 years flat, however facilities and exterior look quite new. It in a simple move in condition..flooring ok...just need to do reno on the kitchen and toilets.

It on the 6th floor...corner unit. It 120+ sqm...

Wonder what are some of the trips i need to make? I know that i will have to do the submission....

Blue Diamond: at least ur house is big.. haha... congrats... my new flat in punggol (4rm).. small small 90+ sqm. 2007 tt time when i apply no 5 rm.. sian.. 2008 BTO so many 5 rm..

Booy, Jaq, wah.. u 2 wanna go for 2nd counting on ur dates ah... i trust my shi fu la... my bf's fren reccomand de... (master long), shouldn't be a prob..

deerixp: oic...in that case the Riverfront Ballroom is out...maybe I'll go scout ard others and decide later, thanks

KK: u tried gowns again yest? what was ur FH's expression? haha

BD: that's big...old flats are always bigger =)

Jaq> went to Amara's wedding show. Their ballroom's unique feature is the ceiling. it's like a constellation of stars, quite nice. though a bit low (to me).
The main ballroom can take up to 35 tbls (i think 32 will be more comfortable), pillarless. anything more than 35tbls, it will be a L-shaped ballroom.
the lobby area is quite cosy. food not bad.
Bridal suite is quite big as the building is an old building.

thomas: Yalor.. my initial ideal no was also around 30... haha... becoz i wanna the ballroom so much..haha.. so increase by 10 tables .. 40 tables.. but should be ok.. i have done calculations before that.. my sis had 57 tables.. faintz.. haha

thomas> yup. this time round is better. =) quite different from last time. can c that he shared my happiness, perhaps bcos we have confirmed the package le. still give me comments. hee

KK: wah then u must be over the moon hor? hhahaa!

he got drool or not? hahahhahaha.......

deerixp: bye...enjoy ur paktoring =)

hi deerixp...enjoy yr day hor....

I prefer those older kind of unit as they will have a unit that has bigger floor area which allow me to play ard with space as well....

In fact i choose the plc cos bee staying at that area for more than 20 years n it quite near to town also...hehehehe

KK:bleahz L shaped..same as sheraton..like that have to really do the guests list properly with my HTB, coz mine already set more or less confirm....

so many banquet venues already strike off the list..dunno what's left LOL.

thomas> ya, u bet. finally can catch the glimpse of excitement & enthusiasm in him.

Jaq> yup, that's what i dun fancy. it will be a headache when it comes to seating arrangement.

Deerixp> Carlton is 888 nett for sun.. Can't rem the rest of the pricing offhand.. As the food is from Wah Lok and location is good, this price is considered good.. The co-ordinator says that as they are going through major revamp of the hotel that overall improves the hotel standing.. therefore pricing will have to adjust accordingly.. But 20% is a big jump! Now still waiting for the 2010 pricing to be out..

Thomas> haha.. Me cheapo.. Since most BS gives, dun understand why SW can't..

Think it's not easy to keep the tables within limit.. Initially I only have 28 tables.. now almost 33 liao.. And it will just keep increasing I think..

KK> I see.. Good to have a helpful coordinator.. Or else a lot of headache in the future..

Mic> I see.. Think there are quite a few here who have seen many many PG & VG.. maybe they can advise us..

Blue diamond> Congrats.. 30K below valuation is a lot.. For this area, think it's worth the price.. I also dunno how many trips to agent needs to go down to HDB to get it done.. Besides that, we also need to go for 1st and 2nd appt to HDB ourselves...

thomas:35-40 max lor..ya pillarless is the best n we have v strict criteria..must have black theme n big space for reception, western dinner..LOL..so far Orchard Hotel is 1 of the acceptable hotel but they dun have 2010 March pricing yet n their max tables for wkend is 40... =S

Booy: I'll try to restrict my FW to 25 tables, she's got a lot of colleagues to invite, I told her I'm not even inviting ANY colleague so she better trim down her list hahahaha...

Jaq: ur criteria so strict, no wonder so many kena struck off ur list liao lol

Thomas, my bf n i agreed on max 25 tables oso... haha... think i oso nv invite so many frens.... but i guess he will have more...

Jaq: hahahahahah DIY? u idea leh keke

Mich: I see...majority will be from my FW's side lah, me trying to cut down on my guests liao

have u seen my post earlier this morning? tml I will be going to OPH first, then to Suntec so I dunno what time I will reach there. Once I reach maybe I sms u and ying? what time will u be going?

ok, i not sure wad time yet eh... but should be 1plus- 2plus go down...

All, may i ask stupid ques on xiong di... haha.. for AD, few xiong di follow hubby go my hse.. den we oso need to give xiong di ap for "yi si yi si" rite? Cuz nv heard of bride n groom give xiong di ap b4..

Michelle> Ya, i tink u gotta gif ap for those ppl who help u out, whether it's xiong di, jie mei or even the receptionist who'll b der during banquet.
Jus tat i dunno how much to gif each 1, but my bf did receive 1 from the gal's side, 1 from guy's side wen he attend a close fren's wedding. Tink the ap not a lot of $$ de lah...

Mich: got, 'xiong di' also must give lah, they take the effort to wake up early to help u all mah eg. fetching the bride, help to carry things so have to give them as a token of appreciation...

Was 'xiong di' for my buddy's wedding in 2007, his mum gave me and his friends an AP each

ya, i know for helpers n jie mei must give, juz xiong di not sure so i asked.. hee.. thx alicia.. =D the ap for jie mei is including giv them during gatecrashing or give gatecrashing le, den after e event give them another ap?

haha forgot to mention, I had a total of 3 APs, one from fren's mum when we went to his house first thing in the morning b4 fetching his bride, one from bride's mum after we managed to get them to open the door, and the last from my fren for my car (petrol to and fro his hse, bride's hse etc.)

Not much, total ard $50+ I received

eh for xiong di n jiemei, in bride n groom houses also must give them angbao in the morning (by their parents). Then separately angbaos from the couple also.
For banquet, up to u all wan to give anot coz for some, they already given in the morning together.

Jaq, ic... thx all for enlighten me.. hee...

All, read up a thread some ppl gives ap to those waiter n waitress, but some did not... if it's u, how would u do? Sorry ask so mani things... cuz i'm doing a spreadsheet to calculate... hehe