(2010) 2010 Brides

thomas: max 40 will be enuff la..LOL..my bf not much frens..mostly colleagues.
tea ceremony me n bf will die manz..so many..then give angbao to the kids also $$$$

Jaq: I see...hahaha true also, so many kids = many APs = $$$ gone LOL

I'm not inviting any colleagues, only family, relatives and some very very close frens only...don't wanna end up with so many tables, later after dinner have to go round each table and take pic with them, smile until face stiff also...

blue diamond> The GS package looks good.. but haiz.. only 26 tables..

Thomas> Haiz.. I dun know how to cherish.. very careless...

GS is located at grand copthrone waterfront...

Yup...the max is 26 tables......in fact i find it small as well...but decide to reduce the amt of pple to invite as i want it to be more cosy as well as not too big of a size...this is to minimise potential lost also...hehehehe

sorry i am back..

KK: u ask me to email you if i going amara wedding show?

Booy: i already went down to love and co. shop to see the rings..

ya am worried abt potential 'losses' too...heard some ppl saying that try not to hold wedding lunch cos ppl tend to give less, true?

Also if not holding wedding dinner in hotel, ppl may tend to think that it's cheaper and hence no need to give so much angpow...sigh.

My lady friend quite lucky, she even managed to 'make' some money out of her wedding lunch held at Mandarin Oriental last month, hope I can break even at least, dun suffer losses can liao.

Thomas> It's in my genes.. haha..

ylng> Oh.. They are really pretty.. Think I might just decide fast and make sure they custom make the rings for me..

KK: yes yes.. if i going, i let u know through pm?

Booy: ya, me also need to do make my decision fast..

Ya lo.. The couple plan very long liao..
Cfm heartpain de.. For me, I invite all close de also scare lose alot. But not on my part, on my htb's side got children.. I told him don needa invite children de wat. Cos that is what my mom said, unless really close like my cousin I meet everyday. Those meet once a yr during cny don invite lo. But he insist, he say I very bad, also my kind intention mislead him to tink i very bad, always my side no prob, his side got prob de..

He always like that de lei.. Initiatly when we 1st choose Fullerton (b4 tinking of Meritus), per table is $1.3k.. My htb keep say his side very close (we only have 20 tables, we paid 1:3 ratio ourselves but he take 15 tables lo), he say his side very reasonable with angpow de.. Initiatly i tot ok lo, don probe much since I am so bad person now in his mind with narrow-minded of his family member (when I am really concern of our moneY). So after a few days I asked, how much is ur 'reasonable amount of angpow ur relative will gif?' he reply '$70'.. I immediately angry lo!! Imagine if really fullerton then $1.3k/table, his expected range is only $70!!? That's y cant let him plan..

Honestly, he aint gd in planning... Real bad..

So sometimes is really better I plan alone.. Cos I plan to succeed.. He can tell me no plan are meant to be succeed. Meaning he plan to fail lo..

LOL.. dono la.. Luckily now choose cheaper alternative (although also nt cheap) in Meritus lo.. @ least his expected range I not so scare..

check with u all ah..anyone knows whether relatives give angbao still for banquet or only during tea ceremony nia??

coz what happen to my cozzies when they got married last year..no angbao given to them for banquet, only tea ceremony.

hmmm ok..coz was thinking how u all count as loss or profit during wedding dinner if relatives only give angbao during tea ceremony..hmmm

hmm I think it really depends on the customs for the various extended families. for my side of the family most of my relatives have been giving a token amt during the tea ceremony and church wedding at my other cousins' weddings. they tend to give more during the actual banquet. my fiance's side of the family..if they even give me ang pows I'll be happy liao (American culture mah. just as long as they don't come with a toaster on that day..otherwise I sure fa1 huo3 one..where am I going to keep the darn toaster/coffee maker/vacuum cleaner?!) So..even though my dinner will only have 18 tables or so..we are prepared to lose money

Hi BTBs & GTBs, how much are you buffering for loss? As much as we are inviting only close friends, colleagues and close relatives, we are forecasting we might lose up to $6k. Is that a safe amount for provision?

jaq: i also not sure..think most juz the banquet ang bao alone ba..

agon-e: haha..sighz..i also prepared to lose $$...but i hope not!!

shan: my hubby and me..budgetting to lose up to 50% of my tables..haha..ard 10+k..

Sharlene> 50% is a lot! Me only 20% loss I hope...

agone> Then you use those gift and give it to others during house warming.. hee..

LOLOL booy thats a very good suggestion! i think i will do that..give it as xmas gifts or house warming gifts..hhahahha!!

KK: FW wanna do her homework first b4 selecting which ones to go to, think u better go ahead w/o us, sorry

All: me and my FW are planning to invite mostly our relatives and family members cos most of them will give rather big angpows so more or less can cover for the dinner, not that bad. You invite colleagues/friends, bound to have some jokers who give u grossly small angpows so we try to avoid inviting them. My lady friend's recent wedding lunch, someone actually had the cheek to give a $20 angpow! kaoz...I can never do that lor...

hi sharlene and booy,

thanks for ur reply. but i think $640 is beyond my budget so i got to give it a miss. the photos r nice though. thanks anyway!

natelyn,

actually i read fr the reviews at the banquet thread tt novotel's food is not nice anymore. not sure how true that is. but it is definately cheaper than merchant court. and among the hotels w e same price range, i will say novotel offers the best in terms of ambience, ballroom, bridal suite... i also visited e bridal suite. kevin is my coordinator. of cos that is my own opinions la! cos i signed up w novotel already so cant pull out! ;)

hi thomas,

but how we know which friends or colleagues will be e big clowns right? to think tt i always think tt colleagues r e safest cos they wouldnt wan to malu themselves. u think not?

we set aside $10k for the banquet losses. but my bf feels tt it is more than enough... im not so optimistic though. btw, when u r say 'losses', does it include the tables tt the groom is going to give to the bride's family?

hi thomas,

but how we know which friends or colleagues will be e big clowns right? to think tt i always think tt colleagues r e safest cos they wouldnt wan to malu themselves. u think not?

we set aside $10k for the banquet losses. but my bf feels tt it is more than enough... im not so optimistic though. btw, when u r say 'losses', does it include the tables tt the groom is going to give to the bride's family?

haha okie... i was thinking colleagues will at least meet the minimum... sigh. though my wedding is in almost 2 years time, i am already thinking of my guest list. wondering which colleagues to invite. its like if i scared to offend ppl and invite everyone, then they dun wanna turn up and dun tell me in advance, ill be in trouble. furthermore, i only wanna invite ppl who really wanna come to my wedding. but if i dun invite, im afraid tt will offend some ppl... headache...

happy girl > hmm if you have an ROM ceremony maybe you can invite more ppl to the ROM then say the chinese banquet is for family only. thats what a few of my ex colleagues and school friends have done in the past to avoid a situation like what thomas has mentioned, cos a few have given like $10 or $20 ang pows before. quite shameless and also very sad but I suppose you can never truly gauge a person's character. anyway i am also going to do the same, invite friends, colleagues, etc to the church wedding and if they ask, explain politely that the banquet is for family only..gotta minimise potential loss :P

for me the estimated $10K in losses include tables from both sides, cos we are paying for everything on our own, so it doesnt matter how many tables each side of the family has, it is all being paid out of from one account..our account..lol

Morning all!

$20 AP, I will stare at that colleague whenever I see him/her next time.. haha... I heard worst stories like putting newspaper in AP to make it fatter.. These are like small primary school children act...

Very hard not to invite colleagues, as they are the people whom you see 5 days in a week.. tough decision.. I just hope those people who want to save money or I'm not very close to just give me some excuse and dun come..

Booy, there is really newspaper & voucher from my htb's frenz wedding. His fren tio this kind lo..

Actually I tot of asking my recep to open in front of them & help me record down in e notebook lei.. Like if really newspaper & voucher I'll ask them return to the person then tell them 'lai jiu hao le.. bu yong angpow (gifin them a sickening look)' cos like that kill 2 birds with 1 stone.

If some hotel needa pay immediately after the banquet den we solve it straight after banquet cos e recep people ardy record down the angpows for u le..

We save time when back to suite.. Don need count.. Can enjoy.. Imagine I drunk lei?? How to return immediately (some hotels policy)?

We can also prevent receiving newspaper & voucher.. So during banquet or dinner if those give $20AP hack care them thruout e banquet lo.. Like tell those close to you de to gif them e kinda face 'yucks, this kinda ppl gif $20AP? something wrong...?'

What u all think? We don've ping jin all these lei.. When I tell my mom she say I stupid, she say 'u tink I wont return u meh when he give me ping jin?' I say what's e pt? They nv gif meaning nv gif.. Y must act act we gif u out from our a/c (my $) den in e end one big rd u return me e $ again?

If guy side really got gif den my mom return me @ least 'Is something like my mom downry to me ma'.. But too bad is ownself de..

Since my HTB's parent don care abt anything.. Coincidentally his elder sis also getting marry in 2009..

but opening up the angbao in front of them, not v nice leh... smore it will take time, those behind will have to wait also..

Diane: it will be very crowded with pple ard, n this might lead to pple 'snatching' the angbao box after the whole thing..that's how I feel in my opinion

hehehe, i guess once we decide to have banquet...it will be tough for us to control the losses as much as we wish to..

For me, i was initally thinking of having about 40tables, however after some thought, i only invite really close friends and relative so as to minimise the losses.

I try to make it 50% relative,50% close friends as i will believe most of the time, it shld be the relative side AP that will cause the losses. My parents has been generous in their giving, however, if you have a relative who came give u $500 AP, bring 6-7 family members in..i think u will still make the losess.

For close friends, nore or less will have known their style. N some whom u see often, so i believe they will at least be giving you just enough or more to cover for your banquet.

So i make the 50-50 spread so that any additonal from close friends will help to cover for the losses make from the relative...

No matter what, how much we plan and worried now...there sure to be joker who will do stunt...anyway...the lesser the people that u invited, the lesser the damage in the future as u dun have to "follow" them when they have such occassion ma...hehehehe

$500 AP bring 6ppl come still ok not lose alot.. Most only lose $100.. But I scare those come 4 pax gif $200.. Is usually this case lo... Die lo.. 1pax $120 but their this way made till is only $50/pax.. Not even half.. Confirm loss till xiao...

Worst still, my relatives very few table only but also generous de.. HtB's side many children summore not blood related with him (but he call them relatives cos he said very close, his parents meet every weekend de)

Imagine if 20 tables, I 5 tables only lo (inc. relatives & friends) his side many many ppl (15 tables ) lo.. Our relatives is more than friends.. Friends is only 1/3 or 1/4 of our banquet nia.. Families especially need to worry..

yeah thats the thing..with friends you can still control a little..with family..not much you can do. thats why we do not expect to make a profit or even break even with the banquet. we figured the best is to assume between 50-70% of the money is 'unrecoverable' so to speak, so if we get anything above and beyond what we expect it's a bonus and we will not depend on the cash to pay off something else on the spot. Luckily my hotel agreed to let us pay upon check out, and I wanna use my credit cards to chock up my points :P Anyway I think my other items will cost more than the banquet..sigh.

Diane> You are very fierce leh.. haha.. Open in front in tough of the guests is tough given the crowd..

Pin Jing thingy is a tradition.. Chinese always like “face”.. The groom side give to show their generosity and eagerness to marry the bride.. And the bride side will graciously take it or return part of the pin jin to show that they are “Jia Nui Er, Not Mai Nui Er”.. Just that nowadays, the pin jin is also paid by the couple, not parents.. So parents also dun really take the money liao…

Blue diamond> Right, invite as little as possible to minimize losses.. I cut and cut, still left with 30+… sweat… I tot usually relatives give more.. My bro’s wedding have relatives giving $500 for 2 people leh.. I’m hoping for the best..

I think relatives wise depends how close n how wealthy they are bah.

my gf who just got customary wedding, the aunt-in-law give them $1k cheque wor.

Agone-e, ya lo.. I also tink sure lose de even my is weekday wedding (lose even more)... Just hope don lose too much will do.. We also estimate around $10k.. But we prepare more den enough to foot whole bill.. Meanin before the dinner we can already pay all already.. So don needa worry $ not enough.. I just hope don lose all can le.. Hope to at least recoup half of e banquet xps lo.. If earn really bonus la.. Some ppl realy earn but tt's bcos their parents gif alot!! Some gif $5k, $7k.. Helps alot in e banquet ma.. But don tink my side or his side, my side still gt possibility his side cfm 0% his parent will gif that much..

Booy, ya lo.. bobian de la.. Given that e majority bu zhi dong.. Hope my side can help lo.. So that my side can help his side de bu zhu..

morning all...

ya headache hor? that's why I'm restricting my FW to max 25 tables only as our main aim is to minimise potential losses. The lesser ppl u invite, the lesser u will lose haha. Relatives and close friends will normally give more than the actual per head cost, so quite safe lah. Reason why I don't wanna invite colleagues is bcos they may not know the 'market rate' per head now, so chances of getting $50 or lesser angpows are much higher. My cousin's wedding in May this year, she was very lucky, our relatives all gave her like 1k, 3k etc so her tables were more than covered. Just hope that when mine comes, I can break even at least and not suffer losses cos very heartpain, still $$$ mah

Opening up angpows in front of guests seems to be quite rude leh...don't think it's workable lah

hehehe...wah...never expect to open angpow in front of guest la...aggressive method..

I mean it really depend on what kind of relative u have. There will be some who will be generous...which u will see $500-$1k with only 2-3 pple going...but there are also those who will be giving $300-$400...but whole family going include kids n maid lor...wa lau!!!

I mean when market is going to dive n slow in 2009-2010...we still dunno if pple will shrink their AP anot..

I guess it better to prepare the $ n mentally. Just hope it not really going to be alot..

ask u all ah, if ur fren invite u to his or her wedding before then for ur wedding, will u invite their spouse as well even tho u dunno them in person until their wedding- u b their jiemei or brother..