(2010) 2010 Brides

yIng3r> convince him that u r really interested to look at Amara. sure he will give u some face bah... =)

Thomas> I think it will be beta to register, but they will definitely welcome walk-ins de...

Diane> that's gd... most of my stuff r undone. only settle ROM venue, & wedding bands. nothing abt AD yet. gosh!

Jaq> i've signed up oso. hahaha... now it's time for me to chiong for all these wedding shows, etc. hopefully can things ettled before my ROM.

angelia, i tink they both leave to us. I am not afriad of my family's side cos I got keep them update on our wedding preparations.

But my htb nv update his family's side.. Cos all along they nv really tok much de.. His family also don bother much so I guess his family don really care la... If care tink my family more side to say lo.. Guys side nv gif pin jing, si jian jing lotsa ting... My family side know I skip all traditions except tea ceremony..

I everytime nicely told my htb to update his parents on our process.. Tell them we not doing this, skip this, blah blah blah.. His reply is always 'u know my parents very shui bian de, y u alway tink they so picky & fussy?'..
In e end I kena although i very nicely ask him to inform his parents..
Summore i learn SG brides that many of their in-laws at first very good but ends up blame them for this & that nv consult them 1st or what.. I scare this will happen to me also.. But i tink since WE are e one paying.. We've e full say!! LOL..

KK, guess u will learn soon. I from know 0%, till now 70% all frm this forum de...

yIng3r> Amara wedding show is on Sat. drag him there... haha... if really miss it, dun worry, there will another one. usually twice in a yr. =)

forgot.. did receive their email on invitation but jus never take note of the date..

Back after a 4 hours meeting..

Sharlene> Really fun looking at the rings.. But also quite paiseh to walk in but didn’t buy.. Nowadays the wedding bands all come with a diamond.. I initially wanted to look at plain ones.. Now think I have to settle for something with a diamond…

Ylng, Nat> You should go and take a look, Love and Co are quite nice.. and tons of wedding bands there.. Only thing for me is that you need to wait for 3 months, which might be a bit rush for my ROM early next year…

KK> I’m in IT.. what advice you need? Regarding animation? It’s all abt the style you want.. It’s not difficult to create one yourself with the right software.. But you need to have time and a bit of creativity…

I have tons of dreams but the budget kills all my dreams.. haha

Agone> The Marina Mandarin show in Jan 2009 will still be selling 2009 package only.. That’s what the coordinator told me.. They are really slow in releasing 2010 package..

Diane> Good that you are a planner… Think as long as you like the things and within budget, it’s the most impt.. Get everything settled and be a happy young bride…

Thomas> You think the most far ahead.. talking abt kids liao.. haha.. my ideal is 1 girl, 1 boy.. hee…

booy: me too haha

there are still plain ones around, go to all the different jewellery shops and check them out.

you are the direct opp of my FW Booy, she wants one with a diamond, u want a plain one lol

For the record when I got my wedding bands with my FW last mth, we went to almost all the major shops like Goldheart, Tianpo, Citigems, Soo Kee, SK, Lee Hwa, Meyson and other smaller and not so well-known shops. Finally settled on a pair from Tianpo, in the end got another member card again haha

oh ya forgot to mention that we got ours at a very good price, so was quite pleased with our bands haha...our timing to buy was just nice hehe, coincided with their relocation sale (60% off storewide)

Jaq> Those are really ex.. Out of budget.. haha..

Thomas> I'm thinking a plain one will be less wasteful.. Diamonds and all the washing detergents don't match leh...

booy:I also say overbudget..hahaha but see anyone got reviews abt them anot..coz 1 of my gfs have bvlgari wedding band..keep raving abt it as their service is very gd

Thomas - yup, shared the same view as u. I do wish I could get married a few years ago especially for female's biological clock keep ticking. But, fated i guessed, sometime I do think whether to have kid in the future or not (maybe it will not be my call by then, depend of fate liao). If i do have, when my kid 10 years old i already about 50 liao, scary~~~

Booy: true, they don't match but u can always clean it yourself at home or can get it washed at any jewellery shop FOC. My FW takes very good care of her proposal ring, she washes it everyday before she showers after work and wraps it in a soft cloth after taking it out.

mmpw: dun worry, u def wun wait until 40 to have one hahahaha...u can wait one yr first if u intend to enjoy 'two persons world' with ur HTB...me and my FW also planning somewhere ard there haha

Thomas - by the time married alely 36+, a yr later 37+ then pregnant & give birth ard 39 liao hahaha.... almost 40 yrs old! wondering ur kid & my kid will born a day difference like me and ur FW :p

Booy> hmmmm. i'm not sure oso. hahaha...

Thomas> i've got mine at Goldheart sale, gd bargain man.

hmmm, so now talking about kids liao ah? so fast leh...

now kids topic..LOL I told my bf we can only have kids 5 yrs later...coz wedding in 2010, then house only ready in 2011, need at least a year to recover the renovation n furniture costs then save up coz now give birth n maintenance of kids not cheap ah..not to say future..so by then I mid30s liaoz..hahah

wah!!...this thread is really fast...before i knew it...my 1st entry is already in archive liao...hehehehe

For me, i prefer to play a part in the wedding planning as it meant to be once in a lifetime for my wife n me. Also not to stress her out n enjoy the process( though it really tiring looking for venue, wedding band,BS and etc), at least doing it as the couple...u will learn more about each other and in the process to understand each other better.

I am more fussy when it come to some things...i go by my instinct...so i think to be involve is better rather that when it my wedding date, i realise that it not something which i like..hehehe.

As for GrandShanghai, the package is comparable to any 4star hotel rates. Think u can find tha rate online. We fell in love with the place at our 1st sight as we wanted something unique and less formal. I like the part when we can have the shanghai theme for our guests( to make the wedding more fun for those younger ones)as well as having a life band to play for u throughout the dinner...The feedback for the food was good...so that make our choice for the venue.

Jaq, I tink on AD morning got a Q&A session for jiemei to ask groom.

I gonna set a qns on:

Qns: What do u tink is Diane's prefer time to have kids? How many yrs of er ren shi jie she at least need, best time is how many yrs later?

Ans: At least 5 yrs, Best 9 yrs.

diane: HAHAHAHAHAHHA can I say forever er ren shi jie dun wan kids?Coz I dun really into children =X

thomas:me being 'practical' mahz..most of the time he wun be in the house or taking care of the kid..me alone leh..n only give birth to 1 kid enuff le.

bluediamond:serious ah..but I wan western dinner n black theme..hmmm unless they have it lor.

thomas: eh..alwayz a panda la..haha..

booy: yah lor..nowadays..guys one also have diamond de..so quite hard for us to find one tat have diamond and 1 tat dun have..heee...oh..i wanted a diamond on my wedding band coz i din wan a proposal ring..and i tot i wasnt goin to receive a proposal in the 1st place..hahaha...

jaq: my colleague one is bvlgari one..i will say its unique..but abit too ex for me..hahaha..

Blue_diamond> ur FW will be so glad to know that u think this way...
Not all guys r like that... true true, both shld take part in the whole process, if situation allows.
that's something that i have to give some credit to my FH. he has been quite patient in exploring all the wedding stuff. Just a need a little push at times.

Diane> wow... ur FH has to wait very patiently le... but that qn sounds real interesting. heheee

Alicia> topic is abt kids... when & how many... prior to that was abt wedding shows bah... too fast, i can't catch up as well. hehe

How come u gals dun like kids? hmmm........

Alicia: now talking abt kids lor, how many u want next time? AHHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHA

Hi kk,

I think it up to each character la...for me...i am ve particular on somethings...so that y my wife has been good to accomandate me as well...hehehe

Hi Jaq,

Dont think they have any black theme...it the 1930-1950 shanghai theme....so me quite like those classy oriental style...like peony jade @ keppel is quite nice too...

thomas:to answer ur question from last night abt the tables more than 30.. (I just receive the email alert of it), my bf's dad got 9 siblings, all got married except 1 n most have kids.. n they more tradition sort..so imagine how many tables there liaoz...haben include his mum side...

then my side is frens n ex colleagues more bah..relatives maybe max 6-7 tables

luckily we got mutual frens..else die..40 tables also not enuff hahaha. we also will invite close frens n those who have invited us to their weddings lor..depends whether they wan to come anot too.

blue diamond:peony jade cant fit in our min tables..so out le...
can't find the link to grand shanghai website leh..only under copthorne waterfront.

Thomas> Your FW very hardworking leh.. Clean everyday.. I'm lazy and careless so I treat my proposal ring like a piece of rock only..

Blue diamond> Can send the Grand Shanghai package to me? cm.tiff at gmail...

I love kids.. But of course rearing one is a different story.. Have to have lots of patience and love for the kids.. As long as you think you are ready, then have it while younger... Too old is unhealthy for both mother and child..

Jaq, of course u can.. I brainwash my htb till he also don like children le.. He said 'I treat u like my children lo'.. Since he call me 'baby' & really treat me like baby.. Also like to cuddle & kiss me around my cheeks & whole face till machiam I really his baby like that...

Hw i brainwash him? Here is e trick:

Whenever there is baby around, or kids around.. Those bad, naughty, crying devils den u tell him 'C la.. Die lo this kinda kids'.. I brainwash him till now he ownself will say 'Aiyo, this kinda kids very bad...'

LOL...

KK, thx for ur compliments for my Q&A session on AD...!!

Thomas> I love kids leh...

Blue_Diamond> True true. cannot generalize. hahaa... i like the Grand Shanghai concept.

Jaq> My FH's family is huge oso... so now any venue with less than 35 tables is out... we r hoping to cut a bit on the no. but after calculating the approx no, seems like it's gg to be 40, or more. when i told my frens approx 40tables, their reactions r like, "sure anot, so many?" haizzz.

hmm....cant seem to upload....

Here the package:

Let’s celebrate your wedding dinner with our stylish shanghai cuisine at Grand Shanghai Restaurant.We ensure cherish memories for the year ahead.

We would like to offer an attractive package at $688.00++,
$788.00++ and $988.00++ per table. This includes :-

1. A choice of 9-course Chinese dinner menu

2. Beautifully designed invitation cards with envelopes based on 70% of the confirmed attendance

3. Guest’s signature book for the wedding reception

4. Free-flow of soft drinks and Chinese Tea from 6.30p.m. - 11p.m.

5. Complimentary one barrel of beer (30 litres) and 1 bottle of house wine per table.

6. Additional Beer price at 20 litres is $450++ and 30 litres at $580++.

7. Waiver of corkage charge for duty-paid and sealed hard liquor brought
into the hotel.

8. Corkage charge at S$20.00 per bottle for wine brought in.

9. 5-tier traditional decorated wedding cake.

10. Home-made cookies in decorative box for every guest.

11. Champagne fountain with a complimentary bottle of Champagne for toasting

12. Wedding decorations of fresh floral centerpiece for all tables including fresh flower aisle stands

13. Special VIP parking lot for the bridal car at the front of the hotel

14. Complimentary parking for up to 25% of the guaranteed number of guest

15. Minimum of 20 tables and maximum of 26 tables

16. One night stay in our Executive Suite with American breakfast
17. Entertainment with Live performance of 3pc band with singer
(excluding Monday)

diane:hahaha tat doesn't work for my bf...

KK: difficult to reduce until tat night of banquet de with no-show etc, whenever plan, is always gd to go for the max but definitely when sign the banquet with hotel or restaurant or whatever, have to tell them minimum lor..top up is better than too much empty tables.

Booy: hahaha she's very hardworking in cleaning every night I agree, she even washes her pendant with chain and also her earrings together with her ring! That's why I like to give her presents cos I know she'll cherish whatever I give her

Jaq: omg...so many siblings, no wonder lah...I think 50 tables also not enough for u lol. Luckily for my side I can restrict my FW to 25 hehe

KK: good that u love kids!

Alicia: 2yrs then start production? me within 1yr I want to start liao hehe