(2010) 2010 Brides

i have asked Thomas abt it.

gals - whats the most expensive gift ur bf bought for u and you love it very much as well?

mm&pw> Wow! Having all those hi-tech gadgets is so fun! I wish i had an iphone, so far still cant afford yet.
But if it's the imac, can buy mouse? wireless? Eh, antivirus? For iphone can buy those speaker? nintendo can buy games, control? The most exp my bf gave me is the ring lor... Cost abt $480. hehe!

mm&pw.. i guess they wont be unhappy in e gifts they recived from u. 1stly i guess they should knw tt u r aware tt they already have those luxuries stuffs which i tink they dun expect u to buy back e same rate items for them. 2nd.. wat count most is sincerity =) so i guess maybe u can buy some gifts which will be handy to them =)

mmpw: the most expensive stuff I ever bot for my FW wld be her proposal ring =) Had to eat grass for few mths after that lol...but well worth it cos she likes it very much, been wearing it ever since I proposed to her with it hehe

$25 to $50 per head? Hmm rather difficult to buy, understand ur dilemma...can't even get Wii games for them also at that budget (hope u are not offended). Why not get something else for them instead of technology products? like bags, items they need etc.?

HFL: thanks for the comforting words, u and ur FH not the pantang type also? or both ur parents dun mind? Dun think he can recover as his is a terminal illness, it's just a matter of time only, sad to say.

VV: dun worry, u are not blunt and I'm not offended cos it's the truth. I wld say quite advanced stage already, sad to say. We are considering bringing it forward but have few obstacles in our way, main ones wld be $$$ and also accomodation. We haven't even got a flat yet and will not have a place to stay shld we push forward our AD. Even if we were to push forward our date, dun think my FFIL is in any condition to attend our AD also. As a matter of fact, he can't even be our witness for our ROM in Feb next year

Anyway thanks, u are not kaypoh dun worry, appreciate ur thoughts

hmm in answer to today's topic..yeap, esp since my bf's side is American. Well bananas la - yellow skin but they think like Americans. Anyway in the US Xmas is a huge holiday, equivalent to the significance CNY has for us. So I LL also have to buy stuff for everyone in their family, his friends and their family friends. It's also considered rude not to have a present for someone who gives you something..so I kena gotta buy extra stuff in case of a situation like that. Because Xmas is such a huge thing in the US, I have to buy what is perceived as expensive stuff too..sigh..

mmpw > how about body shop gift packs? The Xmas packs usually start from about $20. They have various ranges like $30, $40, $50..for guys, I've found that cologne or video games work best. I also try and get access to the warehouse sales by Nike, Lancome, etc to buy things that are usually sold in retail outlets for $80 to $100+ for half the price or less..hope that helps

Most expensive thing my bf has gotten me..has to be the ring too

HappyFairLady - ya, they are single & their earning quite good so they can afford to buy such luxuries stuffs.

Thomas - dun worry, not offended. even if to share with bf might not within my budget as well. I thought of buying ladies' items like skin care products, bag & pyjamas but bf is not keen at all (he is sharing with me). e.g. sharing an IT item with his 2nd sis, each of us also have to fork out $60.

hmmm... think i have to rephase this to "what is the most expensive gift you got from / bought for ur partner except the proposed ring?"

agon-e - wow... u gonna buy more gifts than me. I only have 3 gifts to prepare for bf side alely stress me out ( as the sisters gave me an impression they are into branded & expensive stuffs). I easily get presents for my side as my niece & nephew always works on my budget haha

mmpw: why is he not keen at all? he's not even the one wearing/using them lol...buying something practical is good wat, I dun understand ur bf's thinking honestly...

Most exp thing other than the proposal ring? wld be jewellery also lor, I buy for my mum and FW jewellery twice every yr (on their BDs and Xmas), that's why ended up with VIP cards from jewellery shops lol

mmpw > hahah maybe over the weekend when we start wrapping stuff I will snap a pix and upload for y'all to see..it's 2 large red bags full(the type you use to bring durians home)..sian..

There are some upcoming warehouse sales..I recently went to the Lancome one..snagged a couple of stuff for his mum..retailing for $120 I bought at $40..looks nice and big and expensive but it's actually not that ex LOL! they have other stuff la like a palette of eyeshadow normally selling for about $40+ was going for $20..can consider looking out for similar warehouse sales closer to xmas for his sisters =)

most exp thing other than ring..handbag loh. the larger tote size type. but he really CBCB, he has officially banned me from buying ANY sort of bags for the next 10 years after he bought me this one..LOL..

agon-e: lol that's a LOT! imagine u dragging them home like Santa does LOL

going to warehouse sales is a good move, u get to save easily 50% off the normal retail price...any of u gals went to Charles and Keith's warehouse sale on Sun?

there was a C&K warehouse sale?!!!! I didnt know...dangit!!!!!!!!

thomas > sorry should be KBKB..kao bay kao bu (my hokkein not good, not sure if this is the right spelling..hehe)

agon-e: I see....hahahahhahahahaa.........shld be kpkb (cry father cry mother) =P

yup there was one last sun, my kaki asked me whether wanna go or not cos he brought his wife and son there but I didn't go, was busy

Thomas - I also dun know why he dun like the idea haha, maybe he thinks not practical (using his man's brain? btw he is an engineer). wow! u buy jewellery twice a year for your mum & FW? wanna ask u a qtn: do u think the level of generousity of a man to his loved ones show the amount he loves them?

agon-e - wow! thats alot... really like what Thomas said u r like a santa claus using the red plastic bags to keep presents haha

Hi Ying!

mmpw: no wonder, so he's an engineer hahaha! try telling him to 'engineer' a solution for u, see what he says =P

yup twice a year for them...nope, I dun think so, that's my opinion...its the tot that counts ultimately ;) dun worry abt the value of ur gifts to his sisters, they shld treasure them if they are mature enough

Thomas - ya, engineer's brain. he said I so serious abt the gift preparation, should relax a little on the light topic when I told him his suggestion always make me in quite difficult position & feel quite stress.

ying - current topic at this moment is xmas gift for partner & their family members
maybe later will change again haha

mm&pw> Haha! Actually i cant remb he gave me anyting exp at all! lol... mayb the most ex he bought for me is a bracelet? Forgot how much le, but tink less than $40 only, bought at 1 of the bugis shop near the fountain selling silver de. No lah, i oso dun tink the level of generousity of a man to his loved ones show the amount he loves them. If like tat, den it surely shows he doesnt love me a lot liao lor... lol... But leh, my bf is a stingy guy! I always say he so kiam siap. -_-"

agon-e> Wow! 2 bags full of presents ah! So every xmas ur pockets muz burn a big hole liao lor...

hello all .. wah so many posts ar ..

I think besides the ring, the most expensive thing he bought for me would be my coach bag which cost abt $500plus bah .. we dun get each other anything on bdaes, xmas, etc .. we buy when we see something suitable for the other ..

by the way there's a bysi warehouse sale this fri-mon .. mango sale going on now also as well as dfs sale. giordano also having warehouse sale ..

thomas/mmpw > hahah not santa claus..more like aunty coming back from the market with veggies..lol..

alicia > yeap
but no choice right..in rome, gotta do what the romans do..

haha...eh..i dun buy xmas gifts for hubby one leh..usually we juz get 1 gift per year for each other if there is something tat we know each other want..haha..if not..den it will juz be dinner treat..ahhaha...and spend time together..coz its the most priceless..heh..

haha..this year hubby gave me alot of things..1stly is an early bday pressie..its a ipod touch..den on my bday..we bot our wedding bands..haha..den after 2 weeks..he gave me the proposal ring..heh..for his bday recently..i juz got him a seiko watch..haha..

Alicia: perhaps he's just saving up for ur future lovenest and other stuff? the difference btw stingy and thrifty is but a thin line only =)

mmpw: perhaps he shld be a little bit more understanding towards ur situation now? it's not easy to buy gifts for ur loved ones, trust me, I have headaches every yr lol

Alicia> Me bf also very stingy or thrifty?? hmmm.. what's the most expensive? I think mine is crystal..

mm&pw> Just buy something that is pratical for them.. there's no need to go all the way to please them.. Show your sincerity will do...

agone-e> Put in nicer plastic bags lah.. No red bags.. haha..

Eve> So many sales coming?? Gonna be a big hole in my pocket..

morning all!

Thomas> Haha! Since i knew my bf, he's been a stingy guy, not bcoz of saving up for wedding or wat lor... lol... I always tell him dun b so stingy! :p He himself oso will ask me he stingy hor?!

Booy> Haha! Since they so stingy, den let us b more generous wif their $$. lol!

agon-e> Ya, no choice!

Sharlene> WoW! Tat's a lot of gifts leh... but very gd!

mornin!! wah... 2 days onli lo.. so many things to read... been reali bz wif all the sales promotion... don't know when will i need to go to the sales floor and help out again =(

thomas > hope all things all well...

the most expensive apart frm the proposal ring is the LV bag liao.. as for his.. i tink will be the seiko watch....

i went for the charles and Keith sales wif my coll.. they manage to get things but i didn't.. too many n i keep being push about.. frustrated i left the warehse...

same wif alicia... i oso dun tink the level of generosity of a man to his loved ones show the amount he loves them... we have alot of wants but unless we have a multimillionaire as a husband else don't even tink about it.. i guess it's always the thoughts that counts.. for me i consider the wrapping of the pressie and how he give it to me... but my FH so far so gd.. always give me what i want... heehee

am glad that both me n his family don't reali celebrate x'mas... but we will juz gather together for a dinner wif ham and log cake plus some other things... tis yr mayb steamboat... werid horz... haha

alicia:depends on whether he stingy on u or others too.. hee

my bf never give me gifts except bday n once in a big blue moon..while I every mthversary also give :S

Thomas - I'm not sure he really know my situation... haiz... as for the gifts selection, i guessed he really have this professional sickness (only think of IT stuff/hardware stuff). I wondering when he proposes to me, he will bring a laptop or a diamond ring :s

angelia, jaq> Totally agree.. Being faithful and honest are the most impt.. Let them write down an agreement on this as present will be the best.. haha..

mm$pw> Explain to him slowly.. Engineers can rationalise one.. My bf is also a technical guy, but he didn't propose with a laptop lah.. Have some confidence in him... =)

mm&pw:patpat...guys r like that..more direct n duno how to see different angles of situation..I'm sure when comes to proposal he will put in a lot of effort to make it great de.. *patpat*

my bf is quite a woodhead but sometimes he just surprise me when I least expected it LOL.

angelia: thanks...so u went to the C&K warehouse sale also? hahaha

booy: I'm always early, in office at 7.30am everyday haha

mmpw: yup, agree with booy, explain to him slowly, he will understand...hope he doesn't propose to u with a vernier caliper hahaha (joking)

mm&pw (mmpw) > mayb he will bring a laptop tat's doin a presentation of how ur met and while u r engross lookin at it, he came up wif a bouquet and a ring to propose to u?

Thomas (thommy)> yup and it was crowded...