(2010) 2010 Brides

thomas > ooh hahah so cool! are you guys still driving the same car?

Oooh I didn't know that you have to pay an admin fee everytime you apply..sigh as you can see I have never applied for a new flat before..this is all so daunting..LOL

yeah la what to do. At the end of the day a brand new place beats having 2nd hand 'goods' mah..especially if it comes with condo facilities. If there are ECs I will definately apply for it loh. I would have thought more people would apply for ECs. Anyway their proposed sites are like niao bu sheng dan de di fang (where birds do not lay eggs)..I'd think twice about applying for now, provided the land actually gets sold to a developer..

Oooh yeah you are right. The prices for the areas you mentioned are really ridiculous. I think the ppl who are living there really tan dio liao..the very place they live in is a growing investment. I am looking at Clementi/Dover/Bouna Vista cos my parents live in Jurong and the both of us also work closer to the west (clementi/alexandra), so we figured it'd be easier if we stayed in the west. But these areas are relatively central so the prices are also going through the roof..die liao la.

Anyone else going through the same resale woes? We should form a Hopeful Resale Applicants Anonymous club..lol..

agon-e: hahaha..i understand ur pain..sighz..me also another one..looking for flats..and after alot of donations to HDB..haha..i also looking ard for resale..i will like bt batok..but super duper ex lo..sighz..

shar > eh yeah! how come BB is so ex too? I was so surprised to see that the price of resale flats there are similar to Clementi leh..

agon-e> I'm beginning to like ur nick gal, cos it sounds like agony! Which is what we are all in now looking for flats? HAHAHAHAHA!!!!

jokes aside, yup we are still driving the same car, but will sell next time when we are married and prob go for a bigger car but one only. Too exp to maintain 2 cars in SG honestly.

Not scaring u but yup, it's THAT daunting really, esp when u wanna get a flat and can't even get any despite rounds of balloting...u can ask booy or Shar, they will tell u the same thing too. Imagine each applicant they charge u $10, with the thousands of applicants each time when new BTOs/DBSSs are launched, u can figure out how much they earn even though majority are not successful in getting a flat! This balloting system is seriously flawed, those who REALLY REALLY need a flat bcos they are getting married soon can never get one, while those who dun need one can get it. It's all abt LUCK at the end of the day. I have a friend who's not even ROMed yet, he got it at his 1st try while me? Enuff said. Think I really have to sleep on the roadside with my FW le...sigh.

And u are right, those areas u mentioned are also skyhigh pricing, dun even think of Queenstown area too, it is abt the same price as Bishan. We tried for the earlier Commonwealth BTO also but weren't lucky too sigh...

I am honestly very disappointed with HDB's current system, it is seriously flawed BIG TIME. And you know what's the best part? We even have to fight with those newly-converted citizens for a flat!

thomas: i cant agree more with u on tat man!!i already ROMed already lor..and i still getting ridiculously high numbers!!!!sighz...donation donation!

Which led me to recall this conversation by a China couple (who recently converted to citizens) I overheard during our TPY showflat visit earlier this yr (we also tried for it but cldn't get also

(Conversation in chinese, very LOUD too)

China man: wah zhe mer xiao you nah mer gui! (wah so small and yet so exp!)

China woman: jiu shi mah, zhai wo men xiang xia mai wu zi na mer pian yi, mei de bi (yalor, back in our hometown China buy house so cheap, cannot compare)

China man: dui ah, gui you bu hao kan (correct, expensive and also not nice)

China woman: bu yao jing, wo men shi shi kan ba (never mind, we try try ok?)

They were talking so loudly! (typical china ppl) After hearing their conversation, I wanted to go over and give them a piece of my mind but my FW stopped me, my blood was literally boiling! Not nice, too expensive, too small then DUN BUY LAH, what for compete with us then??? Go back China buy lor, anytime also can get BIGGER, NICER and CHEAPER house than here ANYTIME right???

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Shar> yes the ones right next to MRT, my friend who balloted for 3 yrs finally got it, he just moved in only. My FW really liked that place, was so hoping we cld get it cos it was very near her parents' house (they stay in Queenstown) and also it was so accessible to MRT, supermarket (Sheng Siong below) and others...but alas

yalor, it's bad enuff that we are fighting with our fellow sporeans for a flat, now we EVEN have to fight with those china ppl for one!!! bloody ridiculous if u ask me

Everytime telling me how many chances we have but always end up our queue no. 4 digits one.............

thomas: oh..my fren stays there..haha..they managed to get a 4 room de...heh...sighz..oh well..wad to do?we need foreign talents wad...

ok u better go sleep then, otherwise tml FH will see a panda bride kekekeke. Wish him happy BD!

good nitez! tok to ya tml!

thomas: hahah..yah..sleeping already..hahaha..thanks!!ttyl tml..if i got login..quite bz at work..hahaha...=p..haha..he already my hubby liaoz..haha..

Morning snoopy> looks like it's a HDB woe complaint session last night that we missed out..

Sharlene, Thomas, Agon-e> Since we live here, we shall play by the rules here.. Work harder in getting our "new" flats..

Morning Booy.. I can see tat there are a lot of complaints towards HDB..I forget to ask the HDB abt the ceiling income when I apply my HLE n balloting..

Morning All! =)

Wa... chat till so late last nite ah? hmmmm... really look like MSN here. heeee

Alicia> aiyooo... then haf to keep on reminding ur FH le... once application closes, then haf to wait for the next launch of BTO project, which is usually at least 1-2mths difference, then drag again.

Thomas> Paiseh. too used to "ladies" le. hee... of cos wish u all the best in getting ur klove nest too. oR rather all... to all who have not gotten yet. =)

hmmmm... side track a bit. a while back, i rmb reading in this thread that another BTB applied for Straits Vista. Anyone rmb who was it? memory's failing le. =)

thomas > hahah yes! i chose this nick cos the handle agony was already taken. obviously im feeling much pain from the whole wedding and house process..lol!

we were looking to shift out june 2010 after our wedding, but I think we will kickstart the house search much earlier now, prob next year, am hoping his PR app will be approved by then. This morning I walked over to his place (2 blocks away from mine)..and I saw cat pee on the door AGAIN. Just spent a whole hour scrubbing and cleaning up. so fed up! Thank goodness I'm working from home today. This is a rented place so not much of a choice..but I will never ever pick an apartment on a low floor *tears hair out*

Snoopy, Jaq> Think they will reaccess again when you are really getting the loan years later.. The HLE will expire by then...

KK> I rem seeing that.. But cannot rem now as well.. Getting old liao..

Booy > but income will change over yrs, can't possible stll the same after 2-3 yrs..meaning we will have to apply for bank loan if at tat time, exceed $8000 even though HLE approved earlier yrs??

Morning ladies!! ooo n Thomas!

Lost at what's the topic now.. hehe..

anyway KK, when eve post the link of the spreadsheet den u can take a look which BTB applied for Straits Vista..

I'm falling asleep in the office soon.... -_-
duno y today so sleepy..

Snoopy> In general, HLE has a validity of 3 months I think.. not too sure if BTO has any special treatment.. If your HLE already expire by then, you need another HLE and that will mean another income accessment.. If your income > income ceiling, then no HDB loan..

Snoopy, Jaq> Make sure that your income go high high.. enough to cover bank interest and inflation.. then income increase will be a good thing...

Morning gals! All of u are so early...

Hi cloud! Am new here, qin duo duo zhi jiao =)

Sorry to all, was venting my frustrations here last nite with Sharlene, ignore us ba =P

Snoopy> high income can be good and bad

good: earn more, get to save/spend more

bad: kena taxed more, more job responsibilities, more stress etc. etc.

Ya...economy is so bad now, retrech n cut pay everywhere...worse tat my company undergo integration, they X ppl...wah lau

All> Morning! Wah! Yest nite tok till so late ah... And tis morning so early start liao... hehe!

Thomas> I'm working as a secretary in a law firm.

KK> Ya lor... He's such a slow coach!

Really bad times now..... somemore at the time when we r trying to save up for our BIG day! =(

Alicia> Guys (some) need to be "pushed" a little. heee...

Ya, when's the next outing? =)

Thomas> Not for me leh... I started working in this firm straight after my poly grad, starting pay onli 1.1, worked for 4 yrs, now still cant apply for credit card. U say leh?

oh man... your guys are so fast!!

guess i'm one of those few lucky ones who got a flat at the first try... *lucky!!

HDB are revising their rules already.. hopefully your guys will get it!

back to the history topic... my FH is 30 and i'm 23.... i like older guys... hehee

Alicia (alicia_yong)> no credit cards mean no debts to pay.. haha tat's gd ma... more money for yourself...

i think we are still better considering those who are holding their banquet this yr or next yr... sg is in recession now.. imagine how much are ur gg to lose? banquet already cfm so there's no way you can chng... 2010 is when the economy is picking up.. so i guess we should b better then those in 2009...

Alicia> huh so low ah? funny leh, I always tot secretaries in law firms their pay quite good one...

can't apply CC also good lah, then no need to swipe also. Those who have no cards are usually the rich ones cos they only pay by cash! haha!

Last outing u gals went to where? curious hehe

angelia> wow u are even younger than Sharlene! wonder who's the youngest BTB here?

angelia> Haha! Not true, no credit cards oso got liabilities. Gotta gif my parents 30% of my take-home pay + insurance + hp, internet, hse fone bills + transportation + loan (wen i study poly) + my meals/allowance (mum works shift work, so 1 wk she got cook, 1 wk nv cook, so gotta buy dinner home for me, dad & sis), etc... end up no savings liao.