(2010) 2010 Brides

KK> it's very expensive, and food's not that great also. Suggest u skip it and try something else. U are essentially paying for the ambience though...

which area is ur flat in?

Snoopy> good for u, ya I know some girls can't accept that their FBs are younger than them, maybe mine's an exception =P

KK> I see...u same same with Snoopy haha

how many chances u get in BTO/DBSS will depend on how many times u have ballotted lor...my friend who just got his flat started ballotting from 2005, by the time he got his flat this yr, he got 7 chances more but he was oredi numb by then liao LOL

Snoopy, booy, KK > thank you! hehe yeah I feel so relieved now that this part is over..

thomas > ooh yeah have to be very careful with gems that protrude out from the ring. so unless it is a bezel cut, actually i found out that a lot of engagement rings get multiple chips over time (but super small ones la so need a loupe to see).

ya ya! I was also taken aback when I saw them sitting out there at 530 in the morning..lol.. yeah he is american..so his stuff is all in a safe deposit box in the bank..I've come to realise how different their cultures and ours even just in terms of administration..

HAR? $20 COV for resale? where got such a good deal? I want..

ooh and in answer to the current qns..my FH is 1 yr older than I am. But I've dated guys who are slightly younger than me before..for me being able to connect with the other person is more important..although having said that if the guy was like 10 yrs younger I don't think I'll like the person romantically even if we can click..lol..that's literally cradle snatching liao..

agon-e> no choice leh, my FW likes those which the diamond is protruding out from the ring, not those inset ones...

I see, how u got to know him? curious hehe

erm, the $20 is not for COV, it's the amt which Booy has 'donated' to HDB so far...

Thomas> The area that I'm looking at is Toa Payoh and Kallang.. these are more ex area.. There are quite a few owners selling with $0 COV.. maybe due to bad economy..

My woody is 5 years older than me.. =)

HappyFairLady, Snoopy> Due to the most controversial income ceiling, I cannot ballot for new flats.. Only managed to get 2 chances becos I changed my job and satisfy the income limit at that point... If I still wanna try for new flats, I will have to quit my job again..

agon-e> I see...wah u also same as Snoopy and KK then. haha actually I seem to have fate with older gals, my ex-gfs (2 out of 3) were actually older than me also. Same goes for my FW, she also had younger guys going after her, guess it's all fate ba...

Booy> me too! I prefer TPY cos more central, easier to go other places...more imp, it's closer to my home now also hehe...

ooooooooo 5 yrs older than u? must be u like those mature looking type haha. Older men gives u more security eh? *winks*

Actually I'm in the same boat as u, me and my FW also not eligible to ballot for new flats now also cos I just got promoted this yr sigh...sometimes I wish I wasn't promoted, double whammy...headache hor? quitting ur job sounds a bit too drastic leh...

Thomas> Oh really ah? Then perhaps will give it a miss. =)
I've got Straits Vista @ Marsiling. Cos FH's current place is in Marsiling oso.
Honestly, i'm still trying to get used to that area, cos my current hse is in Tampines.
I managed to get the flat on 1st try, so hearing abt all the trys u guys have gone thru, it sounds pretty scary.

KK> wah u are damn lucky, 1st try got it liao, for me no such luck

I know what u mean, living in East and getting used to the North is not easy, dun think I can get used to it too...

Snoopy> yup, the stupid income ceiling cap at 8k lor...14yrs liao this rule still nvr change grrrrrrr...just imagine lah, ur pay has to be low enuff to qualify but what's the use? nowadays all the BTO/DBSS flats all so exp, how to afford even the mthly installments with ur pay???????????????????

rubbish rule really *bangs wall*

Thomas> He was my colleague then.. well sparks flew easily becos I spent so much time in office than at home then.. I managed to get 2 chances, but still didn't have good luck.. We live near toa payoh, so toa payoh is the no. 1 place.. But really ex..

Snoopy> Yup.. That $8000 figure is giving me a nightmare.. No new flat.. No grant for resale.. No HDB loan..

HappyFairLady> haha okok, I'll explain to u clearer...

booy just changed jobs, I assume her pay is higher than her previous one so her total combined income with her FH has exceeded 8k now, thus she's ineligible to apply for new flats now.

Same goes for me, before my promotion me and my FW's combined income was still <8k, but after my promotion it has exceeded the cap liao, hence me also cannot apply for new flats now.

Get it?

Booy> tell me abt it....

cannot buy new flat = no HDB grant = have to pay COV (in cold hard cash)

Where to find so much cash? sobs

Thomas> Perhaps near to my FH's parents, therefore we got a total of 4chances when balloting. Luckily i'm working in town, if i worked in east area, then have to change job le. haha.

So meaning tat income have to less than $8000 b4 getting new flats..correct?? if after getting new flat, ut income increased to $8000 or even more, HDB dun care rite???

Thomas > I m 27 tis yr, no secret...

KK> Wish I'm as lucky as you..

Thomas> We are in the same sinking boat.. haha..

HappyFairLady> $8000 income is combined income.. When both of us are working, we exceed the limit.. Therefore, when I changed to my new job, I made use of the window that I'm jobless (after my old job and before starting my new one) and applied for the new flats..

It's a drastic measure, but there are many cases that people quit their job to qualify to be within the limit..

Now that I'm working, $8000 limit become a nightmare again...

Snoopy> You will be able to apply for new flat as long as at that point your income does not exceed $8000.. but you will have an issue when you want to get HDB loan.. They will perform the income accessment again..

Booy> Hearing all the experiences from here, I think i'm really quite lucky. Perhaps partly bcos of the location. We r super near to his parents' hse lor. But dun worry, "there will be light at the end of the road".

booy: patpat...HDB is like that..we have no say also...

for balloting u can apply as many times as possible but no priority..only BTO has priority for 1st timers/fiance-fiancee scheme, married 1st child scheme and limit to 2 chances only.

KK> Hopefully, I will get luckier to find a lovenest soon.. =)

Jaq> Thanks yah.. but think for balloting, HDB won't approve if above 8K.. +/- a bit is OK.. but not a lot..

Thomas> My bf is 1 yr older than me. May I noe wat r u working as?

KK> U really lucky to get ur lovenest jus 1 try. I haven started finding my hse yet, still looking at wat HDB has to offer for BTO.

Alicia> actually that time was trying our luck, cos it has been a while since the last launch of new flats in woodlands &amp; marsiling area, so my FH decided to give it a try.
who knows we got it... it was quite an enjoyable process selecting the flats, though quite headache at the same time.

Dun worry ladies, u will find ur love nest soon. =)

KK> The other time wen they launch Marsiling, i told my bf abt it, he sit on it for a long time, but i kept pestering, till finally he say ok, but application closed liao...
Then recently the senja green oso same case... senja green is super near my parents hse lor... But again he sit on it den application closed liao den say ok lor... -_-"

thomas n booy.. does it mean tt HDB rule is combine income below 8K den can apply new flats but exceed mean can onli buy re-sale flats?? i tot hor if income exceed den mayb they will ask u to apply property like condo instead of normal HDB flats.. n fh told me tt if keep changing job its diff to apply grants.. wow.. all HDB rules realli made me confuse

Jaq > I apply for the BTO, now waiting for balloting results. Our combined income is less than $8000 now, thus we have no problems wif it...But yrs later, flats build finish n when we collect the keys, they will have to re-assess our income again n decide on the monthly installment..What if our incomes increased or even exceed $8000 at that time? Hw will they assess n take into consideration???

booy> yalor both of us in sinking ship...sigh. ya I heard of ppl quitting their jobs temporarily just so that they can apply for a new flat...it's drastic I know but no choice right? rather than pay so much COV upfront, where to find the $$$?

snoopy> I see, 27 is still very young! I wished I was 27 also hahahahha......yup u are right, at the point of application ur combined income must be <8k, after that ur income increase nvm one

Alicia> wah urs also 1yr older? seems like so many here like u also...me working in engineering company, u?

KK> wah u wish only ladies ah? me leh?

HFL> yes, combined income must be <8k>8k, either u buy resale or apply for EC (executive condo) which the cap is 10k. These rules are not new leh, have been there for quite sometime le

thomas: haha..juz got home..went for dinner with my colleagues..wahaha..den the guy colleague sent me and my other female colleague home..waahhaha..

Snoopy> You will still get your flat even if exceed 8K.. But when comes to loan, cannot take HDB loan which is lower than bank loan in general..

Thomas> You must be feeling very stressed out by us.. A lot of qn for you.. haha...

Shar> I see...wah ur male coll so nice, send both of u home...

mmpw> huh? u also 2yrs older than ur bf???

booy> yalor seems like I'm attracting all the 'bees' hor hahahahahahahaha

I think for income above $8k when collect keys..think me n bf definitely will hit >$8k in 2011 when the flat is completed..is whether we can take HDB loan anot again lor..tho they approve our HLE already.

mmpw> I see...thought we were the oldest couple here, didn't expect to find another couple who's the same age as us!

Shar> ??? u mean that coll of urs is actually ur FH??? me 32...same age as mmpw's FH haha. u?

Thomas > ooh no wonder. yeah if its protruding out then not much choice. FH wanted to custom make the engagement ring so I requested that the gem be slightly deep set when my FH brought me to the jeweler's to confirm the design..cos he kept complaining my other rings keep jabbing him..sigh..

hahah we met playing world of warcraft! it is an MMORPG (massively multiplayer online role-playing game). both from the same guild..so the first time I met him was via a bunch of pixels formulated into a shape of an elf :P how did you meet your FW?

re: COV..ahhh I see. Sorry I must have missed that. Why is there a 'donation' to HDB though? Now I'm confused..hehe

hahah thomas and booy, looks like we will have to share stories about resale hdb flat woes when the time comes to buy..FH and I have also exceeded the $8k limit. No new ECs coming up..so resale is the only option we have. Which areas are the both of you looking at? Anyone else looking at resale options too?

Speaking of ECs - anyone else also looking to get an EC unit? I've been digging online for a while and I've found it's really hard to get info on upcoming ECs since once HDB sells the land, it is entirely up to the developers to sell it to us..so how then do we find out about their new projects? It's not like we can go to a central resource like HDB to find out what's coming up
Or maybe I'm just going to the wrong places to look..

I see...so romantic, playing games together haha. I met my FW thru a car forum, both of us driving the same car

"Donation" as in everytime when we apply for new flat, we have to pay $10 in admin fee to HDB, hence the " " get it? haha

u also another one? aiyo sad to hear that...no new ECs cos response not popular, hence govt dun wanna build. If possible, of cos we wld like to stay in central areas like TPY/Bishan/AMK as me and my FW are staying in central now, she wants to be near her parents' house too. However, places like these are skyhigh cos they are considered 'prime' areas sigh...how abt u?

Shar> I see...so u comfortable in revealing ur age to me? haha