(2010) 2010 Brides

Understand Long Shi Fu charges $100 for consultation (as advised by annisan), any idea who charges lower than him? My BTB feels $100 for a few words of advice is a little overpriced -_-'

VV> U can try this website. they do have some interesting wrtie-ups on the traditions. http://www.goldenhappiness.com.sg/

Thomas> Yup, it's the one beside OG. For Tian Li, they charge $50 for 2dates. Addition 1 date at $20.
But if u wan to that give a 1 yr dates, then Fu Lu Shou might not be the place, cos when we went ard asking, most shops told us the rates based on 3dates.

KK> I see...sounds reasonable! what's the rates for 3 dates as quoted by other shops?

can give me the contact for Tian Li? what's the master's name also? thanks!

VV> you were at the Sheraton show? me too! Yea I thought it was kinda badly planned towards the end. I have never seen a hotel place their food at one end of the hallway and dessert on the other end..not to mention a 2.5 hour registration timeframe. Needless to say I picked my other choice without hestiation (Hilton). Eh ask you something..do you know what the super big and long white paper they gave us is for? LOL

This is a site I discovered recently that has a whole bunch of info, including suggested schedules, things to get, etc: http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/ I think it's written by a Singaporean so there are some SG-based contacts for wedding cakes, etc..hope this helps!

Thomas> The rates at Fu Lu Shuo are comparatively similar. We decided on Tian Li primarily bcos we feel quite comfortable with the Shifu. Secondly, we actually have in mind when we want our AD (as in the mths), so we decided on those shops that give a few dates, not those with a whole yr prediction. So, depends on what u require. Think Long Shi Fu gives 3-yr auspicious dates (based on his sms to me).

Tian Li Geomacy Centre
Master Simon Xu
90999913 (Hp)
63379710 (Tel)
Fu Lu Shuo Complex, #B1-14

Master Xu will give 2dates (standard), with the zodiac that "chong" on that day & also the auspicious hours.

thomas> yup fu lu sho is somewhere near sim lim. it's near the si ma lu temple.

snoopy> thanks! can i hav his contacts? paiseh, din take them down previously.

just smtg to share (finally caught up on all the previous threads). my fren's mil brought her n fh to a temple for dates. when they reach there, my fren gt the shock of her life. it's not just tongshu + shifu. it's those "ki tang" kind. then aft tt, she found out tt her fpil tot she "ke" their son (FH) just because he recently had a car accident (it's a minor one and it's because there was oil spill). so dumb right? my fren was crying so badly. i never see her pil crediting her when he fh did well in biz and was well-liked by his boss.

So I have a newbie question..I was just wondering. Is it common for BTBs to research, pre-book AD venues, etc up to 1.5 years before the wedding? When I started inquiring with some bridal portrait PGs and hotels, I got the 'eh it's still kinda early' response..but then again if we don't ask now, what if the date we want is already taken up, or what if the venue/PG raises their prices next year? What do you think?

alicia> she insisted that my bro not join my wedding cos his zodiac chong mine & fh's. ridiculous right! i have only 1 bro & i'm close to him. and in chinese tradition, the male sibling plays a very impt role (regardless if he's older/ younger than the bride). my parents esp my dad is very displeased. the pil are just so pantang & illogical *tears hair out*
fh tried to tell them, they gave a "up to u." (you know the kind tt actually means the opposite). i can bet that nxt time if anything happens, they are goin to blame me for not following their words, and my bro for it.

i really dont understand whats the obsession with all this superstitious thing. i'm fine with dates, but all these ridiculous rules... and there are other things too which i shan't say. just imagine superstitious to the extreme fanatic end

i just feel like cancelling the whole thing

sorry... think i'm sounding super angsty for a mon morning

VV> can understand ur frustrations and anger, dun let this get in the way of ur happy occasion ya?
Old ppl usually are more superstitious, but try talking to them nicely and slowly that ur bro is very important to you and must be present during ur ceremony, I'm sure they aren't that unreasonable to reject ur request.

thanks thomas. i dont know how to get ard this issue. how can anyone reason when there's no logic to start with?

agone>i think they were trying to divert the crowd, tho the crowd is small to start with. got to say it's the 1st time i've seen such a "sian" crowd. even the lucky draw is so blah. don't even know what're the prizes. and wendy jacobs really stinks as an emcee. as for the paper, i also dunno. haha... use as mahjong paper?

VV> I guess ur fren must be real shocked n upset abt it. Sometimes all these things really make me wonder. i know they want the best for their own children, but didn't they realise that we r also someone's child? In fact, all of us r. they shld imagine if the things turns ard n their child r the one kana "blamed". Cheer up!
Dun be so vexed. Things always go "hay-wire". Things will be fine. Dun say sorry, this place is for us to share everything under the sun, & that includes "venting" out our frustration oso. =)

agon-e> I thin it's quite common now. Weel, all of us here r in tht category. =) Perhaps outsiders dun understand. I dun wish to comprimise on the venue & stuff due to time constraint. It's gd to start researching early, in avoid any unnecessary stress & frustration nearer the actual day.

VV> I tink i've heard sumting like tat b4, abt chinese zodiac chong-ing de... But i'm not sure wat actually happens on tat day (whether is it the person chong the bride & groom de cannot b ard, or whether they can b ard, but cannot see or wat).

agon-e> For some venues, even tho their prices haven launch yet, can still tentatively book wif dem. Some venues can let u book already.

According to the Shifu i went to, those whose zodiac that chong, when we (the couple) 1st enter into both hse (nan fang & nu fang), they just have to "avoid", as in perhaps stay in the kitchen, avoiding dierect contact. after we enter, they can reveal themselves le.

Alicia> I just attended my cousin's wedding in May this yr and it so happened that one of our nieces "chong" with their date, so she wasn't allowed to be at the dinner

VV: oh dear..that's horrible. hmm I heard there might be a way out like there are protective jade pieces or amulets that the couple can wear so your brother can still attend the wedding but the amulets/jade will absorb the negative energy. Not sure how true it is but it is worth a shot..so you can appease both sets of parents..

KK: Yeah I agree! Phew good to see I'm not the only one who thinks that way
I'd be really annoyed if I have to kickstart the whole process of searching for an alternative place just cos I didn't book early :X

thanks! i can't show to my parents how affected i am, it'll just piss my parents more that the fpil are "bullyin" me, and worsen the whole situation.

yes KK, that's exactly what i said to my fh. in fact, i think my fpil are long lost twins of my fren's pil. they also tot i "ke" fh, simply becos he also had a minor car accident.
why can't they think "thank gdness she's his lucky star, if not the accident cld hav been worse"?
they also have a daughter, and (f)mil is a female herself, don't they understand how hurtful, ridiculous it is?

ironically, these superstitious ppl never stop to think abt karma.

i just think that if this issue is not settled properly, i'll cancel the whole thing. even b4 guo men (when i'm still not under their "jurisdiction"), they can be so hurtful and disrespectful to me & my family, i cannot imagine what life will be like in the future, nor do i want to be part of such ridiculous spitefulness (whether intentional or not, i don't really care)

VV > Long Tian Xiang Professional Geomancy Services 166 Lentor Loop Bullion Park #14-01 Tower 3
Tel: 64523048, Mobile: 90675008

U sms him n he wil reply back

agone> you can just book it. think most hotels take bkings up to 2010 mar/jun

btw any1 approached novotel? there's this guy called Kevin artedjo or smtg. super cocky. when i said other hotels are opened to bkings, he said "it's becos they are doing badly, while we are doing very well". he quickly corrected himself and said " us as in other hotels too"

Alicia> yup, she wasn't allowed to be present during 'guo da men' also...thankfully she's old and mature enough to understand so not really an issue.

VV> so cocky? maybe can use my method to deal with ppl like him (I deal with a lot of suppliers everyday hehe)

he: it's becos they are doing badly while we are doing very well!

me: oh is it? since u are doing so well, I guess u can do away with me as ur potential customer lah hor? (hangs up the phone)

VV: I heard Novotel is very cocky in general. At least that was the experience my friend had, not sure if Kevin was the person she spoke to. Also apparently their quality has gone down quite a bit of late.

Also..not to be a wet blanket..but I agree that you should just cancel the whole thing if it is not working out with the pil. Marriage is for life..and you are absolutely right, if you are already facing issues now, who's to say what will happen in the future, especially with kids, etc..That's what happened to my cousin, her pil were so overbearing and hurtful they even wanted to decide on the type of wedding dress she was gonna wear, etc (amongst other major disagreements)..so she cancelled the whole wedding. Couldn't take their nonsense X.X

Even though I did nt face such problems n issues but frankly speaking...if nt for my elders in my family, I wil aso do away wif the wedding..I find it quite a hassle..I rather save up the $$$ n spend on other areas tat is worthwhile...

Yup I agree it's such a hassle..hahaha I wanted to have a Las Veg*s wedding! My HTB is Amercian so every year when we fly back for Christmas I'd ask him if we can drive up to Neveda and get a 45-min ceremony presided by Elvis :P Although if I did that I think my parents would disown me..

agone > cool man...ur HTB is a foreigner..mine aso but is from China..Did u nid to hold another wedding in USA?? I nid lorz...marry again to the same guy...haha

We already ROM during Mar'08 but elders wun nt recognize ROM, oni customary marriage.. so no choice...

wa... slow down pals... heee...

VV> That's time when my FH proposed to me, that's when i started my research. the 1st thing i told my mum (other than informing her of the gd news) is that hope that she will respect our decision. of cos we will consult her when it comes to the traditions. Given my mum's temper, i felt that i shld have a gd talk with her before things start to crop up. dun give up just yet.. ur FH is there with u... at least u r not alone. Things can be smoothen out... Cheer up! Guess human r like that, we tend to think of the negative aspects of others before seeing the good side.

Oh, i'm surprised to hear that abt Novotel. cos so far, i had quite gd experience with them. I'm liasing with Huiling. She's very detailed. If anyone interested in Novotel, can try to ask for her. =)

Snoopy Dog & agon-e> Haha! My FMIL was telling my bf to go for ROM, followed by tour (honeymoon bah), den wen we return jus throw a buffet, but i dun 1 it. I 1 2 haf a lunch/dinner, so i told my bf i'm not gg to follow wat his mum says, coz if next time i got a daughter, i wld oso 1 my daughter to hold a lunch/dinner. Hehe!

Snoopy> Oooh cool! When are you going back to have the er..2nd wedding? Which part of China will you be holding it in?
As for me..I think most likely not..FH's family and some of his relatives said they will fly in, which is good..anyway I told him I don't think we will have enough $ to hold a wedding in so many places, hahaha! As it is, the wedding in SG is gonna cost a bomb (flying ppl in, etc)..sigh..the challenge is that his family is half chinese, which means they are also expecting the tea ceremony, etc..at least his dad is..so we figured might as well just hold it here since most of the village elders are here, ie my side of the family.

Alicia> Wah ur mum is really cool! She wants you to go on your honeymoon first..I wish my parents were like that..lol..so you will go for your honeymoon only after everything is sorted?

snoopy dog> Nice ah?! Haha! I dunno leh... tink recently she tok to my bf abt changing cars, coz currently my bf 1 2 change another car, so my bf told his mum tat gotta ask me 1st, tink his mum's reply is "everyting oso need to ask her" sort of remark... -_-"

agon-e> Ya, after EVERYTHING! Haha! Coz i dun 1 2 go for the "more casual" one, coz i mite regret next time leh? Anyway, wedding is onli once a lifetime, so if i chose not to hold the dinner, scully next time i regret den too late liao lor...

Agone > stil nt sure when wil be my 2nd wedding..but I hope to be in the same yr, maybe second half of 2010... My hubby's hometown is at shenyang..My wedding here, tink oni his parents n brother will attend..the rest wun..His family is huge, I can't image if all turn up here.. (flights costs & accomodations problems)..

So I try to cut costs here for my wedding..BS package price cut, banquet cut, everyting cut cut cut...haha

VV> According to my sis (coz last time 1 of her guy fren oso getting married & the horoscope chong oso happen), she said tat those "animals" chong wif the couple de all haf to hide in a room 1st, until the groom steps into the hse den those ppl can come out.

Thomas> Can consider this.. $88 for the dates and the usual GDL stuff.. No extra charges for extra dates..

http://www.worldoffortune.com/

You guys all confirm on the AD, then work towards the dates? I'm really scared that I cannot get the hotels that I like based on the few dates that I have..

Booy> For me, i go to see the hotel 1st, den tell the co-ordinator roughly wich mth my AD will b & once i got the date le, i email the co-ordinator & tentative booking wif him.

Alicia> Most of the hotels still hasn't release 2010 package.. Thinking of waiting for their wedding show then book.. Can save some $$$.. =)

Alicia> Yup.. I have the dates.. Now it's really waiting for the package to be out.. and see which hotels increase in prices dramatically in a bad economy.. =(

Alicia> zzzzzzzzzzzzzz.....no wonder u so free can log on here

economy will still be in a slump next yr, brace urselves gals...

I see...just curious gals, got one question to ask all of u here...

how long have u known ur other half before deciding to get married? keke

Thomas> Haha! I'm wif my bf for 6 yrs, gg on 7 yrs tis coming 19 Jan. It's actually i ask him tat we shld settle down le, coz we r not getting any younger, & being pressurised by his relatives (wen his dad passed away tis july), he agreed to it, but haven propose yet. :p