(2010) 2010 Brides

Hi all> I'm back! Phew, been coolie for the time being. shifting office. Sian. I was actually looking forward to my boss' 2-week leave from Wed onwards, but coincides with office shifting. boringz!

Thomas> Hmmm...I knew him for abt 6yrs, together for abt 2 n 1/2 yrs before deciding to tie the knot. Y that qn?

thomas> ya such idiots think they own the hotel. the way he speaks (he was even late), grrr you just feel like punching him.

thank you all... this is really the last straw. my parents were ok w/o the dinner, but his parents wanted and it's not as if they r well to do. so initially i was already upset that they insisted on having a big dinner. anyway we figured out on finances and were able to go with their wishes for their armies/troops of relatives. then only now, his mom said it's ok if we really cant afford the dinner (with a hurt look and wei qu tone). i seriously dun appreciate such dramatics.

i know i sound mean/disrespectful, but really after all the incidents and things they put my through, i have no respect left for them. unless they apologise, explain things and promise to never poke their nosy/ridiculous noses into our affairs, i don't see how i can move on from this fiasco

i really don't know how to salvage the situation even though i can tell my fh is trying in his own way to stand by me. never have i imagined my big day would actually be smtg out of those dramatic soap operas

wah alicia and KK, u all know ur halves for so long one ah? 7yrs is a loooooooooooooooong time to me keke. Coming next mth then is our 2nd yr anniversary haha, short hor? =P

alicia> he haven't proposed yet? then MAKE him do it!!! haha u'll love it lah, so sweet that moment keke...

KK> nothing, just curious only lol

snoopy> it's on no. of yrs of fh & ur relationship.

thomas, mine is 5years going on to 6.

ok with regards to economy, it's going to worsen all the way till next year end. (do i sound like those nerd-nerd economist on the financial talk shows? ;P ) but last wkend when i was at sheraton, they said 2010, they are going to up by $80/table (before the taxes)

wow thomas!!! *thumb up*
you act fast eh! ahah not liek the typical commitment-phobic guy

eh share with us on how you propose leh! share the sweetness with us

VV> yo gal, prob u shld go take a break, recharge and refocus? I know u are frustrated with ur FPILs, if I were u probably I wld also feel the same. The feeling really sucks I know sigh...

On the other hand, do spare a thought for ur FH, he's sandwiched in the middle btw u and his parents, he wldn't feel good also. It is very difficult to please both sides, and if things are not resolved with tact, it cld turn out worse than expected.

I really hope u can see the light at the end of the tunnel, and I think all of us here wish u all the best, be happy ok?

VV>wow urs also so long? looks like I'm the one who's desperate to get married hor whahahahhahhaa.......... =P

yup, the economy will be this bad until next yr sigh...so many retrenchments going on, scary

aiyo can dun share or not? really nothing much lah gal...I shy shy leh. Not fast lah, I'm not getting any younger also plus I feel she's the right one for me, so dun wait anymore lor...

Snoopy> that's SWEET! 1.1.2007 is so easy to remember...

Thomas> Haha! The other time wen he spoke to me on the fone, i "reminded" him tat he hasnt propose yet, & i noe he's gg to do it over the fone, so b4 he speak up, i cut him off & said i dun 1 2 hear it over the fone. & u noe wat he said?! He said den i wont b hearing it at all! Tsk Tsk... such a bad boy!

Thomas > at tat time, I tink was really a bit fast..dating abt 8 mths then proposed already...but since he is the guy for me, so agree to it lorz...keke..

hahahhaaaa.......that's BOYS for u Alicia ;)

Maybe he's thinking of a nice way to surprise u lah...update us here ok? heehee

I also waiting for bf to propose .. proposal ring bought but till now dun wanna give me .. den i keep on pestering him when is he gg to propose cos our ROM in Jan .. sighz .. he can tell me .. good things are worth waiting for ..

thomas> Haha! If he's not gonna propose, den i'm gonna whack him till his mum cant recognise! Haha!! Ya, if he even propose, den i'll update here... keke!

hello! sorry I was away for a super long meeting...zzzz

Alicia > HAHAH yea I also think it is wiser to have the honeymoon after everything is over..at least the $ is not wasted..lol

Snoopy > ooh yeah I can imagine it will really blow your budget if they all come down..will they only consider the both of you as married after the 2nd wedding though? Or does the 1st wedding already count?

Thomas > hahaha don’t talk about the PR liao. He tried applying last week – they gave him an appointment for Jan 2009 *pengz* but they said if you get there super early they may be able to see you earlier ie walk in. when they said super early they really meant SUPER early. He was there at 7am (ICA opens at 8am) today to try to ‘walk in’..they can only see max 120 ppl a day, but there were like more than 100 ppl in front of him liao! So he missed getting into today’s ‘walk in’ case by like 15 or 16 ppl!! *RAWWRRR*

tomorrow I’m gonna work from home so I’m gonna go down with him at 530am to queue up…really peng san loh. And! And! Making it into the 120-person mark is not all..still need to wait there for like 6 hours or so before you can submit your application. Since when did they make the PR app such a tedious process?!

Hmm I’ve been with my FH for a little more than 3 yrs..1st yr was LDR :P

Thomas> Wif flowers & ring? He bought me a ring beginning of tis yr, his punishment for forgetting my bdae last yr. So i told him i do not need another ring, nor do i need flowers, but of coz muz b sincere lah!

Eve > Guys r mysterious..they wil do things in unexpected time n situations...b patience..U will get it wat u want..I myself aso dun expect my hubby to propose to me at tat time n environment as well....

Eve> hahahahahhaa........he wanna give u a nice surprise lah...must wait ok? hehe

U mean u saw ur proposal ring already??? or u just know that he bought liao???

Alicia> O.o you very violent leh...scary keke

agone > actually is consider married already in my PIL's eyes, juz tat throw a dinner n went through their China traditional customes in their hometown again...
Ur HTB apply PR under which category??
I thought is to submit forms n other relevant documents to ICA n they will inform u when the results r out..mine aso like tis

Snoopy> RIGHT ON! hehe. just be patient Alicia and Eve, they sure give u BIG surprise lah haha

Alicia> with ring and a nice meal, no flowers...anyway every yr I will send flowers to her office on her BD and our anniversary

agon-e> yes must be SUPER early, the queue there is scary, 8am open but u go there at 7am u will see like few hundreds ppl there liao *faints*

so sweet of u to go down with him so early! hope he can get a slot, PR procedures seem to have changed again?

alicia is scary...lol!

snoopy > yeah that's what we thought too! he tried applying the first year he was here, that's how he submitted his app too. but that time he kena rejected - they told him it's cos he was not in SG long enough..can like that one meh? my friend who was here for 6 mths got it on his first try leh =.= but my friend applied some years ago..

Anyways I think it's under Q or P2 or something..I'm not sure..sibei sian man really..when did your FH get his PR?

Thomas> Wah! Tat's so sweet & nice of u... My bf nv gif me any flowers at all... Luckily i oso not so interested in flowers de... Hehe! But he gave me bears lah, big de, small de oso haf...

agon-e> Haha! Ya... I can b nasty! So long as no1 step on my "tails"... keke! But u noe lah, usually always say beat him, in the end, how to beat leh? But hor, if he really make me angry or wat ah, i'll use my "woman's tactic" - cry! Den he so lost! lol...

thomas > aiyoh i should have joined this forum earlier. when he told me I was still half-asleep can? ie super early in the morning still. I was like HAR? Yeah it seems like now they are stricter on how long you have to stay in SG before you can apply for PR..

aiya no choice right..this is his 3rd trip down in 7 days..I figured I'd show some support by going down with him the 3rd time. Gonna bring chips and our DS lites and stuff..hahah at least there is something to do there..

Agone > he apply under spouse's sponsership...cos we already ROM during Mar'08 n he hold a job in singapore n had been staying here for 5 years already...
If apply using the work permit, S pass or Q pass, company have to strongly support his application by writing some recommendations letters, tis will be a big help in processing his PR status

agon-e> Ya... I've tried once, in public somemore... Haha! He was very flustered & keep walking ard while i sob sob... Den he keep apologising oso... Haha!

thanks thomas. yup i'm seeing the light, except that it's a runaway train called PIL coming to run me down ;P
ya i know what you mean, i also dun wan to sandwich the poor man. we both love each other, but if his parents are insistent on creating such trouble (think abt it, we have been tog for so long, if i "ke" him, wldnt he be long dead by now?), it's not going to work out in the end.

anyway, thomas, u still havent tell us about ur proposal. quick quick quick share share

ha alicia, that's right! when all tactics fail, CRY hehe.... though cannot always use. i think it's always v funny to see big macho man turn all pale & jittery at the sight of female's tears.

VV> Haha! Gd point u haf! The olden chinese ppl like to use the 3 tactics "yi ku, er nao, san shang diao", actually shld b quite useful de leh... But we no need use tactic 2 & 3 lah, use onli tactic 1 can liao... keke!

alicia> thanks.

ermm... for us, tink we r quite fast. noe each other for abt a year,then got together dated abt 1 yr... oso cant remember who pop up marriage then blur blur ROM le loh... lol....

Eve> I see...at least he let u choose sth which u like so it's sweet of him too...

agon-e> great idea, u'll need those stuff to stay awake in the queue lol. rem to set ur alarm clock tonite!

Alicia> aiyo u very notti leh...dun lah, guys cannot stand the sight of girls crying, I'm one of them...heart will break into many many pieces

VV> u have a sense of humour haha...dun worry u will definitely see it ;)

mine very unromantic one lah...dun say can or not?

snoopy > oooh so lucky! no wonder..yeah my FH got a new version of the letters and I don't know what forms from HR (new version meaning signed letters with updated date since he submitted them the first time)..so we will see how that goes..

thomas! share leh..it's nice to hear from a guy's perspective

u guys r too fast! i can't catch up!

Eve> I chose my own ring too. He feels safer for me to choose my own ring as i was in the jewellery line before. Same thing, i knew he bought the ring le, that time just waiting for him to pop the question. The feeling a bit weird, cos i know where he keeps the ring... so near yet so far. hahaha

Thomas> By popular demand, tell us lah... all proposals r romantic. to each its own. share lah...
can c that u r very sweet towards ur FW.

Thomas> Haha! The ring (not proposal) tat he bought me for punishment of him 4getting my bdae de, is choosen by him. He very funny de lor... ask me choose, den i chose 1 tat is not very ex de, den he say he prefer the other 1, den in the end bought the 1 tat he prefers. :p Yes, yes, tell us how u pop the qn.

Thomas (thommy) > same as u.. my bf propose to me on my bday... 10 july this this year... we been dating for 2yrs 1mth.... keke

so sweet.. flowers to the ofc on every bday... he onli send me flowers when he made me angry or to cheer me up when i'm reali down.. and of cos our first yr and my bday... and that's it... not on our anniversary.. =(

VV (vaquita) > totally understand how u feel!! my fpil don let me do what i want.. firstly their remarks are very mean.. "bu san bu si" when i suggested i juz want a reception... no banquet.. next is my gown... next is my venue den come my mother.. omg! i almost wanted to cancel this whole wedding and just go for a loooong trip with those $$ if not for my bf who keep offering solutions...

Eve> i choose my own ring too!! he say worried that i wont like.. he's so silly.. it's reali the thoughts and sincerity that counts...

My proposal is without a ring...a bunch of flowers, romantic english song played, room lighted up wif many candles n a sincere heart, keel down n ask ' will u marry me' in chinese... N he popped out tis question after I step out from my bathroom...

Angel > I aso agree tat proposal is veri sudden, really catch me unaware...I was stunned at tat time..dunno how to reply..
But now tink back time is nt a issue, is Hw much u understand each other...n all the happiness n problems u both faced n brave together...