(2010) 2010 Brides

angelia> Haiz... wat a sad ting... esp wen the gal is to marry into the guy's family. Hopefully ur fren & her PIL r not staying 2gether. Tink ur fren's hubby oso being sandwiched.

Ching Ching: which is ur project? =)

Booy: hmm.. i signed up during the wedding show.. my coordinator is quite nice to mi to-date..

hi ladies!

so many messages huh! i just came back fr town. went to paragon for a forum by Lasik surgery centre. wheeee! im going to check if my eyes r suitable for lasik this sun. so excited! anyone done lasik before??

angelia and alicia, my email is [email protected]

thanks thanks... for AD, im thinking of melvin ho. for rom, i haven decide yet but i got super low budget for this. like less than 400 bucks?? so no award-winning photographers for me lor... muahahaha...

happyfairlady,
what i meant was, i think im tt type tt cant take rejections? like i will take it very hard. so i have learnt not to hint for things or ask for things if i know i might be rejected. cos this was what i did last time w my ex and got so hurt. so now when i wan anything, i will just tell my bf straight. my humble opinion la.

so... anyway i think i really need that pre-marital preparation course. hee. though i think i have read enough fr magazines, internet, forum... anyone of u girls attended? i was telling my bf tt we shld attend aft our rom... he was stunned!

Happy Girl >> I'm attending one now .. by Serangoon Moral Family Service Centre .. had only gone for the first session which is actually the personality test .. going to schedule the 2nd appt soon ..

most likely i will also be a march bride.. looking at 7th march as that marks our 88th mth anniversary... sounds pretty cool

Jaq> i dont have the photos of amara santucary, i actually contacted the coordinator irene and went down for a look last month... my hubby did his proposal there so we tot it will be quite romantic and meaningful to hold our AD there.

Am also a 2010 bride to be!
Looking forward to share experiences and learn more about the 'horrors' of being a BTB, hahaha :D

Happy Girl >> they have both individual as well as group. I took the individual one. If you are thinking of a group one, the one by Touch Community is quite well-received.

agon-e >> welcome .. hope we will be able to help one another here .. So when's ur AD going to be? Venue and Bridal studio booked?

thank you angelia!

thank you eve! think i will go for the individual one w my bf. he said he will 'look into this'. cos he knows im lazy to go for the course. muahahaha

hi agon-e! hi thomas! hi ching ching! hi poohy!

seems like im still gonna be the last bride to be married in dec 2010. haha...

congrats! christmas is coming! it's a festive month ahead!

angelia.. i guess ur fren's mil must have misunderstood her in some way on preparation in wedding.. n her mil is realli too much.. i hope ur fren aint staying together wif mil..

happygirl.. i guess everyone have diff point of u..i agree wif wat u say.. coz e feeling of being rejected dun feels good esp from dearest 1..

welcome agon-e

Happy Girl> Had my lasik few years back.. It has been good though there bound to be some side effects.. Mine is like I'm more sensitive to lights now... Advice is that go to a reputable clinic and experienced senior doctors.. Cheap might not be good..

I'm going for the Touch prep next year before ROM.. It's a group one and it's held by marriage couple at their homes.. Very interesting..

deerixp> Then your package must be really good.. Wedding shows usually have more rebates and perks.. Maybe I'm just unlucky to meet this co-ordinator or we just doesn't click.. Now seriously consider their deals.. The package that I get still has the $38 rebate for Mar 2010..

Should all of us wait for the wedding shows next year? Really scared that the dates will be taken.. Heard most wedding shows in Apr and Jun..

deerixp> Wah!! So glad to befriend a neighbour here~ hehe.. I staying at 603A.. =) can't wait for the completion of the flats.

Happy Girl> Hi Happy Girl~

Agon-e> Hihi~ I may be the dec 2010 BTB too~ =p Confirm ur date already?

booy> The package has the $38 rebate is gd. i think mine around there also.. mine is 1088 rebate off total bill.. think if $38 per table is better for mi... hee coz i taking the grand ballroom..more tables... but my package quite ok la.. hee

Happy Girl> Wish you good luck.. and see the world with a different light soon..

deerixp> Yup.. I agree it's really good that's so tempting.. Think the price of yours is already quite decent.. =)

Gd morning all..It's Mondae..so sianz...
Want to know tat hw advance u all will take to inform all ur relatives n friends abt ur wedding date? Six months in advance or.....??? Too early I scared no response, too late they might have other planned programes already..

Morning all ..

kelle >> I think we can informally tell them loh .. Just say oh u getting married on which date, etc .. Near to the date then announce it again loh ..

Good morning ladies!

Hi Happygirl / Ching Ching,

I'm also a Dec 2010 BTB.. date not confirmed yet thou.. hehe..

Happygirl,
I did my lasik in June.. having perfect eyesight now.. n trying vvv hard to cut down on time spent on tv and computer.. dowan my degree to come bac again.. the only side effect i have now is my eyes are super dry when i wake up in the morning.. enquired the senior consultant during my last review.. but reply was that she wasn't sure what's the reason as my cornea is recovering well.. so she advised me to use eye drops regularly. Agree with Booy to go to reputable clinic and must get senior doctors.

Gd Morning All!
I've got AD date over the weekend. Finally... so excited! My FH did as he promised, went with me to ask abt the date.

agon-e> Hi hi!

Snoopy Dog> I think can inform them informally (like what Eve said), & nearer the date when the invitation cards r out, that serves as the reminder.

Hi Snoopy Dog,

I paid about $2600+, can't rem the exact amount.. but 2 months after i did mine, the price had been reduced by $300! not sure if the promo is still on.. hee

KK > congra..wat date have u chose??
I aso thought of doing lasik, but cuming to money issue, I put behind tis idea at tis moment..Will there b side effects after doing it? I heard from others tat even after doing the lasik, ur eyesight might nt b 100% perfect..

Eve & KK > MY AD is at 28 Mar 2010 n I thought of telling my relatives n friends during next yr CNY..but my aunt felt tat is too early, she said one month before the AD shld b enough...(sooo late, I thought in my heart)...Then I think n think, maybe around next yr June shld be sufficient lah..wat u all think?

All> Morning!

HappyGirl> U've got mail!

agon-e> Welcome!

Snoopy Dog> Hmm... U noe usually wen there's gathering, relatives will ask the qn abt wen u getting married, blah blah, so tink tat's the best time to tell bah... U can oso start telling closer relatives or those relatives who will "spread" the news de? Haha!

Kelle> Thanks! We have chosen 1 Aug 2010. Initially wanted Oct or Nov, but the shifu said not suitable (sian). So we chose this. gd oso, he has no excuse to forget as it's near my bday. heheeee...
i think u can inform them, as in casually in talks or so. but when it comes to confirming their attendance (RSVP), might has to be done nearer to ur AD. Dun think they can confirm with u at such early stage, even they do, who knows what might change the attendance again. =)

Snoopy Dog> I tink ur aunt meant giving out the invitation cards is it? For mine, will b easier, coz since my sis getting married next yr oct, den sure relatives will ask abt mine... Haha!

Alicia > no leh...my aunt means giving out invitation cards is to informing them as well..who wil turn out??? Oh Gosh...

Snoopy Dog> Oh... usually will somehow tell relatives the date b4hand, den abt 1mth b4 AD den will send out invitation cards, den 2wks b4 AD will call & cfm attendance.

kelle> Oh really? Yup, my bday is on 2nd Aug. How abt u? Now u know what i mean by "he has no excuse to forget"? heeeeeeee....

hmmm... seems like there r only a few of us here today. =)

KK > my bd is at 27 Aug, but tink I m older than u by one yr (oops..) 2nd Aug is nt in ur auspicious date list? If yes, it will be double happiness

Hi all! Thank you for the warm welcome! Omg you ladies are so active..I didn't realise there would be a full page of new stuff to read over the weekend..makes it all very exciting

Hi Eve and Ching Ching, my AD will be on 17th April, may not have a BS and go ala carte instead..so am still sourcing pre-wedding PG, bridal suites that rent gowns, etc..have pre-booked Hilton for the Chinese banquet, will be paying my deposit this week. I'll have a church wedding too but I haven't decided which church I want it at..lol..

Hey Snoopy Dog, I was also thinking about the same thing! (when to tell my relatives). But I think with Chinese New Year around the corner..ppl will definately start asking when you plan to get married. That would be a good way to get people to know the date..at least, that's what I'm planning to do

Alicia> No way! Told him in advance le, they r on 2 different days, so 2 pressies. hahaha... no combination is allowed! heee. so mean hor.

kelle> hmmm... we r both Aug babies.
I wish too. but 02.08.2010 falls on a Monday. We prefer Sat or Sun. Actually we prefer Sat, but dun have suitable de. so go for Sunday lo.

agone> Welcome to tis thread...if ppl ask u, then u will like informally tell them..but wat is they dun ask u..will u automati tell them?? A bit pai sen leh... Hard to open my mouth..haha..

KK > I aso prefer sun as well..

kelle> dun worry, i'm sure they will ask de, esp when we r in the "marriage" age.
last time, relatives will ask, "got bf anot". now, for the past few yrs, they have asking me
"when r u getting married?" want ot skip that topic oso difficult. hahaha... I agree with Alicia. u just have to tell one of them, preferrably the most active one (u know what i meant, rite? hee), then before u know it, all or most of them r aware of the date le. hee.

this thread is really going faster and faster.

angelia> try not to be dishearterned. do you think it could be that your mom is feeling left out and she doesn't know how to tell you to include her more (you know, the mian zi wen ti). or maybe she's jealous you are closer to your mil than to her. Parents, especially moms are very sensitive to such things. the thought of losing you both physically and "emotionally" could be making her unreasonable.

anyway i went to the Sheraton show last weekend. it was a disappointment. i think the bridal show wasnt good. the gowns were disappointing. i think La Belle did better in Style Bash. The food was below expectation. so one more hotel down the drain. the bridal suites were very cramped, too many huge/ bulky unnecessary furniture pieces in the suite

Morning ladies!!! OMG...u gals are early hahahahhahaha........

KK> mind sharing which master u went to choose ur AD? I wanna go ask for mine too, thanks

Happygirl> hihi!

VV> Sad to hear that abt Sheraton. Thought that they were pretty gd. Disappointing.

Thomas> I went to Fu Lu Shou Complex. Tian Li Geomacy Centre. We actually went to the complex n ask a few shops before deciding on that. We feel more confortable with this Shifu, he seems more welcoming. If u want, i can pass u the contact. =)

hey anyone know any resources for the rituals? those guo da li, pin jin etc etc

btw i think i feel like goin to Long shi fu. he'll just calculate the dates only right?
i'm v upset w fpil, so i'm going to just get the dates myself. usually what will long shi fu?

VV> Wat happen to ur FPIL?

Snoopy Dog> Dun worry abt tat... The coming CNY shld b a gd time to roughly let them noe wen u r getting married.