(2010) 2010 Brides

thomas: then ur mum clean up ah after the frying LOL...
think my kitchen cabinet top must be either stainless less/aluminum sort or granite if I can afford..then cleaning will be easy..no top cabinets..just bottom 1 gd enuff..then can reduce the amount of housework need to do LOL

jaq > misconception ... cos walls / ceilings get greasy too ... why you think i need 4 hours to clean up ....

during cooking i bring a fan in to help ventilate, end up the fan also got the grease smell.

but anyway, the pork chops were worth it. :P I posted the photo in my facebook.

it just that for those who like to cook, once in a while, we wanna experiment with something new... pork chops in black pepper sauce was my experiement for the month. :P Anyway in the house, the kitchen is my domain. i.e. i cook, i pack, i clean the plates, wipe cabinets ...

my wife has the harder job of washing clothes and ironing.

Jaq : No leh...if I cooking, cleaning aso my duty...

But come to think about, he does the cleaning, I feel a bit nt safe..I will spot check on the areas..hehe

darrel: dun tell me u also clean the ceiling ah...walls is tiled wat..shouldnt be a problem. dun ever bring a fan to ventilate ur kitchen..it makes not only ur kitchen greasy..the cabinets n fridge also.

wash clothes n ironing still alright...I am doing the vacuum, mop, wash toilet..coz my hubby wun do unless instructed n anyhow do 1..this is the problem with regulars..at camp do until swee swee liao go home dun want to do. But I am lucky I dun need to iron his clothes..only a few of mine nia hahaha

thomas: eh glossy laminated finish will the corners or ends wear n tear as time goes by...like the piece of thing will come out or smth?

snoopy: HAHAHAHAAHAHAH same here..my heart wun rest when hubby do the housework.. giving ourselves more worries rather than lighten our chores right :P

Jaq : that right!!!!I rather do it all myself..but also cannot let them do nthing..so have to delegate the tasks to them n check their works...hahahaha

ceiling never clean, but have to wipe the wall tiles as well... my fan is placed point outside the window (i.e. blow the grease out)

what makes u think now we have to wash toilets in camps anymore :P now its outsourced, got cleaner one ok. so get ur hubby to wash the toilets more. let him reminisce the good old days... anyway its good to share the chores, if not will start taking your partner for granted. So permanently assign him to clean toilets, do a duty roster and pin on the toilet wall or something.

snoopy: lol...

darrel: ya he also suggest that but I say u wun do de lor...when move to our house, definitely will do up roster n assign..wahahahahah..

i like to stir fry... so far the kitchen is still quite okie... thank God i installed the hood~

even walls are tiled, need to clean often... else the oil will accumulate over time and makes it v difficult to clean...

btw, all laminates will have a chance of peeling off when it's old, not related to whether it's glossy or not

hmm like that I better do granite top or aluminium/stainless steel top...

walls r tiled easier to clean than normal wall...

hood also need to clean after cooking ah...xiong 1...I intend not to install hood also..

was thinking to cover the bay window ledge n service yard ledge with tiles or not, so when is dirty, easier to clean

my kitchen cabinets wall (between the top and bottom cabinets) is glass. Its nicer to look at and easier to clean than tiles. unless you get really big tiles that very little gap in between. The killer is always at the joins.

ya manz...I am still thinking is there any need for me to engage ID..since I only got 3 main things for design n build - tv console, kitchen cabinets n built in wardrobe..

darrel: I thinking to get stainless steel wall to cover the tiles..easier to wipe also

jaq > i think just get a contractor bah ... my whole place is done up by my cousin (contractor). I got a couple of quotes from a few IDs and the prices at at least 10 - 15K cheaper for my case.

Afternoon all.. Looks like everyone started cooking..nowadays, I'm very interested in cooking too.. hee.. Tried fried rice last weekend but doesn't taste too good..

If dun fried, try grilling and baking.. At least it only dirty my oven..

darrel: by any chance u have ur house photos? can I view some of it? How much is ur reno again?

wah talking abt oven..duno my kitchen enuff place to place 1 anot else buy those small portable kind 1 like I buy for my mum...

Darrel > you have glass backsplash... *envy* i really really wanted that too but no $$ liao.... haiz.

Jaq > personal opinion is... granite is a better choice cos stainless steel get scratch marks easily. but colour choices for granite is limited...

have been cooking for the past 2 weeks ever since come back to SG... :S

alicia: 4 room premium..now HDB design of BTO flats doesn't give u much choice in designing actually..they already allocated swee swee for u where to put ur bed, wardrobe, kitchen cabinet to ease space..so we can only follow

ur MIL will always bake? I thinking if really built in oven..should go for eye level kind or waist line...

alicia: wah...then CNY time all the way bake ah? hehehe

ellen: ya depends lor..tats y gotta consider so many factors...yeah, tats wat I worry also abt built in oven...if spoil liao u have to replace 1 exactly same measurements n type 1..else u have to remove the cabinet n reinstall again...hmmm like that better to get a small portable 1..cleaning also easier smore small family

stainless steel is $$$$$$$$$$$$$ hahahahaha...

ellen, cannot replace unless u can find one exactly the same size and shape :P

or if u are worried, buy 2 or more ovens of the same brand/model and keep in case its spoilt then u can change :P

thomas: -_-""I doubt got space in bomb shelter...vacuum cleaner, my hubby mountain bike,ironing board, iron, all the stuff tat seldom use will be in there also...

eh anyone bought garment steamer? Tot of getting 1 instead of iron coz is easier and my clothes are mostly not formal working suits (like long sleeve blouse, business skirts, pants, dresses)

Thomas > LOL... good suggestion, but sometimes hor, things kept there too long and dun use, will spoil one...

my teacher... she bought 2 induction hobs, only use 1 and the other 1 kept as stand-by... in the end, when they really need to take out the stand-by to use, it already spoil liao :S

anyway i got a microwave + steam + grill oven... i dun bake so it's okie

Jaq > oh my place is at jurong east

steamer hor... some pple like but some pple say no good and go back to normal iron...

thomas: problem is no space to chain it up..n hor, chain it up also will get lost de ok..my experience when i was young, put the bicycle outside..smore is my 1st bicycle after knowing how to ride lor..sigh is $100 type..my hubby's is $2k kind lor..doubt he will put it outside

alicia: wooo means u get to help n eat hahahaha

oh jurong east..the resale flats got more space so is alrite la.. harnor mix reviews on the garment steamer but I personally think is lazy pple will buy it..like me hahahaahahah...$200+ tho more ex than iron but easier to iron n wun get the clothes burnt..as n when want to use then take out..n I saw some they demo saying can use to 'kill' germs on bedsheet as well...

wahahahahahaa...so xing fu leh...
get to taste the homemade stuff..but cannot eat too much tho..heaty lol

I really wonder how pple can do 10k renov with everything in n also so nice lor...but durable anot yet to know =x

Thomas> I'm busy over the weekends leh. After doing household chores, not much time left for other thing like cooking.. My hubby is very happy to eat outside with me..

moooooooooooorning !

jaq > my house photos is on my FB. added you with view permissions liao. Mine was around 33K incl hacking of floor tiles + overlay kitchen tiles.

We did a glass backsplash cos we didn't hack the kitchen wall tiles, and it looked kinda ugly. Like ellen said, steel scratches easily, so you'll have a lot of scratch marks.

morning~!

Darrel > so you overlay both kitchen wall and floor tiles? mine gotta overhaul cos the condition was too bad... haha

Jaq > yup it's quite big for 4-room flat... 105 sqm. but it's not true that all old flats are big, those 4S or 4I units are only 84-88 sqm....

as for steamer, i guess you gotta try it to know whether you like it... haha :P

morning~~~~~

darrel: ok will view it tonite! wah 33k..-_-"""" but coz of tiles bah...hmmm saw some photos online with stainless steel tops,looks ok..but the scratches to be considered tho..will see how...

ellen: 105sqm is the old kind..I like..my parents house is 4A, 110sqm. 4S 4I type usually is the living room n kitchen smaller..room still almost the same..

yest told my hubby that our unit now is 350k instead of wat we bought 3yrs ago at 230k..appreciated of 120k over 4yrs..n he say wanna sell after 5 yrs of residing since will fetch double price for sure...duhz..I die die also wun sell lor..dislike the moving of house..