(2010) 2010 Brides

we (the whole table) thought
1) food was so-so. too salty for our liking. food serving was not warm enough.
2) The service was remarkably bad. I wonder whats the server-table ratio. Doesn't even feel like its 2 server : 3 tables. I can never get people to refill my drinks. the auntie serving our table... I asked her for drinks on 2 occasions, it never came. They stacked the food serving plate on a used plate without clearing. and when they cleared, can still pass comments like "ni hai yao mar ? *haiz* zhen lang fei ..." macham the cleaner at the food court. The serving staff bumped (hard) into my wife's seat at least 3 times.

assuming that GCW is 988++ per table, I'd expect a lot more than that.

avatar: yeah..the weather also haywire nowadays..juz hope sg doesn't come 1 day got hailstorm...

darrel: that bad? tot there is alot of space in the GCW ballroom? when I attend 3 yrs back, wasn't that bad..just that the waiter/waitress abit slow to response our request..

morning~

hmmmm i attended 2 weddings at GCW a few months back. all of us thought the food was very good and service was great... the waiters were very polite and prompt... hmmmmm things changed so much just in a few months?

yup... the service was remarkably bad for the price paid. I would think that regardless of which hotel, there should be a minimum service requirement. things like refilling drinks, plate clearing, no personal remarks. Those are the basics. then as you pay more for the banquet, the service level increases accordingly, like 1:1 serving ratio, etc.

Its something that future brides/grooms need to be aware of, and tell the banquet manager to make sure these incidents don't happen.

but then again, i always got lot of these comments one. when i went to my friend's wedding at marina mandarin, the banquet manager also kenna left-right-center from my wife who was running the event for that friend.

avoid flooding.... time to buy penthouse units or condos with multi-story car parks.

wahahahaha I was abt to post nia...
all went lunch n bz with work liaoz..n I falling asleep...

alicia: u addicted to koi???? ur office there have meh?

Jaq> Mayb lor.. Other timings i cant anyhow go out buy tat lah, downstairs onli den can. LOL~ Wat's tat black assem tea? So far i like ovaltine milk tea.

alicia: yes I am very sure..coz I went to koi 1st..see the Q, almost fainted lol..so consolation went to BJ's sweet talk buy lor..
maybe only bugis branch bah..since they r so direct competitor opp LOL

I always find koi's drinks a bit too sweet for my liking, and the less sugar concept doesn't quite work for some of the stuff i drink ...

don't ever try 1/4 sugar on pearl milk tea :P it just tastes like tea flavoured water.

darrel: last time I have a colleague, she always order green tea with pearls , no sugar coz she diabetic..I tried, is very siap!!!

alicia: haha ok.. ;)

Jaq> I dunno whether is it all their green tea no sugar de or wat, coz i ordered for my colleague jus now, she wanted honey green tea, den i told the cashier the sugar level, and she told me no sugar for tat.

alicia: u mean buying from koi right..tat time koi haben come into sg..hehe..
but anyway, honey green tea dun need sugar liao la..honey already v sweet wor

Jaq> Ya, from koi. Oh, u mean ur colleague not bought from koi ah? Ya, honey is alr sweet, but depends on the grade of the honey, some not very sweet one.

tat was 4-5 yrs back liao..during the booming of bubble tea..think is each a cup or quicky or wat..can't rem..

honey for bubble tea is very sweet coz is syrup not those pure 'high crass' honey =p

darrel: haha.. saw ur comments.. luckily for mi tt day the Hotel GM brought 2 overseas friend to witness our March-in (they stayed till 2nd march in) coz his friend neber see such big wedding b4.. so everything smooth smooth since hotel GM was there... and both my sales coordiantor manager and banquet manager stayed throughout the wedding.. so should be fine.. coz hotel GM was there.. but so far, no comments by friends or relatives leh.. all said better than the previous day wedding they attend (coz another relative had 1 wedding the day before mine)...hee.. mine still fine abt 930 nett (since sunday and we top up for better fish).. i think the banquet manager dun dare to let the waiter service slack since GM around.. hahaha =)

i guess sometimes also depends on luck, the type of waiters on tt particular table, banquet manager.. =)

Glad it's over and smooth.. overall i am happy there.. At least my food are hot and guest feedback food is nice.. and 2 couple friends considerin our hotel after our wedding..

Food tasting we find salty... so all food we feedback less salt coz the chef is cantonese chef from Hong Kong i think.. i think ur couple din feedback lesser salt maybe..

overall, find it value for money (and it fits our bill).. and i gotten the pillarless grand allroom... no regrets..

just my 2 cents worth of thoughts =)

me next... 31 July