(2010) 2010 Brides

wah darrel and alicia posted at same time...hmm...

jaq: she's not interested in branded stuff so lucky me =P

booy/ds: last night uploaded until 1am..kaoz...finally finished liao. tonite go home add captions and shld be ready for ur viewing =)

ohayo~~~~
Actually I am in here since 845am..hahaha just tat never post.. =P
darrel: so u bought the camera? how muchie?tat time I went beginner photography workshop, they don't recommend olympus lol

ok thomas is back, so the thread wun be quiet liao..wahahahaha
oh..is gd she not brand conscious..hehehe..then can spend more on eat and enjoy ..

jaq: wei...u very bad leh...say me until lidat

ya that's one of the good points abt her
she's my finance minister also, controls our spending so that I wun overspend lol

thomas: me bad? I say u wat wor...thread with u around, gd leh, more lively mahz..

talking about spending..sigh..I wonder should I control my hubby spending or not after last night episode..

jaq > i paid $897. Anyway if anyone ask me, i'd still recommend that they get a canon if they wanna go for a DSLR. the olympus i got is something a bit different (something called micro 4/3s), so only panasonic and olympus has that.

As for buying a buying a DSLR to pick up photography, personally, i'll get get a canon 50D if you're serious (or a 2nd hand 40D), or a olympus E-PL1 / Panasonic GF1 if you think you will give up after a while.

A double digit canon (30/40/50D) is considered mid tier (as opposed to the triple digits e.g. 500D, 550D) and contains enough features for a serious photographer and last long enough until you outgrow it and wanna buy a single digit DSLR (1D, 5D, 7D)

but if you think that
1) you don't want to think about the science/engineering part of photographer... e.g. ISO, Aperture, Shutter
2) you don't want to lug around heavy gear (When I do serious shooting, my gear bag is about 5KG)

Invest in a higher end P&S (like G11, LX3) or like me, buy a Olympus E-P1/P2/PL1 or Panasonic GF1

*** End of photography advise ***
=P

alicia: Is abt jay chou tics, manage to get a pair from my fren's fren who bought liao but realise can't make it, so wanna sell, my fren immediately help me reserve coz she know I interested. Then I was happy to be able to go the concert, in mind that I will be paying for the tics but hubby mention we go dutch, this mth 10th payday will transfer his share($200) 1st since my fren's fren wan us to pay half 1st to consider as reserve..end up hubby told me he not enuff $$ just on the payday itself after paying bills and say pay $100 1st this week then when he pay day then pay the rest..warraoz..he promised me to transfer his share by 10th this mth but end up go back his words n forget abt this tics payment..how am I suppose to tell my fren coz she also middle man n earn nth lor..say I must understand his situation now of clearing debts..but if so difficult then dun promise me can pay his share on payday this mth mahz..he always like that, say smth but empty words..end up he not happy transfering the $ although he paid $200.. =\
now I think next wkend my payday I return him back the $200..rather I starve than like that he not happy..

jaq > cos i'm a canon user mar.. so dunno anything about nikon cams. but overall, i would say that if anyone want to pick up photography, then any brand works. Its just a tool. best tool doesn't always win. need to have the skill to use the tool :P. So we just need to buy one that you can use to hone your skills.

anyway, my wife doesn't control my spending. I do control myself. but a good way (if my wife wanted to control mine) would be to set up a joint account, both contribute equally. the money will be used to offset future expenses like holiday, kids, etc. then the rest of my money is up to me on how i want to use (e.g. buy more cameras :P).

darrel: haahah win liao lor...ya is just a tool and need the skills to know how to use it..I like nikon coz is userfriendly and for pple like me who learn things slow can get the hang of it fast..

joint account is a no-no for us..tried once n failed...I dun want it to happen again although hubby keep mentioning about it..

Jaq> Me is my hub ask me to control de, and i did it even b4 we got married. So now still doing lor. 1 of my preacher in church told us during our counselling session is tat he tinks tat the hub has to provide for the family & his wife financially, watever the wife earns, it's for her own family (parents, etc). All other expenses will come from the hub, even the allowance of the wife. =) How come joint acct failed?

alicia > i dunno why, i have that thinking also... I pay all the bills and most of the groceries. but cos my wife earning power more than mine, i dun have to give her allowance *phew*... but makes me a bit poor. still trying to settle down into a regular spending pattern before i start putting money into the joint account again, cos need to start putting money aside for honeymoon and our future kids.

jaq > joint account don't work, then put a milo tin in the room, tell him everyday put $10 inside. =P

alicia: wah but sometimes wife also can provide for the family since both working..hmmm
join acct fail is becoz he deposit 300, take out 400...end up the account no $, have to pay $2 svc charge..n become -tive balance...

darrel: no use lor...I duno wat to do with him liao

Darrel > milo tin... LOL :D me and HTB also got joint account, we will contribute based on % of our monthly salary, so whoever earns more will contribute more :P very fair de...
but like what you mentioned, we need to observe the spending pattern for some time and adjust the % to a more realistic one.

Darrel> Oh?! U oso got tat kind of tinking? I tink if the hub is earning more than average, den shldnt be a prob, but nowadays living expenses oso went up, so in times now, oso quite difficult to solely depend on hub to contribute to the family.

Jaq> Mayb with the joint acct, dun take the atm card at all? For My Savings Acct (MSA by POSB), i dun haf atm card, and i cant do IB.

alicia > i grow up in the family where my dad provides for all of use, so more or less influenced by him. Of course, when i pay the bills my wife also dun object

my joint account is a different bank one ... so even if want to do internet transfer, also need 3 days to clear... take it as a cooling period against those spur-of-the-moment buys.

Morning all.. I also have joint account with my hubby and both deposit based on % of salary. And on top of that, I have allowance from hubby.. hee.. BUT my hubby is the CFO as my money sense is soooo poor compared to him..

DS_Gerl> My manhatten card is new and I had that $50 initial credit.. But the additional was in the form of a rebate.. Dunno what rebate is that, but since there is more rebate, I didn't call SCB to ask in case they eat it away.. haha..

Thomas> You are so efficient. I still haven't completed my HM upload exercise. haha..

alicia: nah I still think opt out the joint acct better..when house come, will ask him for some 'jia yong' then save it up n pay off whatever things in emergency..then record down expenses that need to be spend on..

Darrel> thanks for the info… will start doing some research after AD on which DSLR to get

booy> after reading the posts here, I’m also going to get the manhattan card

seems like it’s the best rebate offer compared with the rest

Jaq, I also have joint account with hubby, we set up once and fail cause we were still unstable that time, and he is always late to transfer fund into it which he had promised. It makes me think that he is not sincere in our future. With other factors, we actually breakup and close the joint account. We split the money accordingly to what we had contributed through that few months, even pay a termination fee of $20 for closing it early (less than 6months I think).

Somehow we end up getting back together, this time he is more serious with marriage, with the previous experience, he is always on the dot to transfer $ to joint account. Initially I contributed more than him as I’m earning more, now he has a promotion and is contributing more than me.

Some financial background, I graduated with school fee loan 2yrs ago, I estimated that it will require me a 3yrs to pay up. Looking at it, we won’t even think we can settle down in 5yrs w/ our financial situation. Somehow the government implemented a school fee loan interest suspension for one year (I can don’t pay loan for 1 yr w/o any interest) due to the bad economy. It gives us hope. Haha. We used that intended amount for sch fee loan to save up + both additional saving that we can come out with (pocket shrink), so we can get married, since we wana settle down early cuz wish to hv baby. We are reaching our 30’s soon.

I think have to let your hubby used to contributing to the household or marriage. At least set a min sum that he has to bring home with, in my case is the monthly contribution to the joint account. That is the basic for responsibility and women need such security. This is the same like giving our parents money. Die die no matter what happen outside, I will try to/make sure I bring home that amount so everyone in my family will get food to eat. Unless really no choice have to tell out den everyone solve problem together. I dislike your hubby doing, take $ w/o telling u.

Although it has been almost 2yrs since my hubby propose, up till now planning for wedding n house, a slow journey indeed. Somehow, this slow journey also benefits us, we both have a better mindset with our future and he has also learned to become more responsible. I always say, “We have don’t change our husband, but we influence them.†Haha.

Sorry abit long… haha

hmmm.. We use the joint acct to pay for bills, groceries etc.. The remaining is just savings for emergency, future trips and baby.. But think we need to adjust the amt based on our income, spending and inflation each year..

DS_Gerl> I prefer rebates in the form of $$.. So manhatten is a good choice for this. Or else will be points from banks which is also translated to $$..

memorable: my hubby is a person who is 'wo xing wo su' kind..he buy what he like and always impulsive...even though how I persuade him not to buy, he buy even more..sigh..I also duno what to say liaoz..so not abt influencing...hah..I let him have the freedom to spend whatever he like coz is his $$ n he happy..no enforce on him to save or what maybe thats y end up like that..I did told him no matter how u spend, pls have 10k in bank for the house reno..I wonder he have anot..heh..now thinking of HM, also no guarantee going in situation like that

hi everyone, today is on serious topic like joint account. woo..

for me and hubby, we have a joint account ever since we decided to seriously date. and we put a portion of our salary into it, percentage based on what we earn. but i make him put in slightly more cos it just makes me feel better.

haven started living together yet. i think in future we will have one more account for all the houshold bills.

booy: do we have to pay for the annual fee for the manhatten card? i went to browse the website just now and seems like it is 180 bucks a year?

Happy Girl> Manhattan card is free one year waiver. =) ... but subsequent, can always call them up for waiver. Is a norm to call up n ask for c.c. waiver nowadays.

Jaq> ur hubby in debt? c.c debt? Maybe u let him go this time round first, but once anything got wrong, I mean if he let himself into more debt or financial crisis, I think is best u interfere. If not these small things may accumulate in u and soon there might be unhappy in the r/s. I think if one wana settle down, there are defiantly some sacrifices to make, especially spending habit. Emmm.. $10k is not enough for reno, maybe just some simple lose furniture only.

i used to have a manhatten card... for 2 years. on the 3rd year (recently) i called them to ask for waiver, they said their new policy is they can only waive of 50%. In compensation, they will give me 5000 points (or something) for that 50% i need to pay.

anyway i used that card for my business transations (e.g. web hosting, membership fees, album printing) so the amount charged to the card was not insignificant, but they still wanted me to pay for it :S

memorable: ya cc debt..paying off his gadget..=\ anyway I already unhappy long ago hahaha..just tahan nia..
$10k for reno nia..no furniture n electronics involved yet.

Darrel & Geri> that is sad to know about the 50% waiver only. 5000 points? Manhattan also have points system?

Jaq, Jia you, hope after his gadget payment, he will be better off. Bless u.

Jaq> Haiz.. Tink jus haf to let himself figure out wat he's doing bah.. Wen my hub spends more on certain mths, i'll jus tell him he's been spending a lot tat mth & his acct balances has been dropping, tat will wake him up a little & for the rest of tat mth at least, he wont spend on unnecessary tings.

alicia: at least u got the visibility to view his accounts..for me, I totally give him freedom...n he listen to u..mine wun even bother..sianz..ok la..dun talk abt it liao..is the wkend! Hehehehe

2 more wks to long wkend...but I be bz during the wkend manz..

Jaq> HAhahaha! Ya lah, gotta live wif it for now, no choice. Cheer up! =) I tot of gg m'sia over the long wkend, but tink no money leh.. And my parents says wanna eat crabs, ask us wanna go back for it. =P

Jaq> No lah.. I mean i wanted to go m'sia for a short getaway, but my parents wanna buy crabs & eat at home. So was tinking whether to go home eat crabs wif them, or go m'sia for short getaway lor.. But i tink no money for the short getaway, coz needa pay off debts 1st.. hahahah!

hahaha oh...if budgeted then go batam stay 1 night also not bad...got spa..keke..when u got $$ then go lor..after this PH, 2 months no PH liao until national day which is also long wkend..maybe u can go that wkend..
eat crabs..I also craving for eng seng still road crabs..but heard they moved..

Jaq> AHhahah! Batam went once b4 liao, tinking of gg mayb genting for the rides or cameron for the weather. =P But most prob not gg tis long PH lah, wait till got more money to spend 1st. =P We ate the salted egg crabs wif my parents during mothers' day. Hehhe!

yum yum crabs ...

the problem with eating crabs is must have a lot of people eat then shiok. I ate at meltons@ AMK a couple of weeks back :P so currently no craving.

alicia: cameron highlands!! nice place but u have to really tolerate the turns up the hill in the bus lol..
wah salted eggs..yummy..cook on ur own?