(2010) 2010 Brides

deerixp,

wanna consider my contractor? he is very prompt to respond and shld be quite reliable imo, since govt schools also get him to do reno works.

vincent loke - 96247108

ellen: my itinerary is at chan bros webby, look under package tours "Fabulous Hokkaido"

is this ur first time to japan? if yes, not advisable to go F&E cos the transport and food there is very exp, u may end up paying more than gg for package tour. unless u are well-versed in jap or have gone there many times, then ok to go F&E.

qwerty: hey how come u're here? lol. yup now's the best time to change euro, pound and yen...when's ur trip?

deerixp: pm u later

Thomas > Thanks thanks... shall check out Chan Bro's website then

I've been to Jap quite a no. of times liao (that's why HTB feels bad about wanting to go jap for HM... LOL), can speak jap also, so F&E not a prob. The thing i'm unsure now is that touring Hokkaido involves a lot of long distance traveling... dunno if i should drop some places and just focus on 1 or 2 selected places.

deerixp > what kind of budget spreadsheet you need? think the budget varies greatly with what you wanna do... those doing reno now should roughly know what are the reasonable prices for certain work items

Hi thomas, why am here..LOL good question. coz lm 2010 bride too..hehe

thinking of next year for honeymoon but not yet decide where to go and realized that now Euro rate much better as compare to last yea we changed.

i think it really depends on the type of reno u need. for a start, i think a budget of 15k to 20k is ok for furniture/furnishing.

thomas, can pm me ur curtain's contact? ellen, u also engaged the same person as thomas to do ur curtains? will the person come ur hse to take measurements b4 doing the curtains?

darrel,

did u do ur curtains at ikea? or anyone know of ppl who did at ikea?

yesterday i settled my bathroom and kitchen stuff at hoe kee. hubby's cousin know someone working there so we got quite a good discount. thanks thomas for ur recommendation though. also bought our lights at lighting.com.sg

the prices there are quite ok and somemore with gd reviews fr e reno forum, so we went there straight.

HG > i bought my 80% of our lights at lightings.com.sg too. Bascially we spent about 3 weeks looking for lights at Geylang, Jalan Besar, and Balestier. So far lightings.com.sg offers a fixed price, and is the lowest among all the shops we went to. but of course, the variety of lights is limited. For a wider range(and slightly reliable) you can try chan huat. Prices are higher, but the range is bigger.

Ikea curtains... yes, i did mine there. the interesting thing is, ikea only sells the fabric, the sewing is handled by an external vendor, so the prices are not that far off from curtain shops outside. We spent around 1.1K (incl fabrics) for 2 day curtains, 2 bedroom curtains, 1 blackout curtain (bedroom), tracks and installation. Not exactly the cheapest, especially since they are in ikea. If you go for the curtain rod type, probably cheaper, or can use the ikea ones. but we decided to use the roller type so the curtains can open fully.

ellen: wah u know how to speak jap also...good good. Yes, Hokkaido a lot of travelling is done by bus and the time taken is long. If u do not intend to spend many days there, suggest u focus on 1 or 2 will do. Hakodate is a pretty new area for tourists to explore, u may wanna consider that =)

qwerty: lol..I see. yeah, can change now and keep, I foresee euro will go up again. where are u gg for ur HM?

HG: pm u later

HG: check ur pm

all: to those who are looking at lights now, can try extreme lightings at balestier. I did some homework before I bought and they are really selling very cheap for the same models. They also do exchange promptly if lights are defective, so far my buying experience with them has been a pleasant one. So far so good for all the lights, those interested can see my reno pics in FB =)

Morning all..

I also support extreme lightings as I bought some of my lights from there. The lights that I bought is abt 50% cheaper. Very worth it and the uncle is very friendly. But because it's a relatively small shop so variety is also limited.

Ellen> My target is to go F&E at Hokkaido too. Then can drive around, should be very fun.

morning all~~~ another week ahead...

thanks for the all the reno advise~ really tough to visualise the flat actual layout when is now building the roof still..hahahaah.

for lightings..there is 1 quite big 1 at jalan besar..wonder isit gd anot coz I think they only open abt a year?

oh ya I got another question, the measurements..height of cabinets, tv console..did u all measure or issit standard?

Morning~

HG > wah your budget of 15-20k is for reno + furnishing? my reno alone is already close to 20k... LOL... Nope i haven't even think about curtains yet :P

Darrel > are you using the Ikea curtain rail system? how is it?

Thomas > Now we are planning to go for ~7-8 days. I guess Furano is a must-go (it's gonna be lavender season!), Hakodate will probably be another one... *undecided*

also, can PM me the curtain contact too? thanks thanks...

Booy > driving around will be fun in Hokkaido...
though we'll most prob opt for train cos HTB never drives for long time liaoz.... dun wanna stress him during HM hahahahaha

Jaq > those built-in stuff like you mentioned, gotta measure on-site... they can do planning based on floor plan but ultimately, site measurement is required.

Also, do take note that floor plan is for reference only. Sometimes when you do site survey, then you'll realise got small beams or protrusion here or there which are not reflected in the floor plan... zzZZzz...

btw, anyone here using ceiling fans at home?

booy: u also bot from extreme? haha...yeah they are very cheap, sometimes I wonder how they earn! although shop is small but variety quite a lot, at least I managed to find my dining lights there after gg so many places without success. Cheap too!

jaq: since u want them customised, best u take measurements or let them go take for u.

ellen: 15-20k can but for minor reno only. with furniture in at least another few k.

yeah, depending on which season to go there are different things to 'do' haha...mine is sakura season. u go later can go fruit picking or lavender farm. hakodate according to chan bros is a relatively new place, usually ppl will go sapporo. we didn't dare to try so ended up choosing sapporo

check ur pm later=)

I originally wanted to install a ceiling fan also but can't cos I got false ceiling in my living room. peter also advised me not to do as after the extension, it will be too low = not safe and also no wind effects. ended up with a stand fan.

like that I can only wait for my keys to go in to the physical flat then can give info to IDs le..hmmm..or maybe juz gif them floorplan,say wat we want approx n ask them design within our budget then shortlist from there...

jaq: i think u can give them ur floorplan cos that what i'm doing right now... most of the ID are willing to talk to me... but some saying that it still too early come back when u get ur keys den talk...

Jaq / Thomas > better to get the carpenter to measure rather than measure on your own... wait later they said your measurement not clear then they still have to come zzz

Thomas > actually Hakodate not so new la... many frens have been there liaoz.... i've been to Sapporo b4 but that's quite some time back... can't remember much about there hahahahaha

About ceiling fan > my place no false ceiling... wanna get ceiling fan cos cooler.. HTB always complains about standing fan la~

ellen > nope, i didn't use the ikea railings. I got the more sturdy railings from the ikea curtain service-vendor (the standard type which you get from curtain shops).

Thomas> Yup. I got the lights of my rooms from there. The uncle is very friendly and kept talking in teochew to me. I can speak pretty fluent teochew so we hit off real well. I agree that the dining lights are nice, wanted to get one too. But the one left behind by my ex-owner is still working well, so I didn't change in the end.

Ellen> Then better to take train. The train pass is quite cheap if you plan the itinerary well.

I have ceiling fans in both living room and study room. They were left behind by my ex-owner.

jaq: haha at first me was nt looking for one until recently made up with my fututre neighbours some of them already finding id and talking to them... make me kan chiong

randyce: haahahha thats the power of forum right..actually dun need to gan jeong la..since u gonna move in after ur AD nia..so settle ur wedding 1st priority..

jaq: haha now only see see look look... wedding more at less settle liao except for AD schedule and GDL stuff and guest list half way done...

ellen: erm new as in new as per offered by chan bros lah haha, not new as in the place is new.

in that case get ceiling fan best since u have no constraints. what's wrong with stand fans huh?? its ok to me, only bad thing is that it takes up space, thats all.

really? I'm very scared of hot too but mine can still cool me down leh...u shld bring him go see the latest stand fans, they are no longer the conventional types like last time. Mine got 6speeds with remote, usually I turn on to speed 4 is good enough. Speed 5 and 6 for freaking hot days only hahaha

thomas > USS is charging me $298++ per pax for taking PS there and price inclusive of a guide.. This has far far exceeded our estimated budget..

So, now, hubby has decided to drop the idea of taking PS in USS.. Meanwhile, we intend to shortlist 3 locations. Marina Barrage and Fullerton area (for night shoots) and have no idea where else to go. Any suggestions?

To All June brides out there,

Due to some personal reason, i urgently need a wedding card tht is dated 5/6/10...really hope tht u gals out there can help me..if u willingly to help me and would like to noe y, kindly PM me..on top of that, i will pay u for a small fee as appreciation..

Thanks a million to u gals...

belinda: the new helix bridge connecting from marina bay platform to MBS...? Boat quay or Clarke quay also nice..

eh standing fan must buy KDK or mistral or even panasonic...power fan manz...
If really hot then fix aircon in living room le lor...no choice

Thomas / Belinda > haha thanks for the suggestions. Anyway I prefer ceiling fan too so will just go ahead with ceiling fan :D just wanna do more research cos it's not as easily replacable as standing fan le... must buy a good one

Booy > how old is your previous owners' fan liao?

Ellen> My ceiling fan should be around 6 years old. The surface area of ceiling fan is definitely better than standing fan. Though I have both ceiling fan and aircon installed in the living room, but usually the fan is sufficient.

As jaq mentioned, KDK is a good brand.

bel: damn expensive...for that $$$ u can use it to top up photos...they really know how to fleece ppl off...

Marina Barrage honestly nothing much to me...can try SAM, Hort Park, Sentosa, Labrador Park, Botanic Gardens for your day shoot.

ellen,

i mean 15-20k for furnitures and furnishing. my reno is more than tt too.

thomas,

received ur pm. thanks. ur lobang is really cheap. but do they come to singapore to take measurement for u?

darrel,

what's blackout curtains? i tot ppl usually do this night and day curtain? now got another blackout curtain! 1.1k is not exp. i prefer to do the rod kind cos next time can find eplacement curtains easily.

HG: no prob =) that I dunno, u have to call her and ask. at most pay for their transport out to SG I guess? actually quite easy, u can also take the measurements yourself and email her, if she's not clear she will ask u to take pic of ur living room etc. and show her. That's what we did...

thomas, jaq > thanks thanks for suggestions.. Will discuss with hubby.. Hai.. ya lor.. USS really know how to fleece ppl, somemore, they have restrictions on place and timing to take PS..

mooooorning

HG > by "strict" definition, blackout curtains = block out 100% of light, probably the same thing as your definition of night curtains. my day curtains is using those white translucent type, draw liao, only cut 20-30% of light and the glare. more for privacy rather than to darken the room.

For use, we used the railing type cos we wanted the curtains to open fully so the house is brighter. but harder to find replacement.

bel: anything new is a novelty to singaporeans, thats why they are making full use of this weakness of ours to fleece us haha.

all: those who wanna change euro or yen can do so now

Booy > 6 yrs and still working well? that's good... which brand is it? yup KDK is like the Mercedes for fans, but it doesn't have have fans with lighting, and only one model can be used for lower HDB ceiling. I also wanna get KDK but it has no lights so gotta drop the idea~

HG > my ID friend told me if wanna do both day and night curtains at the same window, cannot use rod... need to use railing type...

Morning peeps~~~

HG ya they do come out to take measurement at times, they came out to take the measurements for my place and my brother's place do, just let her know

Morning all.

Cleared all the CC cards debt on the banquet and misc wedding cost. Feel so poor now.. haiz.

Ellen> It's working very well. No issue with it at all. Only thing is that cleaning is tough as you need to climb up on ladder. I need to go home to check on the brand as I cannot rem offhand. My fan has no lights as well, it can work fine with downlights. i.e. there is no shawdow when the fan is moving.

Thomas> Now you double up as $$ exchange ah.. haha..

booy: nope, in my job I need to monitor forex weekly so I know when gg up and down haha

hahaha me too, mine still got HM bills haven't paid yet lol.

Thomas > there are so many pple using fan with lights... i think it should be fine la

Booy > my HTB hates downlights LOL so we won't put any le... no issue on shadow with downlights then :P htb wanna have fans with lights la... cos those lights are below the fans and no shadow issue~ Do check the brand and let me know okie~ hee hee thanks

yea lor last time when i had ceiling fans... gotta climb up and clean... some more i m short LOL. when i'm lazy i just use broom to sweep the blades hahahaha

Thomas> It is really a good time to buy the currency. But think it will go down further for a while.

Ellen> I will check and let you know. The lights on the fan might not be bright enough. I have lights side by side with the fan in my study. As long as they are not too near, there is no issue. Using the broom is a bit too ultimate, I shall leave it to my hubby to clean.

thomas > :S not advisible to get ceiling fan with lighting is because, of the heat coming out from the light.. this kind of makes the fan useless.. as ppl sitting near/under the ceiling wont feel cooling. sometime, certain houses, have a rather low ceiling, add a ceiling fan with light to it, makes it a hazard. (if u do realise that some ceiling fan has a long 'neck')

if, the ceiling fan's light spoils, there might be the need to have the whole thing replaced..

dunno why, it seems that, after using the ceiling fan for sometime, it doesnt seems cooling anymore and it's back to relying on stand fan again..

thomas: when u departing for Hokkaido?

I can only wait till next mth then change EUROs..money not enuff now LOL..hahaha...going for short getaway this wkend...

bel: guess u took all the words from my mouth hahahaa

booy: I can't wait anymore, going to change somemore yen later lol.

jaq: leaving this sat hehehe...looking forward to it man! however need to start packing these few nights lol

where are u gg again??? wah the no of short trips u go, can really go for a long one leh.