(2010) 2010 Brides

ellen: got add-on ones...cheaper alternative lah. those built-in ones are very exp like what booy said...saw from 1k onwards.

ur deadline quite tight like mine also...dun forget after reno u need to factor in abt 2 weeks to clean up and move ur stuff in...have u looked for a professional cleaner to give ur hse a thorough cleaning after reno? contractor wun do a good job for u de cos theirs (if included in ur package) is just basic cleaning.

need lobang let me know...the one I engaged quite professional and reasonably priced also.

yay is wkend!!Have a great wkend folks..!

the bidet is ard 2k including labour charges..I saw the prices before..n is cheap in Korea..wahahahah...

thomas: ask u a stupid question, how many workers the ID hire to do up ur house?

morning all

ellen> i have not called him yet. Will call him today
your deadline quite tight le. Mine is okie cos my AD end of Dec

jaq: 2k? u mean built-in one ah? got cheaper than that...get the add-on for ur hubby lah, much cheaper. I got the add-on one too.

no question is stupid...honestly I have no idea cos weekdays when they are there, I'm at work so I can't see. Evening time when I go check, they oredi knocked off liao. From what I heard from my ID, they split into a few teams...one doing electrical work, one doing painting, one doing installation work etc.

thomas: ya build in...I doubt I wan to install la..I rather spend more on the cabinets..

the add-on 1 useful?

ahh ic..so is not 3-4 workers bao ka liao la...then shld be ok...coz I wonder r they r foreign workers anot..can't imagine almost everyday have to visit my lovenest to check on the works..zzz

eh jaq, the price u buy is inclusive of installation leh...they will send someone down to ur hse to install for u. Add-on one works perfectly fine according to my wife...cheap somemore. Do consider if u are on budget lol.

no no of cos not...every team specialises in something, they are not universal leh...mostly all msians workers lah. I didnt go down everyday to check, no need so kua chang lah. Just go every 2-3 days can liao or when ur ID asks u to go down n inspect.

one thing though, the workers will use ur toilet bowl to do their 'biz' once its installed hahaha...thats what I found out

jaq > it is recommended that you visit it everyday, if not almost every other day to check on the renovation. It would be best if u are there to supervise the renovation.

Sometimes, even though you have given specific instructions, the end result is still far from it.
Sometimes, the workers can be rather rough and scracth the flooring.. so, if you are there, you can
take not e of all these

bel: supervision more if u engaged a contractor...otherwise no need to go down everyday lah, ur ID will coordinate for u. Not possible for us to take leave everyday to go down see leh, we gotta work also.

depends on how much u trust ur id/contractor ba, for mine no headaches cos I told him what I wanted and he also understood me. my reno experience quite a smooth sailing and pleasant one.

thomas > due to my very bad experience, that is why i suggested this. I signed up with ID, no doubt the co-ordinated for me, but he wasnt there most of the time, his contractors did a super lousy job. luckily, my dad happened to be there when the mistake occurs, the contractor so yaya papaya and just continued. So dad threaten to call HDB to come and inspect the work, only then, contractor rectify the problem. Once, the workers did not switch off the lightings when they leave. Luckily, me and dad went down to do inspection and saw it. I wonder how much will my water bill comes up to if it was the tap that was not turned off..

my ID only came down when they need to start on another phase of the reno.. understand from ID that they have different contractors handling different parts - one for cabinet, one for installing doors, one for painting.

the contractors also used the bathroom and bathed, making a mess too.. they urinated and did not flush , throw ciggrattes butts into the toilet bowl..

bel: guess u were suay...heng mine gave me no headaches
my ID told me not to worry cos his regular contractors have been working with him for many yrs...not those fly-by-night ones. So I guess its also important to get one which have a regular pool of workers rather than those who keeps changing workers for every new job?

thomas > they didnt clean toilet.. but after complaining, at least they keep it clean..

btw, i am meeting the geomancer later to get the AD timings, any idea what else to ask her?

Thomas > yup.. I am just suay.. just hope, i wont fall sick on my PS day.. Lol.. hai.. ID told me that was the regular pool of workers.. but still so lousy.. that is why i said ur quality of reno definitely better than mine..

ahh.. thanks thanks

thomas: mai la..later the thing spoil, have to ask dunno who to repair n is another $$..got the sanitary shower beside the toilet bowl can liaoz...my hubby always say nia..then if too ex then he will say dun wan..LOL

alot told me to go down everyday, so if anything defect the next day they can do for u n also make sure the workers dun hanky panky ah..I got 1 ex colleague many yrs back, told me his reno worker stay overnight n use their toilet n juz leave the house next day since he got the key n the contractor only come down few days once to inspect on the works n workers..aiyo..I so worry the contractor/ID give proper instructions then the workers anyhow do..

belinda: if u pantang kind, ask abt which horoscope to avoid on ur AD morning or anything can be done so that everyone can attend...ours long shifu ask us to write 1 pair of 'chun lian' words n paste behind door..

I also suggest to go and oversee the reno frequently, esp for overhaul and at critical milestones of the project. Sometimes, the things just go wrong and if you dun realise it fast enough, it might not be able to rectify.

Simple example is tiling. If the tiles are sent wrongly, the tilers will just tile it. By the time you go 3 days later, the tiles might already be up. You can't expect them to hack the new tiles down and re-tile again.

For the toilet bowl story, hee, I wrapped up my MBR toilet bowl once it's installed. Only the common toilet one can be used by the workers. So I'm very happy to be the first one to use the toilet bowl.

Thomas> It's lucky for you to have a good ID.. But there are simply too many irresponsible ones out there..

Anyway, your curtains look very shiny on pic.. I'm waiting for your PM.

Thomas: thanks but u seem to imply real life i am not a babe ah? lolx...

Ellen: Yup, i m okie w contractor cos keeping my options open....

Randyce: whoa u also changing job... not happy w ur work aso?

btw, any1 heard about Fide Living ID? Cos like to know more abt them

jaq: wun so easily spoilt one lah...

rand: tot u will look only after ur AD? now like bu san bu si leh...

booy: oops forgot to pm u last night, paiseh paiseh. check ur PM =)

bluey: I nvr said that hor...just that after makeup really oolahlah hahahahhaa...

thomas: i think cannot wait will after AD liao... another colleague might be leaving soon if i dont faster run i guess i will die here..

Thomas> Saw the PM. Thanks.

Randyce> Now it's really a good time for job hopping. I have a few new colleagues and 1 leaving as well. Jiayou!

finally got time to report ...

actually reno, best if can go check frequently, cos at least you can monitor the progress and make noise, especially if you are rushing.

booy is right about the tiles thing. When i did my reno, we did have problems with the tiles, but luckily my contractor said they will hack and put in new ones. the cost of hacking will be split between him and the tile supplier, so no impact to me. Also lucky that the problem was spotted early, so haven't tile the whole house yet.

When i did mine, I went over and check every other day so i can spot any problems and tell the contractor to change things before the work is actually completed.

rand: u sound like me now...lol. I'm covering for another post which my mgmt told me there will be no replacement...still crossing my fingers and praying hard everyday for divine intervention...

booy: welcome =)

now forex all-time low...euro super low, pound low and yen is dropping...good timing for me hehe. tonite will go change yen for my HM! those gg for HM soon, best time to change now.

Thomas > you are very lucky to have an experienced ID. Many IDs can't control the various sub-contractors cos they are not the pay masters. Sometimes for main contractors, the workers (e.g. tilers) are their direct employee, so control will be quite good.

btw, how many days are you staying in Hokkaido? Thinking if i can copy your itiniery hee hee hee... :P

booy: thinking of next hol liao right after ur HM huh? notti notti...hol only gets u so excited haha

ellen: ya guess I was lucky, I opened my eyes big big also and read almost all the contractors' threads in RT haha. Helped me to avoid those potential pilots in a way lol. Anyway my ID has got abt 30yrs' experience in this line, so I guess he has a wide array of contacts.

package is 7days, I extended another 3days in Sapporo =)

Randyce> Think I will most prob change a bit soon.

Thomas> I must think of how to balance my work and life. Looking forward to holidays can make me work harder and more motivated. haha..

eh another qn to ask for reno, u all juz email/give IDs ur idea of wat to do with floor plan n see wat they can do within ur budget? Or we need to give them samples on wat we want?

jaq: for me during initial sourcing I just emailed them all my floor plan and the list of what I wanna do. from there shortlist a few who came back with price to discuss further. some of them will request to view ur flat before they can quote, at least thats what happened to me. before viewing and after viewing, price may be completely different hor, take note.

Thomas > can share your itiniery with me? hee hee thanks
i think i will go free & easy so need some reference to plan...

Jaq > i gave ID/contractors an itemise list of work to be done, current floor plan and my proposed floor plan (with my ideas drawn in).

Actually best is to talk to them face to face about what you want. Some ID also will give you 3D drawings first, so you can see whether you like their design or not.

What Thomas said is very true... there can be a big diff in quote b4 and after site survey, but yours is new house so maybe not so bad.

All: haha.. now back on track to think about renovation.. can send me ur recommended contractor or ID? and also your budget spreadsheet if any? Thanks!!

Our BTO will be ready by end this yr to Q2 next year..gotta save for reno le..