(2010) 2010 Brides

My husband and me also going back to sch for further studies this mid year... we are very clear of our plans... to us, we like to spread out...

My take on continuing study is that you need to have a lot of determination. I'm considering taking masters as well. But I need to reprioritise my life first.

As for ACCA, my bro completed in 2 or 2 1/2 year I think while working concurrently. He quitted his university studies to study part time because of poor family financial means at that time. He really worked very hard for it. No pain = no gain. I hardly see him sleeping on the bed. i.e. he either not reached home yet or still studying/working at home while I was already preparing to sleep. He's my idol!

Thomas> I had tons of fun, esp at Switzerland. Your HM will be very good as well for sure. Look forward to it, it's coming.

Actually, my project was not handled by Soon but another guy under him. My project was pretty OK in general, no big issues. I met Soon after this whole episode started.. Somehow, I believe that he didn't mean it. He ran into financial problems due to a big corporate project that screwed up and the problems rippled. The forum magnified a lot of the issues. But my general sense is that reno projects bound to have some hiccups.

deb: How u shortlist 3? As in see their works on the designs they made for ur flat then choose and also with budget considerate?

thomas: u mean the IDs can dun come back to u de ah...u send them by email or? U let them design on their own or we give them some aga-ration of what we want? Ya u given me his contact but I haben done proper research n file up yet..I cannot rem how my flat specific layout looks like liaoz..need to refresh..what's ur ID website?

frens ard me some got recommend me their IDs, but I got this concern: things that they designs u might not like it after they done even tho designs on papers r nice before hand leh LOL

the designs that they hand you, is 3d soft copy kind or juz drawings on papers?

jaq> my htb designed the house layout by himself and also from ideas we got from the IDs, so we came up with a list of things we needed to do, then we shortlisted based on how comfortable we are w the ID and the pricing.

ellen: I dun think so...she's really competent lah, loss of words to describe her. Total respect!

ya haha he's one of the cheaper IDs ard...his works are actually ok to me, have u been to his showroom before? u shld go see if u haven't. Have u chosen urs?

ave: what spread out??? LOLZ

rand: what company name???

booy: ur bro is super...respect!

val: wah finally u r back...u went hokkaido? fun?

jaq: I sent out enquiries by email...some dun even bother to reply. maybe job too small lah...those that replied either price sky high or cannot complete by my deadline. Ended up my ID was the 2nd or 3rd cheapest but he cld complete in time for my AD so chose him. Also he was very punctual every time when we made appt to meet, follow up service also prompt. I hate ppl who are late so that left quite an impression on me haha. After completion, I found minor defects and told him, he sent ppl down to rectify immediately. This is the part which I like most, no reno is perfect but if he's willing to make good, I will accept.

I tell them roughly what I have in mind and they design for me...after that I see whether I like or not lor. his webby is http://www.ide@lhouse.com.sg/

drawings on papers only...

thomas: coz of violation u advertise for the company..not allow in here...
oh ide*lhouse.. I heard it before..they got advertise or smth before de..will check it out..thanks~~~

think my priority of reno is only the kitchen cabinets n MBR wardrobe then tv console..the rest dun need to have super nice design..most impt is must use of the least space for these things so got enuff area to walk ard...coz nowadays HDB already 'assist' u in the 3d models how u shld place ur furniture -_-"""

I went to about 8 ID/contractor the other time, 2 flew kite too. Most impt is to be able to see some of their completed house, preferably recent ones. That way, you can see the workmanship. Whatever is stated in the drawings or 3D will not be able to tell the workmanship.

Snoopy, Thomas> That's why he's my idol.. The bottomline is, just set the target right and work hard towards it.

jaq: hahaha is it? I dun earn any comm or have vetoed interest in his company leh...lol. no prob...let me know if u can't get him =)

kitchen cabinets/flooring/feature walls are the main killers in any reno...urs is new flat so I guess design more or less there? those customised stuff very exp, my kitchen cabinets were the main killer
wanted to make a nice tv console but no $$$ liao, had to settle for a ready designed one from S&C

booy: yea I will..after I hv settled down and saved enuff (still bleeding from reno and wedding), I will def go back for my masters. u also jiayou wor!

how come kitchen cabinets killer? u mean the quality of wood n the top? I tot of getting tempered glass for kitchen cabinet top, easier to maintain.

Also my wardrobe is glass except for the drawers below...thinking of 'glass' theme coz not so easy trap dust n maintain..wahahahah..maybe not possible.. =x

tv console my main concern is can hide all the wires n whatever stuff n left the tv out can liaoz..kekeke..

thomas: u got take photos of ur lovenest? can take a look?

thomas> no...we went to osaka, hakone, kyoto, yokohama and tokyo. Yes, we had alot of fun. =) The stuff there quite ex so we are quite broke now. heh.

rand: its ok

jaq: killer as in its the most exp item in our reno list...

wah all glass, very fragile leh. if u are the clumsy type better dun make glass ones. even my shower screens and door I also have to be extra careful with them liao...and I'm not clumsy to begin with hor.

he can do for u a nice nice one but wun be cheap lor cos they go by per feet...he drew a nice one for me but after I asked the price, I had to drop it

I try to take some tonite and show u

val: oic...we been to other parts before but not hokkaido, so this time gg there lor. also very romantic place for HM lah I heard hehe.

u must have bot a lot of blue and black labels right? haha

thomas: ya kitchen cabinet definitely most ex coz got many compartments n include top also..I dun intend to install the xi-yan-ji (forget is wat in english, induction or smth) but luckily my kitchen is long n can only do 1 side cabinets..
eh alright la..wardrobe door I wan glass is coz wood will get mould or those tiny insect long after if dun maintain well..ok thanks! waiting for the pics..urs no svc yard right?

jaq: I no $$$ to change my solid kitchen top also after doing cabinets, had to make do with the ex-owner's one
if I change I will have to change the cooker hob and hood also and all those is $$$...haiz.

the xi yan ji is hood lah LOL. I dun have that either hahaha...previous owner's one spoilt so I dismantled the whole thing during reno. We seldom use it anyway too.

no svc yard...not like urs sobs

booy: yalor cheapest masters I can find also 30k+...haiz. time to eat grass again lol.

ya the hood is extra work to clean n very zho teng...head will hit it if not careful..eh I dun like the svc yard..extra work to clean it n there is not enuff space for us to hang laundry if 1 week we only can wash once..

the masters I getting cost only 8k max lol..coz heavily subsidise by gahmen

rand> my total cost ard 21k. we did the tv console, shoe cabinet, kitchen cabinet & kitchen door, mbr toilet cabinet and 2 wardrobes etc.

Jaq> Mine hv service yard...agree with u tat there's not enough space to hang clothes. my bedsheets cannot wash on the same day with e clothes, coz no space to hang....am tinking to install the pole system now..haiz

thomas> We hv e kitchen hood. Coz i will cook once in a while. But even then, i hardly use the hood. So abit regret the purchase now...heh

valerie: thats when my planter bed come in place...hahahaahah 'plant' my clothes there to dry when home..can't imagine have to stay @ home to wait for laundry to dry before can go out on wkends -_-"

pole system as in those retractable ones ah?

Thomas > I've just confirmed my contractor liao ^_^ Happy~ one less pending item on my list hahaha~

Jaq > For a start, you can bring your floor plan to different interior designers and "practice" talking to them
get some ideas here and there and also some feeling of the $$ required.

Like Thomas said, carpentry is the main killer... see also heart pain zzz. Glass is another expensive item... I'm slowly reducing the amount of glass work too due to budget constraint

Booy > your bro is super siah... *respect*

Talking about hood... my place now is without a hood and it's terrible...
i'll sure get a hood for my new place.

Thomas> Even if I eat grass, I also dunno how to find so much $$$ to study.

Jaq> I find that a hood is useful if you fry things. You will find that your kitchen is less oily and sticky. Even if you dun cook now, you cannot guarantee you dun cook in the future. So must consider carefully if you want a hood or not.

Valerie> 21K is cheap leh. I asked this same ID before and the price was like 18K, but less carpentry work.

my parents hse no hood...will do wat my mum does bah, mop the floor, wipe the tiles on the wall n use those aluminium folder to cover areas next to the hob. Seldom cook also.. I dun believe the hood will absorb all the 'you yan'...lol

wah my budget 10-15k nia leh...dun scare me

valerie > yours is a new flat i supposed? 21k is a good deal... i also got quote from the same ID and it's 25k just for kitchen, 2 toilets and windows... so sad that resale reno is always more expensive

rand: mine was ard 13.5k total

val: precisely. I hardly use it too so I skipped the hood.

ellen: congrats! who did u sign up with and how much?

jaq: u doing a lot? if yes, confirmed not enuff. Mine minor also 13.5k liao.

I also mop the floor, wipe the tiles/cabinets/kitchen top after cooking, no hood also no issues. Just have to be more hardworking nia.

no lor..like I say major ones is kitchen cabinet, tv console n MBR wardrobe..n if got spare $ a showcase cabinet in study rm n 'wall' to cover bomb shelter...my max is 15k..then electronics n other furniture will be another 15k..

ellen: actually getting a new flat or a totally rundown resale to do reno is the best. Resale reno a lot of problems, not everything can reno also. Have to see existing fixtures whether can dismantle or not, then existing walls can make good or not after dismantling, whether can fit into existing theme etc etc. If cannot then maybe have to spend even more just to do that part
We only found out abt all these when our ID went down to our house after handover to survey the site
I'd rather spend a bit more like val to do complete makeover than to settle for bits and pieces like mine which isn't exactly cheap either

jaq: think ur budget not enuff liao...lol. I got a wall to cover bomb shelter, tonite I see if can take pic to show u. But not done by my ID, existing owner left it for us, we didn't dismantle cos it was quite nice.

all: anyone interested in those automated poles for hanging clothes? me sourcing now. My wife nearly got hit on the head on a few occasions cos she's short and had trouble using the fork to lower the poles, ended up whole pole dropped. I see whether got more ppl to join in, maybe can squeeze for more disc.

thomas: budget not enuff? bleahz...will see how bah..coz my bomb shelter juz next to my main door leh..wonder got space to do anot..

automated poles? ur kitchen got space for that anot when keep in house?

Jaq> I'm not so hardworking manz. The smoke can rise all the way up to the cupboards or even ceiling. A good hood will prevent the accumulation of these oil dirt. But prob because I'm more particular.

Your budget looks difficult, I guess it should cost min. 20K depending on how long you want your cupboards to be. An avg for new flat is usually 30K and 40K for resale.

Thomas> Actually, I also clean up and mop the floor after cooking. In the long run, the oil dirt will usually stick to the upper cupboards and it's difficult to clean off.

So sayang your wifey leh. It's just getting used to the hanging of poles. haha. Practice makes perfect.

thomas: is similar to those that r in the service yard nowadays...

booy: I try to see how bah..coz my hubby sure will spend alot on furniture stuff..everything also wan gd quality

Booy/Rand> I tink the quote is quite ok. I was quoted abt 40K by 1 of the IDs that i approached. Most of the quotes i got fr e contractors and ID also abt this amt or mayb slightly cheaper. But they took a long time to ans my queries and its almost impossible to get them to sit down with you for discussion....

Jaq > your list... imho... it's quite a lot of carpentry. from my very rough calculation, it will cost at least 9k, and kitchen top calculation basis is solid top, not glass... You need to do other things like painting, flooring, etc?

Thomas > I'm interested... i'm short too... though normally have no problem with the poles but will be good to have automated one LOL

wah you hardworking... i can never find time to mop and wipe everyday siah~ *pei fu*

my home also a rundown resale but it still costs a lot to hack and rebuild the rundown stuff zzz. Main killer for me is the hacking and replacement of kitchen and toilet tiles (floor + wall). finally got one contractor with good review from RT... quote is < 20k.

deb > wah are you going to overhaul your place?

jaq: bo pian leh...I spent total ard 10k on my furniture and electrical appliances...and this after sourcing ard for really the best deals. Some of the appliances I used my mobil points to exchange so saved quite a bit from there. if u have tight budget, suggest u tell ur hubby to get furniture from S&amp;C, really can save a lot. If we were to buy elsewhere, def 10k wun be enuff. if everything he wants branded then siao liao lor.

deb: 3room complete overhaul?

ellen: of cos its good to have hahaha...I dun mop and wipe everyday lah, only on Sun when I cook. Weekday so tired after work where got energy to cook? which contractor is that?