(2010) 2010 Brides

gd morning all~~

woah...production? Tot he gonna go Hokkaido soon to do that? Kekeke...

alicia: u can online also mahz at night? Me every night go back after work like v bz...alot of things to do kind..

booy: not me...wifey wants er ren shi jie for now...hahahaha...how abt u?

alicia: u said u nth to do mah...so start production lor =P

jaq: I hope so too whahahahahaa

yalor like tonnes of things to do hor? me only can go online late at night after I settle all my stuff...

Thomas> I also want er ren shi jie now.. No time for factory production.. And most impt thing is that both of us must be prepared for it first..

hahahahahaa..

me gonna follow the calendar to plan for boy or gal when I wan kids..hmmm gotta attend to the issues of my health now then settle my lovenest n plan...xiong manz..seems like endless $$ after wedding to build for

zao an~~~

I haben got my contractor..need to dig out floor plan n look thru 1st which my hubby haben hunt out the file -_-" ,smore haben get keys, difficult to visualise the design..but read some threads in renotalk for recommendation on ID n contractor..I still abit blur the difference.
ID - design n build
contractor - u give him design, he build nia...?

Morning all.. Finally uploaded some photos of my HM at Switzerland on FB.. Really pretty quiet here.. Where are all the people?

Jaq> Somewhere along that line. Even the contractor wants to design for you, you will think twice. Imagine a uncle wearing oversized tshirt and bermudas with slippers tell you that he wants to design for you. Usually contractors will be cheaper because they dun mark up for the factor on "design".

I got a few frens doing contractor jobs..but doubt will consider them coz of 'frens' issue..heard horror stories abt giving frens do their house... =x

think is another round of shortlisting n budgeting n comparing..then will end up like wedding...nearer the date, chin chai liao lol

morning all...

jaq: same as you now... got a fren fren doing ID but not sure whether shld let him do out house anot... going to meet him this weekend to check out his work...
yup it will be another rd of shortlisting and comparing... but cannot too chin chai cos will be staying there for long

wanna ask u all..

If you are currently studying n now you are married, will you intend nt to study anymore as family come first in your life n eventually a BB in the future???

kelle: this qn has been popping out again n again in my mind also..now tat I back to shipping, really thinking of taking up the NTU masters..but lovenest n having a bb 2 yrs later makes me no time for it, smore wkends will b burned for classes...

u intend to further study too? Plan with ur hubby lor..when ur lovenest coming?

Jaq : I am in dileman...I been taking ACCA quite some time already..pass n fail.. Studying mood has been decreasing as yrs pass..

N now married with family...it's placed a prioperity in my life.

But I am in finance line, need to consently upgrade myself to a higher level, eventually more pay to a comfortable life..It seems 2 are important but quite difficulty to juggle 2 at the same time..

My lovenest estimated 3 yrs later n I dunno when I can completed my ACCA

jaq: actually nowadays ID and contractors' pricing not that far off liao...so might as well get ID since they take care of design, coordination and everything else. Can't save much also if u go to contractors. For my case it was like this so ended up I went to ID...

its better to start sourcing early cos it will take up a lot of ur time...comparing quotations is the most headache part hahaha. After a while u will realise u can't compare cos everyone quotes different things...not apple to apple comparison. Make sure u are comfortable with them before u sign up. I signed up with the one I felt most comfortable with even though he wasn't the cheapest...rather pay a bit more to have peace of mind. Read so many horror stories in renotalk abt cheap contractors, esp the case of Ah Soon (no offence to Booy)

snoopy: for me if currently still studying, I will finish it first. giving up halfway is a waste really. I intend to go for my masters once I settle down later...now no time.

snoopy > currently, hubby and I am both studying and preparing for wedding too..

Somemore, both exams and PS is next month.. no time to recee the PS places, only can get info from forums..

luckily, house issue (reno) was settled last year. We were also studying during that time too..

Like u, my studying mood has been decreasing.. But this is my final year.. so have to 'pia' abit..
Felt that most importantly, u need ur hubby's understanding, support and encouragement.

booy: saw ur HM pics last night...looked like u had lotsa fun there...
me looking eagerly to mine now!

snoopy: juggling 2 shld be ok...just need to manage ur time well. fyi I also juggled work and studies for 5yrs, all my courses were completed in this way from dip, adv dip to deg. no doubt its tough but u really need good cert to fight with others. those 5yrs I hardly got to see daylight lol...morning go out no sun, night time go home after school also no sun.

I got a classmate in my deg course even more powerful...she had to juggle her time btw her 3 kids, work and studies. I dunno how the heck she did it but she cld still graduate the top scholar in my cohort. I gave her the thumbsup really, superwoman made of steel.

Thomas : I saluate to the women who can juggle between kids, work & studies....

I don't think I have the mentality to do so..

Belinda : Think the problem lies with me...really slack a lot as times flies..haha

snoopy > no doubt it is a waste to give up halfway, but i suppose, one also has to consider the financial issues of studies.. If you can afford, why not do lesser modules at a time? meaning, instead of taking 4 modules a year, take 2? This is just for a year, once u have really settled down marriage life, then increase ur module load?

Belinda : I am taking 1 module at one time - meaning 2 for a yr..

I dare nt take too many as I noe myself I can't take too many at one time...I rather pass slowly, than fail all

morning all

snoopy> im also studying full time now. My wedding date falls into my exam period
But its good to get it over and done with or when BB comes, its gonna be tough. Some of my classmates have BB and they really have to stretch their time

belinda : no choice mah...since started already so only can 硬这头皮åšä¸‹åŽ»...hehe

deb : Jia you wo

kelle: ah ACCA...killer course which I wld never take up tho I got acctancy dip..hahah...not ez coz ACCAa equivalent to masters...how many modules u left? If not wrong, can take 10 yrs to complete right..why not concentrate finish off n take the cert before family planning n lovenest..since u still young n has 2 yrs more to go? Not very good to study halfway n drop out tho..I been there done that..nt easy but need family support as well..

thomas: but how u judge the quality before u sign with the ID, coz I'm sure they show u those nice nice works to impress u n sign up with them wor..this is the risk we need to take..I heard those in IMM very persuasive n poor quality of end product...zzzz...I gonna get some mags on home reno start fr June n try to visualise how my lovenest look like since already starting to build the roof....
how many IDs u all compare or went to? I thinking of max 5 coz too much will be more headache to decide.

randyce: when's ur lovenest coming?

Jaq : I started with CATS as my diploma is in sales & marketing... they give 10 yrs to complete, making ppl more slack in studying. If they shorten the completion time, I will nt be so slack...

Nt young anymore...Coming to 30 lol

snoopy > same same.. Jia you!

Jaq > u r right. Those ID from IMM are very persuasive and poor quality. I did have recommendations from neighbours, these contractors came down to the house, look around, all nv get back to me on quotation..

jaq> haha i compared a lot of id and contractors
but now narrowed down to about 3 and comparing the quotes. Wat i did was i asked them to bring me down to their recent completed works

jaq: for me my ID invited me to go down to his showroom to view his works...also can go to those recently completed flats but haven't handover yet to see. I didn't go though cos no time...also got quite a number of good reviews in renotalk so I trusted him. Those in IMM I dare not ask also cos heard some there got bad reviews...not all lah I know.

I sent to quite a number of IDs/contractors, think easily got more than 10. However only 4 came back, maybe bcos my job small and also tight deadline lah. Even the 4 which came back, I oredi got headache trying to compare liao hahaha...ended up I gave up and just went for the 'overall' package.

wanna try my ID? can't rem whether got give u contact before...sorry.

Morning~

Thomas > your classmate with 3 kids... is she our common fren? LOL

btw from what i understand, your ID's company is one of the cheapest IDs in the market... though some say their design is not very strong except for a few "star" IDs, but this company is quite value for money...

I give the ID/contractors a work item list to quote so for my case, comparing quote is relatively easy... if you dun give them a list, they will all come back with different work items which make comparison difficult.

I enquired more than 15 ID/contractors and only 6 got back with quotation :S

Jaq > you still have a lot of time... do read up on renotalk on all the ID/contractors recommendation, or ask your friends/relatives to recommend. Actually it's safest to get someone you know to recommend.