(2010) 2010 Brides

i think we should work out a swap deal... i fill your table, you fill mine... :P

problem is just my wife pantang. +/- 3 month cannot go, cannot attend =(

(as good as never say anything)

RSVP Is hard..seriously i dun understand why can they say NO when they dun want to come.. weird..it's just either a yes or no thingy..

We got some cases abt rsvp... a gd example: confirmed coming when we ask, send invite, cfm coming n sent reminder, ack day before...end up no come..n never msg or call or tell anyone that he last min cannot come or what...next day when ask also dun wan to reply...msn also no reply..so fr then on..we block the person liao hahahaha

Jaq - wahhh why your fren so mean one..

My side - all 100pct attendance ...
only my hubby side- never inform they not coming then after that they say they forgot about the wedding -__--"""""""

Its common~ :P

Xfz> cheer up, i now just also work on who i wanna invite but not sure they can make it mah also... mayb when its draw nearer, i will be like you facing the same problem...

Oh yah, got a question to seek all of your advise... hmm, im working in a can say not big company... can i like invite selected close colleague and my boss and MD?? will it be like weird if i nv invite the rest of my colleague??

annisan: I dunno abt u, but I feel it wun be nice if the rest finds out how come u invited others but not them.

for me its either invite all or dun invite at all. I chose the latter.

Annisan - depends on you.. for me I just invite the ppl that I am close to and others for formality sake - if they want to come come they dun want to come dun come doesn't affect me..But think it's advisable to invite...cos its hard to invite some and dun invite others - tongues will wag behind ur back.. Ren Yan Ke Wei ..

annisan > I didn't invite all my colleagues. only those I knew for more than 3-4 years. even the other team manager sitting in front of me, i never invite. :P

after all, its my wedding, i get to pick who i want to have there. :P

Thomas/Chrissy03> my office stuff nearly 30ppl ar... my colleague also said is advisable to invite, moreover if they dont attend mayb i still can rec'd ang pow from them... But then im thinking lidat i must reserve at least 2tables for them... so weird to invite all of them to my wedding... some not even close one~

annisan, if only 30 pple then might as well invite all... maybe just ask them if they wanna come first before sending out official invitation? My colleagues actually e-mail and asked first before sending formal invites.

erm, dun have this thinking that even if they dun come, maybe u still will recv AP from them...most wun give, anything else is a bonus

not close ones then dun bother lah, invite just for the sake of inviting like no point right?

actually also depends on the company culture... if the company is those cosy kind, everyone sort of knows everybody, then it's okie to invite de...

Thomas > agree that shouldn't expect those not coming will give AP... they dun fly aeroplane good enough liaoz.

annisan > my htb also faces the same problem. I'm thinking, maybe invite those not close one only very, very near the date to replace those who drop out (like in xfz's case)... Very bad I know, but I half suspect most of those last min drop-outs are exactly these people who are not close.

And when questioned, just say colleagues see one another everyday, no need to ask early... If not, they'll "forget". :P

i actually got one who tell another colleague that he's not attending but he didn't even tell me personally even till date...even after 2 email chaser LOL ..so just pray they dun fly aeroplane...

annisan - Thanks... i think better to invite all since only 30 paxs... if they dun come then dun come but I think not so nice to leave some out... cos I'm working in an MNC so I only invite my dept plus a few close colleagues from other dept cannot afford to invite all =)

I ask abt the CD thingy becos SMC player cannot play burn copies, even I burn according to their specification still cannot play so I can only play original... need to ask which CD to buy that have enough songs to last throught the banquet...

To All>

i will ask them before i send out my formal invitation... That's the best way to handle it... cos my direct boss know that i got engaged last year so now when i take leave she will said... "go prepare for your wedding stuff issit" so i think is better to ask them...

Thank you everyone! :D

"but I half suspect most of those last min drop-outs are exactly these people who are not close."

erm irene, if they are not even close why wld u be inviting them in the first place?

for me I will not invite those who are not close...no point cos dunno what to talk to them also when they come for my wedding.

thomas: the 2 of my guests that MIA abit close la..not say totally not close..got 1 in FB contact lor..another is my ex-boss..sigh...call him time keep congratulating me n even told me he bringing wife..end up MIA..

for some that I invited not close, we kind of chat once in a blue moon kind, they turn up lor..n some even chase me for invitation card coz I only give 2 wks prior to my wedding lol

jaq: wah piang boss also lidat...that speaks volumes of his char?

those not close to u really gave u face by turning up man hahahaaha...

so ironic sometimes...close ones fly plane, not close ones full attendance

ya lor...actually alot also ask me why invite him since we all know he is a 'bi*dman'.. lol

n I was really v surprised that my guests all turn up by 715pm...n 730pm all seated..but it was rushing for me lol

thomas, like u said lor, "wun be nice if the rest finds out how come u invited others but not them".

My dad even has issues when my mum suggested writing "Mr. XXX and family" on invitation cards for some relatives and only "Mr & Mrs XXX" for other relatives ... Sigh.... "Mr & Mrs" means 2 seats but "and family" can means 1 table... and out of the 10 seats in that 1 table, 8 can be very, very not close.
I understand my dad's concern, he's worried that relatives may compare and think we practise "big-small eyes".

annisan> i also have a similar problem.. i have people asking me if Im inviting them to the wedding when im not close to them and if i invite them i have to invite alot of pple. So now also thinking shld i even invite any though i have a few close friends there

At home already... *yeah*

Finally uploading all the pics liao...My office alone got 50 over ppl liao..send a mass email to inform my wedding, then one by one rsvp. But they are quite nice in sense that they tell me automatically whether can come or nt, nt I chase them.Only a few cannot confirm due to frequent travelling.

My miniumum tables is 10, so hope can hit to 10..:p

i have been thinking bout how to invite my colleagues too. i have like 80 of them.

do u guys think it is rude to invite via email? i was thinking it will be quite tedious to invite face-to-face. moreover i may nt see them all cos they are nt at their desk so i dun wan them to think they are 'reserves' shld i only manage to ask them like aft one week?

so my qns is, email and invite everyone, then ignore those who dun reply?

or invite only selected colleagues?

i've been working in my sch for like 6 yrs.

Happy girl : It's quite hard decide to invite some or all the collegues as everybody will see each other everday, hard to avoid.

For me, I send a email first. Ppl who reply already, gd for me. Then I will follow up by the invitation card when it's near the date.

For other ppl who have nt reply, maybe like during lunch time or spare time, bring the topic up casually, see what is their reply. At least U know the "status".

This is what I am doing now...

yah i got ex colleague tt sends emails... for my i will invite my direct working colleagues as for other depts likely not unless i m close to them... for me. formality is impt if dun wana come, i m cool too... anyway, my tables minimum is 28 so so b ok to hit.. i will jus reserve 2-3 tables standby if nd... sick, OT n etc MIA attendance r unavoidable n accountable for inviting more ....

HG: dun think its rude, now is the IT era liao, not surprising to find invites thru email also. fyi my wife designed an e-invite card and sent it to her colleagues' emails too.

ALL> back from malacca....
did not buy any wedding stuffs... but bought alot of cny goodies instead... hahahaha...
the pineapple tarts there r very nice... but got to control as PS is nearing.... =P

went to nyonya heritage again and so tempted to make kebaya... but no more budget and no idea when to wear it... hahhaha...

DS gerl: yalor.. i love pineapple tarts.. guess got to control also given AD next month.. haha

thomas: we also do an ecard.. for colleagues only first.. inside we put R.S.V.P 12 feb.. so next week i should roughly know the numbers for our colleagues and friends.. todate, for my side, i am left mostly with colleagues.. my fiance beri slow.. he only sent to colleagues this week. haben ask friend.. wahhaha... =)

deb,

so when will u be posted to sch? i will certainly invite my dept colleagues and those whom i work with. i feel tt if i email everyone (including those whom i dun really mind if they come or not), then i give myself e trouble of chasing for answer later. but dun invite, wait they get offended. sigh...

deerixp,

so what do u do to colleagues who dun rsvp by 12 feb? ask them again? some ppl will only response if u ask them personally, right?

and of cos the worst are those who say "cant confirm" despite 三催四请!!!

which is why to avoid my headache, i tot of inviting only colleagues who are close. i have no problem with friends. relatives i already foresee some challenges cos my dad is inviting relatives whom i dun even know.

thomas, so u only invited those in ur dept? not scared the others feel offended?

all > went for my photo selection on sat... ended up having to top up 32 photos. Now my wallet is super light

deeri > I bot the CD "In Love with Bacharach". Its a compilation of songs by burt bacharach performed by various artists, bossa nova style. If you like Olivia Ong, you probably will like this.

http://www.amazon.com/Love-Bacharach/dp/B000P1KPAE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=music&qid=1265550547&sr=1-1

We listened to the CD at Pazzion @ Wisma, then my wife asked them what CD they were playing. I got my copy at Gramaphone.

The other CD we bought was also a Bossa Nova CD by Lisa Ono. Listened to it a few times, and think its too slow. probably put the guests to sleep. but she has a wonderful voice too.