(2010) 2010 Brides

Hey All,

Been missing out alot here...
Anyway i've booked Noble House as my Banquet Venue...

Right now looking for PG/VG...
Anyone here mind sharing... hehe :P

Alicia> check with you my AD is next year FEB so roughly when i can go down for Gowns Fitting?

All: just went for food tasting today.. yup.. overall quite ok.. just had some small comments on the cold platter and fish.. I like the yam paste (my favourite). =)

annisan: hello
LTNS...been busy?

if urs is MTM, then better to get it done asap cos u still need to alter as and when its not up to ur liking. just as a rough guideline, my wife's MTM WG needed abt 2mths to make, so if u intend to use it for ur PS then u have to start earlier i.e. 4mths. do check with ur BS how long they need to make, then work backwards from there. cheers

for ur PG/VG, any budget in mind? hard to recommend when u din indicate.

Thomas> what is LTNS?
Yup loh, this week boss not around so im here to update and chat chat with you all... hehe :P

BUT MTM, what if the gown they design for me i dont like how??

moooooooooooooooorning...

think everytime thomas use "LTNS", everyone scratch head... haha

annisan > my wife's MTM gown was booked about 9 months before. the turnaround time was about 4 months to complete. then we used it for our PS.

anyway the gown, they are supposed to design to what you like. not happy, reject. If you are planning to go for the MTM type, try not to go to the tg. pagar type studios. Those are better for OTR types. most of the time they use seamstresses who are good at alterations to make your gown, so the worksmanship and fitting may not be that good.

LTNS = long time no see

u shld be sitting down with ur designer and letting them know how u want ur gown to be instead of them designing for u? unless u are simply clueless how to go abt doing it...for my wife, she did a lot of research thru bridal mags, internet etc, so she printed all those she liked and discussed with our designer and took off from there. it was also lucky that our designer had the flair and can understand what she wants cos my wife is a bit particular when it comes to her dream WG hahaha...

u have a very healthy budget for PG/VG...with that budget u can go for most of the established ones like Big Day Pictures, 1950 Photography, One-Eye Click, Forest Productions etc etc.

if u want can try mine? total ard 2.5k

PG = Aspire Studio www.aspirestudio.com

VG = Nelson Film www.nelson-film.com

morning....

wow... everybody on bridal
haha need to choose the gowns so early?? i tout OTR just go 2 mths before to choose can already??

Btw can I find out for HDb is it better to go for HDB loan or bank loan??

deb: ours not OTR, so need to get it done earlier to be in time for PS

OTR of cos no need to be so early...just need to do alterations only.

of cos HDB loan is better...the interest rates are fixed so no need to worry...bank loan u need to monitor very closely cos the rates fluctuate and once its no good, u need to jump ship i.e change banks. U are eligible for HDB loan then go for it, for me I can't so no choice.

Morning all.. Long day for me today..

Think for the turnaround time for WG, better to check with your BS.. Different BS has different timeline..

Thomas> God bless that the bank loan rate is lower than HDB rate.. Hope it dun rise like nobody's business..

booy: how u feeling now? better?

hard to say...for the moment now, bank loan rate is lower than HDB's cos economy still not doing well...when it recovers, it can shoot up easily. In good times can hit 4% or more. Keeping my fingers crossed also, may have to jump ship anytime haha

HDB loan is better.

from what a home loan banker friend told me. (if I remember correctly... old liao :S)

Bank loan is usually tied to the lending/interest rate. On the financially good years the lending rate goes as high as 3%. Imagine your housing loan fluctuating like crazy. Banks usually give good rates for the first 2-3 years. after which you can re-finance. There is a hidden clause, where you need to pay for the legal fees if you re-finance the loan. that usually runs up to $2000-3000

HDB loans is pegged at 0.1% above the CPF interest rate (what CPF pay you for the money you have inside). The current rate is and has always been 2.6%. What you may want to do is invest most of the CPF into shares, unit trusts etc. before it gets wiped out. Take out the maximum loan amount for the maximum term period. The theory behind it (explained by my banker friend again) is such :
- you can shorten the HDB loan period, but cannot lengthen it.
- there is no penalty for early repayment. You can pump in (lump sum) cash into the loan to either reduce the monthly installments, or shorten the loan period.
- By investing properly, you can get better returns (compared to CPF's 2.5%). Ultimately, that amount of money can offset the interest rate you are paying. If you choose not to invest, still pull the money out from CPF before its fully deducted, and put it back in upon the transaction completion. That amount of money in CPF generates 2.5% interest, and your loan amount is 2.6%. so for that amount of money in the CPF account, its only losing 0.1%.

makes sense ?

anni > i think 4K for photo and video is good... got a lot of options. but dun end up like me .. initially budget quite high, then kenna cut here and there.

my reno budget already blown. i told my wife that we should stop buying stuff until everything settles down, and we can see the amount we have left more clearly. I'm worried about all the nitty-gritty stuff that we overlooked and later not enough budget for that. initially we budgeted 10K for the furnishings... sofa, bed, etc etc... then i realised we forget to add in the air con costs :S

Darrel & Thomas> LTNS... haha :D Thanks for your advise, like that i think i better go for OTR le, as im totally clueless...

Thomas> thats my max budget Yah,:P alright... i will continue to see see look look around, once finalise i will then pop in here to check anyone here take them as PG/VG...

for those looking for pre-wedding photographer

*cut and paste from facebook*

The Privilege Of Chris Ling International -
"Singapore CNY 2010 sale is now on until 12/2/10. Prices start from $888 onwards for 8 packages. There are limited slots for Eugene and Skyy, and Chris' packages are all sold out. We'd like to thank you for the wonderful support!"

http://www.facebook.com/chrisling.intl

note that there is only 8 packages. And it usually sells quite fast.

oh. anyway, does anyone have the script for the emcee ?

wanna scan thru it, then arrow someone to be my emcee on that day. this one also quite headache.

HiHi ALL!!!!

Thomas - On every 1st Feb is my company off day cos it's company anniversary...

Aveline - That time din do 4 wisdom tooth together cos bottom 2 is surgery then dentist worried I cannot take it cos really very diff to eat... so that time do the 2 on the right then now do the 2 on the left...

So happy to be working from home... can sleep until 8.45am then washup and log in... shiok!!! Will be collecting my album this weekend...

Alicia - Just had my video shot with Lawrence on Monday and he was telling me he just did yours too...

Darrel - Need to charge you fees for advertising here liao hehe...

Darrel> which PG are the one you shortlisted?? mind sharing? my budget is set abit higher now cos i din managed to get a house at AMK... *sob* now waiting for new BTO sales... same like my ROM, we did set budget, end up also overspent and worse cant cover my spending...

anni > ermm ... my own wedding will be covered by a friend who is shooting weddings full time professionally. so giving ang pow (budget cut =P )

I think u asked the wrong person on who i shortlist for PG... cos mine PG list contains names of people I know (and have supper with regularly), so the rates are different.

deb: dun worry, all the best ya? hope u get ur lovenest soon

darrel: ur hotel dun provide? mine does, albeit just a sample. cut and paste from there to what I want. my reno budget also blown, didn't expect to spend more than what I've allocated...reno really exp these days

xfz: me also did the same way as u haha...2 first, 2 later.

annisan: ya ur ROM really spent a lot...can see. the amk one is resale? new BTO really can wait until cow comes home then can get...

annisan: urs is next yr right? can engage darrel also lah cos he's also a PG...u have a healthy budget for him to work on also haha

darrel: carry on from here haha

Darrel> Wow~ you can save alot man~ haha :D Thanks Thomas for reminding me... haha :D

so how Darrel, any of your friends who u can intro me??? or u?? :P

Morning all~

annisan> For MTM, at least 6 mths b4 ur AD. If OTR, anytime oso can, but in order to find WG & EG tat u like, i'd say to start go see their gowns ard 3-4 mths b4 bah..

Maybe I should buy both the 5 mil and 10 mil toto to pray hard that I can be one of the lucky winners. Invest with the winnings to repay the bank loan.. haha..

My furnishing budget is also busted. Little did I expect that the small little things and electronic items that I find in my house can already add up to thousands. These are hard to be budgeted.

booy: haha reminds me that the annual cny toto hongbao draw is here soon...

very diff to keep to budget cos every now and then, some things will pop out from nowhere.

annisan> Wat abt PS? The timing? U gotta check wif ur co-ordinator who ur PG is, den from there they will advise wich mth, den if u ok wif the mth, den arrange for a date den cfm wif them see PG available or not.

Darren> i had sent you MC Speech to your email yah...

Alicia> cos im thinking you telling me that i can start to see my gowns 3-4mth before my AD, so im thinking my AD is next Year Feb 2011 issit end of the Year like DEC then can have PS??
as end of the Year is raining seasons mah...

darrel: emailed...took such a long time cos hotmail was painfully slooooooooooooow

annisan: usually PS best to do abt 3mths before AD. Give ur BS some time to edit, do layout also. U still need to view and approve before they send for printing...all these take time also.

yes, dec generally is rainy season...so best to avoid.

hello all~~

annisan: u can take ur PS during Sep/Oct ah...no harm taking early...not so rush n u can enjoy ur festive season before wedding..hehe

randyce> me too ydae rec'd the letter...
sian

Darrel> no prob!

Thomas> hmm, okay noted so most likely Oct i will have my PS, which means i got now to oct to slim down... Oops~

Jaq> yup loh, like what thomas mentioned... so i know agar agar how much time i have left for myself to slim down also... haha :D

Wah talking about HDB loan... i'm interested hohoho...

If eligible, of course HDB loan better. 1st of all you dun need to cough out that 5% downpayment in cash. 2nd HDB rates are always +0.1% of CPF OA interest rate so no sleepless nights worrying about refinancing etc.

Just btw, My BIL has problem refinancing his HDB cos the banks found the loan amount too low (as compared to, say, condo), so end up no bank interested in refinancing his loan, and he kenna stuck with his current loan with higher interest rate.

My PS is next Tuesday! So excited! Counting down liao hahahaha

rand: u mean all along u nvr pay tax? wah so good...I every yr also pay

annisan: I took mine in Oct last yr too, somemore my AD one mth later than urs (albeit diff yrs lah haha)

u very fat meh???

thomas: huh? along the road mahz..there is overhead bridge in the middle of eu tong seng..nice wor..the background...or in the crowd..juz shoot la..with evening gown...like me lol..think I siao liaoz..'addicted' to the shoot of being in the crowd...

lol...when I went there to buy my GDL stuff 2 weeks ago, it was already packed like hell...next week will be even worse. I hate squeezing with ppl unless no choice =)