HDB loan is better.
from what a home loan banker friend told me. (if I remember correctly... old liao :S)
Bank loan is usually tied to the lending/interest rate. On the financially good years the lending rate goes as high as 3%. Imagine your housing loan fluctuating like crazy. Banks usually give good rates for the first 2-3 years. after which you can re-finance. There is a hidden clause, where you need to pay for the legal fees if you re-finance the loan. that usually runs up to $2000-3000
HDB loans is pegged at 0.1% above the CPF interest rate (what CPF pay you for the money you have inside). The current rate is and has always been 2.6%. What you may want to do is invest most of the CPF into shares, unit trusts etc. before it gets wiped out. Take out the maximum loan amount for the maximum term period. The theory behind it (explained by my banker friend again) is such :
- you can shorten the HDB loan period, but cannot lengthen it.
- there is no penalty for early repayment. You can pump in (lump sum) cash into the loan to either reduce the monthly installments, or shorten the loan period.
- By investing properly, you can get better returns (compared to CPF's 2.5%). Ultimately, that amount of money can offset the interest rate you are paying. If you choose not to invest, still pull the money out from CPF before its fully deducted, and put it back in upon the transaction completion. That amount of money in CPF generates 2.5% interest, and your loan amount is 2.6%. so for that amount of money in the CPF account, its only losing 0.1%.
makes sense ?