(2010) 2010 Brides

thomas> we will chk with the hotel coordinator bah....

think will go without the red umbrella.... dun think it's that impt as my bro and FSIL also din use that...

Hi all, sick cat reporting.. Collected my cards from t&t and tdragon.. Satisfied with t&t, very nice.. Time to practice my handwriting!

Aveline> congrats congrats.. Everything will be smooth smooth for you..

Thomas> happy belated birthday ya.. The lychee martini is a must try at pines..

Valerie> those pro cleaners can only clean exterior as you also cannot expect them to clear your cupboards and know what to clear ya..

all: ordered my GDL cakes liao at PG just now, after that went to settle my toilet stuff, now left lightings only. PG's cakes are really good! When I was there, so many couples were there to order also...biz really good.

DS: I think the red umbrella is very imp, its to ward off any bad luck I heard.

booy: take care...u still unwell? me gg in T&T this coming sat to print liao.

Thomas: which type of the cake did u order? The assorted ones? like lychee and stuff?

All: went to Tdragon to place order liao.. next week should be proof reading liao..

Went to Chris Ling to select photos..they are awesome! Both fiance and i were impressed.. all the photos he let us see were so nice... but we are quite selective to minimise the top up.. but also top up a few ks.. hahaha.. but no regrets getting him (even my fiance thinks so)...

I'm new to this forum and congrats to all 2010 BTB! Would like to know if any BTB know of the Chinese belief to avoid attending another person's wedding if your own wedding is 100 days apart? Has anyone attended another person's wedding with 100 days from the date of your own wedding? Care to share?

Thomas> Sick for weeks le.. Haiz.. Anyway went to buy the GDL and AD things.. Found a relatively cheap store at chinatown market called KK.. Even the AP is very cheap.. $0.50 for small one and $1 for big one..

icy: I did attend my hubby's fren wedding 2mths before our wedding...normally customs for wedding is that u cannot attend others wedding n vice versa 3mths before n after...

deerixp: I ordered the marble butter cake

booy: how much is the GDL stuff there? comes in a standard set? me trying to find time to go down and buy...so busy.

Hi Jaq,

Any particular reason why your hubby and you decide to attend your hubby's frend wedding? Anything strange/ bad happen? My best frend's wedding is within 100 days after mine and would much like to share each other's joy. We also went to ask different shi fu and one say cannot while another said if we really want to attend, gotta go temple to get a charm. Kinda in a dilemma...

Thomas> this one doesn't have set.. But after going to sooo many, this one is the cheapest I see.. I spent about $130 there.. You must find time to do it ya.. Your GDL is coming soon..

Deerixp> I got those cut cakes kind from pines.. Yummy!

Icy> it really depends on how pantang you are.. If you believe in these traditions, then avoid at all cost. If you really really want to go, no harm just get those charm like what you said..

mooooooooooorning all

icy > My wife and I will be attending our good friend's wedding which is about 2 1/2 months after ours. but we will be getting a charm from a temple. The problem is clashing of "xi". The shifu said usually the one who gets married at the later date is the one who will have more problems.

Also do note that if you decide to attend without doing anything (e.g. get a charm, etc etc) it may be good to ask your friend if its ok.

thomas > are u going to get the whole set for GDL ? before you go, check what her mum wants... easier, then some things can substitute. if not you end up spending money on things you won't need.... e.g. spittoon, face basin ...

yesterday, my wife and i went light shopping... so a quick question to you guys here...

when you all buy the lights, does it include the bulb ? i haven't buy yet, but the sales person write the quote for us, the bulbs and lights were separate, so we were wondering if he was trying to pull a fast one on us...

zao an~~~

icy:coz my hubby mention is 1 of his gd fren wedding n he also attending ours..so ok lor..we din get any charm or wat..but for our wedding, my mum got 'talisman water' for us to get everything smoothly for AD.

chrissy > we went to chan huat @ balestier... overall, the prices are still cheaper than most of the other shops even after including the bulb... but i think i still want to walk a few more shops before deciding.

anyone knows how much to install a remote control on a light ? I was quoted $28/piece. they will wire it into the lights for us. the electrician just need to wire it as per normal.

booy: thanks I will

darrel: ya I have checked with my MIL oredi, will sub some of the items out cos she dun need everything

yeah, bulbs shld be included in the total price, without it how to use?

xfz: I know what u are going thru cos I am abt to go thru it very soon...just came out from urgent meeting, super sian to the max

darrel> yup, mine inclusive of the bulbs too..=)

deerixp> u're fast sia. we will go to t-dragon this wed i tink. when can u get the cards? Saw ur corsages. very pretty! =)

All> Just went to pine garden website. itz under construction. Anyone know whether it is halal?

Booy> do u hv the address of the shop at chinatown? Me intending to settle my gdl stuff this week too. I saw a shop at chinatown market, called wedding shop, 2nd flr i tink. Duno cheap or not..but plan to go there to take a look soon..

thomas> howz ur shopping last wk? Bought ur reno stuff already? my table came liao. quite ok. will post pic tonite. going to do cleaning+packing+shifting but like no time to do. =( Settled MIL's kebaya lst wk. Still doing rsvp and card inserts not settle yet. Hope to settle these stuff by these wk, if not, we will be behild time..=(

val: confirmed not halal cos now I remembered they selling buns with luncheon meat there also

I went to universal at geylang like u also, toilet stuff all settled, now left lightings only. shld be gg to singapore lightings at balestier to buy also.

jaq/booy: the shop which u two were talking abt at chinatown, are they the same one? do u have the address or shop name? I see whether this sun got time to squeeze out to go down, so busy...

booy: mi too.. sick.. today on mc.. down with flu n sore inflammation..I wanna be a healthy bride..=(

Will need to buck up with my health

Valerie> This one is at one of the corner closer to Fo Ya Si... I saw the wedding shop on Level 2.. Price is OK, though I find that this one at Level 1 is cheaper..

KK Marriage Goods, #01-226, Chinatown Complex

Thomas> They are different shops.. There are many such stores in chinatown.. Address is shown above.

Deerixp> Weather is bad.. A lot of people are falling sick.. I eat med until I'm scared now.. I also want to be a healthy bride.. Take care ya..

thomas: the Chop kwong mee is at blk 4 sago lane, behind the chinatown complex..there is also about 3 wedding shops at level 1 of chinatown complex. I went to the 1 tat is by china lady. But still feel chop kwong mee is better

booy/jaq: thanks gals

pine garden is def not halal cos they selling luncheon meat buns haha

my schedule is fully packed every weekend until my AD, very sian

Valerie> I will.. Must make sure I stay healthy..

Thomas> Im also busy all the way through.. Now have to start to do up the guestlist le.. And still have people hasn't RSVP.. haiz..

empty? I think I will have even more to do, household chores is one of them. no time to feel empty also haha

u getting used to staying on ur own with hubby? I dunno whether I will get used to it or not...hope I can though...

booy: my guestlist more or less done, this sat gg in t&t to print liao. following sat then go back and collect

wanna ask u, first trip to t&t, u confirm the layout then wait 1hr for them to let u see the artwork before printing right? that's what I heard

thomas: ahahahaha household chores u will only get to do on wkend de...me also although juz taking care 2 rooms. But laundry me 3 days wash once..
me getting used la..tho wkends go back my parents place..but my hubby still haben get used..so weird lor..hahahaha..

Booy> me too. I still have ppl haven rsvp. duno they oversea or wat. call hp, but hp either switch off or divert to msg...=S

thomas > remember to check the layout/wordings correctly. cos i have my sister, my brother, my dad (all teachers) and my in laws to verify for me. they spotted wierd english grammar mistakes, as well as an error in the chinese date. Best is you know the text you want to use, then print. Also, remember to print more inserts than cards... in case you write wrongly, or last minute not enough cards. Most printing shops is min 200 pieces. if you're short of 20 and need to print 200...

All> to be safe, its better to print how many extra inserts? So, if last min guest list increase and cards not enff can still get from hotel coordinator rite?

val > by right, when u increase the number of tables (based on % of confirmed guests), you can get more cards... most hotels will close one eye and give you a bit more if you ask. just that whether you got enough inserts... or even worse, if you do hotstamping on the card, then you will have problems.

for mine, i collected 250 cards from the hotel, printed 300 inserts.

think I will print ard 50 more inserts also to be safe

val: u can get from ur hotel for any increase in cards, just let ur coordinator know

Thomas> Yes, I vetted one hour after I confirmed the details at JB itself.. But because I added more things, so subsequently I re-approve it via email..

Valerie> Mine is more or less RSVP le.. Now a bit bit more to go.. Rejection rate is almost 20%.. haha..