(2010) 2010 Brides

Jaq> Ya, heard from the Woodlands thread tat the progress quite fast. hehe!

All> Any1 noe/can recommend a neighbourhood shop tat sells instant water heater wif installation?

jaq> 10k? u not intending to do the tv console, shoe cabinet ar? Mine premium flat also. But reno cost already double of ur target liao. heh. Coz mayb i got do grilles for whole hse, windows+gtrilles for service yard, tv console, shoe cabinet, parquet polishing, kitchen door, etc....

Valerie- the ID fm paya lebar is value for money mah? Heard from the radio..Meng Design- Not sure if it is ggd..anyone can advise?

Plus need to buy sink, tap, cooker+hood, toilet accessories such as mirror etc and lightings. Easily another 3K extra. Sianz.. Juz placed a deposit for my curtains. Abt 1k for whole hse....

Reno really involved alot of money sia..

Jennifer> i duno actually. Anyway, i got not much time that time to check for value for money etc. The way they quoted are different usually. If u compare item by item, some mayb this ID charge cheaper, some mayb the other ID charge cheaper. How to compare like that? I see the quotes until i blur also. I hv got quotes from both IDs and Contractors. Honestly, contractors not exactly very cheap also..it really depend on ur bargainin power most of the time. In the end, even though its not the cheapest among the quotes i got, i still stick to my current ID. Mainly becos we are comfortable with him..

From the curtain maker stationed at our block. Her name is May. Many of my neighbours from other blocks also got the curtains from her. She has a showroom at one of a neighbour's flat. So we went there to see see lor...quite nice la. Price also reasonable. =) PM me if u want the contact.

val: after we obtain of keys can pass me ur contact for ur ID... we haven decide whether want to get contractors to do or get ID.. cos waimun wan to design himself

Val - pmed you..

My kitchen cost me 4k plus meh..

rand> wah...he so creative ar? He got lobang in reno stuff ar? Or he intend to get those sub-contractors and coordinate himself? Like that definitely cheaper but v mafan. Can, let me know when u get ur keys. i give u all my contacts. heh. =)

jennifer > 10K for a new flat ? or resale ?

cos it also depend on how much work u want done. kitchen cabinets, wardrobes already take a big chunk out. If ur not doing anything like flooring, grilles, feature wall, cove lights/L-box, maybe its enough.

val: haha dunnoe him...i dont think so le... prob getting contractors to do lor.... but my mom gt a fren's fren do reno one den can design too but dunnoe how much he charge.

Jen> like darrel said, enuff for wardrobe and kitchen cabinets only. If u want to do more than that, most prob not enuff...

Jen> some things can kiv first la. Meaning dun need to do now. For example, window grilles. My mom insists us on doing...so no choice.

Chrissy> PM-ed u already.

New flat, at minimum, u'll probably need
1) kitchen cabinets
2) wardrobe for master bedroom
3) electrical points

- est that wardrobe full height is around $1000/meter
- kitchen cabinets+solid surface table top excl sink, cooker and hood is around 4-5K

if u add in stuff like shoe cabinets, console, prob not enough liao. Air con, window grilles, painting works maybe still need to do

alicia: slightly more than 10k now...trying to bring it down to below 10k...

chrissy: we are not doing a lot but even so, it's more than 10k now liao...dunno why reno also so exp nowadays
those 40k reno is not minor liao, to me is major overhaul

ellen: no choice leh...have to live near my MIL...after paying cov I'm left with not much for reno now

eelynn: I asked u how come u got take 2nd PS with 2 other couples...is it free or must pay?

darrel: u are right, a lot dun even bother to reply when they see ur job is small...which makes it even more headache for me

val: trying to get some more to quote, but very difficult lor...budget small and also tight deadline, nobody wanna do also
I will try to finalise asap, best before end of this mth cos if not, a lot of contractors/ids sure fully booked liao, nobody can do for u even if u wanna pay more

u are right, some items contractor A quote cheaper, some items B quote cheaper, very hard to compare
what I did was to ask for lump sum discount at the end cos its not possible to split into 2 different contractors also, nobody wanna do one.

10k for new flat maybe still possible

but 10k for resale flat? impossible

even I nvr do hacking of flooring, just minor jobs only like painting, changing of toilet accessories, downlights etc already more than 10k liao

nowadays reno really not cheap, those in this biz are earning big bucks really

thomas - 40k major overhaul?? hers is including buying all the stuffs leh..then i lagi chamm...mine super major over haul cost even more..am SoOoo NOT looking forward to the final bill yet
just turning blind for the moment

the 2nd PS of eelynn they all is they provide their all dress/MUA and the PG took for them complimentary if i dun remember wrongly..

thomas> ya lor..that time we also worried alot of the ID or contractors kena fully booked coz yr end ma and everybody will b rushing reno works before christmas, new yr or CNY. So we kiasu and began our search for ID/Contractors earlier even though we hv not rec'd the keys. U know hor, some conractors also dun entertain u when u hv not collect keys yet. Very frustrating...

chrissy: that's to me lah...maybe u got bigger budget than me leh? haha

oh ya forgot to mention, my 10k is excl buying all the sanitary fittings/lights/ceiling fan/heater etc, have to add few k more again for those
furniture also +++ again

val: ya, and based on what peter told me that night, he said now no painter available in the market also, all fully booked liao

a lot rushing to complete before CNY...suay suay mine happens to clash with theirs also

some of them asked me whether I can collect keys earlier or not...ex-owner told me a flat 'NO'

very, very sian now really...budget got constraints liao, then meet with super uncooperative and not understanding ppl makes it worse...

thomas - ya got slightly bigger than u cos we don't need to pay cov..as mention before if pay cov we no $$ for reno...however also over budget now..*headache* ..

hahaa i thought urs including hehe.. think urs added up will become 20k liao

Chrissy> mine not inclusive of buying all the stuff. the sink, tap, mirror, cooker+hood, toilet accessories, water heater and lightings are all extra expenses. We hv spent abt $2k plus on those items already..now still left with bedroom lights and dining lights. Confirm will exceed $3K de....haiz...=(

Household items wise, we bought fridge and washing machine le. The nxt big item to purchase will be TVs liao. And I'm still left with iron and vacuum cleaner..really damn siong lor....=(

well.. i got a quote for my place. 5 room pt block. almost a full overhaul.
excluding
- window grills,
- hack + replace toilet flooring.
- electrical re-wiring

for kitchen, do tiles overlaying

its 36K liao.
i fainted... then started to cancel out the thing i think i can live without.

thomas> wah...ur situation very headache. So is peter still available to do ur case? Coz i rem him telling us that he has quite abit of projects during year end too...

DarreL> Wow..i will faint too if i'm u. Lucky i not doing full overhaul. Anyway, 36K seems reasonable for full overhaul..=)

chrissy:

val: can pm me peter's quote to u? wanna compare. yup he told me right now he's still ok to take on my job but I must confirm asap liao, otherwise he cannot do also

darrel: cos ur window grilles and flooring already taken up the biggest chunk of the costs...

mmm .. mine is everything except grills, toilet and kitchen hacking.

so the 36K is for hacking and tiling for the living room and bedrooms, carpentry for wardrobe, kitchen, console, painting ...

Chrissy: you're wrong liao.. we didn't engage the initial fella's service...a rude and irresponsible guy.. We found another lady PG...

Thomas: We source for our own gowns, MUA, etc... and we did pay a little amount to the PG la... We had fun... with the other 2 couples.. =P

randyce.. mine is near to compassvale heee.. so nxt time can have kopi together oso..

Jaq.. i guess u have to start looking for another JM coz mine oso like tt. n i was lucky to have find another 1 quickly.. coz e jm appear to be ai mai ai mai so i go ahead to look for another 1.. n i was rite coz it was till e eve of my wedding day den she said she cant help.. but she came for e dinner instead.. so i guess she was tight up with her job..

Thomas.. my hse total is 362k if i'm not wrong.. inclusive of my cov of 29K

alicia.. ya nowadays its not easy to stay in 1 roof together.. but must compromise, give n take lo =) i will go back my parents hse on wkend for dinner.. missed my daddy cooking..

chrissy.. mine pm me ur fb add?? i add ya in so u can view.. thanks =)

*sorry if i missed out anyone.. too long post to read.. tee hee

chrissy> no choice though very ma fan....
otherwise, u sure lugi alot de...

rand> ok, no problems... will try to look out for it... if not juz around lor...=)

thomas> my boss very young.... 33 only... he's moving on....

HFL> congrats! i can only see ur wedding pics in the day.... dun hv dinner part leh....

thomas> that was the latest quote we got, but definitely not the final la...coz we added more stuff. So far, we hv aleady made abt 50% of the payment liao but we intend to bargain further during the nxt payment...or for more stuff. C how la..heh..

Valerie/Eve/Jaq/randyce: Ok can go la kopi next time =)

All: had my 2nd photoshoot yesterday. Chris is really professional and detailed, even with the way he placed my gown train and veil.. My hubby and I are very IMPRESSED with him.. My hubby told mi.. this time definitely will have alot of photographs to choose (alot of NICE photos is both gd and bad news)... yesterday, botanical garden was drizzling.. but Chris was NICE, he offered us an option with a postponement or we can shoot if we want to in the rain.. so in the end, i was the only BTB in botanical garden. Chris said, I was the most beautiful BTB in botanical garden.. (haha.. coz only one).. haha.. We really appreciate him.

Darrel: ur turn soon! =)

Morning ALL!!

deerixp - Great to know you enjoyed your 2nd PS... am looking forward to your pics... sure alot of hoo-haa when your frens/relatives sees that you got 2 diff wedding albums keke...

xfz: Thanks ya.. yesterday my hubby already "sweat"... coz he himself knows we will have alot SUPER NICE photos to choose from.. haha.. i was hoping he could be the one to stop me..

Valerie: nope..he's too ex.. haha for AD, we got Jonathan Chan (themovingframe) =)