(2010) 2010 Brides

liquidsnake: welcome!! eh darrel chia..isn't him in our thread here?? hahahah

aveline: what bed u chosen?

alicia: I receive their tea buffet menu..u wan me to forward u too?

ds_gerl: issit..hmmm think I shortlisting another 2 bah then make decision..

thomas, deerixp> thanks for the birthday wishes

jaq> here r a few that i found from website...
actually my bro wanted to hv peranankan catering for his wedding de.... but realised that the rates r on the high side so gv up liao...

http://www.guanhoesoon.com/ghs/menu.htm
http://www.straitschinese.com/
http://www.peramakan.com/about.htm

jaq,

that was what i was thinking too... isnt that darrel? hee hee...

today i went to attend a wedding at qianxi farrer park. wow, seems like so many things to prepare!

Booy> Hahhaa! Oic.. =)

deerixp> Gd luck! =)

Ave> So wich type of mattress & bed frame u bot? How much is it?

Jaq> Yes, pls forward to me! [email protected]. Thanks!! =)

Happy Girl> Wat r the tings need to prepare? Come share share. keke! =P

hi alicia,

just songs alone, i think we need a few songs for the photo montage, pre-wedding photo montage (if u intend to show), express video highlight, 2 march-in, first dish, cake-cutting... if u chin chai, then can just anyhow choose lor. but i wan to have nice songs that we like mah. then must accompany mothers to buy clothes leh, plan the programme for whole day, prepare emcee speech/thank you speech...

wah, i see the bride so tired, i feel stressed for her too. still must go around take 1001 pictures...

luckily i have a lot of time to prepare. i made mental note to myself to start early. hee hee. i was thinking if im free, can find songs, prepare photos for my photo montage (my sis is helping me), do jiemeis' corsages, angbow box first. is it too early? hahaha...

the jiemeis' didnt buy their white dresses together. but somehow because of the same-colour ribbon they wore at the waist, it makes their dresses look somehow similar. so if u not intending to buy dresses for them, can consider doing that.

btw, do u know when the couple can start giving out invitation cards? i heard that can only give out after the GDL. and the GDL is like 1 month before the AD? but like that too late le right, some ppl tend to forget the dates until they see the card. how?

and yeah, i confirmed my photography and videography.

AD PG: Eirik Photograpy (Eirik)
AD VG: In Jack Studio (Jacky)

Aveline,

we have the same photographer! u mentioned him before so I went to check him out. His photos looks good to me and the price is reasonable so I decided to engage his service though he is the first photographer me and hubby met!

Happy girl: yeah!!! great!! having same pg!! Hubby also think his photos are good and reasonable price....yeah!!

A lot of things to prepare leh.... song itself so many liao... haiz..

All: today is my ti qing day... exciting!

I bot dunlo matress and frame..2.3k..hubby prefers firm mattress..to me doesnt make any diff.. frame, i chose a very simple bed with storage and simple bed piece with bling bling!!! hahaha....

Happy Girl> Oh, for the march-in songs, i roughly shortlisted a few liao, waiting for hub to confirm after letting him listen lor.. The montages songs i'll let my AD PG choose for me. It's gd to do ur tings early, for JM corsages, i take the easy way out - buy. keke! AP box, my hotel will provide me. Mothers' clothes, my mum alr bot hers (wen we go shop for my sis's wedding next wk, at the same time she bot for mine le), & my MIL will settle her own. MC speeches, my hotel will gif me a sample, but my MC is "seasoned" enuff to change on her own (if need be). For invitation cards, my hotel says usually ppl gif out ard 1-2 mths b4 AD, but am not sure abt whether can onli gif out cards after GDL or not. Now, i'm doing a draft program sheet & ppt presentation for my church wedding.

Ave> How was ur ting qing 2day? Oh, ur bed seems to be a gd buy. =)

HFL> SO how's ur prep? Soon is ur AD le leh..

Thomas/ Alicia: We gotten king... free protector and 2 free neck care pillows (in market selling $80+)..okie lah.. overall feeling is good, so we buy.. we went robinson (was having weekend promo) Nova (having crazy sales)..but we still gt bought over...

My GDL is on 6 Dec, so need to replan our schedule...

Happy Girl: juz a formality... rom also nothing much..ti qing is more like asking what to prepare for GDL..

hi alicia..
i have alreadi printed my invitation cards & now preparing to give out to frens n relatives..

my collegue is doing my video montage, i chosen my march in songs & plan my ad whole day schedule..

will be doing my guo da li in 2 wks time =)

Aveline: u got ur mattress.. Great! i think we also need to get one..

Our budget thinking lower.. maybe max 1.5k.. any recommendation? Let mi know if there is there upcoming sales okie? thinking of buying in Dec X'mas sales or wat...

hi all, juz had my ti qing today evening also ...
and yup like ave say, it's just a process to finalise what would be required for GDL from both sides.

Ave > my GDL also on 6 Dec ...

alicia: sent

aveline/eve: mine GDL also 6 Dec! Hahaha..this is also a v hot date for weddings! in Dec09 btb threads think got 9-10 ladies there for this date!

deerixp: where u stay..I can recommend u mine at northpoint. GDL usually 1 mth - 2 wks prior AD

every sat got furniture/bedding warehouse sales ads in straits time..u all can take a look..saw this flyer IFC at sungei kadut also got many deals for beds as well..

Looks like all the GDL are on 6-Dec.. I have a wedding dinner that day too! Good date..

Must giving invitation cards be after GDL?

*wave* ... just got back from a wedding. it certainly feels different attending a wedding when you are planning your own. A lot of things to criticize =P

jaq, happygirl > yup.. thats me alright. Liquidsnake is my uncle in law =P

Deeri > actually GDL dun need to have a fixed date margin. Most people will put it a few weeks before the wedding though. but mine is 3 months before =P

Eve, Ave > my GDL is on the 5th Dec =P ... actually we got the option of both days. any timing that you have to use ? mine is 7-9 or 3-5. Do you have the list of things to prepare ? the list is follow the groom's dialect or the brides one ? *confused*

Booy > giving invitation cards after GDL is subjective. Nowadays a lot of people don't practice, but if you want to follow the older traditions, thats what you should do. The problem is if the GDL is too late, not enough time to send out the cards and RSVP.

Morning all..

Darrel> I also think that few weeks earlier to send out invitation is too late.. I intend to send the invitation during CNY when everyone is gathering at some relative's place.. But my GDL will most prob be weeks before AD.. Think I better ask my MIL..

Your GDL is so early.. I also dunno which tradition to follow.. I'm confused over this GDL thing as well.. My MIL asked me to ask what my mum wants.. Think the things that is requested from bride's can follow its own tradition, other than that the rest follows the groom's..

Deerixp: if u juz looking for mattress, 1.5k easily can get a decent one... and frame will cost from 1k.. u can go to tat furniture shop i got my bed.. tell them ur buudget, see wat they can customise for u...

All: wah... We will be GDL-ing on same day!! So we might be bumping onto each other on expressway!!!Meaning have to bring forward my schedule liao...

Darrel: also blur! so we intend to go down to those GDL shop to choose..see wat is require and wat can be subsidise by Ang bao... The list is follow groom's dialect..

Booy: actually you can start calling up ur guests and inform abt ur wedding date.. then invitation cards just serve like a formality...so even ur GDL is just fews before AD, i think its fine..

Aveline> But the thought of going to every relative's house turn me real off.. The GDL is a big headache.. Luckily my MIL is very supportive, already preempt me on a lot of things.. And even brought me to buy jewellery liao...

Morning all~

Ave> Where is this Furniture HQ located?

HFL> Great! So excited for u! Den u collected ur album liao? =P

Jaq> Thanks, received liao! =)

Darrel> U set ur GDL date liao ah? My sis doesnt haf a GDL & tis morning my mum was telling me to tell my MIL tat for my wedding, oso no need those GDL tings.

Booy: tats good! Me too.. North South East West leh.. I will faint!!! Since we GDL together, we can have our hen's party together..hahahahaha.....

Darrel > for me no prob cos both me n hubby are Teochews.

All > most of the things both my PILs and parents agree to just replace by angbaos. Even the baby tub, etc, they agree it is ok to either do without or otherwise buy those miniature type for display de.

moooooooorning ...

My GDL date is early cos the lunar 12th month and 1st month not very auspicious for us. My wedding is on the 5th day of the lunar 2nd month. So if wait until 2nd month, then obviously too late. then plus my sis is going to give birth so we have to do it before then...

just wanted to check on the follow which dialect part. The shop people said follow grooms... then my friend said she asked (the same shop) and they said follow the brides. Makes me confused. but then my friend a bit blur =P

Sat i went down to chinatown and got the list of things from WorldOfFortune, cos we used their service to pick our wedding date. Of course, they were a bit reluctant to give us the list, but we said sean asked us to go get the list from there (he really did. cos geri called him on friday).

anyway i'm still consolidating my list for (Cantonese) when i'm done i'll put it up on my blog =)

for reference, here's one of the more useful generic ones that i found.
http://www.asiaone.com/Just+Woman/About+Me/Well+Being/Story/A1Story20080917-88183.html

Alicia: u know there used to be a seoul garden? Now taken up by FHQ, opp mrt towards yck. Next to a big car park, near to centro showflat too...

although my wedding is in march .. now things are starting to get exciting ... so many things to do. my saturdays and sundays are almost totally burnned, and I haven't started shopping for furniture yet. Nw still in the renovation ideas stage.

Morning ALL!!

It's a crazy day on Sat for my house-warming... and YES it's another crazy day of cleaning on Sun... but it feels great to meetup with all my friends...

Catering from Melrose is quite OK... big portion... the yam ring, braised beancured, sweet/sour pork was good.... got free fruit tarts from them as well hee... anyone interested please check out www.melrose.com.sg

The lady is very friendly so no worries can just give them a buzz...

Aveline> Hen's party should be around a 1 to 2 weeks before AD right? Think only Jan's bride can have hen's party together with you.. hee..

Darrel> Mine is Canto and Teochew.. So the tradition is really confusing.. Not so straight forward.. My wedding is also in March.. I'm getting busy to prep the stuff as well.. Fortuately that i settled my house reno..

XFZ> Congrats again! Now you can settle in your home sweet home.. No more crazy cleaning..

Booy> Eh, my sis's hen party i tink is abt 2 days b4 her AD leh.. keke!

Booy, Darrel> Mine is Teochew & Hakka, but my mum says to dispense wif GDL stuffs, but dunno whether my MIL ok to it or not.

actually my mum also say if dun need to do, even better...

but cos my wife is the first to get kicked out .. i mean get married, so its very hard to avoid. anyway mine is canto + hainanese. so not that far off.

house reno is complicated

oh .. anyway for those looking at reno, there is a Singapore Home and Reno 2009 exhibition at expo until 11th Oct.

prob go there and get harassed by the companies like how you get harassed by the tg pagar bridal shops at bridal fairs :P

Wah...so many march BTB...=)

Alicia> thanks. Banquet and bridal booked already, juz found our ID for our lovenest as well. Also looking ard for nice dining table and sofa now. Currently waiting to take bridal studio photos in Nov and looking AD photographer only. Any gd lobang for photographer? When's ur AD?