(2010) 2010 Brides

Sharlene> Hmm... In a way, ya, waiting for it, but i oso waiting for my bf to gif me his pay slips so tat i can apply for a HLE. Actually i looking forward more to BTO, but dunno whether we can afford or not leh... Hehe!

hi all, just 2days nv log in and the messages are running so fast. Abit lost track so i'll summarize my views in one post:

For ring pillows, there are some who will give it to you for free when you purchase your wedding bands. SOme BS can also lend it to you FOC.

As for wrist corsages, you can check out this:
http://flowerfan.multiply.com/ The corsages price ranges from $1.50 onwards which i think i considered cheap.

AD PG/VG, I took with Simon Video and Photo Service. The package i took includes both AD PG and VG for $1288 (add $200 for morning express highlights). Din have much budget hence did not go for those journalistic style. Would say if you are not looking for those very journalistic style, etc, do consider Simon Video cos I think it's value for money plus heard they have taken for quite a number of Mediacorp artistes. Check out: http://simonvideo.com.sg/

As for lovenest, I've actually applied for Punggol Sapphire but still pending to see if there are units left for me to select cos I fall out of the 100%. Otherwise I'll either wait for the next BTO or the Oct half yearly sale for 4rm or bigger flats.

Wedding preparation, i guess most if not all of us will face problems of our guys being bo chup or feel pressurized. Cos the guys usually take things very easy and then gan chiong at the 11th hour. When i first started wedding prep, my guy also quite bo chup. End up i keep on bug him, ask him split the load of reading forums for ideas, etc. But he very nice la. He will read thoroughly then tell me e.g. tis venue got good reviews, bad reviews, etc. Then after shortlisting a few we will go for site inspection and such thou the bargaining is still done by me la. Haha .. But the good thing is, starting early will help reduce alot of stress. In fact I'm currently relaxing till my ROM. Only spend my time reading the forum for ideas, great deals, etc

celine >> hope you are beta alrd. Yes the shifu are able to help see dates for year 2010 cos they usually do not use the tongshu (the tongshu for lunar yr 2010 will probably be out only after 6th/7th mth next yr)

Sorry for the long post. I do read all your posts but cant reply cos office blocked this forum. Sighz.

Eve> Wat is morning express highlights? Is it the very early (like 6+am or 7am muz reach bride's hse)?
Den wat is journalistic style?

To those going for Merchant Court's Wedding Show:
This is the latest news on the hotel....
"SWISSOTEL Merchant Court, a 476-room hotel near Clarke Quay, has been put up for sale by global tender.
It could fetch about $350 million, given the growth potential in Singapore’s hospitality sector, consultants said. Room rates start from about $250 a night, hotel booking websites show.
‘A hotel in (that) location can fetch around $700,000 to $800,000 per key,’ said Mr Mike Batchelor, managing director of Asia investment sales for Jones Lang LaSalle Hotels, which is handling the sale.
...Swissotel Merchant Court recently went through a multimillion-dollar refurbishment, hence its contemporary-style rooms now provide a platform for future revenue growth.."
This was dated 29th Aug 2008... And I got this off http://singaporepropertyfrontiers.com/ so it means that the hotel food standard will prob change because there'll prob be new management and ultimately resignation/new appointments of cooks etc.. Could be very good news OR just the opposite. Do try to find out more first BEFORE signing up with hotel banquet;)

XiaoFeiZhu and all those wondering which cities have what kind of weather during your planned honeymoon
Go to http://www.bbc.co.uk/weather/world/city_guides/ and click on the alphabet of the city you plan to visit.
The weather estimates are pretty accurate plus/minus two-three degrees.. I always use this for all my vacation planning since i try to avoid rainfall. As a general guide.. good weather in Northern Part eg.. Europe, America is usually May, September.

Alicia, XiaoFeiZhu
i was told that supposed to be 6 months or 180 days apart for two couples to attend each other's wedding. So i missed several good friends weddings. (Some were Christians but all wanted to take 'pre-caution'). If a brother and sister get married, also the same time frame (one marrying in, one marrying out).. but two sisters can marry as and when cos both marrying out of family! Weird huh.

Everyone,
my hubby was the silent one while i was planning our wedding.. I did most of the stuff myself...Even coming up with five different colours for admission cards (which acted also as guest book for guests to decorate beforehand and bring to the dinner)... For each decision, i just gave him him options and he'll just choose one. From take-away wedding favours to the choice of hotel. I didn't want him feeling overwhelmed.. Surprisingly, one-two mths after the wedding, he suddenly said that he missed the excitedness i protrayed before the wedding took place!! He was secretly happy that I was happy!!

My ring pillow was a simple white one given by Soo Kee when we chose our rings (hubby, prev boyfriend, brought me to choose the engagement ring and wedding rings to make sure they all fit.. then propose much much later!).
Wrist corsages for jiemeis and buttonieres for xiongdis - i bought hot glue gun and ribbons (colour to match theme) and also artificial flowers from Spotlight and made them in less then 1 hour. My helpers all wanted to keep them!
Ang pow box (make sure the slot for red pkts is wider because some guests give cards) was a plain one from Kalm's and then i bought some ribbons, crystal stickers and passed them to a friend to make it for me.

Alicia
my company hp is Samsung (i prefer my own personal Nokia) and shows that 21.03.2010 is 2nd month 6th day.
And sorry... my rented place is really small so all my wedding stuff are with my parents who coincidentally are overseas right now. They flew off this morning. I'll try to check with them next week. Donno how to download that though. See how. If you PM me, i'll email you with a place to see some pics.

hi eve,

wow $1288 is cheap. cos my friend recommend me this photographer - www.expressivelyjoho.com

read fr one of e forummers tt his rate is at least 4k a day?? and that's excluding VG!

by the way, what do u mean by journalistic?

i ask my bf bout his views on PG/VG and he said his friends all planned their wedding within a few months. i know it is too early to book a photographer now la since mine is in dec 2010.

but it is like we always hear tt banquet need to book 1 year in advance. then now i hear fr forum tt PG/VG also must book in advance. wah lao! very stressed leh...

haha now i know my ad is lunar 11th month and 7th day?? wow all odd number! but nmind la. the master said so we follow lor.

there is a shop at far east plaza selling all these wedding stuff too. i saw tt the wrist corsage cost mostly ard $6.90.

my friend bought an ang bow box for ard $24 dollars with ribbons and flowers. i think it is quite nice. save all e trouble...

Happygirl - just viewed the expressivelyjoho website... is beautiful and believed his rate also "beautiful" lor haha

Happy Girl> Wah! Each wrist corsage costs $6.90 ah! tat is ex lor... So tat means if i 1 2 buy 10 wrist corsages, means $69! Tsk Tsk... *faint* The AD PG $4k, den if add VG muz b very very ex lor...

DnA> Haha! U now den noe meh?! We r still so excited abt the planning mah... Hehe!

M> Whoa! U r very gd! Gave us the info on most of the tings! *thumbs up*

yeah i think it is very nice too. like the way he takes pictures of small small details and the joy on everyone's face! wonder if all photographers take pictures like that....

Morning express highlights refer to the VG putting together a 2-3 min "trailer" of video footage of what happened on the wedding day morning. Because it can only be done in the afternoon and rushed and completed within a few hours before it is aired for the dinner banquet, it's called Morning Express Highlights. Most contracts state the VG films 7am-1pm. For every hour before that, it's usually top up $50. So if you're a teochew bride, good luck on the additional expenses cos teochew brides (nothing to do with groom's dialect) must usually leave her house approx 3-4am.
As for the MUA (make-up artist), before 7am charges are usually top-up $50-$100 per hour. Price may go up by 2010. Estimate approx 2 hours before the groom arrives to pick u.
If you are curious to know what happens to your hubby during the sabo-ing by your jiemeis, only the MEH will recap it for you and your parents. Your parents will be involved in putting on your bridal veil in front of the PG so will also not be able to witness the sabo-ing.

Journalistic style is usually black and white but of course, colour is available but not so effective. You do not look at the PG at all... You leave him to take all the solemn, happy, teary... in short - expressive - photos. Mostly candid which very clearly reflects the emotions of the day. Side shots, from the back shots etc are also common. But journalistic shots must be done by highly experienced PGs. And it can cost $3,000-$10,000 a day for just ONE PG and may not include the additional top up for landscape albums (albums which are like a collage of photos overlapping the backdrops).

i guessed is "1 cent 1 quality"... his works are really very professional. Saw one of the brides wearing Vera Wang gown.

mm&pw,

www.overthemoonfoto.com

Includes the following:
> ? 4 hours of photo shoot
> ? 150 digital shots (all photos will be post-processed)
> ? Outdoor photography included
> ? Choose and print 100 4R photos
> ? 1 pce super 8R montage of event
> ? Photos slot into album
> ? CD for whole event returned to you.
> Cost: $ 338
>
> Package 2
> Includes the following:
> ? 4 hours of phooto shoot
> ? 150 digital shots (all photos will be post processed
> processed, but not printed)
> ? Outdoor photography included
> ? 3 pce super 8R montage of event
> Cost: $ 308
>
> Package 3
> Includes the following:
> ? 4 hours of phooto shoot
> ? 150 digital shots (photos will not be post processed)
> ? Shots inclusive of outdoor shoot
> Cost: $ 238

you can say intro my me (Anny)... mayb got discount... hahaha... (:

DnA> How did u get tis? But for AD 4 hrs like not enuff leh!

M> So tat means tat if i 1 2 show video for some parts of my church wedding (no gate-crashing coz we gg church for ceremony), it's oso considered as Morning Express Highlights?

DnA - really looked reasonable and I have viewed the website and the shots not bad too. My day still long way to go, gather info 1st hehe

Alicia & mm&pw>> I posted the Rate above is only for ROM... hahaha... *shy* sorry sorry! you may wanna email him to ask for AD Package... (:
read thru forum and got to know him... Hes a veri nice guy! (: reply promptly too...

wow thanks DnA! i will give him a call for my rom! cos my i dun wan to spend too much on ROM cos only immediate families but yet i die-die wan PG!!! heeeeee....

his email address : [email protected]

i just email him to be my PG for my ROM and ask for discount lo...
so rmb to say i(Anny) intro u all de den mayb i got the discount... lolx... thou is already veri cheap.... =P

Happy Girl>> i got to get his contact while im reading at other threads... I find his skill oso veri good and price wise for ROM package is consider cheap le.. so i take him as my ROM PG but he have cfm with me yet lah... Hopefully a "yes" from him... (:

Alicia,
MEH is simply what happens in the morning of the AD. Take Note: It's called MORNING express highlights because most of the activities MUST take place in the morning. So if your church ceremony ends after 12:30 or 1pm, not many VGs will be able to give you your MEH. Majority of PGs state that they must end by 12:30pm or 1pm in order for them to rush back to studio to edit the video clip. They are then able to go to your banquet dinner venue by 6:30pm.
When i got married earlier this yr:
4:45am my makeup artist arrived , completed makeup & hair by 6:15am. Arranged me and my gown in my bedroom and taught my parents where to stand in anticipation of the photography and videography of putting on the veil.
6:15am my PG arrived to survey my parent's entire house
6:30am my VG arrived to do the same
By 11:30am, we had completed saboing, heaven offerings and tea ceremony... my family, jiemeis, xiondis and PG and VG etc, were able to have early lunch (no time for breakfast) and we let the PG and VG leave by 12noon. This is because we have in-suite solemnization at 6pm so we wanted ample time for the MEH to be completed and subsequently tested in the ballroom. The long break of six hours meant that we two were able to bathe and have a two hour nap in between.

Oops,
earlier on, when I suggested that you estimate the mark-up for 2010 banquet tables pricing (from the 2009 banquet packages), I mean to mark-up $20-$50 per table (not per person). Most tables are usually 10 seaters but some like Sheraton Twrs is 12 seaters.
SORRY!!!

M> My wedding in church will b abt 11am to abt 12pm, latest by 12.30pm, den followed by buffet in church & more foto-taking. In the afternoon, my family will b gg home & me & bf will b gg his hse for tea ceremony, den to my hse for tea ceremony. After tat will proceed to hotel (preferably to sign in & bathe/rest) den dinner shld b starting at usual time (7pm cocktail, 7.30pm dinner commence). So tat means i wont b able to haf MEH lor (even if before/after buffet the VG left for the MEH)?

Eve,
some VG need more time, some need less time.. Those who need more time are usually those who do it himself/herself! (Better quality) He/she also needs some travelling and rest time in between leh. Those who need less time for the MEH is because they MAY have a partner in the studio who'll help them out.

Alicia,
many of my friends' Church ceremonies start at about 10am-11am. One hour is sufficient for the ceremony. If the groom intends to serenade you, add extra time;)... Then another one hour for the catered reception... The VG will film you having a good time. So he/she can still leave by about 12:30pm to go do your MEH.

Alicia,
Sorry, we must been typing at the same time so i didn't see your last post ;)
Yes.. Looks like it'll be difficult for you to have MEH.
And just to video only your church ceremony for a few hrs, may not be worth the cost of MEH. Some MEH are separate costs. I think mine was $500 or $600. But that's for one whole morning.

Oh sorry ... juz checked my invoice .. my vg needs 5hrs production time. Meaning excludes the travelling, etc.

M> But i wld like to haf a short clip/video on my church ceremony as not every1 attended church weddings b4, so wat r the suggestions available for me?

Alicia >> perhaps get your fren to do a short video for you? thou it will be a raw clip but at least you can still showcase your church ceremony.

Alicia,
I just read the archive posts, including some of yours and i notice you've got a bit of financial budget to meet... Always always remember that <u>even though a wedding is a once in a lifetime event, the costs amounting to it, can also be a lifetime of burden</u>. See whether you want to spend on an MEH, or your new love nest home, or furniture, or a memorable honeymoon.
I'm 34 and i got married a few months ago. I wanted to spend more on my honeymoon and photos and video. So that was my budget. My gown was very simple (as much as i wanted a Ted Wu or Vera Wang etc..) and we limited the number of wedding tables because the more tables, the greater the monetary loss (most pple give $60-$100 for a hotel dinner, $40-$80 for a restaurant dinner.. I know cos over the past 11 yrs, I've handled at least 15 friends and relatives wedding dinners)
So set a slightly lower budget for everything in total... Ultimately, the costs do ADD UP when you realise you have to top up unknowingly for facials, ampoules (i didn't want but had no choice), early morning charges for PG/VG/MUA, red packets, better quality wine)

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Day</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>JP</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Multiply </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy Girl</TD><TD>12.12.2010</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>07.06.2009</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>happygirl198230 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alicia Yong</TD><TD>21.03.10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Hotel Royal @ Queens</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Registry Office</TD><TD>arranged by RO</TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD>hweishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>cymk</TD><TD>04.06.2010</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>03.10.2009</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>DnA (annisan)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>20.09.2009</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Mr Chan / Mr Yeo</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>desloveann </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve (eevee)</TD><TD>16.01.2010</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Hotel</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>Simon Video and Photo Service</TD><TD>same as AD PG</TD><TD>16.01.2009</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sengkang/Punggol</TD><TD>eevee </TD></TR><TR><TD>mm&amp;pw (mmpw)</TD><TD>10.10.2010</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>The Legends @ Fort Canning</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celinekam</TD><TD>Feb 2010</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Merchant Court Swissotel (most likely)</TD><TD>Bridal Zone</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as AD</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>SengKang</TD><TD>celinekam </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharlene (cornygal)</TD><TD>1st quarter 2010</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Noble House Tung Lok (most likely)</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>06.07.2008</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Dr William Chua</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>cornygal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kerine (etirine)</TD><TD>Feb 2010</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Swissotel The Stamford (tbc)</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>22.06.2008</TD><TD>The Courtyard, National Library</TD><TD>Assoc Prof Yu Shi Ming</TD><TD>Jade Spring @ Yishun</TD><TD>etirine </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiaofeizhu83</TD><TD>28.03.2010</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as AD</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
Jus a quick update on the table.

M> Thanks for the advice. I tink i wld rather spend more on the honeymoon &amp;/or new hse, but still i wld like to source out AD PG &amp;/or VG &amp; compare their prices.

Alicia,
the reason why MOST COMMONLY ... couples hold tea ceremonies in the morning is
a) the Chinese believe that good things happen in the morning... eg, temple prayers or church prayers are usually in the morning?
b) couples want to have a MEH and doing it in the morning allows ample time for the VG to edit.

But it's YOUR wedding... there's nothing wrong with tea ceremonies at ANY time of the day.. it's more impt that the timing is suitable for tea ceremony particpants.
Try to maybe arrange one ceremony before church or something? You've got lots and lots of time.

I could've suggested that you get a friend to help video and edit or whatever (it's a very popular suggestion by couples) and Eve was right. Does help to save money.
However, the thing is, you may want to consider that your friend (assuming he/she is invited for dinner too) may want to rest in the afternoon. Unless your friend is very adept and fast at video editing, he/she may wanna try to produce the best and somehow may get frustrated in trying to complete it in time.
[my bro is very good at editing.. but still took DAYS before he could put together a photo montage of our childhood growing up years... he's happy with end product but he was very stressed whilst doing it]

Alicia: Expressively Jon Ho is gd..but its super duper ex..haha..Kelvin Koh of Lightedpixels is also gd..but they are all quite high range..if u have cfm ur date..best to book a PG now to lock in the price..i personally quite like derrick ong as well..hee...

Happy Girl: sighz..i dunno lehz..i have to reapply for my HLE lor..coz expire liaoz..giving myself a dateline to get a house...

hmz..gers..so how long before and after our own wedding we cannot attend other ppl's weddings?