(2010) 2010 Brides

mm&pw> Tat's great! congrats!
Actually i was tinking of having my ROM 1 yr b4 my AD, but realised tat 1 yr b4 my AD is a sat, & ROM registry not open on sat
So i haven decide wen to hold my ROM yet.

Alicia - thanks! ya, unless u have the solemnisation at other place.

happygirl - yup, i know that but still need to check whether this day is suitable for both of us. but at least there is a date set now

Hihi Alicia,
me working as Accounts Assitant lo... Damn boring job... hahaha... guess got my bonus i gotta change job le... so any job lobang dun forget me oh... (:

Hihi Celine,
Glad that ur alright now... (:
yalah.. SG life so rushing and tiring and boring...haha =D

hihi mm&pw,
ok.. =P
wow... HOT date man...
u gotta settle and plan everything fast fast...
if can i would like to be on the 31/03/2010 (our birthday) if not same date as ROM 20/09/2010.. gotta check wif shifu can mah.. issit auspicious.. hehe =P

somehow i feel so excited bout all these preparatons. think bout it day and night. make me sleepless like eg. yesterday! i think it is affecting my work/life. and all bf and i talk about is where/who to invite/which photographer.... blah blah blah.

my friend told me i will get sick of this aft a while. wonder how true is tt.... if not i dunno how i can survive thinking of e same old thing for e next 2 years plus....

DnA - I hope I can be like eve, settle most of the things fast. But still need to check whather is suitable for us.

Happygirl - Ya, I also thinking to start the practical planning next year. now is only discussion on when/what/where/who/how questions to shortlist the options so when the practical days come can "chop chop" set the deal haha

Hi hi!

I got married in in the first half of this year. I'm on two days medical leave so just kaypohing and hope you all don't mind.
I'm browsing here cos my younger bro is considering getting married in 2010-2011.

Anyway,
I'm kinda tired so instead, i'll just post some comments in general instead of addressing each of you individually;)

Yes, I was told not to marry in odd months of Lunar year because everyone says it's not auspicous. Since the two of us want the a good start to our life together, we just try to 'obey' as much as we can.

We ended up getting married on a Monday! Because out of respect, we wanted ALL our relatives, who're older than us, for our tea ceremony (and tea ceremonies are usually in the morning), we had to check all their Chinese Animal Year to make sure that none would clash with us & our parents. It doesn't matter if we 'meet' our relatives after noon... weird but oh well, so my hubby's best friend was not our morning XiongDi because his animal year clashes with us that day... he joined in the fun only at night. In other words, the Year of the Rat of 1972 clashed but not the Year of the Rat of 1948 which is my dad's. We didn't want relatives to gossip behind our parents' backs saying we didn't want to serve them tea... Us, we can tahan, but we want our parents to 'save face'.

Anyway, being a Monday (very common nowadays to have a weekday wedding; my dad's at a hotel wedding right now) meant savings for us.. we got more carpark coupons for free and a lot of extra wedding cards etc.. A couple of guests even had free cappuccino during our Chinese dinner which is one of top 5 expensive hotels in Singapore. It also meant that we could have less tables (more space for us to mingle) due to a weekday minimum (holding a weekend dinner means a higher minimum number of tables).
And our guests did arrive very punctually (we started at 7:38pm) and they didn't rush off after dinner ;)

We were told that yes, getting married during the 7th month is a no-no. Cannot marry in the Lunar 6th month because it's like a half married thingy.. And also cannot marry during the month of the two Qing Mings.. We had our Gou Da Li one whole month earlier because of the 1st Qing Ming... Cannot give our invites and cakes during QM.

For those of you who are still scouting around for hotel prices... Yes, the price lists are avail only next year. Insist on 2009 price lists first and mark up $20-$50 per guest. Some hotels like ours charge higher if the AD is held July-December because these are the 'hotter' wedding months. So there are TWO price lists for one hotel. Check for that too. Eve of Public Holidays are also more expensive. The Chinese Eighth Day of the Eight Month is also a 'hot' aka expensive date. And you might think that a long weekend is a good choice but i've had friends lament that last minute, some guests don't turn up cos they decided to go for a short vacation! So it meant loss of 'income'.

Attend bridal shows and if you decide to book there and then at a show, you can negotiate A LOT. I turned up for a hotel bridal show but ended up signing with the Bridal Studio headlining the show instead! I booked my BS at the show and was very satisfied with my deal.

Ask for recommendations but don't sign up too early for bridal studios. (my bro's bridal studio is revamping after key designer left so i'm worried for him)..

If you choose a HOT DATE such as 20.10.2010 etc... good PGs and VGs are snapped up sometimes 1 to 1.5 years in advance. My VG was recommended by my best friend's sister.

Have fun planning. I enjoyed my Monday wedding and it was memorable for our families too!

mm&pw, Happy Girl> Ya, but i dun 1 2 do it outside ROM registry, coz i find it more troublesome. Hehe!
Coz to me, ROM not tat impt to me bah... I look forward more to the church wedding & dinner. Keke!

DnA> Oh... Ya man, a/cs is boring... Hehe! :p

Happy Girl> Ha! At least u get to tok to ur bf abt th preparations. For me, wen i tok to my bf abt it, his reply will b "up to u lor" or "u call the shots" or "ok". He din gif any comments oso leh...

Hey gals, i mite b changing my AD date leh, coz jus now discuss wif my dad, he say dun 1 mar 28, so he said mar 21 instead. Called my bf, he's ok wif mar 21 oso. So next is my mum. Tml morning den tok to her c how. If she oso ok, den my AD will b mar 21 instead of mar 28.

heee i hv 2 friends whose birthday is on 28th march though.

i just wonder when my bf will flip at me for going on and on about e wedding. cos sometimes i cant stand it myself.

yeah any idea how much a decent ad pg/vg will cost? how bout rom?

eve, can share the rate of ur pg/vg roughly?

i just wonder is it like 2k? 4k? i just need normal standard ones. dun need those award-winners....

alicia: no prob!hee..i juz signed up with bridal concept today!!haha..was on leave..so went to settle this..hee...

DnA: i also waiting for dec to choose the date..hahaha...=p

hihi M,

Thanks for sharing with us... (:
Indeed we have to obey to them as much as we can...

Right now, i sort of tired le... as alone planing is veri tiring... and we have not gone to the practical part...Worse is that u had a venue in mind but in forum alot of bad comments den u gotta reconsider and tink of another venue again... headache man! zZzz

hihi Happy Girl,

for ROM PG rate will be around 600 bah...
dun intend to have a VG for ROM...

AD itself will be 3k? as coffee and tea dreamworks rate is 3k... =P

Happy Girl> Haha! Even u cant stand it! Den u still can tok on & on to ur bf abt tis? Hehe!

Sharlene> Can share ur package wif me? Thanks!

DnA> Wich venue u had in mind tat has bad comments? Wah! AD PG & VG 3k ah! So ex! I was tinking ROM i dun need VG & PG. PG will jus b family members using own cameras to take here take there.
Church ceremony i will definitely haf PG, but am wondering whether to get VG or not. If i 1 2 save cost, den VG will ask bf's fren to take lor... But was wondering, if i 1 2 show parts of the church ceremony during dinner, den i'm not sure whether can find ppl to do it wif such short time, & dunno abt the pricing.

Gosh, you gals treat this forum like MSN... immediate response!

Alicia,
I'll recommend my VG but warn you first, I got my wedding dinner footage Months after the wedding (she's super busy).. her name is LiZhuang of Zephyrgraphy and actually specialises in corporate videos. But she did an Amazing morning express footage and even choose a very nice background music for the video. My friends and family were AMAZED. I looked demure for the first time!

My PG was part of bridal package.

<font color="ff0000">Very Very Important Note for All</font>:
All of u must make sure that whoever is designing your gown, or your choice of PG or your VG... Their names must be stated clearly on the contract you sign with them. Because if they back out any time (eg. MC or quit company) and the substitute person's work is sub-standard, you can then get a refund or if not, a discount! Even my Make-Up Artist name was stated in my contract.

My solemnization was done IN the hotel bridal suite. The suite was BIG and the Justice of Peace just had a simple ceremony for our parents and us.. I get stage fright and also didn't feel like rushing to ROM on the AD or spending extra on make-up, video, photos on a separate day.

Happy Girl,
12.12.2010 should be either a normal Sunday rate to some restaurants/hotels but may also be treated as a HOT date. Better book your venue, PG, VG early. BS can still wait if you haven't got yet.. Sorry, didn't read your archive posts.
Oh... but according to my handphone, it looks like it's the Lunar 11th Mth 7th Day ;)

Alicia,
as for your dates.. both 21st and 28th look like in the 2nd month so should be good;)

Can't confirm on my handphone Lunar calendar accuracy hor;)

alicia: i will pm u tml or wad okiez..hee..now wana zz already..cant rem all the details..haha..the list is with my hubby..haha..

DnA,
my pleasure to feedback... because i learnt A LOT from these forums in order to plan our wedding ... so thought i give some pointers since i'm resting these two days. (Tummy upset)

And, no matter which venue you choose, ultimately you STILL have to book 6mths to 1 year ahead so you won't know whether the chef and cooks are still working for that hotel or restaurant. I used to work in F&amp;B and the industry staff turnover is high! It's just luck.. My food tasting was normal but the food on my AD one month later was very good;) Some of my friends actually give a big red packet minutes before the actual dinner commences in the hope that the food will be excellent. My co-ordinator did that too but because mine was a reputable hotel, only two key staff took two red pkts out of the forty red packets offered.

M> How come ur hp can show lunar dates? mine dun haf leh... Wah! Even the MUA name has to be included in the contract?! Din noe tis at all! Thanks for all the info!
Ya, my mum 1 a even lunar mth, but it's my dad say dun 1 lunar date 13, so he say choose mar 21, coz it's lunar 2nd mth 6th day.
Whao! Den it'll b like "risky" to book the hotel/restaurant lor... But tis cant b help lah...

Sharlene> Sure, no prob! Can email me too ([email protected]). Keke! Thanks!

Alicia>> Wow... Congrat Alicia... Finally settle your AD date le and can start to proceed with other planning le.. (: hmm... My Secret Garden lo... For me im gettng a PG as i wanna play out on my wedding dinner to those hu are unable to attend my ROM ceremony... (: and AD itself PG and VG is a must... haha... wanna capture the precious moment and play out on wedd dinner too (: But still sorcing for both PG and VG for my ROM and AD... =P Its up to individual if they wan VG mah... as some can do it themselves... (:

M>> Me too learnt alot of things here! haha (:
can u send me the contacts for your VG too...and mind sharing ur PG??? hehez... yup i noe have to plan early... But now im more to my ROM prep whic is nxt yr sept.. (: already headache for choosing a venue.. as for banquet dinner i have a few in mind le.. =P

Sharlene>> yaloh... now still veri early lah... lolz.. i personally feel that.. (:

mm&amp;pw>> yalo i oso hope i can be like eve... den one worry off my head... (: Date and venue is veri impt.. cfm dis two den can proceed with other planing...

DnA - ya, I was wondering is it too kiasu to ask master to check dates in year 2010. Bf said his parents would let us choose our own date so most likely will ask my mum's shifu to check for us. Wondering he has the year 2010 lunar calendar or not haha

DnA> Thanks! Yup, next will b the planning of the banquet &amp; BS. Both oso i haf someting in mind, jus haven confirm wif dem yet.
The next time i meet my bf (wich i oso dunno wen), we'll b gg down to the banquet venue to take a look &amp; discuss further wif the in-charge. Once we find tat the venue is ok &amp; if the in-charge satisfies all/most of our need &amp; we feel gd wif them, most likely will put a deposit &amp; banquet can b safely put beside le. Den as for BS, as i will b following my sis to look at MBR, from there i will neg wif dem &amp; if find it suitable &amp; confortable, den most likely will oso sign wif dem. As for ROM, since i find it not tat significant, so i din really tink abt it. :p

Hi Alicia
I see... so you have changed your date to 21 Mar... me also could be changing my date cos the venue that i wanted on 28 Mar has already been booked... sob sob.... felt so disappointed cos was like in my heart already confirm that date and place...

Hi mm&amp;pw
Its not too early to get 2010 dates but not sure if your shifu requires the tong shu to calculate, if he/she requires then the 2010 tong shu will only be out after next july/aug... cos for those of us whom went to visit Long Shifu, he doesn't requires the 2010 tong shu hence we are able to get our dates from him already...

Hi celine
Do take care ya... just recover from surgery don't over stress or exert yourself wor...

Anyone has reviews on Whitelink packages or is considering them?

mm&amp;pw>> haha...for me i find it too early le as im planing my wedding dinner will be aft june bah...and will ask master to check around Nov/dec time bah... so nw i can focus on my ROM prep... hehez... is better to be kiasu as lot of BTB nowadays oso veri kiasu... hahaha.. so must ACT FAST~ to prevent disppointment... (:

Alicia>> Wow~ Cool huh... hehez... at least u can offically go on with yah practical planning le...Tiring is the research part lo... zZzz... like me im still at dis stage.. haha... oh ya... MBR.. try to nego for more.. and rmb help me check out their PG/VG too.. wanna compare prices.. hehez.. thanks oh!

2010 BTBs are reali active... haha
prompt in response and really we can discuss on everything here.. lolx... Cheers! (:

DnA> Thanks! Heard from ppl from other forum, dey said MBR packages only got 2 prices, 1 is the one u signed, the other is $3,388. Dey say the difference is MTM &amp; OTR wedding gown lor. But tink got some other tings different lah, like no. of fotos &amp; poses, etc.
But most likely will sign wif dem, but dunno wen only... hehe! Heard from my sis tat MBR a couple of yrs' package prices the same leh, no increase at all. Dunno how true lah... Keke!
Yup, will sure ask abt the AD PG &amp; VG de.

xiaofeizhu - I have to ask my mum to check with her shifu. if he really needs tongshu then i have to wait until next yr aug! wat a long wait~~~

DnA - I think i will reach the stage of kiasu-ness when I got my date confirmed. No confirmed date = everything is pending.

All> Hey! Any1 noes where to get wrist corsages huh? I'm tinking of letting my helpers (not intending to haf jie meis as no gate crashing) tie wrist corsages instead of normal corsages. I noe we can do the wrist corsages ourselves, but i dunno how to do &amp; lazy to do it. Hehe! So if not too ex, den mite as well buy lor. And wat other nitty gritties r we supposed to prepare, like ang pow box, etc? For ang pow box i shld b asking my sis to gif/lend me hers after her wedding next yr, so no need for me to buy/prepare.

Hey all!! sorry for not replying..haha..i am too bz fighting fire in office after 1 day of leave yday..haha..sighz...

alicia: hey ger..so sorry!!haven got time to send u the package details..will do so asap k..hee..oh..the wrist corsages i got it frm my bridal..they got lend de..=p

all> think i will be having my AD in 1st quarter of 2010..most likely is march too..haha..coz dun wana clash with my best fren..

Hi Alicia
Ya lor the co-ordinator told me that there is already a confirmed booking so i can only choose other dates... I may change to 13 Mar (sat) but worry that sat banquet usually more expensive... have to incurr more cost now...

Hi Sharlene
Me choose Mar then my best fren will be planning her's in Sept so that we won't clash hehe... would definitely want to attend each other's wedding so the date must plan carefully keke...

Where do you gals suggest to go for honeymoon during Mar?

mm&amp;pw> Thanks! The site looks nice, &amp; a lot of tings she sells. But i'll check back later again on the availability &amp; cost wen it's nearer my AD coz by then will haf new items.
R u tinking of having wrist corsages, or tat site's ang pow box &amp; ring pillow? I mite choose a few items from tat site, but not sure yet.

Sharlene> Oh! Bridal got rent ah? Wat r the costs like huh? No prob wif the package details, jus mail me wen u can.
Wahaha! Another mar bride! Yippee!

xiaofeizhu> Usually how long b/t the 2 weddings den can attend each other's leh? I heard sumting abt it too, but not sure of the details. May I noe wich venue u chose tat has been booked? My bf 1 2 go Switzerland for honeymoon, but i dunno whether we got the money for it or not. I suggested to him tat we cld go for a short trip after the wedding 1st, den towards the end of the yr den go for honeymoon, but he dun 1. Hehe!

Hi Alicia
I heard of 3 to 4 months before and after cannot attend other peeps wedding... but i also got seek advice from Long Shifu, he mention that no such thing as clash of happiness so actually is can attend.. but of cos he say its still up to individual belief... so i guess its up to you if you believe or not... but me and my best fren will prefer to have it like at least 3 months apart cos we'll be helping with eaech other's wedding.. if too near then time is very tight... I chose GCW but the grand ballroom is already booked for 28 Mar 2010... my fren suggested to me to go Japan during mar to see sakura =)

Anyone gg for Merchant Court Wedding Show on 21 Sept?

Alicia - I have not decided anything yet. I'll try to do by myself cos I wanna save cost! haha most likely ang pow box n ring pillow will do it myself. But, I not very good in art &amp; craft :p

xiaofeizhu - depends whats u n ur hubby like, some ppl like beach resort, some prefer cities while some prefer sceneries. As for me, bf &amp; I prefer natures so we decided maldives for honeymoon.

xiaofeizhu> Ic, ic... hmm... Japan shld b nice. My bf prefer the ang mo countries. Hehe! He has been saying 1 2 go Switzerland for honeymoon long time ago liao. keke!

mm&amp;pw> Ok! But ring pillow how to do? Wat do u need for it? I noe a lot of ppl do wrist corsages themselves, but i oso not gd in art &amp; craft &amp; oso lazy to do, tat's y tot of buying instead. But if the price is far too ex, den i will drop the idea of wrist corsages.
So see how it goes wen the AD is nearer lor.

Alicia - my idea is find nice prints white satin cloth, laces &amp; ribbon to sew it
wondering my that "half pail water" skill can sew it nicely or not. I find corsages not easy to do leh and if using fresh flowers I guessed I got no time to do it on the previous night of the wedding also.

mm&amp;pw> I tink tat doing the ring pillow &amp; corsages r all very time-consuming &amp; need to b very patient &amp; interested, or else do halfway gif up le. Haha! I tink i'm tat sort will gif up halfway de, so beta not do it myself... Keke! So the ring pillow u mentioned like need a lot of sewing, i cant do it lah. My sewing not nice, onli able to hold the pcs of cloth nia, not for ppl to see de. Keke!

wah.. you gals really like msn-ing leh hahaha

I will email the bus contacts to those who asked for it later

Happy Girl > can understand how you feel.. i oso excited abt planning sometimes i feel i give my bf too much stress.. so control myself.. but bursting liao hahaha

ya, we have turn this forum into 'semi-msn'... too bad my office doesn't allow us to use MSN otherwise would b so much easier to talk to yiu girls....

I also feel i giving my bf too much stress over the planning.... but i just need to share and i feel i'm obliged to get his views and opinions since this a 'two-of-us' affair...

Thanks cymk!

happygirl &amp; cymk - same here. I am very exciting about this wedding thing but still have 2 years+ so trying very hard not to bug on bf too much if not he will feel stress :P

cymk - quite free in office mah so responses quite fast hehe

cymk, xiaofeizhu, mm&amp;pw> Haha! Actually me too! I tink all of us feel the same way bah. But hor, last time wen i tok to my bf abt marriage, den he say very stress, so now tat he agrees to get married, i told him i will do all the planning except the restaurant, coz he will need to tell me the no. of tables he need, den we'll go see the restaurant wen we meet up &amp; discuss wif the restaurant in-charge (but most likely i'll b the one asking the in-charge a lot of qns lor). I told him once the restaurant settle liao, den i jus need to speak to him on some issues of the BS (eg, i dun 1 a car wif driver, whether wat to neg for, how many ribbons &amp; corsages, dun 1 tis &amp; tat, is he ok wif it kind of qns), after discussing wif him, den the rest of the tings will b handled by me lor. Coz i dun 1 2 stress him further wen in the 1st place (abt 2-3 yrs ago, wen we touch on the topic of marriage, he'll shun away), so i dun 1 him 2 feel like a burden over it or else later he back out, den jia lat lor...

Alicia: eh..they lent to me FOC..haha..=p

Xiaofeizhu: yah lor!!i helping with my bestie's wedding..and she will help me too..tats y we muz have a few months apart..if i change to 2009 den like v rush leh..haiyoh..dunno how also!!muz depend if i can get house soon not..if i can and my finances allow..will do it in 2009..haha..but hor..so ma fan leh..haiz..

Sharlene> K, thanks! Will ask the BS abt it wen i gg to sign. Hehe! There's a HDB launch in oct leh, mayb u can take a look wen it launch.