(2010) 2010 Brides

alicia: but sometimes... got to think about the both side parents la.... luckily for me... our parents leave everything to us... *heng* *heng*

eelynn> So far our parents oso no comments. A few wks ago, my SIL had her GDL & just rite her invitation cards r printed & can be given out liao & MIL has asked her relatives to go her hse & at the same time to gif out the canned pig trotters wif the invitation cards. My hub's eldest uncle (MIL's eldest bro) took a look at the invitation card & said very loudly tat how come the cards has no chinese wordings printed on it, onli got english. Den my MIL told me (tat day my hub got work, so not at home) tat our invitation cards muz be bilingual. hahaha!

alicia: ya la... tat's y sometimes is not the parents... but the relatives who make a big fuss over small matters... hahaaa...

alicia/eelynn> when i first started plannin i hear so many things till i don even feel like planning.. now a little lesser, but still cannot tahan.. so i don reali bother liao... after the most impt thing which is the date n venue already settle liao..

Eelynn> so envy lo..especially have to go tru the elders but some how it's a form of showing respects to them oso.

Angelia> Ya la..it's not about the 2 of us..end up alot of ppl gettin involved.

DS _Gerl> hahaha.... :D i will try my best to kick off my fats as much as i can... :P

Thomas> i know what u mean... BUT BUT hoping i can lose more... :P i do go swimming now every week to tone up... yeah, will cut down on rice intake esp... :P 3 more weeks left...

angelia/Veron: dun be affected by their comments... should enjoy the preparation process and not get stressed up... =)

Jaq: not worth it... maybe can use an A4 paper box to deco instead... =)

Jaq: my office has it.. u want i take 1 for u???

Veron: ya.. true.. cause u cannot confirm on the venue... maybe can check with the elders???

aveline:
actually i think for taobao is a matter of luck...for same price quality may vary also.

alot of those shops selling their gowns also got their gowns from taobao and they also provide the link. So i presume they are more reliable? they also have crowns and so far gd reviews...i may buy from taobao agent but so currently still toying with the idea.

eelynn> Ya lor, sianz! -_-"

Jaq> A4 boxes, if it's those boxes tat put 5 reams of copier paper tat size de box, i haf.

Veron C> U apply for punggol residence?

coz I now no more working in office so dun have A4 boxes LOL..

tot of juz getting 1 then divide inside into 2 portions..1 for my side 1 for my bf side..hmmm dunno enuff anot..

for me calculation is:
price/ exchange rate + freight (if you buy urself)

through agent-
(price/exchange rate) x agent commission + freight quoted by agent

through online bridal sites
price quoted + handling fee

as an estimate:
official shipping rates from china for 1st 500g is rmb 190 and subsequent 500 g is lesser about rmb 100 (estimate cos i cannot remember).
sometimes they also quote better freight.

just compare the prices and you know the difference.

oops i think i spoiling the market for those spree sellers.

alicia: hmmm how u gonna pass to me wor..hehe at ur convenience? or maybe this sun I passby bukit panjang I get from u?

black paper not expensive right?

veron: better get ur date first, then go hunt for venue if u are still planning to get married in 2010. A lot of dates at popular hotels all fully booked liao by now. AD PG/VG all those can source later, no hurry.

jaq: better to get A4 copier paper box and DIY from there, much cheaper.

jaq: one is enuff unless u got so many APs that one box cannot contain lor...hahahahahahaha

just need to wrap carefully, that's all

jaq> ya, i tink they are crazy selling this kind of boxes at 30+.. donoe who will actualli buy... agree with thomas, jzu wrap it carefully or even add some "sponge" underneath the wrappin it will look gd liao..

thomas: must find those soft black paper leh..hmmm

angelia: ah..put sponge? y leh? I saw some in idear collection quite pretty but $40..pengz..

alicia: ok.

Eelynn/Thomas> My HTB dont seems to be gan cheong about the dates ley..but for banquet wise, we're mostly lookin into restaurants den hotels. But by next month will definetly ask for the dates..

Jaq> hmm i referin to those kind of boxes whereby u will be able to feel somethin soft underneath.. but i donoe wat is tat call...

veron> mayb u can shortlist a few of the venue n ask for the pricing and go down to view the place den once u cfm ur date, u can cfm ur ideal one =)

angelia> thanks for e suggestion. as i have already done tt..have short list Peony Jade at Keppel..but haben go down to view the place yet..until everythin confirm den can get ting done faster also..no need make so many trip. =)

Thanks everyone! Wow, my mood’s immediately lifted up by all your excitement & enthusiasm! Thank you for all your advice! :-)

Yup yup, agree with Thomas/Darrel/Betty that everyone’s reali nice here – you guys weren’t all friends before you joined this yeah, it’s only been 2 days’ and the thread’s so long it’s in the archive! :-D

*scratch head* now back to my lil' confused state... err, we've got plans to have our ROM & AD in 2010, but havent decided on the date(s) bcos we dont know how. And it didnt help both sides' family dont look at the Tong Shu.. :-s If like what Thomas advised, to consult a master for dates, how much do they usually charge? Any good ones you guys recommend? :-)

Interestingly we've already got a bridal package (recently) thou, thou it feels kinda weird to tell them, "ROM dont know when, AD dont know when..." :p

Angelia: Do you mean your banquet package? where's it? :-)

Veron: ya... because if the restuarants that you want is popular.. ppl will booked as early as they can to secure the place... so once confirm the date.. book the venue u want.. =) Good luck!!

Hihi Elissa.... guess if you and htb wanna do AD and ROM together.. you 2 got to confirm the dates first... cause got to book venue ma... =)

Veron > ur pick is a popular choice worz.. =)nice place also, saw a frd of mine held her ROM there..

Elissa> intially i also the same as you, cos i waiting for my aunt to give me the dates.. haha i tink the forum here alot of ppl go to this master david tong? but do u have a rough idea which mth do u prefer?

i selling my bridal package.. not my banquet.. hee

xfz> of cos gan chiong... :P almost done le... now counting down to 19.09.09.

Elissa> If u 1 a master to calculate ur dates for u, u can go to either David Tong or Long Shifu. These 2 masters a lot of ppl go to. If not, u can choose ur own dates if both sides of the parents dun mind, we oso chose our own dates den inform our parents to see if they got any objections to the dates. Yup, bridal shops usually u can book open-dated, means tat even if u got no dates yet, u still can book wif them, but venues cant. U muz haf ur dates b4 u can go book the venue.

Eelynn> I feel old.. No longer have the energy like I used to have.. haha

Angelia> I'm thinking of getting the materials myself, then can co-ordinate to sew up the dresses.. I mean if you want to change the gown that you have previously chosen at the BS, there will be a cost involved..

Aveline> I cannot see your new album.. sob..

Veron> Hi veron... Settle on the date and get the venue.. This it always the main constraint and esp. impt when come to wedding planning.. I'm one of those with Long Shifu..

Annisan> You must be feeling excited... Do some simple exercise like 100 crunches and 100 squats daily.. I find it very effective for trimming lower body..

veron: u planning to hold at restaurant? then do take note that ppl usually will give lesser APs cos their general perception is that dinners held at restaurants are usually cheaper than hotels. Peony Jade is a nice place though, tried the one at Anchorpoint after my ROM that time, very nice and affordable food

elissa: nope, we didn't know each other until we joined this thread and subsequently had gatherings thereafter. U'll be surprised at how chatty the girls were even though some of them meeting for the very first time hahahhahaha....

Masters usually charge ard $100 thereabouts...they will give u AD, An Chuang and GDL dates as well. I went to David Tong in this forum, if u want u can try him also, he's located in the "Advice by the Experts" column, check it out