(2010) 2010 Brides

All: I went to MBR to start designing my Wedding gown on Thursday. I have tentatively selected my evening gown. Quite like my designer Jade from MBR. Have a nice process. =)

jaq,

remember to drip the eyedrops every 2 hrs. can help to wash out any dust/dirt to prevent infection.

just bear with the trouble for some time. now i dun drip any eyedrops at all le!

Jaq> I'm very KS.. I stayed away from PC and TV for around 3 days after surgery I think..

My wedding bands are from SooKee as well.. Mine has a small tiny diamond from the Brillant Rose series as well..

Today I saw this ring from SooKee with Brillant Rose's diamond (a bit broken kind I think) that goes round half the band, selling at around 1.2K.. aiyo.. It's soooo beautiful.. I would have got that then if I saw it manz..

Thomas> My hubby dun like diamond leh.. Now his wedding band got so much scratches.. Luckily no diamond..

deerixp> So fast you are designing gown liao.. I'm still collecting wedding gown photos from bridal mag.. hee..

Jaq> Take care of ur eyes! =)

Phew! I selected my flat yest le... So kan cheong yest while waiting for our turn, so afraid tat ppl b4 me took our 1st choice. =)

Booy> Haha! My hubby oso said he dun like diamonds. He said diamonds r women's best fren. Initially i wanted to choose those bands where the diamonds r evenly spread out throughout the whole ring de, but since he say he dun like diamonds, i tot he wld choose sumting diamond-less, but in the end he chose the type where there's 3 diamonds in the centre of the rings. Salesgal ask him whether 1 2 mix & match or not, he said dun 1, he wants the same design for both. -_-" Haha! Tink he's accommodating me for the diamonds lah... hahaha!

jaq> I dun like diamonds in more than 4 claws… cos it will make the diamonds look smaller… unless u r buying 1 carat & above… hahahaa… 4 claws will b juz nice

ehhh… from my understanding, if u want to change to a different setting apart from the original one, think need to wait for abt 1 month leh… that means u chose a diamond with setting A, but wants to change to setting B…. if u wanna get it b4 ur PS, better to get it earlier…

thomas> when u gg to the freelance CS seamtress??

alicia: congrats on confirming ur house........ =)

me too so excited when i went to the lawyer last week.....lol....... im collect my keys in aug..... how abt u?

Heylo!

Looks like there's a very lively conversation going on here for 2010 wedding couples. I'm a 2010 BTB too.

Just wondering if there are differences between prices of 2010 banquets as compared to 2009? Coz I thought that rationally, there would be less demand for wedding venues in the year of the tiger which should translate to lower costs. However, most venues appear to be asking for the same prices as that for 2009?

ALL> updates on the findings of our CS recee trip yesterday….. a very HOT weather… almost can melt me ardy….
hope the below info is helpful for u gals….

Max Couture (Tailor: Wilson Ng)
Charges: from $300 onwards for a short CS & $500 onwards for a long CS (incl. workmanship + material)
Price will be higher depending on material used (he uses mostly satin for CS), types of lace (French lace is more ex than German lace), full lace also cost more, half lace is cheaper… according to him, laces alone is ardy very ex…
Alteration Fee: Free (u can go back to him to anytime to alter in case gain weight or lose weight b4 wedding, he can even cut off the long CS to a short one after ur wedding for free)
Time needed: abt 2 months (depending on the no. of orders he received & the dateline)

CS is more modern kind… he can make quite versatile CS… a long CS that can detach to become a short one… short can be worn during tea ceremony, then add on the tail for evening gown look…
There is also long type with small train, can place a ring at the end of the tail so that u can hook it up to become a normal long CS…

We saw 1 short black CS on display…. Very sexy, with diamond shape bare back… full german lace… another 1 was a hot pink long CS with tail & open slit in front… half French lace on the top portion

Zion Creation
Charges: from $250 onwards for short CS, think we din ask the price for a long CS… but according to thomas’ previous post was abt $300 above… for workmanship only, excl. material… not sure if need to buy our own material or they will get for us….
Time needed: abt 2 months (depending on the no. of orders they received & the dateline)

CS is kind of traditional… thou they hv lace ones… but we felt that the lace used r stiff… and the material used is quite thick kind…
They do sell OTR CS also… but most r short ones

Gold Scissors
Charges: $180 for short CS, $200+ for long CS
Alteration Fee: Free (except CNY period)

CS designs r also traditional… some r halter neck kind… they even hv those very “fu gu” kind… OTR CS r like less than $100

visha> Hahha! Thanks! =P Me ah, still gotta wait for at least 3 yrs den can collect keys. =)

Carpe> Welcome here! Wen's ur AD? It seems like if ur AD is held beginning of 2010, most venues r asking almost the same prices for 2009, but if ur AD is late 2010, venue prices mite increase. U beta check wif ur preferred venue for confirmation.

visha> haha! Yes, it's long, coz it's built-to-order flats. Haven start constructing yet, now is still the selection period. After selection period den we will be invited by hdb to sign agreement of lease & pay 5% deposit. Den hdb will get contractors to ballot & choose a suitable contractor, den will start building the flats.

DS: u mean mdm lee? I have to see my wife's schedule cos she's very busy ever since H1N1 hit home...we hope to go in 2 weeks' time. Will update here again.

for ZC, they will recommend u go buy the material from Arab Street which is near their shop...if u want them to get for u also can...but I think will be more exp due to the markup. That time after ZC me and wife went Arab St lclc, walau so many textile shops there, see until blur also...

carpe diem: not true, doesn't mean 2010 is the yr of the tiger and no one will be getting married bcos of that. If lidat dun u think hotels and BS all gotta close shop liao cos they wun have any biz for that entire yr?

2010 prices if u're lucky will be the same as 2009...otherwise will be even higher. banquet prices only has one direction to go and that's UP, it will nvr go DOWN.

HG: mine got schedule n got 3 types of eyedrops to drip LOL...

booy: think I know which 1 u talking abt..I tried almost 10 pairs of SooKee rings including BR ones..LOL

alicia: congrats! so u took high flr?

ds_gerl: dunno leh..tat 1 my bf will get the diamond ring bah LOL..seems like Golden Scissors still ideal one for CS eh.

Jaq> Thanks! Yup, took 11th floor. Highest is 13th. Initially wanted to take 12th, but 1 day b4 my appt, ppl took it liao, and both my dad & MIL said dun take last floor, so we took 11th lor. =)

alicia: ooo! ok..northlanders..keke..saw the site the other day when fetching my fren..woodlands I feel quite hot..so 11th floor juz nice..

ds_gerl: ytd after the meeting i told my bf that i want to make the CS at katong de. even pricing abit high but really very nice. hee

thomas> ur wifey is missy arh??

randyce> hahahaa... me too.. most likely will also go to MC for my CS... my bf also like his works... though he din see the rest, but he kw wat i like...
wud like to wait for thomas on his reviews on the freelance seamstress b4 confirming...

Morning all! It's a slow start to a Monday morning for me.. yawn..

Alicia> Your hubby is nice to accomodate on diamonds.. haha.. Congrats! So you took near playground kinda of units?

Jaq> I find that ring really nice.. hee.. Too bad for me.. Rem to post your photos ah..

DS Gerl> Thanks for your review.. Very detailed.. The short change to long CS kind costs around? Think I will go to both MC and GS to take a look in a week or two.. Really busy now..

Thomas> Everyone is interested in the seamtress that you are going.. hee..

Booy> Haha! Ya, scully he said he dun like diamonds, but in his heart, he like leh?! wahaha! Thanks! Nope, took the unit wif slanting afternoon sun, coz both my dad & MIL said the units near playground no sun at all, whole flat will be dark & feel damp, clothes, shoes & bags oso will spoil easily. So they said got a bit of sunlight, although is afternoon sun, is still beta than no sunlight. =)

Morning ALL!!

Alicia - Congrats on selecting your lovenest!!

Jaq - Rem to show us your wedding bands wor...

KK - Hope your ROM has been great.. looking forward to your pics...

Happygirl - Congrats on your big day today!! Be a pretty pretty bride wor....

A little update on myself - Have received the HLE approve letter yday so keys are on their way hehe... will be gg for my final fitting for ROM gown on 17th... then its the DAY....

thomas> missy = nurse… hahahaa…

HG> congrats on ur BIG day!!!

booy> u mean the detachable kind?? he will charge as long cs… if u do a normal long cs and wanna shorten it after ur wedding, he will charge FOC =)
yah, muz go see his works… hope u still in time to catch a glimpse of the 2 cs we saw last sat…

Alicia> Your hubby is very cute.. I see.. A bit of sun is good indeed.. One more thing off your list!

XFZ> Congrats.. Keys and ROM are on the way..

DG_Gerl> Yah.. was talking about the detachable one.. I hope to go to see CS soon.. I'm busy settling my AD PG now as well..

Annisan> Aiyo.. no facebook in office leh..

Anyone has the PG lawrence's contact and pricing? Wanna take a look at his work..

booy: my wedding band also cost $1.2k but after discount less than $1k LOL..then my bf's 1 ard $500+ after discount hahaha...

KK ROM photos looks great! wah..smth special wor..must be a lot of hardwork.

xfz: me trying to upload after bluetooth transfer the photos from my phone..keke..now is countdown to ur ROM liaoz.

sat went to try anna nucci shoes...spotted 1 silver strappy bling after discount $50 odd..feel abit overpriced n is 3 inch..pengz.

Booy> Yes, 1 more ting off... Now coming up is to tink abt places to go for PS. haha! U mean Phototerrain's Lawrence? If so, gif me ur email addy or PM me. I can send u his package, but tink not tat updated de bah...

Jaq> I just bought a pair of nucci shoes at around $80.. Mine got bling bling one..

Alicia> Yah.. Send it to cm.tiff at gmail.. Thanks..