(2010) 2010 Brides

2010 BTB Meet up 03/10/08 Friday 7.30pm@ Mos Burger (outside)
1.Happygal
2.DnA
3.Alicia
4.xiaofeizhu83
5.Miss Vivi
6.eevee
7.deerixp
8.cymk
9.celine kam

hi celine, congrats!
hee...i quite like the exclusiveness of recep area and the ballroom of merchant court. =)

btw, gals, u are aware tt 14 Feb 2010 of Chinese New Year.. just a note...=)

M> Thanks for your concern, but coz my church preachers r not JP/Solemnizers, therefore if i were to ROM during the church ceremony, i'll still haf to invite the JP to my church either b4 the church ceremony or after the church ceremony, den it'll b considered as having solemnized outside the registry, wich i find it too troublesome.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Day</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>JP</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Multiply </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy Girl</TD><TD>12-Dec-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>7-Jun-09</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>happygirl198230 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alicia Yong</TD><TD>21-Mar-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Hotel Royal @ Queens</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Registry Office</TD><TD>arranged by RO</TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD>hweishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>cymk</TD><TD>4-Jun-10</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3-Oct-09</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>DnA (annisan)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>20-Sep-09</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Mr Chan / Mr Yeo</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>desloveann </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve (eevee)</TD><TD>16-Jan-10</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Hotel</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>Simon Video and Photo Service</TD><TD>same as AD PG</TD><TD>16-Jan-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sengkang/Punggol</TD><TD>eevee </TD></TR><TR><TD>mm&amp;pw (mmpw)</TD><TD>10-Oct-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>The Legends @ Fort Canning</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Seletar Hills</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celinekam</TD><TD>6-Feb-10</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Merchant Court Swissotel</TD><TD>Bridal Zone</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as AD</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>SengKang</TD><TD>celinekam </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharlene (cornygal)</TD><TD>1st quarter 2010</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Noble House Tung Lok (tbc)</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>6-Jul-08</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Dr William Chua</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>cornygal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kerine (etirine)</TD><TD>Feb-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Swissotel The Stamford (tbc)</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>22-Jun-08</TD><TD>The Courtyard, National Library</TD><TD>Assoc Prof Yu Shi Ming</TD><TD>Jade Spring @ Yishun</TD><TD>etirine </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiaofeizhu83</TD><TD>28-Mar-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as AD</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>deerixp</TD><TD>28-Mar-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as AD</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Ponggol Lodge</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Vivi</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Amara Hotel</TD><TD>Signoria</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angel (angelmh)</TD><TD>31-Oct-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as AD</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Ponggol</TD><TD>limtan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Raine Tan</TD><TD>16-Jan-10</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

happy girl.. thanks for the update and also ur tips... but i din get to do the table properly under the GCW thread..=(

Good morning... let me start the first post of the day =)

Hi celine
I did go for the Merchant Court wedding show... I love the Garden Theme hehe...the invitation card design, ang pow box, guest signature scroll... i'm pretty satisfied... and YES, I also sign up with them for my AD!!!! Now confirm liao, my AD will be on 28 March 2010 @ Merchant Court!! However, I feel White Link show isn't really fantastic probably cos it isn't my type...

Hi happy girl
Please help to update the table k... thanks thanks!!

wow.. gals.. how did u found out e new ya is on feb?? hahaha.. i dint even realised it..

mm&amp;pm.. are you joining us for the meet up??

2010 BTB Meet up 03/10/08 Friday 7.30pm@ Mos Burger (outside)
1.Happygal
2.DnA
3.Alicia
4.xiaofeizhu83
5.Miss Vivi
6.eevee
7.deerixp
8.cymk
9.celine kam

vivi- I cant confirm now because my gal pal's birthday that day so might have celebration. Would love to meet u gals if I can

Vivi> Haha! I went online to search for the lunar calendar in yr 2010 &amp; found out! Coz my parents r not christian, so they wld 1 2 noe the lunar date on the day tat i choose.
Actaully at 1st i wanted to choose 8/8/2010 (sun) coz the following day is a mon (public holiday-national day), but mum say it's too near the 7th lunar mth (hungry ghost festival), so she say dun 1 tat date.

Hi mm&amp;pm, hope u can join.. do let me knw =)

Alicia, can give me the webby wher u found e date =) heez.. so after ur mum dun wan e date den u brought forward ur AD to Mar??

Alicia - Great! we can share share some of the traditional preparation info.

I'm not sure too. I guessed the stuff to be prepared at our side is according to us and FH side is FH's dialect?

Vivi> Ya lor.. coz i tinking i prefer it to b held in the 1st half of the yr, &amp; due to my mum's some "requirements" - she said me &amp; sis AD has to b 4 mths apart, mth of AD beta b lunar even mth. Hence the earliest i can haf my AD wld b feb 10th onwards (based on the 1st "requirement") &amp; based on 2nd requirement, wld onli shortlist to mar &amp; may, so i chose mar lor.. Let me go find the website again &amp; i'll post the link here.

mm&amp;pw> Hmm... mayb, but i oso not sure..

Vivi> Here is the link to the lunar calendar website, u'll haf to scroll all the way down &amp; click on the particular yr, den mth den it will show u. It's quite tedious as u'll need to view mth by mth, nevertheless, i posted up my compilation of the dates (in ms word for the whole yr) for easy ref. Note tat the PH is not accurate to ours.

http://www.famouschinese.com/jsp/chinese_calendar.jsp?Year=2010&amp;Mon=1&amp;tm=

I left my own set at home. Wen i get it, i'll post up the PH in sg for 2010, in case it clashes wif Ramadan if u r inviting muslim.

Haiz... Sorry, not able to upload the compiled calendar as the attachment is too big. Anyway, those who need it can eother email, pm, msn or msg me.

hi Alicia, hi mm&amp;pw>
I'm Hakka and my hubby's Cantonese.

Depending on which procedure, you'll either follow your hubby's tradition or your own. But i was lucky cos Canto &amp; Hakka traditions quite similar!

For GDL:
I bought the items according to my dialect since almost similar to hubby's dialect.

For Tea Ceremony: Both sides followed Hubby's Tradition.

For Fetching of Bride: Follow Bride's tradition.. Teochew brides must leave parents' home very early (before sun comes up).

Very 'luan' hor ;).. But if you buy GDL stuff from an older shopkeeper, they usually will advise you.

Alicia,
oops..sorry.. didn know that not all pastors can solemnize.. I always thought they're allowed to conduct ceremony.

M> Thanks for the info on different dialects traditions. For the solemnisation, no prob! conducting ceremony &amp; solemnising it is different. Wen they conduct ceremony, it's considered blessings given by the whole congregation &amp; God.

Vivi> No prob!

hi M - thanks. My FH also a cantonese
u chose what time to leave ur parents' home on AD? I wouldnt want to wake up so early :p

ya... really very "luan", especially when both sides parents are half half traditional type

Vivi> Erm.. tink best not to based on the good dates too. CNY is same. I'll post up the PH for sg wen i get home.

mm&amp;pw> Luckily we not teochew brides, or else haf to leave home super early. Heard ppl say teochew brides leave home b4 sunrise. -_-"

Alicia - ya, luckily we no need to wake up so early especially I'm those need enough beauty sleep everyday one :p

hi deerixp> ya i like it alot too... yes I am aware that 2010 CNY falls on valentine's day that is y i choosen 6-feb so that i can go for my honeymoon on CNY. hehe...

Hi Xiaofeizhu> yeah...me too i booked my banquet yesterday but i do not like White link bridal show. I like the Romances themes. Now i need to look for my solemnizer...Im so excited... I have 1yr 4mth 15days to be my big day in my life.
Now i have start to plan on the table sitting arrangement.

Hi celine
we share the same tots abt the bridal show hehe... your ROM will be same day as your AD right? If it is, isn't it too early to find a solemnizer?

Vivi> Yup! Sure, will update again.

Celine> Huh?! So fast plan sitting arrangement already? I tot is after the guests confirmed their attendance den plan sitting de?

Hi Xiaofeizhu, ya my Rom will be on the AD but it will not be done on the dinner. I will do it at 5pm before my dinner start. Haha as my solemnizer i want to look for the best so i can slowly choose but of coz not so advance booking lah...

by the way any of yr frenz took bridal zone package before?

Hi Alica> haha i am acutali looking into how many ppl will be attending and who can be sitting together. becoz my family side is abit complicated.

mm&amp;pw &amp; Alicia > the bride you say have to leave home early is me lor.. sighz... any other teochew brides around? But I think these days not so pang-tang alrdy right? My ex-colleague left home at slightly aft 8am.. is tt considered early?

Btw, I heard tt regardless if the bride or bridegroom is teochew, the guy side have to prepare si dian ji for the bride. Anyone know if it's true?

Hi celine
me also gg to do my solemnization on my AD at merchant court poolside hehe... i thinking to do ard 6pm... i think one of my gal fren did signed up with Bridal Zone but she so far only used the ROM thingy but not those studio thingy yet.... what do you like to enquire abt Bridal Zone?

Hi cymk
Last time my teochew cousin left home before 7am!! I think strictly speaking if the bride is teochew, then the guy have to give si dian jin... if the bride is hokkien then is only niang dian jin... i'm considered lucky in this case as both me and my bf are hokkien but as my FMIL is teochew she has said she will buy me si dian jin hehe... my above point is only pertaining to if the bride is teochew or not, for bridegroom i not sure...

Hi Alicia> Ya i hope so too.

Hi Xiaofeizhu> hehe...no lah. I sign up the bridal zone package earli this year. So i justwant to know more about it. If is not good i might want to change it to The bridal room.

yes si dian jin is teochew tradition. Both me and bf are Teochews but not gonna follow all the traditions, esp the part abt having to leave the maiden home before 7am (by rite is before dawn)

Vivi> Here are the PH in 2010.
1 Jan -> New Yr Day
14 Feb -> CNY
2 Apr -> Gd Fri
1 May -> Labour Day
21 May -> Vesak Day
9 Aug -> National Day
10 Sept -> Hari Raya Puasa
5 Nov -> Deepavali
16 Nov -> Hari Raya Haji
25 Dec -> Christmas

Hi all, my bf and i need to let go of our wedding dinner banquet at Marina Mandarin Hotel Vanda Ballroom(min 20 tables, max 30 tables @ $988 nett) on 15th May 2009(Friday). The package is a very good bargain because other than 1 free bottle of wine per table n 1 complimentary barrel of 30-litre beer, we managed to negotiate to exchange 1 dish for more wine n beer.In other words, practically there is no need to top up for wine n beer if you are taking 8 dishes instead of the proposed 9, unless your friends and relatives are really good drinkers...

Date can be changed and subject to hotel’s availability. If interested, pls email [email protected] for details. Thank you...

i tot for hokkien is 2 gold bangles or something like tt?

anyway u gals bought ur wedding bands? me and bf shop ard already but we think it is still early as only getting rom next yr.

oh yes celine, my friend was with bridal zone. i find it ok. she is quite easy-going so everything she also said is not bad. btw she took otr for both gowns.

i went to e bridal zone booth during e vivo wedding fair in aug. i find the male staff very patronizing. he said ok no problem to all our requests!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Day</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>JP</TD><TD>Lovenest</TD><TD>Multiply </TD></TR><TR><TD>Happy Girl</TD><TD>12-Dec-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>7-Jun-09</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>happygirl198230 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alicia Yong</TD><TD>21-Mar-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Hotel Royal @ Queens</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Registry Office</TD><TD>arranged by RO</TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD>hweishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>cymk</TD><TD>4-Jun-10</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>3-Oct-09</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>DnA (annisan)</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>20-Sep-09</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Mr Chan / Mr Yeo</TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD>desloveann </TD></TR><TR><TD>Eve (eevee)</TD><TD>16-Jan-10</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Hotel</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>Simon Video and Photo Service</TD><TD>same as AD PG</TD><TD>16-Jan-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sengkang/Punggol</TD><TD>eevee </TD></TR><TR><TD>mm&amp;pw (mmpw)</TD><TD>10-Oct-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>The Legends @ Fort Canning</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Seletar Hills</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celinekam</TD><TD>6-Feb-10</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Merchant Court Swissotel</TD><TD>Bridal Zone</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as AD</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>SengKang</TD><TD>celinekam </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharlene (cornygal)</TD><TD>1st quarter 2010</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Noble House Tung Lok (tbc)</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>6-Jul-08</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Dr William Chua</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>cornygal </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kerine (etirine)</TD><TD>Feb-10</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Swissotel The Stamford (tbc)</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>22-Jun-08</TD><TD>The Courtyard, National Library</TD><TD>Assoc Prof Yu Shi Ming</TD><TD>Jade Spring @ Yishun</TD><TD>etirine </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiaofeizhu83</TD><TD>28-Mar-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Merchant Court Swissotel</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as AD</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Sembawang</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>deerixp</TD><TD>28-Mar-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as AD</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Ponggol Lodge</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Vivi</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Amara Hotel</TD><TD>Signoria</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Angel (angelmh)</TD><TD>31-Oct-10</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>same as AD</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Ponggol</TD><TD>limtan </TD></TR><TR><TD>Raine Tan</TD><TD>16-Jan-10</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="0000ff">Leaving parents house on wedding day</font>
I'm Hakka, Hubby is Canto.
On AD, supposed to leave my home at about 6:45am. I woke up about 4:20am to make breakfast for myself (didn't want to bother my maid and parents so early leh).. Cooked sausages etc to make hot dogs on my wedding day!!
Anyway, give yourself approx 2h15min to 2h30min before your groom picks u up.
Breakdown:
Half hour to wash up and make your bed (the PG and VG will be coming to your bedroom to film your parents putting on your bridal veil for u).
1h45min for your Make-Up Artist to do your hair and make-up.
Another 5min for the MUA to teach your parents where to position themselves in front of camera!
Just remember to call your MUA once you wake up to make sure he/she is on the way to your place!!!

<font color="0000ff">Public Holidays in 2010</font>
I haven't checked the calendar yet but just remember two things:
a) Deepavali actual date only comes out near the year of the preceding year ..ie, end of 2009 then Ministry of Manpower confirms the 2010 Deepavali date in accordance to Hindu calendar. So this year Deepavali may show in some calendars as 28th Oct when in actual fact, it will be 27th Oct Mon.
b) if you're estimating number of guests, and you choose a long weekend, there is a high possibility that guests may go on holiday.

<font color="0000ff">Buying wedding bands</font>
If you plan to lose weight before the wedding, remember that your ring size may change if you buy the WBs too early.
Also, it's better for you to confirm your ring size DURING THAT TIME OF THE MONTH! This is because some women get a lil bloated and then your ring size may increase by 0.5;) Not all gals are like though. I had that problem. And I'm underweight leh. We only bought our rings 4 mths before our wedding.
Oh yes, make sure you try your wedding band on the left hand (if you plan to wear it on your left hand). I'm right handed so it means my right hand is 'dominant'. So my engagement ring on my dominant hand is half size bigger than my left hand.