(2010/10) Oct 2010 BTB

yah, i heard of it but shld be quite safe lah...

anyway air tix and hotel ardy booked liao... unless got red alert and we r not allowed to go lor...

coco>> i think for eastern europe is $4500 and up for 2 paxs. not veri sure too...

thomas/DS>> i think as long as no red alert should be ok de

Haha I think Cynthia our manicurist also going bkk this week.
n I'm going in nov after everything
I heard now is quite oki, in fact quite good to shop cos not so crowded

DS>> ask the SA to put his airticket and hotel under his name... then can claim le. you juz pay for your own airticket, which is better than nothing.
i heard it's gng to cease soon though i doubt so. but being KS, i think die die must claim by this yr regardless true anot. i oso have this flexi benefit and i will use it for my HM.

missy> yah for now he can only claim for himself... but was thinking if the tour pkg is attractive, even if he claim for his only it will still be more worthy then wait till later when the air fares might even be more ex...

but me nw also dunno where i wanna go... maybe switzerland, italy, germany/holland & france.... hw many days is enough?
i see the ASA tour pkg most of them start with Paris first...

DS>> im asking my hubby to check and cmf on his trg dates.
if he really has to leave on late oct for his trg, i suggest to have the HM after he is back. not so rush and i've something to look fwd to while he is away. more dept dates and not forgetting, can save a bit more

i oso dunno how many days is enough. should be the more the merrier bah... keke~

ladies... paisei, went MJ last night so cant post. HAHA!! :D
saw DS at the CTC fair and i was chatting with her on whatsapp abt the tour... here is wat i wanna share after chatting with the CTC tour consultants and from SA/SingExpress consultants.

1) if poss, try to book your tour as early as poss. best to book b4 NATAS as it doesnt guarantee you good deals...
usually, they need 15 adults to cmf dept. so b4 they got the 15 paxs, they will throw in alot of discounts in order to accumulate the no of paxs. once the 15paxs are hit, they will reduce the discount. for my case, im looking at oct, which is 2mths from now. and the dept dates are cmf, so whether i'm in anot, they are still flying... thus the discount b4 15paxs was $400 (in the morning), and when i wanna signed up, it was reduced to $200 =( should have went in the morning! SIGH... and the lady told me, NATAS discount might be lower since it's cmf dept. the most they give u freebies like suitcases etc - that is IF you are using the appointed credit cards.

however if i fly on non-cmf dept, more discounts cos they still need to 凑人数. LOL... but i cant go on later date cos hubby has in-take next yr and he scared he will be too bz to travel.
we oso scared the later we drag, the more the commitment, the more we wont go. ZZZ

in short, those travel fairs b4 NATAS have better deals esp if it's not cmf dept! cos by NATAS, the no of paxs might be hit le... rem to to ask for more discounts... even $50/pax oso shiok. HAHA!! **auntie** <u>suggest you all go NATAS as early as poss b4 the better deals are taken up!</u> cos somehow i still feel that they will have discounts de. hopefully the tour consultant din lie to me by saying NATAS has no further discounts for that travel date i'm flying lor. -_-|| anyway i will still go cos travel insurance at NATAS is up to 40% discounts. HAHA!!

but the risk of non-cmf dept is if they cant get 15 paxs in time, they will cancel the trip or probably replace you with another tour. that was wat happened to my frd, she went on a non-peak season, her tour was changed to CHINA! she doesnt want to and got back the full refund. then again, veri sian lah....

Oh ya, SingExpress and SA are slightly a few hundreds cheaper than CTC cos their is non-cmf dept. BUT we have the CTC discounts, so after calculating, can still save more with CTC.

2) dun go on mid nov to late jan
other than veri cold, day is also shorter than night. oso daylight is darker so u cant take veri nice photos. shops closed early and not fogetting that xmas and new yr are a big holidays in europe. so most shops are closed. the only place that is open is Paris Disneyland - it will be crowded with ppl. and no pt going cos they speak in french, we will catch no ball. then again, going on these period, is amazingly - cheaper BUT more ppl cos of sch holidays.

best time to go in sept and oct cos weather is cooling and day light is still strong. i think feb onwards should be good too

3) $$$ to bring
let say you are going for 12/13/14D Italy-Swiz-France packaged tour, you need to prepare ard EUR1K per pax for food, small gifts and some own expenses (like cruise, gondola etc)... and for Swiz, bring ard Swiss Franc 400 per pax. not forgetting your CC if you feel unsafe to carry so much $ ard and most imptly for buying extravagant items lah. :P

4) air tickets gng up
according to the SingExpress guy, SQ is increasing their air tickets to 20% more on mon, ie tomorrow! i dunno how true lah. but then again, air tickets are always going up yet ppl are still travelling... juz like cigarette and Chanel, ppl are still smoking and carrying a 2.55. LOL!!

5) shortage of flight
supply of flight is limited...

oops, sorry for being long-winded... that is all i can rem for now... we have booked with CTC for 13D italy-swiz-france and leaving on 16 oct. hopefully hubby can make it, if not we have to go on mid nov, where day is shorter
per pax is ard $4400, but after our discount voucher, we are paying ard $3800 per pax... it's direct flight by SQ so less tiring since no transit is needed. a bit heart pain but feel happy oso cos we are leaving in 2mths time. Keke!! and since it's so exp liao, we decided not to extend F&amp;E. wanna use the money to shop instd. and maybe go London the next time bah.. >$$$<

oh yes, SingExpress is the JP International that i'm saying they threw in free dubai tour. but they din have it when i went ytd. =( not sure if they will have it for NATAS though.. so juz go early b4 it's fully redeemed, ok?
good luck, ladies!

i think this will be our last tour b4 the house is here next yr... must watch over my spending liao!

missy> do u hv a copy of the full itinerary from CTC? can i hv a copy? time for me to do some research and compare the places covered from different agencies...

btw, i've changed some more EUR last sat at lucky plaza... asked a few shops, rate is abt 1.75 and there's 1 at level 1 near the main entrance offering rate at 1.748... not much diff though...
and i juz realised that earlier on in early Jul when i changed some from bishan J8, the rate was 1.757

oh yah, is our meetup this fri still on?

missy - 13, 20 Aug
ds_gerl - 13, 20 Aug
deb - 13, 20 Aug
bluey - 20 Aug
michieyun - 20 Aug

DS>> you can refer to the itinerary in CTC website as mine is a hard copy. Keke..
http://www.ctc.com.sg/tour.php?tourcode=EISP

i did a brief comparison, most agencies are covering the same itineraries... except if you fly EK/KLM, you can have 1 more night in Rome or Paris due to the time spent in transit, thus 14D instd iirc...

i changed mine in parkway at 1.75 back in early jul wor... i guess its fluatuating, mustafa is also offering 1.750 now.

yes, Friday is on for me!

oh ya, you all know of any places that sell nice and cheap leather boots?
regretted for not getting when i went HK and TW for my winter holidays! =( cos i dunno when i will wear it again and boots take up alot of spaces. but now i think i really need it for Europe. Keke..

cant buy suede cos scare rain. ZZZ

Missy: last week went JB, alot of shoe shop having sales... Think $20 can buy boots liao. hehehe..

i'm on this friday too!

missy> ok ok.. will go chk out from the website...

i bought some boots in HK too.... nice and cheap
wore it when i came back from HK.... heehee~ but nw dunno got spoil anot... kept them in boxes... actually it's quite easy to keep them as u can fold them de...
yah, htb nagged at me for buying so many pairs cos he also say dunno when will wear it...

maybe u can go JB chk out lor... think they r having the annual msia mega sale nw....
think i also better go chk the conditions of my boots =P if spoil, maybe can go BKK buy.... kekeke...

missbrooklynn, avatar:
going for bout 2 weeks. 22 oct.

switzerland and france.
the only thing i did for my trip is book the air tickets.

travelling by air france cos multi-stop under sia is ridiculous. 10K for 2 pax!!

val>> maybe we can meet in swiz or france! LOL...
how much is your air tickets then?

oh yes, be prepared to pay more if any of your package tour incl italy cos travelling ard italy from one city to another is veri $$$.

Val: icic... My travel period is from 25 Oct to 15 Nov.

Missy: hmm..how much your tour agent quote for travelling within Italy? I'm going to venice, florence and rome in Italy. The connecting train from venice to florence &amp; Florence to Rome cost S$183.40. On average, 1 train ride from one city to another is $91.70?

avatar>> they din tell me exactly how much..
but ours is by coach so maybe diff price bah. anyway, i'm sure agencies sure will mark up de. exactly 2 more mths and i'm looking fwd to my trip! **fingers crossed**

hi girls...

sorry to be quite off the topic.. having some problems with my bridal studio... can anyone advise what is the usual- or your payment scheme for AD package?

as in deposit, and whats the next few stages?
i have just gone to select gowns and they are asking me to pay full for it...and i have not even confirmed the gowns...feels absurd... but is it just me or what?

can someone advise please..

xiaomau>> for me, i paid the first $1.5K for installment...
the rest i pay in $500 or $800 when we have more cash.. iirc, i paid when i had my ROM, as and when i had my gown fittings, and during my PS day etc.. finally finished paying the bridal package le! phew.. but my frd actually finished paying hers after her AD, i.e. when she returned her gowns.

i think diff BS have diff payment term scheme? dun mind but to share with us, which BS is that? cos it's really strange that they asked for full payment at your stage.

I paid in different stages
- Initial deposit
- Selection of gowns
- During Photoshoot
- Selection of photos
- Collection of album/ Collection of gown whichever earlier.

Try to negotiate with them and not pay in full. Because they might not entertain your requests after receiving full payment.

I paid in different stages
- Initial deposit
- Selection of gowns
- During Photoshoot
- Selection of photos
- Collection of album/ Collection of gown whichever earlier.

Try to negotiate with them and not pay in full. Because they might not entertain your requests after receiving full payment.

xiaomau> for my BS, we paid 50% of the pkg as deposit then pay another 50% of the remaining during gown selections and then the rest when we collect our soft copies...
any other additional add-ons like eyelashes, ampoules, etc will be paid separately.

thanks for the replies..

i am with cang ai bridal. initially signed a ps+ ad package with them ($4068).. and changed it to just the AD package ($2288).

at the point of signing we have already paid $1288.

and ytd when i went down to select my gowns, they told me to pay all.. and my jiemeis thot it was totally ridiculous. after thinking i think it doesnt make sense too.( ok im very slow)

so i want to check more now...

shouldnt it be

30% downpayment
30% gown selection
30% final fitting
10% gown collection

im not sure..

Hehe... think mine is more daring. =P As mine is Taiwan bridal too but no local outlet. We paid 50% for deposit. When we flew over to take weddng photoshoot we paid the balance and including top up photos. It based on trust as I follow same bridal studio as my friend. Hers everything went smooth. Albums &amp; Actual days gowns the bridal studio all bring over. =)

Mine now only left actual day gowns. Jus hope everything will be fine. =P

Xiao mau> think me n htb v stupid, we didn't know got installment so we paid in full for the package n paid in full for the top up as well.

missy> all confirmed except for michieyun...

do u want to make a tentative booking first?
anyone bringing along hubby/htb? do let us kw earlier so that we can make arrangement

confirmed going: missy, ds_gerl, deb, bluey, avatar

michieyun> r u still on for the meeting this fri?

beside the agent any lobangs for train ride?
i taking train from switzerland to paris. and thinking of getting the swiss pass during trip in switzerland

missbrooklyn: my air tix for 2 is 3.5K.

for bridal package: i think my bridal shop tells me that there is a std mode of payment.
30% deposit
20% on first MTM
10% on photoshoot
10% on photo selection
15% on collection of album
5% return gowns after actual day

but as and when they ask me to pay i try to delay becos i think its a huge risk to pay them in full. and i told them its not like i'm running away or use the excuse that my cashflow is tight.

but i skip the photoshoot payment. only after selection of photos then i pay them.

im not bringing htb.

xiaomau> im with Cangai too.. I paid

1.5k deposit
2k photoshoot
1k supposed to pay during selection of AD gown
388 after AD cos i using their photographer.

but im sure you can negotiate with them

hey babes, sorry for late reply... may nt make it on fri coz got work to complete... count me out first ba... if i can make it, i'll inform u gals on fri? so sorry

thanks girls..

they called me up and made more reasonable deals now...

my deposit was 1288 so
confirmation of ad gowns 500
1st fitting 500
collection 60 + 1k deposit.

i think this makes more sense though...
seems like alot of brides all gg europe- envy...
we dun have such time luxury... sigh...

and im nowhere near completion for teh preparation.. my hse is gviving me a migraine.. sigh...

ladies> for those meeting this fri, i've ardy made a reservation for 6pax at 7pm under my name.

Date: 20 Aug (Fri)
Time: 7pm
Venue: Pocket Full of Posies/Greenhouse Cafe
313 Somerset, #01-35/37

Attending: Missy, Deb, Bluey, Avatar, DS, Michieyun (TBA)