(2010/10) Oct 2010 BTB

My an chuan and GDL are on the same date.. 1 week b4 my AD - 3 oct but it's oso my ROM date

Actually not that tight lah... the 9 to 11 am timing is just the time where the groom is going to step into the hse. it's not to do everything within that 2 hrs. so it's quite ok lah. hehehe...Anyway, the cakeshop can only deliver the cakes between 11 to 1pm. so i will start giving out cakes from 2pm onwards.. hehe..

My cousin's frd's wedding is on oct and he has received the invitation..
Think I wanna sort out mine soon and avoid 7th mth, which is on 10 aug - 2 mths b4 my AD! But if really bo bian, I will go ahead to run my errands during this period.

avatar> i hv juz wrote to david to ask abt the time on AD... he says the time from 9 to 1059 is for the groom to step in bride's hse on or after 9am and to complete tea ceremony at groom's side by 1059...

as for the timing for GDL... think it shld be the time the groom side arrive at bride's side

momo> for me, i will be more kiasu...probably 1.5mths ahead since my invites r ardy in the process of printing liao...

DS_Gerl: Yup yup.. My reply slightly different. Mine is a church wedding. So HTB will reach our house at 9am to fetch me and we go church together. Start our church wedding at 10am and I need to sign the rom cert before 11am. hehe... My tea ceremony is after my wedding lunch at 4pm.. hehe...

Momo: My invitation cards will be given on same day as my GDL which is on 18 Sept. My AD is on 23 Oct. I will only start writing on the cards 1 week before..hehe... My cards are collecting dust liao. can't wait to give it out.

avatar>> sorry huh.. how much did u spend on juz the translucent printing with T&T?
im stuck on printing on translucent papers (with hotel card - but my hotel's card design are boringzzz...) or print on A5 two-sided card for my invite, which i did for my ROM and i think ppl have thrown it away liao, lol... i gng JB on this sun and meanwhile, trying to settle my guestlists.

missybrooklynn: I think i spent abt RM275 on 200 translucent inserts. Abt S$119? But if u print non colour one.. is much cheaper.

Hi Avatar,

Same as you 23 Oct 2010. I still duno when is my GDL.. Haven print invitation card, JP is not confirm yet.. Stress.. Btw.. I saw you wedding photos. Very pretty. =)

avatar82> true.. more time for rsvp better... guest list + table arrangement is a headache for me... most can't give me a definite ans yet so can't do much

my GDL is on weekday so most prob evening time then can send the xi bing over since most relatives are at work tt day... most prob will continue visiting relatives over the following few days if all can't be done on GDL day... luckily the xi bing is the traditional teochew pastries so hopefully they can last longer

missy> r u gg to send invitation cards to friends first b4 GDL since ur GDL is juz 1 week b4 AD? mentioning of cards, what do we need to prepare b4 meeting the printer?

avatar>> thanks. i think i will make a trip down b4 i decide again.
need to collect a sample invite from my hotel first too...

christine>> think u can start to cmf JP liao...
dun be too stressful too.. cos i oso havent cmf table listings, wine and buy my things for GDL. All are working in progress lor.

michie>> i will send to frds first and probably verbally informed relatives abt the date.
now im thinking to move my GDL to 2 weeks earlier if poss cos 1 week like so rush leh. have to discuss with CK first.

Christine: Yup, agree with Missybrooklynn.. you can start off by confirming ur JP first and start doing guest list. Invitation cards can print anytime. Buy GDL items, do AD program.. have u done ur photoshoot?

michieyun: Before meeting the printer, you need to get ready parents full name in English/ chinese, a sample of the wedding card, a soft copy of map or any photos which u wanna attach to your card. Usually printers will have standard templates which you can follow, unless you want something special, you can prepare your own too.

Missy> Have booked Dr Phua but HTB don't like the timing. We now checking if Prof Yu can make it or not. Pray Hard Prof Yu can make it.

Avatar> We are doing bit by bit for guest list and invitation card. Just afraid of the GDL scare my parents want more and HTB's parents think we money face. =X Photoshoot done but haven get all the softcopy yet. Montage not done.. =S

Christine> icic... not bad lah.. at least you are already in the midst of searching for JP. Do you know what your parents want for GDL? maybe can sound them out and check with HTB whether okay or not?

missy> ur GDL date is not decided by the geomacer? perhaps re-consult on the GDL date again ba

avatar82> thks for the info... if my printer is referred to by the hotel, this means i just need to get ready our parents' name and miscellaneous stuff tt we wanna add on right?

christine> my wedding preparation abt the same as u... montage nt done, guest list half way done... invitation card haven't touched on yet.. perhaps u have already done more than me... heehee

anyone knows who i can refer to if i wanna know what GDL should include? i mean the very specific to the dialect gp kind & nt in general... so far i only know i need to get the xi bing & 4 dian jin.. lolz

Avatar82> HTB & Meipo will be coming to my house so called 'Ti Qing' to check what are the stuff we need and they need. Hope everything will go soomth.

Michieyun> Jia you for the Preparations together. =)

Michieyun: If the cards are collected from the hotel printer direct, they should be able to know the size of your card. Just get ready your parents names will do. hehe...

For GDL items, it will be better to discuss with your parents on what they want. For certain items, pple dun follow dialet customs liao. Eg: Si Dian Jin is teochew custom, but now other dialects are following it too. hehe... Cantonese go for roast pig, but for hokkien, we will use pig trotter cans.

I'm a hokkien, these are the GDL items which I take from HTB for your reference.

Pin Jin (è˜é‡‘), 4 touch of gold (四点金), Nappy angpao (洗尿布的红包), Grandpa angpao (祖父礼金), 2 pairs of Dragon and phoenix candles replaced by 2 Ang Pao(两对龙风烛用红包代替), 6 types auspicious seeds and grains (Red dates/ Dried longans/ lotus seeds / red bean/ green bean/ lily bulbs) (六ç§å‰ç¥¥è°·ï¼šçº¢æž£ï¼Œé¾™çœ¼å¹²ï¼Œè޲å­ï¼Œ 红豆, 绿豆,百åˆï¼‰, A basket of 12 oranges (12 粒橙放在è“å­é‡Œ), 2 bottles of brandy (两瓶烈酒), 28 boxes of cakes (二å八盒喜饼), 24 pig trotter cans (二åå››ç½çŒªè„šç½)

Btw.. what dialect are you?

missy> good good... at least u have a list of dates to choose from... for me, nt much choices due to our ba zi

christine> yup yup... jiayou jiayou jiayou :D

my mum wants the xi bing to be the traditional teochew pastries + i was to be given 4 dian jin so my hb & i were thinking of holding our wedding as traditional as possible... once in a lifetime affair so doing it in tradition way should be very meaningful

to follow exactly indeed demanding... hmm, see how it goes ba... we have bought the 4 dian jin & found the pastry shop liao... so now need to find others as per listed in the link provided by missy perhaps

haha.. yar lor, some might prefer to keep it simple. Some prefer to be more detailed. Depends on what your parents are looking at. hehe..

my mum asked me to go do research. lol!!
tedious but kinda fun and interesting to know... and like wat mich said, it will be meaningful. then again, i wont follow 100%, probably 80% (??) as long as it signifies wellness and happiness

my wedding cakes will be those western kind... to suit all ppl's taste. but i will still have peanut candies
as for the 2 liquors, we are giving red wines and my mum is ok with it.

speaking of that, i have not settled my WINE!
ooohhhh nooo...

yalor... doing all these is juz for our wellness & happiness

my parents in law quite bochup, leaving everything to us to decide.. my parents kinda bochup also but then my mum still requests for certain items tt follows the teochew custom... hahaha... so she's considerd half bochup?... kidding ;p

Btw.. on the AD, we are supposed to bring along makeup kit just in case our makeup melt, we can do some touch up right?

Anyone got recommendation for loose powder? I wonder which brand should i buy for more everlasting look? cos my face super oily.. makeup cannot last long

i think my father will prefer hard liquor... lolz

hmm, i still dunno whether to get extra red wine or not coz i'll getting 36btls free from the hotel... most guests do drink red wine but i dun want history to repeat itself again coz we have alot of balance wine during our ROM... my friends say they can drink alot and get me to prepare them... in the end of the 24 btls prepared only 3 btls consumed... hiaz

i think it's good to have make up kit with us on AD... my friend din prepare one for herself then on her AD she smiled too much tt her MU "cracked"... luckily one of her JMs has loose powder for some touch up

mich>> ive 48 btls of wines from my hotel too, approx 1 btl per table and i oso dunno enough anot. thought of juz getting another 1 dozen, ive frds who can drink but oso have frds who cant drink. so to balance up, i hope 12 btls should be ok bah....

avatar> how much does hard liquor cost on avg? DFS alot cheaper?

missy> preparing extra is better... else very malu to tell guests tt we run out of wines upon request... will u be getting white wine as well?

white wine needs to chill leh... so i dunno getting anot. maybe juz 1 for me to drink when i go ard the table for toasting. i'm not a red wine person :P

googled something interesting here, it was quite recent... so should be still valid

**Chinese wedding betrothal and dowry accessories**

Amanda Dreamweaver
32 New Market Road
#02-1030 Peoples Park Food Centre
S050032
Tel: 65338234 Closed on Monday.

Cheok Keuw Bridal
Blk 506, #01-180
Jurong West St 52

Chop Kwong Mee
Blk 4 Sago Lane, #01-127

Fu Yuan
32 New Market Road Food Center
#02-1198 / #02-1158

Minah Store
140 Upper Bukit Timah Road
#01-19, Beauty World Centre

Sin Chye
140 Upper Bukit Timah Road
#01-K3, Beauty World Centre

Tiong Poh
Blk 531, #02-58, Hong Lim Complex
Upper Cross Street

It's kinda nice when parents / in-laws bochup and leave the decision to the couple.

My FMIL told me that time she didn't give the elder DIL 4 dian jin coz gold was kinda exp 3-4 yrs ago. Now gold is much more exp. So I expect to get nothing if my parents nv request >.<

Missy: Actually, I personally find it to be cheaper to buy separately from outside stores rather than buying from those shops specialised in wedding stuff.

Pipi: what dialect are you? hmm.. for teochew, it's si dian jin. For hokkien &amp; cantonese, it's dragon phoenix bangles. If no si dian jin, maybe can ask for dragon phoenix bangles?

For me, I received 3 sets of Si Dian Jin. 1 from MIL, 1 from HTB and 1 from my mama..

Pipi: It's common to have some conflicts along the way during the wedding preparation. Don't worry too much, everything will be solved eventually.

avatar> ok, will take a look at DFS liquor

u r so lucky &amp; fortunate... 3 sets of 4 dian jin!! alot of couples do face problems like pipi due to $$ issues + gold prices

pipi> since both sides are teochew i tot it will be much easier to prepare? i'm sorry to hear tt u face problems with the wedding preparations.

my hb is hokkien while me teochew so i find it a little complicated... dunno which is which... one thing to ask, if got si dian jin already still need pin jin?

Remember I said my parents aren't willing to meet my in-laws for discussion on the GDL issues, till now still half hanging.

If I were to let my mum know my FSIL didn't get her 4 dian jin, she confirmed not happy

@ Michieyun
I thot so too...but it's not as easy as I thot

Start off point is wrong, makes my parents unhappy. Now parents dun wanna make request nor to meet up

Pin Jin and Si Dian Jin 2 issues wor..