(2010/03) Mar 2010 BTB

val: her hse in punggol I think...

2nd viewing done on mon night liao, now is waiting for seller's agent to call us only...thanks!

mel87: wow how much did u pay for ur hse? 4 or 5 rm? Tiong Bahru location very expensive, been to Boon Tiong area for viewing before

wahhh i very blur now.. hv 2 mels... hahaha

val & mel87> PS in one day is very very very tiring.. i had to chg into 7 different gowns, 7 diff hairstyles and 7 times of make-up in one day.. actually the make-up is just layer on top of layer.. 7 layers in total.. goodness!

val> my curtains most prob getting frm IKEA.. dont want to spend too much on things tht are not really mandate.. but thanks for the info anyway!

thomas> 4room, its near e mrt, i got it @ $265k..
mel> omg! seems so jialat.. but for outdoor, e MUA never follow right? so we have to brg out own MU to touch up?

mel: yalor time for u to change nick lah hehehe

LOL...u got 7 gowns? my wife got 6 only

mel87: how come so cheap??? what floor??? wah near mrt somemore...really good buy!

Hi mel...i understand that ur BS is Thomson Wedding Design/Collection right? May i know how is it? I mean their service, photos and gowns... :-)

mel87 > u dont nd to bring ur own MU.. the MU that ur MUA does is super thick and wont go off one so def no need to touch up

thomas> yea i hv 7 gowns.. my hubby also has 7 diff outfits

Mel> ic, means b4 the indoor ps the mu all the way till end of outdoor ps?
Charlene> hi, i only went down before for the ROM dress only, for ad & ps i have yet to look at their gowns..

mel87> for my case is i had 3 diff looks and gowns indoor PS before i went for outdoor PS, then aft outdoor PS .. i came back for 3 more indoor PS.. so everytime i finish with a PS, i will chg gown. chg hairstyle and make-up

Mel> 7 layers ar?? I can't imagine sia. Must b super uncomfortable. But photos effect v gd. Look v natural. =)

thomas> how's the status for the clementi flat?

val: thanks for asking...kiv now first cos there are a few terms seller is asking which we can't agree on now. In the meantime still looking for others

val, I got my hse finally, thanks for the encouragement

thomas> Wow..just in time. Congrats congrats!! =) the clementi one? How much is it? Need to do reno or move in condition?

thanks val

nope, not the clementi one, we gave up on that one cos cldn't agree to seller's terms.

We got our hse at Tiong Bahru which is near my MIL's place. 505k val, 35k cov. We know the cov is a bit on the high side but hse is practically in move-in condition, so cov will be offset from the reno costs
Just need to do up minor stuff like changing of sanitary items (toilet bowls, wash basins) and bedroom doors, fresh coat of paint, that's all.

thomas> great. When can u move in then? As for me, i hope i can get my reno done in time before Ad. coz i will only b getting the keys end of this yr. I heard that no one does reno in late jan and feb coz the foreign workers go back to their home country for new yr. So my reno may need to rush abit...=)

val: now 1st appt earliest also ard early dec, by the time get keys shld be mid jan? hope can finish our reno before cny otherwise will be very stressed handling both our hse reno and wedding preparations at the same time

yes u are right, a lot of reno contractors now employ msian workers so they will go home ard 1-2 weeks b4 cny and wun come back until 1 week after cny or even later. do u need to do extensive reno? luckily mine's minor stuff so I think shld be ready just in time before my AD

thomas> no leh..not v extensive considering that the flooring and toilet are done already for premium flat. Mainly carpentry work. We'll b doing the kitchen cabinet, built in wardrobe in mbr, feature wall in living room. false ceiling in mbr and living room, wiring etc...

thomas> i got the HLE from HDB le. Should be able to receive key in oct/nov. Yay. Btw, u bought ur mattress already. Went to simmons last wk. The mattresses r ged, but v ex. Saw 1 model from serta selling less than 2k. Tempted to buy. Btw, u know how much is a seahorse mattress?

wow that's gd news! feel happy for u =)

not yet, just started to read up on how to choose good ones...I read that Sealy ones are good...there's a thread in Home and Deco, u can go read up also. Seahorse mattress? no idea, although I passed by the outlet at Tiong Bahru Plaza that time

Hi all> serta queeens mattress @ about 1.5K worthwhile a not. Not latex but filled wif fibre and individual pocketed coil. Comes wif 4 pillow, 2 mattress protection and bench. Any comments?

val> i bought simmons, but i bought it for ard a year already.. i source around for a long time too.. very confusing, as for serta, simmons, sealy, etc got many diff types, you must see which series you want..
nowadays many mattress sales.. must look at every sat straits times..
below is a link for slumberland sales
http://www.sgrate.com/forum/thread-6381-1-1.html

yup..my mom suugested tp buy kingkoil or 4stars can liao so that we can save some money. So yesterday, me and hubby went to robinson to see look. The kingkoil mattress cost like over 2k or 3k lor. So, we decided to just buy the serta. Cheaper and have 4 free pillows. =)

thomas> my auntie's mattress fr slumberland. Very comfy. She bought it at abt 2k. SO i'm still considering. Hmm..mayb shld go warehse see see hor.

Mel87> provide 2 mattress protector. But no quilt. =)

ya I know slumberland is good...so quite torn btw Sealy, Slumberland, Kingkoil and Seahorse...very confused hahahahhahaha

ya, mattress is very hard to choose..
btw, can i ask you guys something..
i have choosen my gowns last sat, & choosen a black evening gown, wondering if its okay, have yet to ask my parents but my inlaws are okay.. its those kind of glossy black with crystals..
& for the guodali items when need to start soucing? & any place good?

mel: u'll have to ask ur parents then, some I know are quite pantang. Black EG is nice though

GDL items u can try chinatown, a few shops there are selling. Will be doing mine ard 1 mth before my AD.

i have decided to keep the black EG for ps will do, later calling the BS to arrange a date to find again.
icic, den i guess its quite rush.. cause one month b4 ad is CNY..
busy..busy..

thomas> u said u looking for FS master for your hse too rite? Any lobang? My fren's fengshui master cost her above 1k and the ornaments she bought cost her more than 7k. Is this the norm huh? I googled abit and find that some charged a few hundred some above 1k...u know the reason of the difference inprice? U looking for Master Tong again?

val: yup...I'll ask my wife and get back to u later, contact's with her. It's def less than 1k dun worry. True FS masters won't ask u to buy all those gadgets and stuff, those are cheats.

thomas> yalor...i also dun really trust those masters who always persuade u to buy those ornaments. Am tinking to get master tong again if his price is reasonable. How much do u tink is reasonable price for FS consultation for hse? I saw one really cheap lobang in the forum, below $500 and 1 really ex one above 1k. Big diff in price hor. Does this means the more expensive one Fengshuimaster is better in terms of knowledge, experience and service huh?

val, this is his website, Master Chang...

http://fengshuiyinyang.com/home

I asked david tong before, his charges are close to 1k. Master Chang charges lesser than him if I'm not wrong. Depends on your comfort level ba.

Not necessarily, there are a lot of ppl who highly recommend Master Chang too, go Renotalk forum and read up his thread, that shld give u an idea of how experienced he is.

thomas> went to furniture mall recently. Kinda dissapointed. The sofas and dining table all comes in 4 digits de. The ok looking ones abt 1-2k. The high end ones ebt 5k. Wow. U source for sofa and dining table already? Any recommendation?

val: tot furniture mall advertised got sale lately? I rem reading in the papers these few days.

anyway me and wife went to recce for sofa during the long weekend, quite like the one from Seahorse, 'L' shaped and now ard $569 after 65% discount (usual price $1.2k). However bad thing is there's no recliner function. May consider getting either a single or twin seater with recliner function also.

look out for papers everyday, there's bound to have some furniture sale here and there, my wife is looking out everyday also.

thomas> yup...got sales. But price still ex. Saw the sofa at la cafa selling at 1.4K (after discount). Where is this seahorse shop u went to?

1.4k seems exp to me...full leather or half?

I went to the one at plaza sing, tiong bahru plaza got another branch also