(2009) Brides of year 2009

Hi soniaouch, hamdy

I'm also thinking of giving out invites during CNY. In fact, I'm considering doing our GDL before or on CNY so we can give out our xi bings to our relatives during that time as well. I wonder if that's appropriate.

My restaurant will be doing the printing for us. They're already preparing the wedding card design and will send a soft copy for us to view and give the go-ahead for the printing probably by this month or latest next month?

Hi princess

I can't remember exactly how much is the top-up for our BS if we want to have more photos but should be around $60+ per photo. I guess the price range is around there for most BS?

dun be sad mrs ang lah. I also dun really like what i am getting.

Grace, whoa..37.62 g is damm heavy...pure gold somemore. Mine add 2 bangles only got 24gm lor. Somemore 916 gold nia. U damm lucky gal.

Dun say u cheap lah mrs ang...i also very cheap one..hahahahaha. At least urs is new ..mine bought dunno how many thousand yrs ago one.

Yeah one thing sure pressure to choose. My in laws also say nice or not this one i give u..i also paiseh. Just say can..but damm thin lor. Better then nothing lah. just take. Next time make hubby buy thick thick one for me heehee.

I have taken my PS...viewed the layout on Sat...waiting for touch up again..then send for printing liao..

for the invitees, have not started as not chosen the cards yet!!

for GDL, FS master say 16ht MArch leh..is it too late?>

my si dian jing is white gold lolz... the whole set is bot fROM SK...the lousy white gold shop.. anyway wat brought already brought no choice...

last weekend manage to buy everything for wedding... now waiting for the furniture to deliver on 26 dec..

GDL this weekend.. so now counting down to weddings..
call my bridal shop the album will be ready b4 x'mas.

haha guess a lot of us got not much of a choice when it comes to gifts from in laws.

so mrs ang...its ok..we all in the same boat.

yup counting down to our weddings..for me left only 21 days.

Why must begrudge the inlaws. They spend out of their pocket means they have less for themselves. Must remember they oso spent a lot of effort and money to raise their sons when young ma. You suddenly stranger come out get pinjin, get tables, get gold - all is money. actually the gold you also never take out to wear after the wedding because so gold so obiang, then suan liao la. Only the gold shop happy only becoz your in-laws now got less money, you got a set of gold that u keep in the safe deposit box with no use, but the shop earn all the money. What's the point.

I even told my MIL not to buy me any gold, because I wont use it after the wedding. I rather she keep the money and go travel or something. Cannot be that when son young they spend money, son go uni they also spend money, when son get marry even more money....

They got xin bring you to shop to choose already very good liao. It's the thought that counts. Must we be so materialistic to measure our worth with the amount of gold/pinjin/tables that they give us? It's not like the olden times the clans wanna flaunt their wealth!

Hi piglit21,

That's good!!hehe.

Details I think i'll put as per the template bah...
ROM - 28 Feb 09
ROM Venue - Carlton Hotel
AD - 16 Oct 09
Venue - Grand Copthorne Waterfront
BS - Amanda Lee Weddings
AD PG - TBA
AD VG - Not Planning
Wedding Band - L&C
Love nest - TBA

Now left AD PG le... started looking around already but those I like rather expensive... have to see how first... but have to decide fast else slot taken up then I have to do all over again...

hi all, erm comparing all ur circumstances, I feel that I am quite lucky. However, the bangle has not been bought, so they might still change their mind. Haha... I hope not though!

i stingy mah, thinking that how gd if i don't have to pay a single cent cash if i managed to tio the balloting from HDB... but i can wait till the cows come home also haven tio. Actually COV now really dropping a lot, got 4A flat in the same area asking for $3k only! Agent keep asking us if we want or not, but too near amenities very noisy.. don't like.

I think its a matter of getting used to the expressway noise, my mum's the one grumbling thou.

Somehow i 'forgotten' there were flats behind those condo at bedok reservoir until last night went we drove past. Its a gd location! But $24k.. i cannot afford :P

Can mail me ur contractor's details? IDs are way out of my budget....

Email: lavend3rmist AT gmail.com

whoa johra why so angry...i may be harsh just in case in my explanation..my 2 cents opinion lah,

no lah. i guess you have no idea what went on in other's family.

Anyway like for my hubby, his growing up days was quite poor thing, they didnt really look after him. He go uni also he saved very hard from work then go overseas to study. He pay himself. His parents never pay a single cent. The whole wedding is we pay on our own. For my part, I felt because our in laws also expected in return from us DIL to give them certain items. Things like pin jin and gold is part and parcel of marriage. Moroever the gold, I do wear leh. I am the sort who values yellow gold more than white gold.

My in laws got more money then us couple lor. Their travelling trips also the children pay also. mY hubby and I sometimes also give pocket money to them for travelling so knt blame us for getting a little bit upset that they dun value us as DILs and expect us to give them more money in return.

The prob is my in laws actually pretended not to know that they supposed to give us gold lor. Which is very disheartening. The real prob is the first place got NO Thought. So how to say its the thought taht counts leh.

Some of us even had PILs asking for angbaos back on wedding day.

You are really lucky to have a nice pair of in laws. But not many of us are tat lucky.

sometimes its not tat we are asking for these stuff. We also understand the difficulties therefore we ourselves fork out additional cash to tie the dowry stuff.

If put urself in the daughter's shoes, we are facing a lot of pressure from our own family and relatives. Our own parents esp mothers will be fuming mad that our in laws are not providing the 'rightful' stuff. Being in the past, our parents view the importance of such pin jin and gold as a sign to whether their daughters been welcome or treasured in the future family. So I hope you pls understand tat we are not hungry over the amt of gold our in law gift and we are not here to steal all their life long savings.

If we argue back to our family like you stated above in ur reasoning, i think i be in deep trouble with my own parents even though i think that you have a point there. I guess its compromise lor. Both sides of the parents must reach an agreement. Dont say totally give too much or even totally dun give. Not nice lah. its loop sided.

no offence hor...we all just chatting here lah...

hi sharon,

Good luck to yr GDL !!!

Hi mrs ang,

hows ur wedding album? is it rectified?

Well, we are here to discuss what we face. If we din talk it out, how would i know the rest are facing the same as me?

U don wan gold cos u don like. But does it implies to everyone here?

In the beginning, do we say we hate our ILs? or having a grudge against them? Which sentence say so? I did only mentioned tat i feel upset and grumbling kinda of cheap and easy to marry to their family. i just so afraid that my parents will get upset and then thus resulting my ILS losing face. Is diff to make both sides happy.

I din know till now tat my behaviour is materialistic.

Vallous,
Today is their off day. Waiting for them to send me an email to confirm the wrong pictures... then i can collect the album in a weeks time.

okok lah..

chill all.

Dun spoil the mood here..

One more month then all will be pretty pretty brides liao....stay happy ALL!! Cheers....

Hi Natsu_yuki,
Welcome. me also 16 Oct btb.. we share the same day. keke..

oh ya. does L&C means Love & Co??

ur venue ar GCW ar. near my venue. haha... tink tat day got afew weddings surrounding me. haha...

Paradise,
tink u need to work fast liao. alot of gd PG n VG getting snapped up liao. haha..

ya actually sometimes is because we have to think for the gal's side too. How the gal's parents feel about their daughter marrying into another family.
like the gal's side asking for this and that, some items may not be expensive de, but ma fan to get.... but getting married is once in a life time. Even if Ma fan, also this time round only, not as if we going to get married again, *touch wood*

Jia Jia you ben Nan Nian de Jing
i think different ppl face different in-laws and situations...so should not use our own circumstances to judge other ppl's situations. Some ppl have in-laws who dun want this and that, scared ma fan... but still must see what the female's side requires and respect what they ask for, most importantly must negotiate....

This is a very useful gift for ppl to keep =). So u will give out this cute calender together with wedding gift that the hotel will be providing?

yeah, chill babes!

we're here to chat, discuss, ask questions and let off some steam every now and then. Else, no avenue to let off steam! For me, as my friends are all not married, it's pointless telling them my parents' issues in getting things from the in-laws cos' they don't understand. However, if I share it here, all of us are in the same process/procedures (either sooner or later), ppl will understand how I feel if I find it hard to get something frm in-laws.

And, definitely some families r more traditional than the rest. For me, my mum still thinks that what the in-laws give is representative of marrying off their daughters (very traditional thinking), thus, they wun wan to marry me off 'cheaply'. And of cos, they won't make it look like they r selling me off too. My mum feels that she spent a lot of effort bringing me up, she should get something 'in return'.

just for update..Thanks Poohise

No Church venue..No multiply..Florist by BS..

My PS date will be 16 jan'09..:D

As for the Rom and AD ..Rom falls on my hubby's bday...AD is the date we got 2gether..

I will not have to remember too many dates..:D all dates are meaningful..

Rom falls on his bday cos he proposed to me on my bday this year...

Grace: u also GDL this week? mine is on Sunday..faster get this done!

i already order the furniture liao will be coming on 26 dec.. ytd paint our room liao.. left with some MISC stuff.. just call the bridal shop ask abt the guestbook. cuz till now i never get to chose my guestbook. scare they forget abt it..

Mashi: ahahaha Ya i know. we met like 2-3 PGs so far and all say we a bit late in our planning leh. But what to do? The other half not kan cheong enuff leh. I wash my hands off PG and VG liao. I hate the trying-to-get-things-done-asap-but-things-moving-very-slowly-with-lotsa-pushing frustrated feeling. The more PG and VG research I do, the more stress and frustrated I get. So I decided hub should be fully in charge for sourcing PG & VG. If he delay further, we cant get wat we want based on our budget, then too bad. He has to either top up and spend more OR compromise, pay lesser n just get a so so PG/VG. Of cos Im reluctant for the latter to happen but at the moment, Im sick of nagging too much. :P If suay suay happen, then he shall join me in the regretting game and be guilty for life. HAHA

yoyo> yes I have engaged my BS Whitelink (Cheong)as our AD PG. We will be using my BS service for our AD VG too.
price all in (incl morning express) is $1988.

FSBride,
No la.
To be given now as and when i meet my friends.
If wait till May then give, almost 1/2 of the year has gone pass, then this card will be of no use already. :p

Hihi!
Ya damn busy today. Having a break now so coming in for a peep :P

Missy, welcome! When is your AD?

Aroh,
Can email me the photos (the actual size) that we took at the dinner gathering? I cant upload the pics i saved from this thread to my website.

paradise,

oic. but tat wun happen. tink ur HTB also wan to get it settled.

mine still ok. My HTB also not kan cheong de. but 1 ting gd is tat he wan to faster settle all the stuff then relax til next yr Feb to start our gown fitting. lol...

so all our stuff actually confirm quite early. lol

Mashi hahaha thanks for hving the faith in my hub! i hope he reads this. I already set this thread auto alert to his email. :P

anyway i agree w u. im the type i rather settle early n relax after that. if got anything happen at least still got reaction time then to leave everything to last min!