(2009) Brides of year 2009

So sad to inform you all that i will be changing my wedding date to 2010..approx 2 mths later than my planned.

Reason been that we wanted 21/11 pretty badly, but couldnt find the banquet plc as most place are fully booked. So we decide to have it on 22/11 thinking that since the customary is on 21st,so no matter what day we have dinner doesnt matters.

I have seen a Master for many years which my wtb also trusted him alot. When he told me that 22nd in tong shu is actually a "PO RI", although we have gone through the customary, the date for the banquet will also affect...therefore we decide to change to 23/01/2010...that the nearest best date which he pick for us from the start...

So now i can just hope times will go faster....sigh

happy for u hui. i only going to get dowry stuff this Thurs with my parents. n probably on Sat with my in-laws. Though it may seem a simple affair, but still relatively lots of things to prepare..

actually just something that came across my mind. I think i saw somewhere that someone mentioned the guy's parents also spend money to bring up their son. But i think the tradition of the pinjin is that cos after marriage the guy is still supporting his parents but the girl is not supporting her parents anymore. hence it is a token of appreciation for them.

but maybe just that nowadays after marriage the girl is still supporting her parents. but nowadays the girl's parents also usually do not keep all the pinjin or tables given to them. most parents nowadays return a portion (sometimes everything) to the couple. so +, -, still the same la.

i think my GDL is the last few. Mine will be on 30th Dec. so many things not done. My angpao box still stuck at 25% keke. nv touch it at all. Only going to start writing my invitations this saturday. going to activate my jiemeis to help.

Im buying for jiemei dresses, 6 of them. $50+ each consider expensive? smemore is buy frm BKK.. My fren told mi thr is 30+ to 40+ but it either too short for 1 of the jiemei or it mayb too small for another jiemei......

aiyah i not angry la, i just feel that you are discusssing just now all about money money money, how little the ILs are giving, why are they not giving us this and that. Please read back and tell me isnt that the sentitment?? Like complain abt why the MILs so niao, count until the weight of the gold!! like they must pay to get you into the family when actually you know they dont really have a say becoz son already decide.

Next time mebbe you have sons too. If the girl's parents say she should get something 'in return' for effort, wouldnt you think...i raise son no effort meh? I'm not really getting a daughter-in-law back like the old days to do housework or take care of me what.

no offence, just my thinking. If you think like that must get things in return, then this thinking will propagate to your children and then their children, then for many generations they will stick to the traditional thinking of money money money in marriage, which is no longer the case in modern days. So if someone said that everything parents return a portion to their kids, and the daughter also supports her own parents now, does it matter if its one bangle less or one pig less?

cube_cube & saggiegirl,

thanks for the info. i've been to IMM so many times but never notice any shop selling wedding items. will go check it out. it is nearer to my place so more convenient than chinatown. will see how's the price. if price still ok and designs are to our taste i think i will just buy from there.

yoyo,

i got our AD PG already. like saggiegirl, i'm also sticking to my bridal service's PG. my wedding split into 2 days so slightly more ex. for PG alone it's about $800.

for AD VG we are still sourcing. going to meet up with some shortlisted VGs this week to discuss package. my HTB wanna make it special so wants to include making of MTV. think this is quite costly. about $2000++.

Hi paradise,

dun worry too much abt TWD. they are quite negotiable on things, not so rigid. this is my multiply add: desjol
i oso dun have photo inside until maybe gown fitting..

juski22,
For $50+, can get from Singapore alr. That time i went to bugis village and check it out, the lady boss quote me $55 if i get 6 dresses (me most likely gg to have 6 jie meis too)

ya... i told my gf tat it's alittle ex... had ask her look for others..coz i tot BKK would be cheaper..in the end $50+.... reali nid to consider.. smemore buy 6pcs.... heart pain too

if reali i spend tat $$.. do i still nid bao em angbao??

paradise,
since you have chosen your BS, dun worry about it

i am sure you are able to find the gowns you will like ;)

hope you can get your PG & VG settled soon, then can relax for a while

paradise,
tink gals are like tat. but then when til the time comes, no matter hw well we hv settled, we sure kan cheong to check wat are the tings nt yet settled. haha...

Hey Blue_diamond, so sorry to hear that... 21/11 really is a hot date and I had lots of difficulty finding a venue for my wedding too.
Don't be too sad, time will fly and 2010 will be here before you know it!

I would have to wait till 2013 to get married if I don't do so on 21/11/09, so as a result, we're taking the plunge next year even though we're paying so much and liaising like crazy just for our venue...

Chin up ya!

blue_diamond: so sorry to hear tat as well...dun worry..2010 will be here soon...=)..but juz take it tat u will have more time to save up..=)

have you found your venue for Jan 2010?

des&jol: hee i just added u ;)
anngoh: yeah thanks for ur encouragement & comfort thus far ;)
mashi: hee u r right! gals r gals after all.

im so glad that at least things are moving FINALLY!!

Wow! I am getting excited once more by coming into this thread. Been real busy with reno these days that i totally forgot abt wedding preparation.

white heels can or not huh? i went anna nucci, found the white heels nicer and went ahead to get it leah. how huh? white one can match with evening gown? my photoshoot is in 2 weeks time. So have to get the heels asap. lol. It's a rainy month. Think have to pray hard for the weather liao.

another qn gals.... any idea where is good for honeymoon in june? i haven decide whether to have honeymoon right after wedding or wait a few mths. =X

Hey blue diamond,

your new date is just 2 months away from the 211109. take it as extra time for you to save and get ready wedding stuff. have you got ur new flat? out of curiosity, does Grand Shanghai allow you to shift your banquet to another date?

hi mashi mashi,
I also add u hor!! maybe all oct 09 BTB who has multiply acc can add each other and share your gown pix next time, even maybe PS layout, angbao box, whatever! share share ideas

Kervin: Hi, long time never check in here!! my flat is a new one... blk 25b!! took my keys tis yr feb... havent move in yet cos reno still not done up yet... but reno will b finish soon... not planningto move in yet... occasionally will go stay over...
i only engage contractor so nothing to recommend u... but heard that classic designs ard tiong bahru is not bad...

Wow, so the budget is around 2k plus for VG plus PG...weddings are really so expensive!

Anyone out there interested in taking my 6th Dec 2009 lunch package at Peony Jade??? I will give a $200 discount off the 1k deposit...to be frank just dont want to lose the 1k...so many other expenses liao...

Hi popprincesstrin, can you kindly help me remove the details of Cecilia_Ben? this is because there are a few changes to our wedding date.

This is the updated info.

AD: 28 Nov 2009
BS: Margaret Brides
PG: LightedPixels
Hotel: Crowne Plaza (Airport Hotel)
VG: friend

paradise / des&jol,
I confirm u all liao. haha...
inside my multiply only got personal photos.
if wan to c wedding pics will hv to wait til next yr liao. haha..

nw here also can start to share ideas of where to go take PS. haha...

any suggestion? tink can start to source ard liao. haha

Hi Peaberry,

Thanks for your encouragement. In fact,my heart sunk when i realised that 22/11 is unsuitable esp after spend so much time on fidning the place and etc...So have u managed to book the venue yet?How much did u paid for?

Hi Sharlene,

Yup, on positive note, can stilll take my time to settle those little things for the wedding as well. I havent got my flat yet. planning to get it during 2009, hopefully can get smth cheaper compare to now...how abt u?Got yr flat liao?

Hi Tulips,

Yes, they do. In fact with no charges as we explain the situation to them. the lady was v nice n understanding. I have great exprience with them. The only draw back is that we probably got to rent the projector n etc from someone else as they dont have it in house.

For us, we have not decided on whether to ge the dresses or not. That would have to depend on our overall spending. In the event if we going to get them the dresses, we would still be giving them ang bao, just that it would be of a lesser amount (just yi shi yi shi) only. So still pending..

Hihi everyone, hows e long wkend for everyone? SO sad i wasn't around

anyway regarding dresses, my gf got it for ard $20 from BKK for her jiemei dresses leh. altho workmanship nt gd, but looks quite sweet. Let me try to post e picture. to show ur. might take awhile cos i dunno how to do it yet :p

kath,
can click on the help below, then click on format..there gt teach hw to post...i learn there oso..

juski,
for mi, im buying dresses for them, so most prob will giv onli 18 or 28 coz bf still giving them 'open door' angpow leh...

im tinking of going bangkok to buy, but now so messy...dun dare to go leh...

gals,
mi company retrenching 8k peepz..pray for me..sobsobzz...

There is a quote somewhere that says something like people always vehemently insist that when they grow up they wont be like their parents and will/wont do certain things, but when they really become parents, they subject their kids to the same things they hated as a kid.

=) i'm not trying to pick a fight. I just wanted to voice out what i feel.

to each his own then. Let's all be happy brides!!~

But the dresses they sell at BBK are quite small size one right? Cos i got 1 jiemei who is a bit bigger and taller..sometimes thinking of getting dress for them also headache. All diff sizes and their sizes varies alot! From very small size to a big size..

Kath, the dresses looks nice! Cant tell its low quality and for $20, its damn cheap loh!

But what about length? Cos my small size jiemei's height is only about 150 and the tallest one is abt 167.

lol...xiaokeai...now we all know which company u work in...i got friend work there in marketing i think...got married in oct only...

kath...who took the pic one...flash so bright...lol...

think jiemei ang bao still need to give...just lesser...

my friends all paid for the material for the jiemei dress then the jiemei choose their own design and pay for the workmanship which is abt $50 on their own...

yala yala...i work sony la...juz change job...sianzz...scare i on chopping board leh coz im like so new in the company...sobsob...

sun,
actuali tube dress wif sash is e best...sure can fit most, unless ur BM veri fat, or veri bombastic...haha...length wise nt an issue..at e most pay a few bucks to alter short lor...keke..

aroh,
ur frends so good arh..pay for their own design n workmanship..i dun dare to ask them leh coz i scare they dun like e colour i choose...haha..

suntan, e dresses are slightly above knee,n we r on e average 1.6m. but shldnt be a prob i tink cos there's this great inventor who came out w something called 'high heels'.

but one thing abt this dress is, i tink i'll oni wear it dat one time lor. not very appropriate to wear alone on other occasion leh. dats y i chose to custom make in e end.btw, my gf got it fr Platinum mall.

aroh, e person who took this foto is not pro.n definitely bad foto taker cos all our fotos turn out lopsided.bet u can see dat oso rite?

what my female friends did was to choose the material...all the jiemeis go down to take measurements then choose their own design. the bride will pay for the material plus maybe subsidise the remaining cost...

dun really like the color also no choice...bride is biggest that day...hahaha...depends on how to talk to ur friends mar...

anyway last night went to see mattress...the guy in the shop gave very gd deal...anyone looking for mattress? hahaha....

Cool johra4, totally agreed of wat u said!! Wat reflects now, at the end of the day, the next generation will reflect the same thing back..
most impt must zhi zu.. =D

Just a passerby here.. =D