(2009) Brides of year 2009

aroh,
out of curiousity, i went to browse ard HDB website and found this:

"Married couples where both are Singapore Citizens; or a Singapore Citizen who marries a Singapore Permanent Resident."

so my HTB and i are not eligible, unless i convert to spore citizenship now.

hi all, my weddin in jan 09 too.. also hven do all those stuff yet.. gg for food tastin tomolo.. then gg to buy the weddin stuff sat, discuss GDL stuff at food tasting... invites already prepared , gave to sm frds liao... ermm, stil got AD sch, emcee srcipt, themes and all hven decide.. erm, i also top up extra $5k for pics.. really regret, shd hve save the $ and pay for AP and all..

btw, after tea ceremony at brides plc, do we wear the tea dress straight to hotel chk in or chg out of gowns into own clothes?

sorry if i really sound stupid...but need to ask a qn on tis resale thingy...

"for ppl buying resale HDB flats for the 1st time...there's a grant from CPF to pay for part of the house price. example the valuation of a flat is $380k and seller ask for $400k. that $20k would be the cash over valuation (COV). if the flat is near your parents or ILs then you can have $40k off the $380k, else the grant is $30k. There's additional grant if the combined income is less than $3k for the past 2 years if I dun remember wrongly...Can be up to another $20k..."

based on tis eg above, technically COV is cash S$20k but with the cpf grant of say, S$40k, tat means (1) we dun have to come up with the S$20k cash or (2) we still have to come up with the S$20k and have our purchase price reduced by hdb only??

hhhhmmm....really not sure leh...try calling HDB to ask?

seriously...by jun next yr...u could consider getting a condo already...the prices by then should be $400-$500 psf for condos in areas such as tampines or woodlands... compared to $650psf for Livia at Pasir Ris now...

grace...the answer is (2). u still have to fork out the COV in CASH...note the "$40k off the $380k, else the grant is $30k"...it's not off the $400k.

the remaining amount can be loaned from HDB i think up to 90% of the valued price...so if the valuation is $400k, you can loan up to $360k. if add the grant, you will not need to fork out anymore cash (other than agent fees and other paperwork fees of cos)...

sun,
no worries, i will worry about housing next year. =p now concentrate on getting my rom done. hehehe...

aroh,
but prices for the condo that i like will not drop that much, i think. it is S$1.2k to S$1.3k psf now. so blardy expensvie...

grace,
yah, i know we could only buy resale or private property... just that very 'sien' that we are not eligible for any of these grant things too... maybe should consider buying in JB instead. but i don't like it there... =p

oops.. raine, saw ur reply too late.
but glad u manage to get it up.
And its very cute!

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>AD Date (2009)</TD><TD>Bride-to-be</TD><TD>Bridal</TD><TD>Hotel/Restaurant</TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>PG</TD><TD>VG</TD><TD>PS Date</TD><TD>Multiply ID</TD><TD>Church</TD><TD>Florist </TD></TR><TR><TD>1st May</TD><TD>Benjymocha</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>The Regent</TD><TD>1-May-09</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>feb after CNY 09</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>Raine</TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa Resort</TD><TD>1-May-09</TD><TD>Coffee &amp; Tea Dreamworks</TD><TD>Coffee &amp; Tea Dreamworks</TD><TD>mid-nov-08</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>Immaculate Heart of Mary</TD><TD>Blissful Thots </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>selinachantelle</TD><TD>Venus D'wedding</TD><TD>Qianxi Hilltop restaurant</TD><TD>5-Nov-08</TD><TD>own friend in this line</TD><TD>own friend in this line</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>Sheryl Tan (zer061zer0)</TD><TD>The Aisle </TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay </TD><TD>1-May-09</TD><TD>The Aisle</TD><TD>The Aisle</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>2nd May</TD><TD>itzbitz</TD><TD>Dreamz Wedding</TD><TD>HIPV</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>Lightedpixels</TD><TD>Forrest Productions</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>3rd May</TD><TD>poohise</TD><TD>LaBelleCouture</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>25-Mar-08</TD><TD>UniqueColors</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>15-Dec-08</TD><TD>poohise</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>8th May</TD><TD>Silin</TD><TD>My Dream Wedding</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront - Venus Ballroom</TD><TD>8-May-09</TD><TD>Big Day Pictures</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>9th May</TD><TD>Prosepina Heng (prosepina)</TD><TD>JB Printemps </TD><TD>Furama Riverfront </TD><TD>14-Jul-08</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>2 Jan 09 &amp; 12 Jan 09</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>Char (evocal)</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>Oriental Hotel (Garden Suite) </TD><TD>.</TD><TD>Joho </TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>Sacred Heart </TD><TD>Florist: Red Box </TD></TR><TR><TD>10th May</TD><TD>Sandra Chan</TD><TD>Everbliss</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>chua hui xiang (vivienne) </TD><TD>French Bridal</TD><TD>Dragon Gate Resturant </TD><TD>29-Feb-08</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>Miho (summerbabe) </TD><TD>.</TD><TD>Grand Shanghai?</TD><TD>10-May-09</TD><TD>Desmond Ho</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>pea wedding (pea_wedding) </TD><TD>Santiago </TD><TD>Fairmont/Canning Ballroom</TD><TD>27-May-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>15th May</TD><TD>Evy Lim</TD><TD>Precious Moment.</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>28-Oct-08</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>16th May</TD><TD>YF (deariebride)</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>Eully</TD><TD>Forest Production</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>geminiger</TD><TD>Jess Haute Couture</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>George from Jess Haute Couture</TD><TD>yappie production</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>April</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Shangri La</TD><TD>17-Oct-08</TD><TD>Joho</TD><TD>Ichiro Films</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>JOa</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>Hotel Royal @ Queens - Fu Lin Men Restaurant</TD><TD>5-Dec-08</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>22nd May</TD><TD>ene</TD><TD>Bridal Veil</TD><TD>Peony Jade</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>23rd May</TD><TD>envymoi</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>jasminetang</TD><TD>Sattine Bridal</TD><TD>Grand Plaza Park Hotel</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>24th May</TD><TD>Junie Chew (jchew)</TD><TD>The Aisle </TD><TD>Hilton Hotel Grand Ballroom </TD><TD>24-May-07</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>7th Nov SG and 14th Nov Bintan</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>30th May</TD><TD>Lorraine</TD><TD>Jess Haute Couture</TD><TD>Paramount Restaurant</TD><TD>20-May-05</TD><TD>Topix studio</TD><TD>NA</TD><TD>05-Jan-09</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>St Anne's</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>31st May</TD><TD>Blinkblink</TD><TD>D'sire</TD><TD>Goodwood Park Hotel</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>flowie</TD><TD>Signoria</TD><TD>marriott</TD><TD>31-May-09</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>stariez</TD><TD>Signoria</TD><TD>Swissotel the stamford-Raffles Ballroom</TD><TD>15-Jun-08</TD><TD>Daniel Beh</TD><TD>Brilliant Pics</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD>.</TD><TD>FSbride (fsbride) </TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collections </TD><TD>Hyatt </TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collections </TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collections </TD><TD>Dec-08</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>.</TD><TD>. </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

true lah, aroh...abt the prices of condo but then....to top it up, u still have to pay monthly maintenance...i guess have to really do ur sums properly n have proper discussion before making any big step ahead...

elyse, u sure abt tat or not? likely get skudai or further in areas better leh...but the travelling can kill

grace,
like u said, the travelling can kill. =p my HTB wanted to do that initially, but i was strongly against it. hahahahahhaaaaaaaaa!

elyse, dun say hor...my htb also suggested tat...i was like....nooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!! siao ar...everyday got to wake up like ard 4am at least....no life man!!!

Cherie> how much is yr ABB? Can post pic again? Very hard to trace.

saggiegirl> i also bought 2 very cute figuering from taiwan. Was less than $10 when i bought it. Ard 5cm tall. So just get a nice box and maybe stick it on the top will do. LOL.

I've decided to order this Mickey n Minnie in Wedding Suit &amp; Gown. $25 per pair (appx 24cm tall). Will be cheaper if order more. Anyone else keen? I saw in some kitty shop such wedding suit bear cost SG79.90. Got a shock. Let me know b4 5 dec, if you all wanna it.
http://auction1.taobao.com/auction/item_detail-db1-1e0690b0751f2b1379aff3481936bda7.jhtml

Wah.. just log in today, so today's discussion about HDB.. haha

Grace: then 1 SC and 1 foreigner how? No HDB at all??

Elyse: condo prices depends a lot on location and if it's free hold one. Think those super far one prices don't reach 1k/ft2

Hi Sharon, I will be staying at my new house after customary, renovation completed liao and my hb already moved in, waiting for me to move in only...

wah...elyse..u got expensive taste...$1.2k psf so u looking at those along newton or robertson quay is it?

someone wrote to ST forum before complaining about the fees we pay even when we stay in HDB flats and it really makes sense. for those staying in HDB flats, we have to pay conservency charges, car park (assuming u have a car and it's multi-storey so it's $95 rather than $60 for open air ones. without car staying in hdb sure cheaper. condo maintenance include a car park lot for your unit no matter u have a car or not) and even for contractors to clear rubbish...i forgot the individual amounts but it adds up to nearly $200 a month for someone staying in 5 room flat (bigger the flat the more you pay cos less subsidies from govt). maintenance for some condos are around $250 a month but comes with swimming pool, gym and security guard...

HDB replied...giving the usual reasons and excuses...

u make your own calculations based on your town council bills and come to your own judgement ba...

just went to see a condo along east coast road last week for fun and it's going for $800+ psf...free hold and very near st pat's. within 1km from tao nan too...

the price actually dropped from nearly $1k psf to slightly over $800 psf...

haha...buy house in JB? i'm not so worried about the travelling...i'm more stressed about dunno when will kena robbed or have my car stolen/carjacked...

not many places in the world the developer actually mention having gurkha guards when launching a housing project...just goes to show how safe the project will be...

i guess it's fair any govt protect the rights of the citizens over PRs and give more priviledges to citizens...if citizens enjoy the same rights then who would move from PR to citizen? think many govt all over the world do this...

yup, foreigners can't buy hdb...tat's for sure...so best for the foreigner to get PR then can apply for HDB lah

erm, if the prices dun really quite change or increased for maintenance for condos, definitely much more than S$250 a mth...depending on the size etc...

tat's y loh...have to really tik carefully n calculate carefully long term n short term before plunging into the big decision...

anyhow, as of now, i will also be one of those here who will get married but still dun have their own house after AD

hhhmmm...i went to a couple of condo launches...2 to 3 bedroom units are usually about $250 like that for their maintenance... i guess it depends on number of units to share the cost too...

more things need to be maintained of cos the cost also higher (think pte lift and pte swimming pool...hahaha...)...

Iam(golden_bride): wow that alot...hehehe... i top up 70 pics cost me 5k..haiz.. which bridal shop ur with?

Hui: u only buying a new bed? never buy dressing table? my mum told me must "an chuang".. where will u be staying since u staying with MIL?
i get back all my pics.. i only left 80 pcs.. since i already select 100pcs.

grace,
but u both s'porean right? why ur HTB thot of moving to JB? yaloh, can 'pengsan' from all the travelling. my gal fren lives in JB town and has to wake up at 5am daily to drive in to work. but she works in north side, so not so bad.

noknok,
yah, 1 SC and 1 foreigner = not eligible for HDB, not even resale. super far condos very inconvenient leh. i don't like. =p

aroh,
meraprime behind tiong bahru plaza. super convenient. =p JB is not that scary la. s'pore media made a big fuss thus giving everyone the idea that JB is very unsafe. u know how many s'poreans travel to JB every weekend? do everyone of them 'kena' robbed or carjacked? yes true, m'sia is not as safe as s'pore but cut us some slack la coz our country is much bigger and every state mostly runs by its own government rather than a centralised government like s'pore. =p

wah, serious ar, aroh? so cheap liao? 1-2 yrs back when i was doing the condo developers' files for those residential owners, still remember can go up to S$1k a mth hor....scary man...

no lah, elyse...my htb is m'sian also...i'm s'porean mah...he tiks it's alot cheaper but then, i'm definitely against it for the travelling bit...u noe ar, jb side...too near to s'pore not safe...pelangi, skudai n up too far to travel to s'pore...somemore, he works in expo side...can faint man!!!

anyway ar, whenever i go to m'sia, i just wear super lok cock so dun have prob leh...waaahhaa...maybe ppl see me like macham auntie, dun want to rob me? WAHAHAAA...not a matter of safe or not safe lah....to be honest, u tik tat s'pore safe...then tat time got ppl shoot in mrt also same wat...everywhere in the world also not safe one lah...

Sharon,
I bought a new set of furniture. Not getting a new bed cos ours is a queen size bed already. Yes, i live with PILs at the moment. New bed will be bought after i move in to my new house. An Chuang does not mean by getting a new bed, is a ceremony that we have to do for our wedding.

Iam,
After tea ceremony at Bride's place, im going back to Groom's place for lunch. Will still be wearing Kua. After lunch, change to normal clothes and will be washing off my make up and all the hair spray.

sometimes it's better safe than sorry ba...but no disrespect intended...everywhere also got chance to get robbed... but grace mentioned the area near to SG not that safe too...

elyse, far condos still nearer than coming in from JB mar...dun mean to be disrespectful abt malaysia lar but that's my personal opinion...i apologise if u r offended.

i got the prices from those condo launches i went...few years ago still studying never think about house so i dunno the price back then...

hahahaa..yup, those areas near to s'pore not safe for staying besides, it's like deadtown on wkends anyway...

watever it is, confirm jb is not a considerable place to stay lah...for me, tat is...

btw, elyse....u n ur htb frm same m'sian states?

grace,
agree... agree... that everywhere is also not safe. but i want to disagree on what u said that area near SG is not safe. my gal friend lives near pelangi leh. been staying there for the past 7 years. i guess it's up to us how we take care of ourselves too. if like u said, we don't show off our money/jewellery etc, we'll be safer lo.

ya, my HTB and i are from same hometown. where's ur HTB from?

aroh,
no la, not offended. just 'debating' with u. =p no worries. i just don't want people to have all these misconceptions about m'sia. beneath all the bad press and image etc, it is actually a good country. ;-)

hmm..my mum ask me to buy a new set of furniture..i was thinking i dun need as i will be moving to new hse sometimes next yr...

sianz leh.. my hubby already so small.. still need so many thing... so hav u bot ur new furniture?

elyse, u really tok like my htb..hhehee...abt the misconceptions on m'sia...anyway, i'm kinda converted by him also...

serious ar, pelangi ok ar...then paiseh lah...it's my sweeping statement :P

btw ar, u noe wat i love abt m'sia? gd food....hehehe...he's frm penang so now i'm sucker for penang char kuay teow, jawa mee, durian!!!!!! siao liao....

anyway ar, anyone saw the show ytd tat michelle chia n gurmit singh did on the lost n found makan places?? did they feature the famous muffins frm shunfu mart ar?

My ex collegue stays in JB leh.. she travel to sg everyday. Last time site at Pasir Ris. Really admire her man.. every morning like 5+am must leave house liao, cos got to reach site at 8am.

serious? how come they reject? can't u appeal? btw, u applied urself or together with employer's endorsement?

wah, ur colleague damn steady lah!!! actually it's still possible, whether u want or dun want...some just dun see the point lah, i guess...ok, the some includes me...heehhee

aiyah, dun worry lah...just try again loh...if u r contributing to the economy here, dun see y u can't get PR lah....somemore u getting married here also...

ya sharon
i will only be getting bed..... my hus will be staying with me in my parent's house as his house not enough rooms. Dressing table i already have one... so only buy bed

Wow sharon, u got back all your pictures, thats very worth leh

Hee.. actually dun really matter to me... get or dun get, still the same. Most of the benefit as a SC I feel is when u're a student. With all the grants and money etc.

1. aroh n eva
2. xiaokeai n htb
3. noknok n htb
4. grace
5. lalaa
6. sun (KIV)
7. kath

okie...just a re-cap before 6pm...so far it's 9 plus 1 kiv hor? anyone else joining the list or wan to be removed from the list?

oh? oops...my mistake...sorry...

1. aroh n eva
2. xiaokeai n htb
3. noknok n htb
4. grace
5. lalaa
6. sun n lawery (KIV)
7. kath

so it's 9 plus 2...