(2009) Brides of year 2009

e tailor designing for u? or u hav ur own special design is it?

mayb i used to deal with lady apparel @ wholesale prices ba..tats y i find it expensive..Most of e OTR designs tat we see ard can be bought at less than SGD20 lor..i koe its business bt then, stil feel e pinch...

i'm still looking around for wedding band.. actuali got 1 in mind le but hor.. i got bad experience frm that shop when my proposal ring that my HTB bought frm thr, the diamond drop.. drop 2 times smemore..tinking their wrkmanship abit jialut..

juski, if u want to design your own...i heard abt these 2 shops at park mall...appt only...cannot remember their names...

if u wan to go to those normal shops...nothing much to comment but the price will surely be higher...but i dun think will have diamond drop that kind of standard ba...

if customise, can go to eclarity @ shaw towers or Josi gems @ park mall. Hav been to both and find their prices more or less about the same.

Eclarity has hundreds of designs for u to choose from. If you do not know wat u wan, u can select frm their range, and add ur own modifications.

Josi dun hav any samples. All they hav on display are items waiting for colelction. However they quoted me a lower price for my solitaire...

u gt to make ur own comparisons lor..

juski,
if u are getting smting uniform for them, im sure u can get it at cheaper price...Bt not locally la...u can try online shopping, like taiwan or states..i personally prefer taiwan, coz courier nt so expensive...Though China is cheap, sm of their quality are reali horrid..

nv tot of customise our band..
would be another headache for me..haha.. i 1 it easy no need to think so much..
see le like it juz buy..hehe

i heard abit abt josi...heard that price is good and can customise...best part is u can even state the specifications of the diamond you want.

My HTB got my ring fr thie Ling Jewellery at orhard hotel. They've got quite nice bands there. n they oso hv a band dat fits nicely w e solitaire so can wear together. Ur might wanna check it out. But maybe i noe wats e average price ur spending on e wedding bands?cos some got as cheap as less than 1000 but some can be 3k plus each leh.

Juski, how many jiemeis u intend to hv?tink u muz give ureself a budget to spend on e dresses cos it'll sorta be like a gift for ur jiemeis n wun get e money back leh

We're sticking to 090909. Results from site inspection yesterday - inconclusive!

Regarding my venue:

Changi Village Hotel
Pros: has the best solemnisation venue – clear sky and sea (after decors, it looks fantastic), exclusive use of the pool area on level 8, free stay at junior suite
Cons: inconvenient location, aeroplanes sound can get a bit too loud at times, no shuttle buses except to and fro Changi Airport, unexperienced wedding coordinators (worried they'll screw up my ceremony), S$108++ per pax (10% disc for UOB cards)

Amara Sanctuary Sentosa
Pros: location is not as inconvenient as CVH plus they have shuttle bus to Vivo City every half an hour, wedding coordinator is flexible and experienced, S$75++ per pax
Cons: no exclusive use of the restaurant beside glass house (unless we cater to 70 pax), function room is like any function rooms at city hotels, free stay at normal deluxe room (add S$650++ to upgrade to junior suite)

Ritz-Carlton Millenia
Pros: 5-star hotel, right in the heart of the city, free stay at junior suite
Cons: S$111.80++ per pax and min 50 pax, solemnisation venue is a small outdoor alcove area beside swimming pool, buffet venue is at a small function room beside the swimming pool and w/o carpet makes it looked a bit shabby

So, Ritz is definitely out for now. The HTB and I have more or less decided on Amara, but I really like Changi Village better leh... How? How? How?

kath> im hving 6jiemei.. mmmm..

i tink my HTB n i shld go walk around orchard area to source for band.. our budget for both not more dan S$2K if can lesser be beta

xiaokeai,
you must think it over carefully. in marriage, it's not just the 2 of you but involving the 2 families too. so you must compromise and bear with them or ... MIL & FIL's problems will always be there, so now it's up to you to decide if you want to tolerate it or not.

but i alwaz find dat jewellery fr those brands like sookee or goldheart,etc r often overprice leh.for e same size of diamond w same specs, private jewellers offer better price leh.

Hi mashi mashi,
PG and VG TBA; ROM at ROM itself; wedding band TBA; lovenest at Holland.
Seems a bit slack eh, so many items TBA! Haha..
Thanks again!

my bands are abt $1.2k for the pair but it's not exactly a pair cos she chose a "fashion ring" and mine is part of a wedding band pair.

i do agree such places price higher ba...but i guess it's paying for their rent...and sometimes perks like 2 yr price gurantee that sort of thing...

hahaha these 2 days i dunno why. i keep nagging at my SO abt the wedding planning. maybe cos when he is free he really just slack at home. when i nag he says ok this weekend (this weekend was said many many weekends again n it nv came) he will look at the PG list i compiled. yest i was out with friends, he at home alone also nv bother to check out the PGs. I nag at him again.. he says he cant find the excel sheet. Problem is he never even bother to find. Haiyo... men... especially my man! haha Such a procrastinator!!

Hey so on 28nov, how shall we identify each other?Need to wear same colour code?haha or use a rose like ur suggested last time?

elyse, ur location wise, both changi village and sentosa will appear to be inaccessible for guests. Imagine ending at 11pm + in sentosa, got shuttle bus also no use, go out may not have transport liao.

My suggestion is go with your heart. Since you like changi village one then jus take that on. It's your wedding, don't think ur guest will mind travelling a little further more to celebrate with you.

City Hall Mrt, Cafe Cartel, 28 Nov (Fri) 7.30pm
- Aroh & WTB
- Lalaa
- Grace
- Noknok
- Kath

*the gathering above is not limited to the respective BTB/GTB...all partners welcome too

6 heads at the moment...anymore???

Amara sanctuary has got shuttle bus to bring guests out at 20min interval.e stop is at vivocity. tink last one is 1030pm if im nt wrong. alternatively, u can charter bus to bring guests out lor. but like wat noknok said, if ur guests r sincere abt celebrating e occasion w ur, they wun mind e travelling one.

Most prob my HTB too.. but not confirm. So how are we suppose to know each other?? Handphone number?? all of us sms aroh?? since his is company phone and we can spam. haha

Kath,
agree with you that soo kee, lee hwa etc are overpriced. my HTB went to these plcs to look for proposal ring, in the end, he got it at Bvlgari which he feels, is cheaper compared to the diamonds of the same category from soo kee etc... for wedding bands, we are looking at cartier's love rings. =D

noknok,
but at least sentosa is nearer to town lo... two of my colls already mentioned that i should be considerate of my guests regarding the travelling. i was so pissed coz i didn't even say i'm going to invite them. all my close friends supported me though, they won't mind changi village.

i really want to go with my heart, but even the HTB feels it's too far and too expensive. the price difference from ritz is only S$3.80++ per pax lo... what do i do? what do i do? pllus, we don't really like the wedding coordinator there. =P

Sabine - Don't be discouraged okie. There is still your actual day where u can take many pictures with your family and friends.

Josie - Thanks for sharing your wedding theme/colours! My colours are starting to take shape though we did not intentionally plan for it. All the stationery are in the ivory/champagne gold/red colour scheme and my florist will use warm colours (orange/yellow) to create a summer/garden feel to the venue.

elyse, who's e coordinator who attended to u?was it Irene? or some new guy?Irene is e main wedding coordinator but she can be quite bz at times. Before we confirmed our booking then, we so had a hard time liasing with her.But she's quite experience w coordinating weddings, so shldnt be a prob.

Hi girls. Just wanna share two ideas that i am using.

Wedding insert aka introductory card: My HTB and I did a folded square card to introduce ourselves to our guests, especially for relatives and friends whom we have not met. There are a couple of paragraphs. Possible topics include: Getting to know us in 3 mins; How we met; First Date, etc etc..

Advice cards: I may use the advice cards to replace the guest book. So, on each advice card, it reads: Your advice for LP and PK
1) No matter, always....remember birthdays and anniversaries!
2) Remember to always....kiss each other good nite;-)
3) Name our first child/pet/suggestion for honeymoon....

My advice cards will double up as my placecards. I have seen brides using advice cards with pictures of themselves.:-)

elyse, u seem to be looking for unusual banquet places like me.. hee.. ever thought of Crown Plaza hotel? At Changi Airport. Although far, but got public transport.

kath,
i'm saying i don't really like the coordinator at changi village, not amara. we like the coordinator at amara, nice chap called samuel and everything negotiable. =)

btw, if u dun wan to customise, u can oso go to eclarity to lk c lk c..coz they hav few hundred designs for u to choose..rather than go shop hopping, i tot tat wld b a gd place to start...same for love n co..

purplzz> hahaha...initially i want to book NCQ..but the coordinator did not reply my emails nor calls...so in the end look look see see and choose hilton

elyse, just like the song, listen to your heart...

choose the place you like and go with it...someone mention before, if ur guests want to go..changi is not too far...if they dun wan to go...at their void deck they also wun appear...

Hi Sharon,

its really up to you to decide. Many do wear Kua or cheongsum due to their dialects...kua or cheongsum mostly referred to the cantonese dialects.

But nowadays its like a trend to wear them.

Just that for me..I wore it once at the PS and felt it was super "cheenaa" too chinese. Plus because i like to be different..so i did the opposite instead. haha. Rebellious eh...

Anyway i already satisfied the elders by taking a pics of me in kua liao. hEEhEE

i should have gone for those pte jewellers last time...too late lar...now got $300+ worth of rebates with LH sure have to go there to use it up after buying their purple gold set and our bands...

elyse,
dun wry la...at least urs still in hotel leh...mine's in e middle of pasir ris park leh...who's worse off right?

if u mean smting to those pple tat u invite, even if u hav it on e moon they wil come...there's alot of tings tat we cant control..jua take tings easy...its ur dae...though we shld consider our guests, priority shld stil go to wat e couple reali wans..