(2009) Brides of year 2009

hi dianna,

not say treat me well lah..but i took the PS early so tats why, plus each time i drag my mum along. Seems they scared of parents more than us.

Its good news hui.Great to have an understanding pair of in laws.

Hi there! New to this forum. I'm going for my choosing of gown at Sltr BW. Any advice on what designs to choose for plus-size bride? I'm totally clueless and a little nervous about going to try the gowns........

i thought PS gowns and AD gowns are suppose to be different de ? thats what my BS told me leh.

Luvlove, care to share where you will be taking outdoor shots on AD? I am thinking of either Punggol marina or Changi boardwalk...

Punggol marina is very far, perhaps changi boardwalk would be a better choice because nearer to my house....

Hi hui,

No its actually the same. But usually there is 2 EG so u can choose.

I hope to take some pics too..but dunno how to manage the time line..cos I will be wearing the WG, then go to my PIL place then change to tea dress..then come back to parents place then go to hotel...got to wear tea dress for cocktail then change to WG and then 2nd march in EG...

I also dunno how to squeeze time in for AD outdoor shots. My parents stay in pasir ris..then my in laws in sembawang. But if take outdoor pics..dunno got time to reach my in laws place by 9.00 am. Then must reach my parents place by 11 am. 2 pm must be at the hotel for check in.Damm rush.

Also...I finally got my 3 angbao boxes. I bought them from Kalm's. Looks good and simple. 2 Gold and 1 Red. Now I will be DIY on my signages for the boxes. So exciting.

Janice > so far as a jie mei the bride nvr communicate how much we'll be getting.. juz say watever $$ we get during gatecrashing will be ours but we do know the couple has agreed beforehand how much to give during gatecrash.

What mashi and grace say is true.. we are not aft the money... we are out for 'blood'.. tekan the hubby!! HAHAHA... so dun worry yourself too much k

Ling> You can check out novotel clarke quay as well.. the packages even the most ex one is less than 1k nett...

Sheraton food is good too if you are interested and the layout is unique too since you will prob be getting two ballrooms in an L-shape for 40 tables... your stage will be laid out diagonal compared to the conventional layout along one side of the wall.

Hi Hui, my friends took at bedok reservior area, great photos. They used the time slot in between tea ceremony to do so, before going to in-law house. So i thought of going there, den maybe along orchard rd since hotel is there... ^_^

Hi vallous, i think u r veri fast in ur preparation, i already slack liao...

hi blinkblink,

my photo shoot is also in Sept... we have so much in common when comes to our wedding... hee hee

i always go "dolish the nail spa" located in tampines... opposite temasek poly... you might wana check out their website at http://dolish.blogspot.com

last time i seldom do manicure and pedicure too... only after i tried "dolish" then i'm kinda addicted... coz i really enjoy how they pamper me... and i love their nail arts...

which day is your shoot? mine is on 16 sept therefore i'm going "dolish" on 15 sept afternoon...

hi geminiger,
3 pcs live band is one of the option can i choose from my wedding wedding.. but yet to confirm whether choosing or not...

hi luvlove,

i have to be fast cos my hubby and I will not be in sg during nov period. He and myself will be on work trip. No choice..plus i enjoyed preparing early in case any hiccups later.

Janice
Cymk
Is there a normal amount to ask? Nothing too high or too low? sisters are thinking of $888 but I was thinking its like a lot yah?

hi all... i went to the novotel wedding show yesterday and managed to secure a good deal.. hehehehe... i hv changed my wedding date.. here is my details...

ROM date: 07.07.2007
ROM venue: Hotel Rendezvous
AD Venue: Novotel Clarke Quay
AD Date: 13th Oct 2009
BS: TBA
AD PG: TBA
AD VG: TBA
WB: Goldheart Celestial
Love Nest: Jurong West

so sad that couldn't get 25 Oct.. cos it might clash with my hubby's exam date.. =(

but still looking forward to my wedding day.. haha.. yesterday la b*lle also part of the wedding show.. seems they giving quite a gd deal.. coming sat going down to take a look.. hehe.. any comments on la b*lle? seems like the bs name cannot be mentioned...

$888? Personally i think is too much for me. and i will be probably very hurt if i know my friends are going to "chop" me during my wedding.

aggiegal, looks like you are going to have lotsa fun. That's good! and let me guess, you sound like a physiotherapist to me

wedding preps can sometimes strain a r/s especially when both don't see eye to eye on money matters. sigh!

Add me to the list!

Im looking at 20-09-2009 and obviously its quite a hot date hence I'm still on waiting list for several hotels.... =\

wish me luck ya!

if they are ur frens, dun tink they will ask so much unless u are very very rich lor...

sisters may wan to start off asking for tat amount. but sure after bargaining, the amount will drop to the affordable amount ba...

Hi Aggiegal, guess it didnt bother me that much... hee... I've gotten most of my daily neccesities stuff last time in Melbourne... after factoring the freight cost and Import taxes and all, it didnt bother me to get most of my stuff here except the convertor plug and all. Winter stuff are in fact v v cheap over there too!

Twinfairy - As to wedding matters, I guess really depends on both families... Our parents very much left us to do what we want as long their expected guestlist are in for the dinner banquet.

now then i realised got this thread! I am a Oct 09 bride too!

ROM date: 17 Nov 08
ROM venue: ROM
AD Venue: York Hotel
AD Date: 3 Oct 09
BS: TBA
AD PG: Friend
AD VG: Friend
PR: Soo Kee (0.88ct Brilliant Rose)
WB: Soo Kee (Jac Laurent)
Love Nest: Pasir Ris (still searching!)

very good mood these few days, i've finally filed my ROM, bought my ROM dress and shoes, confirmed my ROM Hi Tea, confirmed my ROM make up, and most importantly, confirmed my banquet! wahaha
will be sourcing for my love nest first and then my bridal package!
things are finally moving on smoothly!

mashi mashi! nice to see u here too! *waves*

Hi Dianna,

thanks for your well wishes. I am currently safely overseas.

Hey Vallous,

Do prepare early. I am like outstationed for 3 months. Luckily, I started my preparations early.

Hi hui,

Punggol Lallang field is accessible by car. I went there for my PS, but too bad, after we waited for so long, the rain doesn't stop. Thus, we couldn't get down to take any photos. Super sad. I will look around for that road name again. The other time we took a maxi cab and the uncle knows how to go there. Hehe

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Wedding Band</TD><TD>Love Nest </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiang</TD><TD>02/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>02/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny Dew</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Changi Village Hotel</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Changi Village Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ashes</TD><TD>17/11/08</TD><TD>ROM</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>York Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Friend</TD><TD>Soo Kee</TD><TD>Pasir Ris (Still searching) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christy</TD><TD>28/09/08</TD><TD>Marriott Hotel</TD><TD>04/10/09</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Melvin Ho Photography</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>Love &amp; Co</TD><TD>Nil </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrswang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>Bliss @ S'pore Expo</TD><TD>Foto-u</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Buangkok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Verena</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>Wesley Methodist Church</TD><TD>11/10/09</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Big Day Pictures (Yow Siang)</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Toa Payoh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chen Hui Shan</TD><TD>07/07/07</TD><TD>Hotel Reddezvous</TD><TD>13/10/09</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Goldheart Celestial</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashi Mashi</TD><TD>05/06/09</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>16/10/09</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>Dreamcatcher</TD><TD>Wowmedia</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dover </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fea</TD><TD>06/10/07</TD><TD>Aloha Changi</TD><TD>16/10/09 (TBC)</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TianPo</TD><TD>Boon Keng </TD></TR><TR><TD>||</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>The Aisle Bridal</TD><TD>Cartier</TD><TD>Nil </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bubbly19</TD><TD>08/09/08</TD><TD>Peony-Jade Restaurant</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Carlton Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Love &amp; Co</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Queen</TD><TD>21/05/07</TD><TD>Peony-Jade Restaurant</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>Daniel Beh</TD><TD>Big Day Studio</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aggiegal</TD><TD>03/01/08</TD><TD>Goodwood Park Hotel</TD><TD>30/10/09</TD><TD>Intercontinental Hotel</TD><TD>EdmundLeong Photography</TD><TD>RedHat Media</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>Fairy's Inc</TD><TD>LA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peareys</TD><TD>11/10/08</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>31/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>SG Bridal</TD><TD>eClarity</TD><TD>Commonwealth </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

christy: eh you know my name ah?? hahha ya ya

i have not settled my BS/AD PG &amp; VG yet loh, shall be doing it after my ROM cos now busy with the preparations for the upcoming ROM and Love nest. next weekend go hunting for shoes and HTB outfit liaos....

Gosh, S$888 is too much. If I get one more Jie meis, it will be 4. Although its even nos but its an unlucky nos. How many jie meis you gals have? He has many xiong di's. Btw I dun mind my Jie mei's to TAKAN (sabotage) them. But when comes to the $, I worried they will ask too much lor. So how??
How do you gals plan to do on this??

S$888!!!!??!! eh, pls lah....ur jiemeis tik that they r attending some kind of celebrity's wedding or sth is it??

might as well ask them to go rob the bank...even faster tat way...definitely more than S$888 lah...

wah lau eh...ur jiemeis coming to bless u n ur hb n have some fun or just to 'chop both ur carrot heads or wat'?? too much man, some ppl!

actually, even the sabo part, i also dun agree. I already have repeatedly expressed myself that i will not subject my bf to such treatment.

janice,

For me, i planning to get max ard 4 lor. to me, i dun feel it is unlucky no. depend on hw u c it ba. or unless u very pantang then get more lor...

hmm. i seen b4 got xiongdi more than jie mei lor. so no worries. as long its even no. then ok ba...

normally, gals tat can b ur jie mei will knw u well enough de lor. wun ask too much de ba. unless they are out to earn ur $$...

for me, no plans. let my jie mei to handle. juz ask them not to go too overboard. shld b ok.
dun worry too much lor. juz let natural take course ba...

Hi grace,

be safe overseas too. Yup I am almost done with all my preparations. Even sought out which cake shop for cake vouchers and guo da li cakes. Have to do early..no choice.

hi Vallous
i called my BS and asked.. they told me they dun allow PS and AD gowns to be same... so i will be having differnt gowns! Yippee!
Btw Vallous, where your hotel near to? is it near City? perhaps u can go Fullerton hotel area or Esplanade to take some nice outdoor shots before U head for hotel....

Hi Grace,
tats great.... I am now considering Punggol Marina area, if can go to the lallang area, i would love to try taking photos there too!

Hi luvlove, do you stay in bedok? Bedok Reservoir is now on my list too, after u mention, i almost forgotten abt this nice place in bedok.... wow.. then there are so many places to consider now...

Oh ok, after hearing this, my mind is more set. 3 Jie meis for me. For the amount, I will asked them to give a fixed amount during our gals gathering one of the days.

Btw do you gals think its a good idea not to have any gatecrashing?

hahaha...me me me!!! i'm not having any gatecrashing n i'm pretty happy abt tat decision...even my parents r ok with it...anyhow, i've just heard frm my frd n colleague who's teochew...she said tat teochews dun practise gatecrashing ceremony traditionally...it's cantonese who do the gatecrashing fun....

anyhow, having been jiemeis for so many frds, i dun quite see the thrill of tat anymore...it used to be fun but after a while, it's just the same old protocol...jin sian liao...

Janice, to waive off the gatecrashing thingy, i tik u better check with ur elders if they r ok abt it...

oh really! You are not having any gatecrashing? So how is the procedures gonna be like when your husband come over to pick you up?? My parents ok one. I think they dun even know whats gatecrashing. hahaha.. btw only my husband is cantonese, and not me.

How is the process like, Grace?? Tell me tell me.

Also we wont be having any videographer. One of the purpose of having gatecrashing also coz you can video it down and display it later during the wedding dinner. However ours happen to be a lunch reception and according to the videographer, its too short a time for them to edit the video and have it displayed during lunch reception. So no videographer for us..:-( Maybe asking a fren to video it down.

aiyah, Janice...in tat case, good enough to have a frd video ur day for u since urs is just a lunch reception...no need to waste $$ on such stuff lah...

hahaha...yup, we not having gatecrashing...we haven't really tot abt it in details yet...but it's going to be kinda funny in a way....both of us going to meet each other at the hotel direct...wearing out tshirt and shorts...with all our stuff...then we'll do everything else at the hotel...ROM, tea ceremony, cocktail reception then banquet dinner...

Wow i thought my PS in early Nov was early, you guys are even earlier! phew.. ok thought my timeline was a little warped.
Was thinking Jan 09 also, but scared Dec and Jan are rainy months.. earlier better than later i guess..?

gown choosing in one month, so exciting! =D

Haha.I guess I can be considered quite laid back then. AD on 22 May 09 and only booked dinner venue! Have pretty much decided on BS so just need to go and make a deposit. Then erm, not sure what to do next. Prob book AD photographer. LOL!

doesn't matter to me if there is gatecrashing or not. i really don't like those games that make the guys eat funny terrible stuff. i think is so horrible to subject your loved one to eat these kind of stuff.

grace - i think urs is good and spontaneous and fun arrangement. totally relax, that's cool!

hi hui,

thanks for the recommendations. My hotel is Conrad Centennial. I dont think I got the time plus the area there got so many people and my wedding is on 01 Jan sure lots of people ard. I am quite crowd fright. I not used to ppl looking at me also. Plus I don think i will wear my gowns to the hotel. Will changed into something simple to walk or wear the tea dress to the hotel. As the time is so tight, we wish to rest for at least 2-3 hours before dinner commences..plus we still have a pre-dinner to eat at our suite and discuss things with the hotel manager.

Tats good for you too..at least you get different gowns. You are lucky. Not all BS allow that.

haha..i guess i am not a big fan or photography haha cos i feel i not photogenic. if you ask the rest, i din top up my album and my AD phtography and videography package is minimal. i paid $1400 in total. Big part of it..is we are quite broke liao..haha so knt spend so much haha. So pics are the first to go and cut down based on our priority. So quite envious of you guys who focus a lot on pics.

had not logged in for long due to my exams..

wana check if our wedding is in Dec, when should we select our gown etc..??

GDL etc etc..

today, newspaper got a topic on weddings also on forum. Said many couples nowadays also spent too much.

Actually my hubby and i also sometimes overspend. But we need time to sit down and ask ourselves really do we need all these. It is indeed once in a lifetime, but tat doesnt mean we go broke because of it. A lavish wedding doesnt guarrantee an eternity of marriage.

Thus We also feel a little guilty of spending so much on our wedding dinner already hahaha..i guess too late.

jill.. you n your hubby work out a sum between the two of you then you multiple by the number of jie meis.. that should b an easier way ba... at least no chance for catfight between the jie meis for ang bao kekeke

Yeah Grace, I think you have saved alot of troubles. You see I am scratching my head now.
Our case will be the normal traditional type whereby he will come over to my place to pick me up. Can you gals imagine me not having any gatecrashing? Thats weird...Wondering anything to substitute for this part.

So twinfairy, you dun plan for any gatecrashing at all too? Btw do you gals have the tong shui for 2009? I wanna check on one of the dates.

ya vallous... i won't be topping up my bridal photos too because want to keep my budget to the minimum, afterall the album will end up in cupboard collecting dusts leh.....

but i hope to take more photos on AD because its included in the PG package mah, so dun waste it haha.... but vallous ur date is a hot date !!! new year!!!

my bf just bought 2 tong shus 2009 for our mums. the tong shu already out.

gatecrash? maybe he just open the door himself and walk in. haha... the last time my bro got married, my sis-in-law had 2 jiemeis which were her own sisters. nothing much no games too, just pretending not to open door. after 1 minute, also opened door for us to come in. no ang paos too. but there was no issue.

everyone was happy and we all followed them to take photos outdoor.

vy25> not really bz leh.. kinda lazy to do anything now.. hahahha.. my next fitting is on 13/09/2008, so from now till den there's nutting much to do.. so shake leg.. =P how abt u?

honeymoon(HM) is not in our list yet cos we intend to settle the wedding and banquet 1st (read: how much we are left with) b4 deciding where we wana go.. but shortlisted Japan and US as our ideal HM destinations.. both my htb and myself love shopping, so we are likely to go on a shopping HM.. =P

Adeline> welcome welcome!! seems like we are having more btbs here!! =)

are your gowns otr or mtm? dun worry, i'm also a plus-size bride (i have super thick waist!! =P), but i got both of my WG and EG mtm. my only concern was the gowns designs which i "reseach" thru quite a number of bridal mags and webbies.. but in the end i let my htb and BS designer finalise the design that they tink will suit my body shape. dun worry, the BS co-ordinators and designers should have the expertise and experience on finding the suitable design for your body shape!! =)

yeah, Janice...u noe ar, i just attended a gf's wedding last mth where i was her jiemei too...i was kinda running late...guess wat when i reached her place? her hb was sitting at the sofa outside her place....WAHAHAHA...

tat also kinda affirmed my ideas tat gatecrashing also not tat necessary lah...of cos many ppl do it just to create atmosphere....but there's no hard and fast rule...

since u guys r going to do it simple, then i say...just go without the gatecrashing...make it a bit humourous though so it wouldn't seem so awkward...

also, along the way where u will make tis decision, u will face many ppl telling u things like...eh, y u make it so easy for ur hb to marry u lah blah blah....dun be upset...it doesn't ever mean tat u dun have gatecrashing, hence u r deemed as cheap and easy to marry....

come to tik of it, wearing tshirt and ter kor will prob make it damn hilarious for my videographer man...they must be expecting their couple to be dressed nicely alrd...then we both wear tshirt and ter kor with sandals to the hotel...WAHAHAHA

after talking to you gals, i then realized that actually gatecrashing is not a must. If i m able to substitute with something, then maybe it wont make the whole situation aweward. i hv to consider abt this.

Hi fanny, are u using Mojoideas? Any comments abt them? Can u share ur pkg with me? cos we quite interested upon seeing their website..
hee...

hi brides, can any kind souls advise me what is pre-wedding shots? Is it those shoots by our bridal studio?