(2009) Brides of year 2009

Bubbly19> Oh your Lynn ah? Kekekek. Me ah will be using Melvin for AD. Wanted to take him for ROM one but hor I paid deposit for my ROM liao a bit wasteful if I dun use my current PG which was also recommended by my personal PG... ok lor just give it a trust on his work see how is it... hopefully its good and up to my expectation. Pass 1-2 mths a bit upset... but got to accept it. So now Melvin will be my AD PG... I am really happy I have not pay deposit yet but he have agree to help me block the date for me until my FH comes back and we meet up if we can click we will pay him the deposit upfront lor... this time no regrets liao. Hahahaha.

Twinfairy> Are you also from NCC??? cause I read somewhere you from there.

Hi cardith... 14 aug should be less popular considering its the 7th mth. As long as you and your family are ok with that then it's all that matters. When my fiance decided on the date we thought it would be the 7th mth too but we didnt mind but as his family is chinese his mum was a bit hesitant but we told its the date we want so she agreed! but luckily for us it turned out not to clash with the 7th mth after all!

Hi Dianna,
Is really quite unprofessional of ur bs to do such thing?demand for compensation? if u really want the EG appear in ur album,maybe u really hv 2 bring ur PS earlier.Dun let this affect ur mood ya..

Why is it so quiet recently? Btw I need some advises on the gatecrashing 'Red Packet' for the Jie Mei (sisters). How much is enough? I actually dun wish my husband to pay so much. So I would like to have a discussion with my Jie Meis before that. Could someone share with me abt this?

hi twinfairy,

dun worry too much. you can always make an appointment with them. then have a feel about them. you will also be asked to try on their gowns...and there are no obligations to sign on the spot. i signed up after making many other BS visits.

Hi desjO
ya, very not pro on their part. Careless also. Like what i have said, if they could not compromise me of getting the gown tat i want, and resulting in re-choosing the evening gown, i may ask for more photos or have all or the most 80% of my raw photos taken back as compensation.

Cos is their mistake, and shouldnt make it like its though my mistake.

ya lo..too much..must mk sure they compensate u..keke..this is once in a lifetime tin,so must have what we want

btw wana check is there any minimum order for the clothes??

hehehe....i'm still here...

honestly, abt ur wedding reception lunch program, i tik it's either u guys can do a dance or allow ur guests to dance also or get a band to perform or sth...

as for ur gatecrashing, usually frm my experiences as a jiemei for many of my frds...none of tis is communicated to us...as jiemeis, we dun really tik of 'knocking' $$ off the bridal couple lah...just want to have fun and disturb the groom nia...and make the express highlights more interesting...

however, if u get worried tat ur jiemeis r going to do tat, when u have ur jiemeis' gathering, just tell them to Žè‰º—¯î

I am also around!!!

I intend to give $50 as ang bao for each jie mei, so far, only 1 volunteer to help me. As for the gate crash, i always thought it was for show leh. Is there a need to give separately again? But then, how many jie meis are needed?

Entertainment for guests. From my observation, i think the best entertainment would be the couple themselves mingle with the guests. I went to a wedding before where the couple really mingled around freely with everyone. Very spontaneous!

I have 3 jiemeis. I heard that it should be even numbers. Not sure whether it is inclusive or exclusive the brides to make it an even number.

Oh..thats quite a lot. I am actually thinking of S$99.00 total for 3 jiemeis. Is it too miserable? I am kinda worried, so asked first before breaking the news to my jie meis. I worried my jie meis will be unhappy. Haha..

I plan to just sit there and enjoy the good food. Never tot of mingling around. Hahaha..guess im greedy pig.

hihi, am new here too..mine wedding date is also may 09

raine: u not kiasu lah..i have confirmed my PG and VG in Jun liao...haha...

Mashi> I agree with your saying.

Just went to NTUC to buy some stuff for our moving over to LA. Reminded me so much of my times when I was doing my studies in Brisbane last year. Feel like an auntie when I was checking out the prices of cutlery, towels, etc... But am happy to buy this kind of things, cos they are for your own use. I believe when it's time for you ladies to do home shopping, you will feel the excitement =) Am buying them little by little, cos too heavy to get all at once and I don't have car =P

Jennydews> Once you have shortlisted a few BS based on their gown designs in the mags, then you go and read up on each BS's thread comments before deciding which BS to go look look see see. Save your effort in gg down to each and every one of them =)

Kiwimelon> Welcome to our thread. Share your questions and excitement here!

Twinfairys> Good that ur FH is not opposed to the idea of overseas PS. Make sure you know which part of Bintan got nice spots to take pics, that will save ur time.

We only topped up another 8 more. Cos we don't want the package to hit over 4K. Actually, BS's dealings is, the more pics you take up, the more that they can charge you cheaper by the tens (of pics). So ask them. I think if I'm not wrong, top <10, per pic can be at least 88. If about 20 pics, per pics can be ard 70. If more than 20, it can be ard 55-65. But that's a general guideline la.

Verena &amp; Twinfairys> I have 2 friend couples going for marriage preps as well. I think it's a good idea. One couple said that they realise a lot of things about each others and finds that this course is good.

I have not tried it before and my HB doesn't think we need it. After we have been through a lot these years (+ a long distance relationship last year for the whole year), we come to realise the imptance of communication. We also learn to realise the imptance of timing to talk about certain issues, each others' personalities and upbringings, school of thoughts towards the same matters.

Most imptance is not take each other for granted, no matter how long you have known each other, how well you think you know each other. Never assume you know each other well. Once in marriage, the boy-gal love will eventually change into respect and trustful kind of love. Can be a tad boring but I find it is helpful to know that you have cherished love.

There are times we want to kill each other, but we know that we can survive through these times and laugh about it in due times. We decided that once we are in this marriage together, divorce is not an option anymore. We just have to work through things together. So touched when he said that to me.

Good luck to your preps gals. You will all pull it off.

Mrswang> Sign only if you feel comfortable. Trust your 6th sense.

aggiegal - it is certainly very exciting to buy stuff for your own home. and furthermore, the two of you been thru so much, definitely more excitement. what will you be doing in LA? will you be working over there as well?

i have a fren who married a swiss. moved herself there last dec. now, she is complaining very bored to be at home. difficult to get a job there despite she holds a postgrad degree.

agreed communication is very impt in a r/s. i remembered initially after bf proposed to me, we had quarrels every now and then, so much so that i was having 2nd thought of marrying him, good thing he is a patient guy, otherwise, dun think we can come so far.

i just hope in the midst of preparing for our wedding, we won't forget the most impt thing to do. That is to prepare ourselves for a lifetime marriage!

I am also a 21st Nov bride!!! I wonder if we all went to the same geomancer???

Nick: frances02
AD: 21 Nov 2009 (sat)
Venue: Rasa Sentosa
Bridal studio: Bridal de Couture

Hi all, I've started preparing early too. One year before my wedding. Mine is on the 30 May 09. One day before Flowie.

I've also booked my banquet, church wedding, BS and have confirmed which AD Photographer to use too haha. Yes i also dislike to rush into it so at least i have the time to do my ang bao box. My own pew ribbons for my church wedding.

I've also done up my own ring pillow haha. Kiasu rite?

Hi Lorraine,

u r not kiasu lah...

i have booked my banquet and BS... pre booked my friends to be my AD PG &amp; VG... bought some materials for making corsages and ang bao box... my friends had given me a ring holder carriage instead of ring pillow as a gift... i even bought my heels for AD and outdoor photo shoot and prebooked a manicurist to do my manicure + pedicure...

hmmm... like that see... i'm more kiasu compare to you...

but still looking for wedding bands... considering whether to have real wedding cake... haven start doing the montage...

wah... things to do seem like never ending....

Hey,

Have U gals encounter any problems with your auto email notifications from SG brides? I seems not be able receive alot postings... just some intermittent postings here and there. Never had this issue before...

Twinfairy - U must be excited to be taking your pre wedding piccies soon? When you taking your Pre wed PG? I will be taking overseas too, but next year though.

Aggiegal - I agree with you... I have had good memories during my studies in Melbourne too.
Btw, wouldnt it be easier and maybe even cheaper to get those household items there instead? Towing with a xtremly heavy luggage may not be fun too. Hee! Though for trips to US, the baggage limits are slightly higher than other destinations. =)

Yo all........

I am May 09 BTB too.....I have also booked my banquet and gown package. Preparing for Sept photoshoot now

Hi Flowie....my AD is 31 May too! hehe
I am looking for good manicurist for my Sept photoshoot. I don do manicure one, so still wondering where to go.....Which one u r going to?

Glamourous,

I also encounter the same ting lor. think SG brides having some prob ba. haha... but still can drop in here to c whether got any new post. haha...

Hi gals like to share my pre-wedding pics, taken by my sis at luvlove22.multiply.com
^_^

Hi dianna, hope to hear good news from ur BS.

hi blinkblink, so ur wedding gown is ready?? i will only go for my first measurement in sep and my photoshoot in jan 09..

i tot i have done quite a bit le but looking at u gals, seems like i have thousand and one things to think abt now..

anyone engaging live band? am thinking to engage one..

btw, lorraine: i am also engaging Jess Haute Couture for my gown package..
Engaged them for my ROM last yr tot Jessica is not bad.

Who are u using for ur AD PG? I have engaged George from Jess Haute Couture.

Twinfairy,

i tink is depends on urself de lor. so far my frens they never give separately lor, juz the gate crashing ang pow nia. but the ang pow is nt small lar. of coz.

so for me is tat if gate crashing ang pow they take is big liao then no need to give separate. if nt then give them each another ang pow as appreciation lor.

Janice,
That time my fren also hv 3 jie mei only. so depends on whether ur elders got say anything or nt. if nt, 3 is ok lor if xiog di is also 3. haha.. i still believe in even nos. haha...

there is no alot or little in the ang pow lor. depend on hw much u can afford de... believe if ur frens are sincere on being ur jie mei, dun tink they will mind gettin hw much.

tink u can discuss wif ur HTB to c hw much he willing to give. juz tell ur jie mei to shou xia liu qing can liao. no need to tell them exact hw much u b givin them ba...

u sure no time to eat all the gd food de. u will b very busy tat day de lor. haha...

anyone going to take Outdoor Shots on Actual Day itself? where would you go? I am thinking of going to the beach at Punggol there... because future house is in Punggol and i love beach shots.... I ask my photographer... he say its possible just that ppl seldom go beach on actual day but he also can arrange for me if i want.

hi hui,

I'm intending to take outdoor shots on AD itself, else will not be able to take shots (not candid shots) in my AD gown.

I am thinking of Punggol Lallang field. Anyone know where's the exact road, as in what's the road name?? thanks...

Hui, i will be taking my outdoor shots at my banquet venue. Have already inform my 2 photographers to help me do tat. =)

Hi luvlove &amp; Vallous
Went to the BS just now. I have made some changes to my wedding gown selection. My evening gown will be in a bright pink colour. I will post it up later in my website. And i also re-choose one wedding gown to a look-alike champagne gown also. So my photos will be quite colourful. im pleased with the arrangements now, and i keep reminding the coordinator to check carefully even before i left. haha, cos i really too scared it will happen again.

Hi Grace... i heard that Punggol lallang field is not accessible by Car leh... after u drive there have to Walk very long inside.... correct me if i am wrong, anyone..... but if able to get there... it will be a very nice place to take wedding photos in our AD wedding gown.... and also the beach... look so nice lor

hi luvlove,

saw ur pics...very nice..

hi hui,

i dont think i got the time to take outdoor shots cos we will be rushing from one house to another then to the hotel. But we will most prob take some shots at Conrad hotel as the ambience and long stair case is stunning. We might take before dinner or after dinner.

hi dianna

happy for u that you manage to settle the BS stuff. I also hope to take some pics in my wedding gown as my PS WG is different from my AD WG. If not too wasted. All of my AD gowns are not the same as my PS.

ya lor! Vallous!
AD gowns not same as Ps gowns... so must really take as many as we like leh....

for me, i have gotten approval to do tea ceremony at my own house first , so got alot of time to do Outdoor Shots....

haha Glamorous, you are mistaken. I haven't even signed up any bridal package yet. Just thought of doing the PS in Bintan but subject to change.

Today is the day when bf make the formal announcement to my parents. It was a good thing that my mum spoke up first on our wedding plan. And a good thing my dad is in good mood and gave quite a few suggestions.

All in all, everything went smooth.

One task done!

Hello !!
How's everyone?? Seems kinda quiet here.. heee. bz?
has anyone plan for their honeymoon already?
i'm torn between a shopping honeymoon and a romantic honeymoon... anyone has got any advise???

Hi Vallous

Ur BS treat u veri gd hor, can get different gowns for your photoshoot and AD seperately. I can only choose 1 out of 2 gowns each for WG &amp; EG tat i pick for my photoshoot to be used on my AD. Anyway, i like my choices than before.

Twinfairys> It is indeed exciting to get stuff our your own household, just like what I did for my postgrad last year. First, I settle down and get used to the lifestyle there. I heard there's a lot of places to see over there and my HB wants to check the places 2gether, aka mini honeymoons around (I said that he is lucky to be able to save this kind of $ cos we are visiting states mah). I will volunteer at the hospitals that I want to work, if needed, I may need to sit for entrance exams to practise my profession in US and other countries as appropriate. These will look good on my CV when I come back to Singapore after a few years later as it goes to show that I'm always upgrading myself in terms of professional knowledge. With my profession and knowledge, there's a lot of things such as gym trainers, yoga/ pilates instructor that I can be. I would like to do charity work and raise fund by doing marathons.

So it will depend on what I will be able to do in each country that my HB is posted. So it will not be boring for me at all. I will also be looking into buying things form overseas and get my SG friends to sell in SG =P For fun la. I also promise HB that I will learn playing tennis for him, just as he has promised he will play badminton, rollerblading, cycling and training for running with me. Muahaha! He said I have a better deal than him.

I find that wedding preps can be quite challenging to a relationship, where both the couples, and their families may have different expectations. But when communications is trashed out and stated clearly, then everything will be clear and in the open. I agree with you, have to prepare for a life long marriage.

Glad to know the major event has gone well. Congrats ah!

GG> Yup, household appliances will be purchased there due to voltage differences, as many kitchen appliances don't come with a convertor except for hps, laptops. Others like necessities and daily life stuff will be cheaper to get here than in places like US (If India or China, then it's the other way round). Plus we have 900kg freighting quota, so it's not a concern =)

I didn't know we can do auto notification. How to ah? =P Paiseh, me very sua ku.