(2009) Brides of year 2009

Wow..seeing you all's spendings on the wedding + house..make me also go & calculate our expected expenditure (haven't really add up all our expenses though I did keep track of all the things we incurred/ going to incurred..heehee)

I estimate our total expenses will be between 30-40k, mainly cos we don't have a new place, so no need to do any renovation or buy any furnitures.

Hi Grace,
Which part of USA will you be interested in? If you are keen on places like New York, Atlanta or Florida , I will be glad to share some information with you. :p

wow, din know tat renovation can cost so much. I was looking at the most min. of 15k of renovation since i have opted the tiles and doors from hdb for my new flat which i am getting in 3 years time.

My honeymoon is at taiwan which i have signed up with SA tours on fri during the NATAS fair. i find their price is quite resonable compared to the rest over there. And theirs is the only one with dates till Mar 09.

Hi everyone, i'm May09 btb too... i like this thread... very active... and everyone of us are so excited to welcome our special day next May... ('.')V

Vy25,
Chill a bit.. dun worry too much!! my PS also in jan. i also hvnt settle designs for all my WG, EG and tea-dress yet. So u r not alone ar.. Me also start to a lil stressed le...

Thank you so much.. Had enjoy my photoshoot. Did not take outdoor shoot cos my hubby dun like to be sweating all over.. LOL. The photographer keep saying that hubby and me can't smile well.. so end up practising while changing hairstyle.. haha..

Hi Dianna,
My photograher is steve.. a very nice chap. He had asked us wat kind of photo we want before starting.. Maybe you can check with veron bout him..

wow it sure will costs $75K cos u have bath tubs and fully aircon and made to measure for most stuff.

Our home is also a resale. We hack up everything 2 toilets and kitchen. Its a must lor. But still steep though I felt. But I am sure yours has so much more quality than mine lah.

But dun bath tubs with jets waste a lot of water. PUB bill not high meh. Change all the tiles and hacking will depend on wat type of tiles u choose...so dianna no need to worry...15K for renovation is achievable. We did it under 20K for our resale unit. Yours is new...sure can.

If you go to the forum for reno, you will notice many couples do it in 15K as well.

Hi Hi!

I'm a July 09 btb too. Currently fixing on 4th July, same as shiyan & june june!

Guess it will be so fun to share our experience here

Hello aggiegal,

Hmm... your pointer refers to the claws/ prongs that hold the diamond? Ya, my proposal ring has the diamond set high, but i thought is like any other solitaire ring. The slim band i saw at Clarity, the small diamond is more held by the "joint" of the ring. There isn't any claws/ prongs holding to it. From top view, it is just like a miniature solitaire.

After I agreed to his proposal, he has already set a few rules to when i can wear my solitaire out. No to work and overseas. I can only wear during weekends. Haha... funny right!

So i thought better to have a matching band so that if i am wearing the solitaire, it fits together with the wedding band.

Hey mashi, i think is a good idea to draw up the table. Maybe you all like to put in your new home area eg Queenstown, Clementi etc...

Haa.. wildwood..

Yea... settle everything liao.. like nothing much to do or research on le.. Me also finalised everything except the church venue =.=

So now i got some time to look at flats..

If anyone is still updating the list? Haa.. i have no idea how to make the tables!

For me is losing weight FIST then find BS. So i hope time passes more slowly. LOL

Christa> I also looking for flat now. Really jialat.. Cant find one. Either is too ex or not ready. Hiaz..*headache*

Hi curious BTB, welcome!

I'm having mine on 11 July 2009
Have settled the wedding banquet, but put the rest on hold for the moment due to other commitments. Next up - bridal salon!

Cherie

Haha... Me found a BS first.. They rush me to take my overseas photography earlier, but i say WE need time to lose weight... lol.. I guess you should grab the chance of any roadshow and sign up if you think the prices are ok.. At least one thing off your mind.

I saw at least 10 resale flats already.. nice one ganna bought very fast, before i got a chance to arrange for 2nd visit. Then my fh keep saying now is peak cannot buy. Nvm.. will slowly view till i see one i like. Haa.. the agent will be so fed up with me!

New BTO or DBSS flats.. are too exp to be bought!

vy25, me been putting weight oso.. hahahah.. tink it's the stress and everything tat made me eat more.. i've juz started cutting down my food intake, esp carbo.. for dinner, me oni eat all the dishes w/o any rice.. but dunno how's the results la, cos oni juz started.. =P

vy25/thebsea, dun worry la.. besides my BS and banquet, me haven settle anything else loh.. my pg/vg haven find, my wedding bands not ordered oso.. hahahha..

Many thanks, chottie.

wow~ looking at all your renovationcosts, I think I better start to scrimp and save before my flat comes huh... By the time it comes, I can have a better cash flow. Else, must really buy piece by piece. This month buy bed, next month buy tv etc. Haha... As mine would definitely be a new flat (trying to be patient with HDB and see when they can give me a good number to choose a flat!), I guess not much renovation needed. More money would be spent on furnishing (electronics, lighting etc.).

Hey Ladies, last night i have signed up for 2 classes. One at Jurong Spring CC, course is Body Toning starting on 13 August, every wednesday. Another one at Frontier CC, course is Aerobics Dance starting on 19 August, every monday.

Anyone staying in Jurong, wanna join me together?

wildwood, i also tink time is passing dam slowly....cant wait to go tw for my PS..hahaha

cherie....you should source for BS first....then go on a diet mah...haha....its not like they will take your measurement now for your wedding in dec next year...^^

christa....**sigh**....flats are really a pain ....hahaha...BTO in are all in the xtreme ends, and DBSS is equivilant to buying a private/condo.....resale, i got no cash......HEADACHE AHHHHHH!!!!!

twinfairy, just curious. How come ur HTB only allow u to wear ur PR during weekends? Too big to wear for work? =) I wear mine everyday since HTB proposed 2 weeks ago..=)

spree for wedding gowns and evening gowns?? u mean they go for cheap prices??

eh, actually icicle...u meant to say tat u r selling stuff online lah....tis is thread for 2009 brides n not the sales thread leh...faintz

Eve, one of my gfs who just went for the recent fair signed up for S$3888 for her BS pkg with French Bridal...i tik tat's pretty much the norm....

Hi grace,luvlove & cosyouaremygal,
Thanks for the info given for the japan trip,seems like japan is so well like ;p If going free & easy,u think is ok?normally go with tour very rush.Since is Honeymoon,wanted to be in a slower pace ;p

cosyouaremygal,
Indeed ur renovation took very long..mine finish should be sept too.the tot of washing & maintainance of the house is really scary

luvlove,
ur bathroom so big can put bathtub?so nice..

Dianan,
Very hardworking of you..i'm keen also..but Jurong is too far away for me..do update if got good result?keke

eh u all are all sourcing for flats now already when AD is Dec 09 ah? hah i should make my HTB read this. he keeps saying i'm too kancheong, what if we find a flat very fast then we have to push forward our ROM cos we want a particular date.. hah!

and i see u all also sourcing for BS so soon! i read somewhere that shouldn't sign so early right cos some of the gown designs will be out of date..? plus PS won't be so soon correct.. now only Aug 08, PS should be around... Mar/Apr 09?

Hi Eve,
i signed up wif signoria at vivo fair.. i signed up wif them is becoz i like their fantasy theme =) someting special n so far they r e onli BS tt have fantasy effect.

whoa...dianna,

u are sooo hardworking...so many programmes..but i guess i only have time for one. After work stil gotta entertain parents and parents in law then hubby...already shack. Plus housework somemore...

Ehh.. sign package first is to secure the price first.

Gown selection only takes place 3 mths b4 your AD. So you dun choose your gowns on the day you sign.. heee.. dun worry! Can sign now!

Hi grace
maybe u try contacting him, but he dun do design work, our house reno we designed ourselves. contractor Ah Kim 94875658

Hi Vallous
Cos mine executive, at 130 sq ft. Den we only had the 4 bedrooms aircon, living area just ceiling fan will do. Living area dun have TV & sofa too, we convert one room for these, plus we also hacked one room & re-built with glass panel.

As for the bathtub, we only tried once, so waiting for the bill to come liao. ^_^

Also the breakdown for reno for mine is like this:
-Renovation work (tiles, false ceiling, bathrooms etc) all things required contractor work : $30k
-Capentry (built in wardrobes,kitchen cabinets, bed frame, doors etc) : $22k
-Furnishing & electrical products (aircons, lightings, tvs, sofa, dinning table, curtains etc) : $23k

After breaking down den reno amt not so huge, cos me & hubby add everything up, easier to remember.

So grace, since urs is built in with floor tiles den need not worry, just need to paint & put false ceiling if required. So wont be expensive, built in only for kitchen cabinets usually ard $5-7k.

Anyway vallous, ur reno $20k includes furnishing & electrical products anot?? I curious ^_^

oh is it? so i should actually scout around for a suitable place first? usually how long before AD/ROM should the PS take place? i'd have to have chosen my gowns etc by then right..? i assume that whatever u choose for PS would be used on AD too rite..?

sorry i'm quite lost on this..

hi twinfairy
my ad is 21st nov too!!
Bridal De couture offer both package and ala carte...
can check them out at marina square this weekend...

Verena,

The reasons are

1. too showy for work (I don't work in CBD area)
2. not convenient to wear to work (I don't stay in office most of the time.)
3. in case the ring goes missing, will create a lot of problem for me at work. (not nice to suspect own colleagues)

But I am sure you will remember your proposal for a very long time... sweet sweet ah...

Hi Desjo, if u are going japan free & easy, remember to plan ur routes, as taxi very expensive, must take public transport. If toyko still can go free & easy, but Hokkaido more rural, not much public transport.

Also desjo, ur house also at Sengkang area right? Is it executive? Cos I hacked the toilet wall to make way for the bathtub (length 1500mm) and rebuilt with clear glass. Got this idea from HDB booklet.

Hi Dianna, u very hardworking, i working retail hours, so not much time for programmes, usually crush ones, i also lazy have to do housework plus entertain my dogs. ^_^

I am so sorry.. gown selection is 3-4 mths before your PS.. ha...

But WGselection for outdoor shoot and AD is different.. cos they dunwan you to dirty the WG during ur shoot b4 your big day!

christa, some BS will use ur AD wedding gown for ur indoor shoot so won't dirty but u will have another WG to use for ur outdoor shoot =)

i already got my BTO flat now waiting for it to be built..hahahaha

pebbles, like christa said, sign package first is to secure prices...coz every yr go up one =) PS depends on u but usually the PG will suggest that ur PS be no later than 3-5 mths before ur AD so got enuff time to do the artwork and stuff for ur album...I personally having my PS next May at the suggestion of my designer...plus must take into account of 7th n "haze season"

then if u doing ala carte, u got to find ur own PS PG like me...so u might wanna start doing research =)

Hi Twinfairy and Verena,

U gals are cute... what are your PR carat size?
Im just curious.... coz I dont wear my PR to work too.. but many of my colleague does... So Im just trying to see whats the common trend. =)

hi luvlove,

yup mine all in with electrical and furnishing 20K. My reno is 17K. 3K for furnishing and electrical.

my reno includes: laminated flooring, hack and retile kitchen and bathroom, , painting , rewiring, changing of pipes cornices

carpentry: kitchen cabinets, doors

I have 2 aircons system 2 given by contractor, also the kitchen hood and hob. toliet accessories got discount from contractos. Curtains from ikea and the contractors set up for me. TV from warehouse sale, sofa from Sea Horse 50% warehouse sale too. Our kitchen fridge, hi fi, home theatre systems and washing machine bought from a wholesaler store that supplies to government agencies so it is very cheap. Almost 50% discount for some items. They even fix and deliver for free as well. My lightings bought from a neighbourhood shop at yishun, I bought 8 lights in total, including one designer light for my kitchen totalling for $200.

But my home is very simple Zen style..so no need lots of stuff.

hi luvlove, check with you on the quality of your contractor's work. Is it acceptable to you? many thanks for the contact. Will be calling him down to quote later.

Dianna, I live 'opposite' you, remember? very much want to join u but I'm leaving for overseas work next week. So sorry...

desjO, tokyo free and easy is super easy! Trust me! First day you will feel very lost at the train station, grab someone ask them how to buy tickets, and learn to read the train map (you can download from online). Then you're good to go on your own the next few days. Agree with luvlove that you have to plan properly where you want to go first. It will be more effective. Also, join the little tour groups available at your hotel lobby. I joined them for Mount Fuji. Quite cheap!

From Tokyo airport, you can buy tickets at this counter whereby they got buses to most major hotels in Tokyo. It's quite expensive, but cheaper than taxi, definitely!

Hokkaido will be hard to go free & easy, unless you all drive. I read the book by Mary (Yess 933 DJ), she says all cars there have GPS, so not an issue if you know where you want to go.

But bear in mind, ppl who can speak English are quite minimal in Japan. It will be hard in the first place but if you do enough research, you don't really need to talk to them. Anytime you cant convey anything, write to them in chinese characters. Theirs are quite similar to ours. So they should be able to make it out.

Enjoy yourself!

I will source for my BS after OCT. Have shortlist a few le.

You gals got any good ways to reduce fats and water retention?? LOL

Flats now are so ex. Everyone is asking for min 40k lor! *crazy*

I doubt I can get a flat b4 my wedding

hi jaslyn,

u also a Methodist
i would prefer 21 Nov, another date to consider is 8 Aug, prefer by bf. We havent found a church yet though.

Okay, will check Bridal de Couture during the weekend.