(2009) Brides of year 2009

Woo..thanks for the advise. You are right! I guess the guest will be busy eating instead of appreciating the songs.

Actually I need advise for my lunch reception.
Due to time constraint coz its lunch reception, I can only shows the montage and nothing else. However I wanted to show more to keep my guest more entertained. Any good suggestions?

Hi dOr,

you have to call the JP and fax a letter for them to sign. Go to the ROM website. There is a step by step procedure.

For us, we went for the ROM office so no such hassle. Just appear on the day will do. Its only a 5 mins event even if it is at a hotel.

Hello, Glamourous

wah, you haf so many tables ah??

We came up wif a draft guests list and it was estimated to be about 25 tables..

so for weekend requirements, most of the hotels are out for us too... my rough estimation is max 28, dont wish to go more than that le..

Hi Wildwood,

Yeah, both came from big families... and my dad is a businessman too... so we work out an estimation list too. But think it will go up nearer to AD next year too... now also a bit far to plan too much.

Cherie. ya we're planning dinner first. BUT cos my grandma just passed away 2 weeks ago, my FMIL ask me not to touch wedding stuff for 100days.. so i'm kinda stuck.

is it wise to choose a mermaid cutting gown on actual day? i only scared i can't walk properly

Dor.. u just need to tell the JP where is ur ROM... they will tell u what to do instead.. and they will mark ur date on their calendar and will be there for you on that day... before that have to sign consent form...

Hui, the one i tried was for EG. I think most importantly, it should make you feel comfortable to walk in. I believe mermaid cut comes differently also. Try to choose one that you feel that you can walk gracefully in.

The EG I mtm is hugging at the top all the way down to my hips. Then it flair at the bottom with slight train at the back... I call it large-tailed mermaid cut. Ha... Please do not quote me. :p

haha hi hui,

most impt is you are comfortable. Of cos you must make sure you can walk properly. Cos the chairs and tables will be quite close. PLus make sure the tail isnt too long too..if already mermaid knt walk..then long somemone..ppl behind suddenly step on it..BANG..you fall..quite paiseh lah hahaha

Kidding lah..some ppl can walk very gracefully. I cant lah. I had to hold on side up to walk properly..so i decided not to choose it.

cosyouaremygal,

you very smart...flair at the bottom. I had tried one WG tat has hugging all teh way down to my hips also..but knt make it..cos my tummy got little bit bulge out...got layer type..plus my hips big..so must cover...haha

jenny dew - this idiot drove so near to us, then cannot brake in time, hit our rear. sianz....

fea - hi hi! me no better than you. only got a wedding date, after so many changes. the rest, nothing accomplish yet.

wildwood, yeah my hubby n i also looked at min 25 tables coz we dun wan too many tables n it was really hard to find...but at least u can afford four seasons =)

Ling, I read from someone's blog tt they attended a wedding dinner at Fullerton n the food n service not great...apparently too many tables then cannot cope or something along those lines...there were occasions where the food was even served cold (n I am not talking about the cold dishes)

Sheraton Towers I attended a luncheon there before...food is not bad...n at least near the MRT n got lots of buses...but just tt some ppl might not know where it is =)

Vallous, your description is very cute...

my top is some sort like pleated.. so it covers my little tummy quite well...

I slouched quite a bit... and cos of this bad posture, my tummy tend to bulge too...

I super angry with my bridal co-ordinator. She told me no one has ever choose champagne evening gown during my gown fitting. Now she called me want me to re-choose the evening gown again cos someone already used that for her actual day and i could not use it for my photography.

So mad!!!!! Arrgh!!

Hi Dianna,

Wat rubbish excuse she trying to say? No Such THING as knt choose just becaue no one else done before. I had that comment on monday too. I just replied my coordinator: MY WEDDING OR YOUR WEDDING??? I like to wear..you got problem ah?

Then she know I angry liao. So she says Can can..!

Who says no one ever choose champagne EG..my gal fren I attended her wedding in march wore off champagne gold. Just like her WG. So no such thing.

I guess they trying to say is that its not good to wear 2 WGs. But who cares..as long as your inlaws are ok...and you like it. You can wear black EG if you like also. They shouldnt limit you.

Like you said in the 2nd sentence. The first reason was just a bluff. The second one is the actual reason and blunder. Its because someone book the gown already so you knt choose it. Soo its their lapse. So careless of them.

HI Vallous

What i mean is when i choose the champagne evening gown for my photography and actual day, she told me is a new piece, im the first one to have it. So i took it. And then now she tell me actually alrady been reserved for someone for her actual day. She miss out tat part. How can tat be happening.

She say i can still wear the champagne evening gown for my actual day and i just have to choose another evening gown for my photography. Im very upset, i went down twice to choose everyting, now i gg there the 3rd time to re-choose. Kinda of wasting my time and effort.

Hi Dianna,

Oh okok heehee..mistaken.

But knt be happening this way cos by right, you reserved liao mah. So no one else can take it. But i do know many shops tend to do that. So tats why nearer ur wedding date then they alter. Cos in between still got other brides wearing the same gown.

Aiyoh..but indeed very waste time. My BS is near my workplace so not so bad..but so far I went down twice to try the gowns nia.

Ya, i already left 2weeks more for my photography and yet this ting happen. I still cant calm down lor, keep calling the coordinator to let off my anger. >.<

wildwood and andrea, u know my FH and i had the same ideas - 25 to 28tables max initially. we were thinking, how is it possible to have 30 tables! then as we continue planning, we realise now that we might even have 32 or more after adding parents' guests. so, best to get both side parents to estimate their tables first. sometimes after you include their guest list, u realise u overshot the maximum capacity for the room u booked.
this is advised by my coordinator la. hee.

Ling, i attended a friend's wedding dinner at Fullerton. I personally thought it was quite grand. it's quit unconventional, u gotta walk DOWN into the actual ballroom, so it was quite challenging for my friend who was wearing a big ballgown. the ballroom layout is fan shaped, i thought it's quite unique. ceiling quite high, pillarless. Food was not bad, it comes in individual portions. as in the waiter dishes them out for u. my FH was one of the groomsmen, so they checked out the bridal suite, which was gorgeous. it's double storey - living/sitting area when u enter, then a spiral stairway(reminds me of sleeping beauty) leading up to the bedroom.
of cos with a set-up like that, the package was quite ex too la.. i think minimum 40tables or sth, each table $1200 or so?
and, i know what you mean by stuck cos of the 100days. now hungry ghost festival, my PILs also not keen to have the official meet-up this month..

One party will need to give in.

It depends on which party is more persistent lor.

If you do not mind, you can try to fight for it. Anyhow, you were told differently mah...
If they insist, ask for proof... the evidence... Tell them, you want only that and nothing else..

Or.. a remark which i find it unreasonable but pretty effective... "That's your problem not my problem!" Ha...

Please do not quote me k.. hehe... I mean people weigh things differently.

Just tell them lor, you are really not happy. Very disappointed. Cannot be too nice to them lah sometimes.. They will think "oh this girl can talk one..."

I mean, by telling them these... maybe they try to do some other favorable things for you to replace the lost...

Ok. haha... That's just my personal view... muahaha...

Pebbles,

my FH and I had already thot thru of all possible people we would invite (parents and ours). the final count is max 29 tables...

We din wan to get a bigger ballroom elsewhere cos of the concern tat we may haf to find means and ways to fill up the tables jus to meet the minimum.

oh well, already paid deposit le.. still very happy with the venue..

I only know whatever compensation i may get also cant make me happy anymore. I really wanted tat champagne gown to be in one of my photography album.

my only alternative is to bring forward my photoshoot 1 week earlier then i could be able to take the champagne evening gown

Andre: thanks for the info.

pebbles: wah sounds not bad.. hehe but the price factor, scary. I'm having 40 tables budget ard 1000+ per table. Sheraton Towers is 12 person per table, so works out to about 900++ per table if talking in context of 10 person per table.

Any recommendation from any BTB for 40 tables, budget 1000??

wildwood, yup if 29 seems like the mx u all can go, great! i was of likemind as u, very hesitant to get the bigger room. my FH now thinks that 30tables minimum seems achievable, so inorder not to compromise on the comfort, we took the bigger room. anyway the bigger room is cheaper for us.
hee yup important is happy with venue. good for you!

ling, when's ur AD? i saw some pics of Sheraton, thought it's quite nice. have u tried Hyatt? i'm having mine there, it's a teeny bit above 1000 per table for the room with capacity of 30 to 45tables. u can try..?

actually u might need to book soon leh, cos when my FH called up some places, the date we wanted already not available. n even more appalling is that orchard parade is FULLY BOOKED for Dec 09 dinners. including weekdays. cannot believe it.

ling> u can try swissotel the stamford. The tables cost ard 900+ and if u take the big ballroom, can take 40plus 50 tables, or even much higher.

mariott, grand corpthorne waterfront also takes ard 40 tables for wkend, and all within yr 1k budget.

my AD is on 20.09.2009.. luckily the next day is a holiday... i book everything super early.. now only left MAU, photo and videographer.. hoping to settle these soon also...

actuali dec 09 got lots of ppl get married lehz.. even tat time when i called up a few hotels, some of them alrd booked for dec le.. b4 i decide on IC, there's 2 couples lookin for my date.. so its beta to look for hotels nw den look for BS..

Jennydew> I did my BS research based on the comments and their designs in the mags. Then I went to their shops outside to sieve through the photos and their displays outside, as well as talking to the their people outside. I also went to exhibitions. After I shortlisted 2-3 BS, then I sat down with them in their shops and during exhibitions for further discussion to see how much I like. You just have to steel yourself up. Always venture with ur FH or mum or friends. So that you will not be goaded in getting their packages. Hope it helps =)

Twinfairys> Hotpress is one of the ways used to make ur album last longer, the pages won't get peeled off so easily, and easier to take care of. Must consider this esp if you are gg to let others flip through ur album during ur AD. Mine is hot press with 2 pages not joined so as to keep it last longer. If joined, then the line creases will appear in the long run, which we don't it to happen.

PS overseas sounds good, if you have the budget. =) We didn't think of that cos it's more convenient and cost less, as well taking into consideration if it rains during PS day, we don't have to worry about gg to overseas again to cont PS. &amp; with my HB's job, we will get to travel often, thus will just take normal travel pics will suffice.

I also agree that once you find yourself getting a good deal, try not go overboard with slashing, so that ppl will still take their sincerity and professionalism to the max and serve you well throughout the process. By slashing too much, they may think their work ethics and professionalism is deemed as cheapskate and thus do badly or anyhow do cos they think you look upon their services cheaply.

Do hang along here cos I enjoy talking to you too. Maybe you can share with us what you've learned over at Nov 2009 thread as well, if you are not too busy posting on both sides. =P

Do look around with an open mind. Just like Mashi didn't like the gal who served them from GHA, I got very hard sell by Whitelink which I also didn't like then. (Paiseh Mashi). So take your time to look around and not get rushed. Most impt is that you have secured a date.

Bubbly> Yup, you are the first to get ROMed this year =D Is your gown from ur BS? Can you describe? I love to hear descriptions about hair, make up and gowns =P

Harlow Fea, welcome to join us. Share with us your trip in wedding preps ba.

how abt hilton? i think 1000 plus a bit onli..

i went trader's hotel today for lunch.. den i saw that there's a bridal show happening soon. i saw the price.. weekend about $900..

my mother also ask me not to do anything related to our wedding during the hungry ghost festival.. so im slacking and shaking my legs everyday for now..(pantang~)

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Wedding Band</TD><TD>Love Nest </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiang</TD><TD>02/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>02/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny Dew</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Changi Village Hotel</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Changi Village Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christy</TD><TD>28/09/08</TD><TD>Marriott Hotel</TD><TD>04/10/09</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Melvin Ho Photography</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>Love &amp; Co</TD><TD>Nil </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrswang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>Bliss @ S'pore Expo</TD><TD>Foto-u</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Buangkok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Verena</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>Wesley Methodist Church</TD><TD>11/10/09</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Big Day Pictures (Yow Siang)</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Toa Payoh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashi Mashi</TD><TD>05/06/09</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>16/10/09</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>Dreamcatcher</TD><TD>Wowmedia</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dover </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fea</TD><TD>06/10/07</TD><TD>Aloha Changi</TD><TD>16/10/09 (TBC)</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TianPo</TD><TD>Boon Keng </TD></TR><TR><TD>||</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>The Aisle Bridal</TD><TD>Cartier</TD><TD>Nil </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bubbly19</TD><TD>08/09/08</TD><TD>Peony-Jade Restaurant</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Carlton Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Love &amp; Co</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Queen</TD><TD>21/05/07</TD><TD>Peony-Jade Restaurant</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Novotel Hotel</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>Daniel Beh</TD><TD>Big Day Studio</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aggiegal</TD><TD>03/01/08</TD><TD>Goodwood Park Hotel</TD><TD>30/10/09</TD><TD>Intercontinental Hotel</TD><TD>EdmundLeong Photography</TD><TD>RedHat Media</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>Fairy's Inc</TD><TD>LA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peareys</TD><TD>11/10/08</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>31/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>SG Bridal</TD><TD>eClarity</TD><TD>Commonwealth </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hii kel
Yup saw already... very common... the bridal suite very much like any other normal hotel suite.. not very glam also...
But din really matter to me cause think won't have the energy left to enjoy anything else after the banquet.
We're going more for the food... It's really yummy.

Fea,

Welcome... Oh. seems like we both might hv the same AD date... keke

Twinfairy,
u so suay.. haiz... but bo bian de. here alot of careless driver who tink they are the rite. juz claim fr the car behind...

Aggiegal,
No need pai sei. its like tat de. Juz happen to c who serving u. different ppl c differently mah..

tats y i will say go n feel their service. ppl say is juz opinion, if u like n comfortable. juz go ahead.

Hi Dianna,

not sure will that work cos like the coordinator said. The gown is for another bride's AD. SO actually AD more impt. Dun think they will alter to your size for your photoshoot.

But sad lor. One should take the best they wanted for the photoshoot. Once in a lifetime mah. These kind of stuff cannot compromise one lah.

Perhaps u can just voice your displeasure and see what they can do.

cosyouaremygal,

I do agree with you, its their problem not yours..haha

I'm also a BTB Oct 2009. It's so nice to see the active thread and exchange of pointers.
Hope to get more ideas from all of you

Congrats all!

aggiegal -i got what you meant by hot press but not joined at the centre. actually I never thought of going to Bintan for PS until i saw an album taken in Bintan. Quite like the scenery over there. Anyway, nothing is confirm except bf doesn't opposed to the idea.

have you got back your album? how many photos did you top up? I am quite concerned about the photos that we might top up, cos one photo not cheap, can easily cost another 1k more.

the nov thread pretty quiet leh... haha, i am sure i can cope posting my thoughts and remarks on both threads.

mashi - ya lor, suay... at least that idiot honestly reported this accident to his insurer. will claim from his side.

-------------------

by the way, anyone of you going for marriage preparation course? we are going to start ours next sat. dunno what it is going to be like?

aiyo, then this Sat, going to lunch with my parents. so nervous, dunno what will my father think leh about us getting married.

hey twinfairy, i just signed up with wesley's marriage prep course. Will only start in sept though. Not sure what it's gonna be like but am kinda looking forward to it.

Hi twinfairy &amp; verena, I think a marriage prep course is quite good. Have originally considered it, until I saw it's over a span of a few weeks. Then I sian liao. :P Hahahha... Do let me know if it helps!

hey twinfairy, i just signed up with BV recently......basically becos we like the gown alot. For service wise, i would say they know wat they are doing...i have been to other BS which will just go along with watever u say w/o giving honest opinion.

i going down to the bridal on saturday for a discussion. I will demand a little compensation from them if i could not be able to take the champagne gown tat i have chosen.

Hi popprincesstrin, can you please add me to the list? My wedding date is on 29 Nov 09... BS is Yvonne Creative... Am sourcing the rest. Thanks alot!

Hi Dianna, if u r going to hav ur PS 1wk earlier &amp; they can let u hav the gown for PS will be a better solution... its a win win situation where both u all compromise... ^_^

If u show ur keeness of having the gown PS, I dun think they will want to disappoint u

Wah lao... i just go enquiry the santiago bs. the lady so hard selling lor. keep ask me place a deposit to lock e price. but the thing is i haven compare otheR BS.

the pkg like nt bad leh. she give me is 2988nett with 28pic. but heard alot of comment. so kinda worry. but gown and pic nt bad

they are fully booked on weekend for 1 week earlier, and we do not wish to have any photoshoot during the 7th month.

This sat to see how we can compromise on tat. Thanks luvlove and Vallous.

We are doing the marriage prep course with our Pastor that going to officiate the holy matrimony for us. Quite daunting to me as he mentioned that he ever rejected couple before, declined to marry them as he found them incompatible.

*gulps*

Ours going to take 3-4 months, with each session lasting 1-2hours.

*gulps*

mrswang- my colleague booked Santiago with open date.

chuababy - i went to Bridal Veil website, the gowns are timeless, elegant design. I am awed by the gowns. But at the same time, Bridal Veil looks very high class to me, dunno if we will get snubbed by them. haha

Hi luvlove,

saw your pre-wedding shoots...not bad.cute japanese outfit. Plus we took the same scenic shoots at sentosa also. hahaha