(2009) Brides of year 2009

Hi Fluttering Tails: the glmaour bash is by style wedding with lots of designer bridal showcase. Its on 13 April at Westin. $30 per couple. I got my house at tampines from the recently matured estate bi-monthly sales. The hotel told me that can apply to HDB to defer submitting the marriage cert. I'm going to try that.

Btw, any ladies keen to get a wax seal for their invitation card?

Welcome Carene. So glad to see yet another Feb 09 bride. We shall keep this thread active, yah? Hope you find your BS soon. I just found mine few days ago. Was adviced by my coordinator that need PS muz be at least 4mth b4 AD in order to get the photo ready. Then need 1st fitting, 2nd fitting and etc. So now is a very gd time.

Thanks for the compliment abt our website, Phaffia.
We try to update as often as possible so do check back if you guys are free.

Thanks Mscupid for sharing with us the wedding cakes link. I can do some comparsion liao. I already decided on mine le, cuz my uncle owns a cake shop and he will also design my wedding cake on AD. (nt going to use the dummy cake from hotel)If you guys wan, i will check out my uncle's shop and get him to do some sample of the wedding cakes used for GDL then post the pic and price here for your considerations.

Hi Fluttering_tails, still have not decide on which BS... haha...

Hi Chaos, Ted Wu is a bit ex but I also like his designs. I heard he tied with some of the best makeup artists and photographers. Pardon my ignorance, what's wax seal?

Hi Wendy, ya, I heard they make nice CS evening gowns, but I haven't hear much reviews for their wedding gowns. I wonder if they are good in doing wedding gowns... hmm...

Hi Hui, I rom-ed few years ago. Waiting for house keys then do customary.

Let's all keep this thread active. All June brides pls join us... keke...

ya let's keep this thread active. Our new house is at sembawang and most probably will not be ready before our AD. So for the time being i will shift into his parents house first.

No worries, we still have more than a yr to plan

hey jaime, dat's a gd idea! hehe.. ask ur uncle to post the pics & price here k.. really appreciate it.. btw where is his shop? =)

Hi ladies, Im also a feb 2009 BTB!!! my AD will be on 21/02/2009. I will be holding my banquet at Marina Mandarin.

Anyone has any recommendation for BS? im kinda quite interested in digio or julia wedding news.

Welcome Yan!! yeah, one more BTB in this thread.. so happy.. hope this thread gets more lively!!

Actually which BS to choose depends on ur top priority.. Gown or Photography? If gown is the most impt, then it depends on which style u like.. Milan, Digio, GHA, Thomson Wedding has alot of princessy gowns to choose from. If u like simple and elegant gowns, then try French Bridal. If photography is impt, then Julia Wedding News is really gd.. but more pricey..

Hi Jasmine. Thanks! Was looking for something more relaxed where everyone can enjoy. What was ur package with Sattine? I am still reviewing BS and am meeting Dang and Silouette next week.

Hi Catz. Thanks for the info. SOunds great! Hope your experience with Whitelink is great! Do you have any dress in mind already?

Hi Fish. Thanks for the information! Thats helpful. That is a yr apart from the AD. Will you still be able to rent the white dress again for next yr? I supposed that should be fine. Which BS have you signed up with?

Hi mscupid, thanks for ur warm welcome!
I was looking for merchant court too, but my date was taken up. actually my first choice was grand corpthrone, but oso taken up. think i was too slow.
both of the hotels have very nice ballrooms with tall ceilings.
thanks for ur advise for BS..i will go down this weekend along tanjong pagar with my girlfriends to see which BS gowns attracts me..heeee..so excited.

Hey girls, i'm with Sattine. Taking a MTM WG and suit and another EG. All the other stuff like flowers and make up in too. We're not taking photos cos we dun fancy it.

Catz, must take some photos okie! And take your time to choose the dress. Hope you find a really good one!

Hi Yan, i was deciding between Swissotel The Stamford or Merchant Court but settle for the latter because of the high ceiling & spacious ballroom. Actually Marina Mandarin is very nice too, very popular for weddings. My fren is having her banquet at MM in June. Will feedback to you on the food & ambience after i attended her wedding k.. hehe..

ya, go with a gf first.. then shortlist before u get ur hubby to agree on ur BS.. ask for wedding albums of real couples, not those models, and ask to see the types of gowns u like.. most impt rem to ask for more perks k.. =)

Hey All,
i am afraid that my htb has passed the hotel packages to his colleagues after we confirmed our venue.
but I did not approach them at a wedding fair, but called them directly to bok appointment with them.The coordinator's name is Eddie. He was quite willing to add in more parking passes after i told him that i was considering Merchant court as well.

Let me try to recall the package
Min 45 tables for grand ballroom
Fresh floral pieces (Can choose your own design)
1 barrel of beer and 1 bottle of wine for each table
20% parking passes but can go up to 30%
1 nite stay in bridal suite
1 complimentary room service breakfast
dinner for newly weds before actual dinner.
1 complimentary room for ROM
Helpers stationed around the hotel to lead guests to ballroom
9 course meal
So far this is what i rem.Might not be too accurate.
Pros:
the grand ballroom is real big and grand Also
Can get to choose your own floral design so no one is the same
More parking spaces than my chosen venue
Pillarless
Cons:
Not near mrt
Grand ballroom too impersonal for my liking
More ex package than my chosen venue.

Hope it helps!

Whitelink doesn't allow ppl to take photos when trying/choosing..

Nope, i dun really have any idea.. probably a tube dress i guess.. I would prefer short dress on ROM cos i dun want to feel like i'm getting married twice.. haha

hey fifteenmay,

thanks for sharing. The perks seem pretty good...but the min no. of tables required is quite high! Is there any waiver of corkage or free food tasting?

hello! i might be having mine in july too.. not confirmed yet. July is the double may in the lunar calendar.. sometimes, the elderly might not like.. when u having ur AD?

Hi milky! Finally another July 2009 Bride!
I'm not sure when my AD will be yet. Probably Mid July...
Where are you planning to have your wedding banquet? I'm looking at Grand Shanghai and Peony Jade.

Hi emeraldbride, glad to see u here too.
PJ is quite nice but you need to take min table else they will take in walk in guest.

HIPV is pretty cheap. $888 nett plus lots of perks. And best of all they undering going renovation in jun 09 so dec 09 will be a fresh new look. Perks i got was converted food tasting to AD table, $1000 of with min 25 tabls, free 1 bottle wine per table, free printing for cards, 2 night stay at bridal suite, day use room for ad for helpers, $80 credit for room service, free cockages etc.

Emeraldbride, you can consider novotel. Min 20-25 tables, high ceiling, think pricing for 2008 is 700+, 2009 should be appx $800+. It is best to book early and their pricing are ever increasing.

wow, 12k is so much to spend on pictures alone.

btw, i'll most probably rom on the same day as my my ad.

oh, the wax seal seems interesting.
chaos, u getting one?

Hi fatfat79,
Think I will check out with the BS first. If need to, then I'll ask from you again.

Hi Christina,
How was your viewing of HIPV?

wah seem like getting rom during ad is getting popular

eternal_mates: You r not using BS make up artist? My friend booked Liren Neo 4 months in advance and she already have to be on waiting list as there's another couple enquiring. HTH

my hubby called grand cop up, checked it out.
was told that they are acceptable booking up to april 09 as of not.
for 20 sep, it is super auspicious date according them and happned to be a PB (hari raya pusa) and sun, so the price per table is 1388 something... if i didnt remember wrongly.

so we r giving up the date as the price is ridiculous... and we got a feeling we cant cover back the cost shall we insist in getting the date. sob sob

chaos: i just saw the site. i will consider if i want to get one. you made one to seal your wedding cards?

eternal_mates: i think it all depends on how popular your wedding date is. If it is a popular date then i guess got to book earlier in advance.

Hui, me not going for BS package, doing ala carte thus got to source for everything myself.. haiz... Oh, think I come across Liren Neo in bridal magazines, shall go dig for them... hehe. Seems like she's very popular.

Wendy, hmm... not sure if my wedding date is those "hot" types.. haha.. was thinking of booking like nine months in advance.

Fluttering_tails, I have not done much too either. Not to worry, we are all here to share and give suggestions.

actually wat is the purpose of gg to wedding show when u have already confirmed your BS? still got other stuffs to look for?? =P

hi ah blur! welcome! we're not the only ones with the same AD! there are ppl here with 12/12 and 26/12..

i checked my date with a geomancer and 26/12 was a date that's good for both our "ba-zi".. its a saturday and the "nong-li" is actually 11/11.. i personally find it very nice.. but as its boxing day, im worried about ppl who do not turn up coz they're too drunk, overseas etc.. (coz long weekend)

hmm. from wad i gather, you're a guy right?
im not very sure abt the bride's side requesting for tables. for me, both of us are paying, so there's no requesting of tables thingy.. we juz ask them how many tables each side wants.. right now, we are set at roughly 28 tables..

do try to start sourcing for venues.. a few popular hotels like HIPV and Novotel are taken for 26/12..

emeraldbride: i agree with charmaine.. novotel is really good! i went to recee the actual set up. its really romantic and there's no ceiling! the perks are good, and the location is good too..

PS: sorry for taking soo long to reply you guys. have been really busy ever since march holidays ended

for me, i am just going to accompany my friend there cos she is intending to get married next year but have not source for BS and banquet yet.

Hi everyone, today I went down to Grand Hyatt for their bridal showcase and I quite like their package and it still has the date I want. Tried its food too and it is good! However the only minus point is that the magnolia + vanda rooms have pillars. The pillars are quite big actually. I dunno if guests will be put off by them but the catering manager actually told me that they will put 2 LCD tv to show a live telecast of what is happening on the stage for those ppl who are blocked. Initially wanted marina mandarin or grand plaza park but both are not available already. so sad! So seeking for opinion on whether it would be better to find a place without pillars, my alternatives to hyatt would be pan pac or merchant court. so june '09 brides... any comments or suggestions?

eternal_mates: just wondering which ballroom/room are you using.

How many tables are you looking at?
I personally do not like ballrooms with pillars... best to go for pillarless.
If you are looking at Magnolia Ballroom, should be around 30+ or so?

I think alternatives would be Pan Pacific, Conrad, Four Seasons... etc. I think it also depend largely on your budget too.

hi joleen, do u have any other dates in mind? ya..$1388 is really alot and i oso think it's no point paying so much more just because of a 'special date' (which prob won't mean much to your guests in the first place..)Btw, I do believe that we can make booking up to late Sept already..

mthm> her world brides show is on 27th apr.

shice> at the wedding fair other than hotel & bs there is also PG, VG, wedding favours, live bands, any types of wedding related stuff. but it varies from different wedding shows. usually go during wedding show to book PG & vg all those they might have special package also. also they got fashion show so can go see other bs gowns and gt some design ideas.

i am having in mid july too - july 18th (Sat)! this is the only date that the master have given me for the first half of the year.. else will be oct/nov 09..

thinking of having the banquet in Carlton/Holiday Inn Park View/Novotel...

Both peony jade and grand shanghai are very interesting place.. unique! almost had my ROM @ peony but no space on that day =( sad...

ya, wat is upsetting is, they apparently told different couple different stuff lei.
they allow booking up to sept but at different term and w no perks
these are wat they told us.

Emeraldbride, i attended a fren's wedding last yr on 31st Dec at Oriental, keke. Food was really the best..at least, best dat i've ever tasted lar. My fren had around 35 tables i tink. Total loss is deposit only ie. 5K. I reali tink loss is very hard to predict. Must see the guests already rite...whether most of the guests are relatives or frens.

Mine will be at Novotel. Like wat Charmaine & Suzanna mentioned, their Phoenix ballroom is reali very nice
Their Phoenix ballroom min need 30 tables. I took their Cinnamon ballroom as i only have 18 tables. U should try visiting the place...

Hi Glamourous,
Not yet. i just met AM/PM Photography and they are not bad..Photos not bad and quite comfortable with them.But they were the 1st one we met so we still have a few to go before we finalise. But they already have confirmed booking for 23rd Sept 2009!
Hey,Should we have 2 or 1 photographer for the AD? How many photos would you all get back from your photographer?

Hi Joleen,
No perks? Do you mean additional perks besides the stuff given in the package?

popprincesstrin,
Which are the 2 hotel venues you are looking at? Care to share?

mstomrs,
I rem that we have to pay 50% of the cost for the food tasting and no corkage wavier.