(2009) Brides of year 2009

u guys want the marriage course booklet i have...tat booklet states the locations of the centres tat provide such course n also, the course coverage...then u can see which is the best location for u....

JO&JY - before u begin the course, the counsellor will arrange u to do the test first...the test takes abt 1 hr...

my suggestion is to go for those centres tat do some kind of testing like this...cos just based on the usual topics, some topics may not be an issue for some couples...some topics may be a huge prob for some couples tat they need more work on...so with the test (of cos u do it wholeheartedly) results, it would be more accurate to focus on those prob areas

Hi Eveee... you can contact Long Shifu at 90675008, he will ask you to sms him you & your hubby birth details and time. Thereafter will call you a few days later to go down & collect the dates.. he charges $80.00

Hi, i have also signed up for Marriage Preparation course in early Apr and going for classes on 21st June..Keke..quite excited abt it.
I signed up with Reach as i like the topics they covered plus the test that grace mentioned earlier.

Hi Starskyz

Did u ballot for punggol sapphire? I ballot for that BTO too... it's so hard to get a flat now. I have ballot since july last year untill now.. still no luck yet...

meiting> yap, i did!! i applied for the 4-room, so tempted to ballot for the 5-room initially.. hahahha.. wad abt you?

wah.. since jul!! i started since last sep.. seems like we are the ones down wif luck.. i have friends who got it with their 1st try!!

I'm a May 2009 bride too. My AD is on 30/05/09.

I've booked Paramount Restaurant (Tung Lok Group) for my dinner.
Having a church wedding and bridal studio is Jess Haute Couture.

HI All,

I am a Feb 09 bride to be too.

Anyone had wedding banquet at River view hotel before? As mine is very small number of tables (max 10 tables) and due to tight budget, it's so difficult to find hotel that can meet our requirement. (Or i should say we can't meet the hotel requirement). Sigh..

Any advice?

was chatting with my friends and realised that over the pass 1.5 years the price of the PG went up so much.
She engaged PG for about $800 for her wedding on May 06. and now! the PG is charging 3-4k **faint**

Hmmm... realised i've completed my row, wat shall i do next?? feeling abit lost.

yvonne, shake leg n arm and =P and wait till it's time to start designing ur gown (if u doing MTM) or when it's time for ur PS...

then it all starts getting busy again =P

yvonne, u can try sourcing for hairstyles n type of gowns u like.. and venues for outdoor photo-shoot..

PS: is it advisable to engage a AD photographer / videographer this yr or next yr?

Hi love or money,

the shop you mention above i have went to look at their wedding band. The outcome is the ring i like my Bf dun like. The ring he like, i don't like ... headaches...

Hi Mayuki, Angelz and jolinr...welcome!

Hi Mayuki and Angelz, how's your prep coming along?

Hi jolinr, I have no experience at river view hotel. Perhaps you can try other hotels that have small function rooms which may cater to your table number for eg amara hotel. Hope you'll find a suitable venue for your dinner. Good luck in your search!

Its best to engage AD PG & VG as soon as u can
I engaged mine last year & difference in cost between 2007 & 2008 is already $600. If i only booked this year, i would have paid $600 more. Cant imagine if i book next year...So best to confirm this year, esp when Dec is usually a hot month for weddings.

twinfairy: I'm getting married next year and we are homeless too! HDB is really not listening to the needs of newlyweds.

Really very bothered by this coz resale prices are too ridiculous.

Hi Keitsu,

You will be using the grand ballroom located at level 5 or their function room? Aniwae my coordinator used to be Ivy Yio.. but she left FCC liao.. now my coordinator is Cecilia Teng. Wat abou urs??

Hello Gals...

Good morning. Early morning, storming over at my area. Is a good thing I came to work early.

Touch Family Centre offers marriage prep course at their trainers' homes. Is a group class. Not sure if we will take it up. Alternatively, we may do it with our pastor.

Yesterday, popped into Goldheart. Their pricing for wedding bands is really much lower than Soo Kee. You gals may want to take note.

Hello Femme,

I can understand your anxiety and stress. Sigh! Sigh! Have you looked into private housing? We worked out the sums. The cash downpayment for HDB and private condo seem to be on par. But if purchase private condo, just have to do minimal renovation and furnishing. For resale HDB, probably have to do much more. Those with good ID, will ask for high COV. But then, the loan is another major factor to consider. Tough Tough!

Want to buy direct from HDB, have to wait minimum 3 years for the flats to be ready. Those nearly ready, we have no luck in balloting. The irony part is combined income over 8k, have to subject to HDB approval. We feel like a sandwich!

Hi Yi Jing,

Yup i will be using the grand ballroom... wat about you? Have you decide on the theme to choose already?

My coordinator is Cecilia... she is quite a nice lady so no worries...

Yup! I agree...although all our wedding seems to be very far away but time flies. Better to engage PG and VG asap.
I recently busy sourcing for both of them. For my AD, i thought of getting Sam wong. His charges quite reasonable.

Hi girlss. aiyoh I also wanna confirm my PG & VG now, but dunno how & where to start. So many in the market now ... any recommendations or suggestions?

Hi Twin Fairy... we got our flat in Punggol too.. only ready in 2011 i think. Bw we are ok to wait, meanwhile, will stay with PIL or my hse after AD.

Hi Jojy, saw your flat in Punggol as well. Care to share which project? Mine is Treeledge

jiaple, what i did was check out the ones that my friends hired for theirs and see if I like the PGs style...

Also to check out the forum and singaporebrides.com website to see wat PGs are listed there as a guide...

Most impt to me is fit budget and like the style =)

Hi keitsu,

Me have not decide on wat theme to use yet. U? Think date draw nearer liao then decide ba.. My parent and PIL haven't even sit down to discuss anything too. Haha.. but they had seen each other before liao.. Anyway thanks for informing that cecilia is a nice lady.. kind off worry cos never come face to face with her before..

hi jiaple, if possible, i try not to move in to his family house. If really have to do, we have compromised to a period of no longer than 6 months. thot of rental before, but it will drain us more. Come to worst, just have to postpone the whole wedding.

CubeCube u so Cute.. But really. PG and VG MUST booked NOW!!!
My VG told me that he's increasing his price in June. So i chop chop booked him last month. ha ha

Like i say earlier, 1 year diff can have a different in price of a few hundreds to a 1-2k.

So BOOKED NOW!

My PG is my good friend so i no need to worry much. but i still need to pay him lah. but at a friendly price. oh! He took my ROM pics too!

Thanks Ladies!
my WG is OTR. but my EG is MTM. already looking for design. me love low back. ha ha. *sexy* ha ha
i also sourcing for Outdoor PS venue too.
Hort park nice nice. add this your yr list too!

twinfairy - yeah, u can consider touch as well...if not, like u said....do the course with ur pastor...generally christians would want to go for the marriage prep course with their pastors...

haiz...i'm also one of those without a house when i get married next sept...
bo bian...hb still hasn't applied for his PR yet...initially wanted to stay with parents but now decided not to due to diff living habits...anyway, i tik till we get our place, we'll just rent a place or sth...

thanks for the tip yvonne =)
where else u going?

my hubby and I have already chosen a few places in mind but need to see timing how also =P

We are looking at the west area and newly launched projects. Relatively, these areas are going for $550 ++ psf.

We have went to view the Floravale, 3 bedroom (built as EC). The asking price didnt reach 600k. We need to pay up 5% cash which ard 30k, similiar to HDB resale. Then if you dun mind the outskirt town like Buangkok, the Quartz going to TOP next march. Selling 700k ++ for 3 bedrooms. Work out to 40k cash for downpayment.

But come to think of it, it will be better to start off with HDB. The financial burden will not be so heavy and less stressful.

Hope to find a good bargain next May. We are aiming to make our purchase by then.

Hi andrea,
Got the list from 1 of the thread :-
· Punggol Lalang Field
· Punggol Beach
· Alexandra Colonial Style Bungalows
· Sentosa Tanjong Beach
· Sentosa “Big Treeâ€
· Changi Beach
· Thian Hock Keng Temple
· Botanical Gardens
· Tanjong Pagar Railway
· Asian Civilization Museum
· National Museum
· CBD Area
· Shophouses at Telok Ayer/ Neil Road
· Fullerton Area
· Clarke Quay
· Boat Quay
· Vivocity
· Chijmes
· Mount Faber
· Fort Canning Park
· Kent Ridge Park
· Labrador Park
· East Coast Park
· Changi Boardwalk
· Pulau Ubin
· Jurong Bird Park
· Singapore Zoo
· Pub venues
· Restaurant venues
· Airport Terminal 3
· Hort Park

where are your places in mind?

twinfairy - if u r looking in the west, can try looking for jurong tat area...apparently, it's the next upcoming neighbourhood area after tampines n pasir ris cos of the new mrts tat's going to be built along the mrt line like pioneer, etc

also, Yew Tee Residences and Centris not bad...esp Centris but seems tat Centris is quite fully taken up by now liao...might need to check with the developer...

another way is to get DBSS projects also...

*blink blink
wah yvonne, u really did your research! =P Hahaha

Eh my hubby and I were thinking of the church where we're getting married in (Already got permission =P), Botanic Gardens, Labrador Park, Cosy Bay (the bridge there)...other than tt I dunno liao...HAHAHA...I told my PG what I wanted and that I wanted some beach shots also and he said that he will source for me =P

Night shots, I also dunno where we going...=P

but thanks for the list!

imptly is, pls pls pls calculate ur ability to repay the loan (although u do utilise ur HDB loan to repay ur loan payments) as well as the upfront cash or the deposit u need to pay...cos alot of ppl dun calculate properly and then, they r stuck with the repayment cos they also get reno loan etc etc....

to be frank, it's just a place to stay...not a place to tie ur finances down...besides, there will be more financial burdens in other areas in future also

just 2 cents of my opinions...

YEah yeah...the new MRT station - Pioneer, is just beside my parent as well as my house. So, find that Jurong this area is quite a good area to stay...The price for the HDB is increase in Jurong side also but not as high as East or central area.... So, can consider here...

for those who's still looking for their wedding bands which are affordable, dun just limit urself to the usual consumer brands like Soo Kee, Goldheart etc...u can also check out eclarity at Lido...their wedding bands r not bad...pretty unique and affordable...

Hi Anita A,

He's a very good PG. Took very stunning photos. If you like his style of PG, I'm sure his shots will not disappoint u.

His services are quite competitive thou.

one point to note when buying new condo projects, it may seem that all units taken up, but some may be taken up by agents instead. So if u bid ur time correctly, u may still get an unit at those "fully sold out" projects.

and yes, i fully agreed. whatever it is, always stay within ur budget.

Renne, Yes Yes there's.
U can quote my BIG name "Yvonne"

andrea, actually night shots not many choices. maybe Satay Club also not bad.