(2009) Brides of year 2009

desjo_11

Hi Grace,
Is ur PG Ah Liang?I like sites with nature i.e beach, grass ;p
US is gd coz u can buy some branded stuff at a relatively low price there ;p gg straight after AD?
Actually there are really many little details need to be done..i.e tea pot, bedsheet, table lamps..guess all can be found at chinatown?

Btw AD are we suppose to give ang pao to children,'sisters & bros'?

ecarg1310

Hi desjO,

Yup PG = Ah Liang, MUA = Xiaoqi. You can try Punggol Lalang field too, I've seen some photos on this place, very nice place.

Not going straight after AD, FH says season not correct. Should go like summer time so we can buy clothes etc. too.

Guo Da Li stuff should be able to find them easily in Chinatown.

I believe on AD, ang pao is to be given to children (all unmarried, even cousins), your own siblings. Of course, to your helpers (brothers & sisters), either Ang Pao or gifts lo. For sisters, already give the gate crashing ang pao le ma, should be sufficient le. Maybe you can prepare a gift for them each, as a form of appreciation ba.

piggylover

hi ladies!! finally aft a day hard work, IM HOME!! heheh.. nw smell nice nice de aft my bath. :p

toking abt guy huh? hmm.. my bf too is like those he will say anything u like den jus do lor type.

so for our wedding arrangement i gotta let him involve, push bit by bit lor. aft all the arrangement hav been done, i will keep telling him alot of wedding things like when i told him ppl getting same AD as us, nw facing problem looking for venue le. he will say lucky we decide early, feel gd when seeing him feel safe. but he say the rest of thing will wait till nxt yr den do le.

piggylover

hi andrea & Charmaine, ur info hav been updated as follow:

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD</TD><TD>Day</TD><TD>Banquet Venue</TD><TD>Room</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD></TD><TD>ROM date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>JP</TD><TD>Multiply ID </TD></TR><TR><TD>Renne</TD><TD>4</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD>Orchard Parade Hotel</TD><TD>Anitica Ballroom</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teresa</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Le Meridien Hotel</TD><TD>Margaux Ballroom</TD><TD>Jazreel's Collection</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD></TD><TD>25.09.07</TD><TD>ROM Premise</TD><TD>A male JP</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>wildwood</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Four Seasons Hotel Singapore</TD><TD>Four Seasons Ballroom</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD></TD><TD>05.12.09</TD><TD>church wedding</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Teddy Mac</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Raffles Town Club</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>MooMedia</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Andrea</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Crystal Ballroom</TD><TD>Vaughn Tan</TD><TD>1stJournal </TD><TD>Skyworkz</TD><TD></TD><TD>27.04.07</TD><TD>Amara Hotel</TD><TD>Chan Kai Yau</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cheekychick</TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Novotel Clarke Quay Hotel</TD><TD>Cinnamon Ballroom</TD><TD>Printemps</TD><TD>Foto-U</TD><TD>Zeproductions</TD><TD></TD><TD>20.05.05</TD><TD>ROM premise (Joy Room)</TD><TD>a Female JP</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Junel</TD><TD>13</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Parkroyal @ Kitchener Rd</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jess Haute Couture</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD></TD><TD>13.12.09</TD><TD>Parkroyal @ Kitchener Rd</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gisele Lim</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>Thurs</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Shir</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Vanda Ballroom</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD></TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>20</TD><TD>Sun</TD><TD>Amara Hotel</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Digio</TD><TD>1950photography</TD><TD>ForestProduction</TD><TD></TD><TD>03.01.08</TD><TD>The Legends @ Fort Canning Park</TD><TD>Dr Phua Tan Tee</TD><TD>yvonnesoh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jiaple</TD><TD>23</TD><TD>Wed</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Vanda Ballroom</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD></TD><TD>28.11.06</TD><TD>GCW (Paradiso Room)</TD><TD>Chan Kau Yau</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Charmaine</TD><TD>25</TD><TD>Fri</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Park View</TD><TD>Crystal Ballroom</TD><TD>Digio</TD><TD>simonvideo</TD><TD>simonvideo</TD><TD></TD><TD>19.05.08</TD><TD>Yum Char</TD><TD>Mr Chan</TD><TD>lovedardar </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piggylover</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Orchid Country Club</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD>Mojoideas</TD><TD></TD><TD>26.12.09</TD><TD>Jade Ballroom 2 &amp; 3</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>mdwedding2009 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Suzanna</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>Ballroom 3</TD><TD>LaBellle Coulture</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD></TD><TD>26.12.09</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel Putting Green</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>suzannaa </TD></TR><TR><TD>ahBlur</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>Plaza Park Royal @ Beach Rd</TD><TD>Plaza Ballroom</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Lam</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD></TD><TD>23.12.06</TD><TD>Grand Plaza Park Royal</TD><TD>Sme interesting guy..</TD><TD>blurbaby15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emeraldbride</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Not taking</TD><TD>Andy Lim</TD><TD>Wedding Paparazzi</TD><TD></TD><TD>08.12.07</TD><TD>One Rochester</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>kathkhor </TD></TR><TR><TD>cube_cube</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>The Pine</TD><TD>Grand Ballroom</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>fotowerke</TD><TD>fotowerke</TD><TD></TD><TD>26.12.09</TD><TD>The Pine</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catty</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>Sat</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD></TD><TD>09.12.06</TD><TD>Home</TD><TD>Prof Yu Shi Ming</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

chuababy

Hi trin,

haha, ya, some BS are pushy, but i would still want to go down to the BS to have a feel of their gowns and service.

Ya, FS's ballroom is small. Conrad is not bad actually, min no of tables for weekends are 30. Each table 12 pax. Service of coordinator is gd. Initially conrad was my first choice but they dun have the date that I want.

fifteenmay

Hi Lalaa,
Nope, my BS does not include MUA as my BS is in JB. that is not included in my package.

Hi Glamourous,
I finally made a decision and decided to book Vocare! Yay! did u take their pre wedding mtv?

honeybunny

It's Fridayyyyyy! Yeah. My hubby is ok in wedding preps.. like he was the one who suggested what venues we consider... we kinda lazy one.. just short list &amp; view only two hotels, that all.

For BS, have not confirm yet, but we only kinda shortlist two as well..

Haha... but I abit fickle minded so sometime piss him off,,as usual

glamourous2309

Hi Fifteenmay,

That's great to hear! Glad you've finally took the leap and decided!
So there's currently 3 SEPT 2009 BTB with Vocare already yeah.
As for your question, No, I didnt. =)

eternal_mates

gLadZ, well-said. I asked a fengshui master about this issue before and he enlightened me saying that's not "true". What clashes was "money" as in wedding ang bao. He said the story behind this is that couples in the olden times didn't want to spend on ang bao for another couple's wedding especially if the date is near to theirs. This is because of their tight budget in planning a wedding thus the 3-month grace that be would be sufficient time for them to come out with money to attend another couple's wedding. Thus they came up with the "xi chong xi" as an excuse. Not sure if you're confused, but this is what i heard from the master. I might miss out some info.

Or if anyone knows the real meaning of "xi chong xi", do share and enlighten us.

desjo_11

Thank you SOoo much Grace..I was thinking of Punggol lalang field too ;p

When u go US, do check up their Coach bags, good buy also..keke

janetwedding

hi ruachgall,

Shld be able to register 3 months before your rom/wedding date. You can log into their web and get the info. Yours is the exceptional case, i think HDB will look into it. Just give them a call or you may check with the property agent under the resale flat.

poseidon_gal

Basically i already went down to view those hotels.
i made tentative booking with all of them,so they send me their contract. If i want i will sign and made deposit. There is a deadline, if by the deadline i dont reply, they will cancel my tentative booking and the date will be free again

mashi_mashi

huh... got like tat da ar..

so far my understanding is even tentative booking, they also wun send u the draft.
only after u confirm liao n pay deposit then they will draft the contract.

hw come urs si different?? haha

poseidon_gal

if i confirm and pay deposit then i see the draft contract..what happen if i am not happy with the terms and conditions stated inside the contract?
If i see the draft contract before i make any payment i still can nego for better perks or clear my doubts since i have yet to make payment =p

mashi_mashi

oh. normally tat will nt happen as they draft the contract according to the agreement between u n ur co ordinator.
if certain terms nt inside which u 2 hv agree, u still can request them to put in into the contract.

n any other doubts, u can still clear before u sign.. normally when u confirm the hotel, u shld agree wif the perks they give lor.

for mine, i never even c the draft. i juz went to the hotel to sign the contract when its ready. but then my co ordinator took the time to explain all the terms to us. basically all the terms n conditions are standard. juz tat the perks they muz state inside if they agree to give. haha...

glamourous2309

Hi Fifteenmay,

I give my recommendations to Sam from Vocaremedia solely because of his good works and that his team deserves the credit, not expecting any "returns" actually. Only expectation I have is they'll do a damn good job for my wedding! =)

Not sure yet, guess its too early!!!

mystiobes

oh dear.. my ROM is 2 weeks from now and I accidentally knocked onto a platform and broke my toe nail!! it's 3/4 shaking now and i'm going to remove it tomorrow morning!! sob sob.. no more pretty toe nails for my ROM liao..

you people really are very fast! already looking at PG and VG.. i'm still looking at venues.. hehe.. i went to 3 hotels for the past 2 days - GPPH, Hilton and Orchard Hotel..

I opt out Hilton totally.. too strict in the perks, and I just felt that the sales mgr is not approachable, she din even go thru the package with us, just ask us any questions in the package since she understands that we've received and read thru the package that was sent to us.. whereas for GPPH and OH, really very attentive and friendly sales mgrs, esp GPPH..

my FH and i still have one more to go - Carlton Hotel.. heard the ballroom is not pillarless? hmmm.. gotta check it out.. = )

strawberry12

Hi stiobes,

i will be hving my AD at carlton hotel. yup, the ballroom is not pillarless...bt the food is good..depends on individual, if u are one gg for food, i will say carlton bt for ambience definitely not as they hv 4 pillars there. hope this helps.

weddingll

Yes,i agree with Mashi. I also nego all the perks, and make sure my coorindator state them in the contract, then i just sign and make deposit. No point making them draft out contract for you when you want to further bargain or just see for the seek of seeing it. Hope its help!

sunqian

My AD is on 11 Jan and dinner on 12 Jan 09, intend to go honeymoon in end May 09, PS scheduled in Sep so still got a few more months to go, hopefully can slim down a bit prior to that. Will be busy with renovation stuff the next few months...

Shining Hoshi, you may want to consider June for your HM? It's summer in Europe, long day short night, good for photo taking and visiting. =)

Last week went to Bali for a mini honeymoon, so thought of taking some more prewedding photos on top of the package signed up in Singapore. Cos the scenery will be different and we will wear our own casual clothes, the outcome will be quite different. So we engaged a local photographer to do the photoshoot for us, the results turned out to be very nice, we liked it very much.

If anyone planning to go Bali for a short trip and wanted to take some photographs, can PM me for the photographer's details and view the pics he took for us.

strawberry12

hi patsy...

welcome to the june brides discussion....
we are here to share all our knwledge and at the same times also release our frustrations...hahah

strawberry12

wah, seem like quite a no. of 09 brides also...heard its a gd yr...
hmm....well...heard everything is smooth sailing for every one and hope that our dream wedding will come true..cheers

desjo_11

Hi Grace,
I haven't been to US.My friend went there for biz trip &amp; the shopping mk her drool.I wanted to go there for HM too, but my Hubby dun like..sign! I bet u will hv great time there coz another fren of mine went there for HM.Hawaii was a great place

Hi Sunqian,
My AD same as you.wedding dinner also on 11/1.currently also busy with renovation stuff..hope busy schdeule will auto slim down ;p
Heard Bali is a nice place.What pkg did they offer u?

fifteenmay

Hi Glamourous,
thats very nice of you : )
I was thinking whether should i take the pre weding mtv..sigh that s another 800 bucks gone.

sunqian

Hi desjO,
11 Jan is very easy to remember right? This is one of the dates chosen by my shifu, but my dinner is on 12 Jan.
Yes, Bali is a very cultured place with nice views, reasonably priced spas and restaurants. It's already my 2nd visit there.
You are asking for the photography package? I took the 750USD package, the photographer is an Austrian living in Bali, his charges is more expensive than most of the Bali photographers but he is worth it.

sparkless

Finally, I burst out. Telling bf all my doubts abt his intention to get married. Sigh! After my outburst, then he started to be more initiative.

I feel that wedding preparation really put the relationship into test. Sometimes, I wonder if we will run to the finishing line eventually.

Just some grumbling here...

Oh, went to Lee Hwa and Soo Kee to see their wedding bands. Feel that their discount is more from the credit card companies than GSS. I think we are going to have a problem in selecting our wedding bands. He prefers thick band while I prefer slim matt band. And most pairs don't come in such combination. Looks like have to custom made.

mystiobes

Hi patsy: welcome!!

Yen: ballroom not pillarless ah? but i know that the food is nice, cos you are not the only person who told me that.. hehe.. perhaps i will go take a look at the ballroom to see how will the pillars affect the guests, cos we're actually looking for 25 tables..

jojy

I have similar problems with my bf, gonna push him everytime to get thing done abit. For me, I tell him my plans &amp; thoughts and we will spilt the jobs to get quotations. Upon that I will summarize &amp; we will shortlist a few to view. But indeed it is irritating that you have to push him everytime coz he will not get it done if you dun push him. sigh....

I juz bought our wedding bands from Gold Heart today, it's square in shape. My bf find it quite unqiue, hence we just bought in on the spot. I was rather surprise, as I nv expect him to buy today too.

patgav

hi all.... yup have settle my banquet will be at Hilton hotel... still sourcing for BS, maybe opting for JB pkgs... wat u gers thk...

mashi_mashi

haha.. tink all guys abt the same ba. the kan cheong ones are always the gals. haha...

JO&amp;JY,
thats gd. another thing settled for u liao... can relax abit bit more ba. keke...

supergal,
i b having at Furama Riverfront...

mystiobes

hi patsy,

i went to hilton on saturday though.. but dun intend to choose it cos FH dun like the ballroom.. hehe.. well.. intially we wanted to source for JB packages, but the thought of making arrangements to travel down to JB for gown fitting, PS etc.. might be kinda time consuming and we dun have our own transport, so its kinda troublesome for us..

we decided to take up in Singapore.. but i heard that the package in JB is much more cheaper than those in singapore.. just my thought though..

keitsu

Hi everyone...

hmm looks like most of you have already settle 80% of your stuff... after a week I'm still stuck with no BS... need to buck up more liao...

I saw that a lot of you all are from Julia.. are they good? What is their name and website? can share their package also? Thanks.

ecarg1310

Hi Dianna,

Nice site you have... Do visit mine (not as well done as yours) at http://gravin.weddingannouncer.com.

Hi keitsu,

Yes, Julia is very good as I have seen my colleague's album. Very nice photos! I did not consider anywhere else and went straight there (save a bit of time). 1 thing is that they're rather expensive (everything extra, they also want to charge). But not to worry, please bargain ur way, ask for freebies here and there. They'll give.

Their website is www.juliaweddingnews.com. Alternatively, I will also highly recommend Secret Heaven to you. Their photos are really pretty. I have engaged Lance, the chief photographer there, as my AD photographer. Their site is www.secretheaven.com.sg.

gracelourdes

hey gals...if u feel tat u r doing most of the wedding preps, dun be upset lah...to be honest, guys r never good in such details...they would find it a hassle n trust me, if they really have their hands onto it, u will be unsatisfied...cos i'm sure u want to do it ur way...

look at it tis way, the guys pay (not that u dun contribute in ur own ways...whether u help to pay in parts or u help to prepare for the wedding) but they r just not good in tis...give them other things to do...like nearer to the date, let them go find songlist etc etc...sure there must be sth they can help...they dun want to help not cos they refuse to help...cos they worry tat it would not be up to our std...hehehe...u noe lah, we gals got our 'fairytale wedding' conjured in our minds...hehhee

the rest of the support, u can get it frm us gals here
we will always be here to support each other in wedding preparations

gracelourdes

hehhee...for me, now tat i've gotten my banquet venue, BS, AD PG and AD VG...i'm tiking abt our AD program...intending to give him a surprise for our AD *wink*

besides that, i'm in the midst of our marriage preparation course...initially, it was damn hard man...we kept quarrelling abt the same issues over n over again...now as we learn more abt ourselves and our relationship frm our own perspectives n the counsellor's perspective thruout interaction with us, we begin to be able to 'connect' even better than ever not that we never did before....

funnily, it seems that we r one of the strangest couples to the counsellor...it's so weird that everytime we have to do some quiz or ans some qns from the counsellor, 80% of the time, our ans r the same...so spooky man...WAHAHA

junel

Hey andreaz yup i'm checking on 1stjornal .... but its on a high side for me so i'm not taking it... hehehe

Hey PL, my ROM will be on same date and venue as my AD. My JP haven't find yet

starskyz

thebsea> yah, those 2 are prime areas.. my frd also predicted that the cash-over-valuation will drop over the next yr or so..

dun worry lah.. sometimes, things juz goes on smoothly when you least expect it.. =)

love_or_money

Wow it seems like there are more and more pple getting married in aug '09! and alot of u seem to have done more than me!

ya i was thinking of buying our wedding bands during GSS too. we have been to tonnes of shops to look from tiffany &amp; cartier to goldheart and lee hwa.