(2009) Brides of year 2009

Hi Melissa,

I agree wif twinfairy. buying a flat is a long time commitment. dun rush. always calculate hw much u able to afford in order not to let urself slog so hard to keep the flat....

for VG n PG, wat is ur budget. there are some very nice ones. mayb u let us knw ur budget then we can recommend u. btw,juz to let u knw, my PG is dreamcatcher n VG is wow media. price quite reasonable to me lar. each abt 1000plus lor. so c wat u looking at then we can help to recommend. keke

so when is ur AD? everything settled?

Hi Cheryl,

I share the same sentiments as Grace!
Many hotels are charging "premium" for both 20/09/2009 and 21/09/2009.
Its Public Holidays for both days, and some prefer 20/09/2009 due to the nice date too.

I've a BTB for the above dates as well. Venue has been booked for Dinner Banquet. Just that I am currently torn between 20th n 21st for my AD morning thats all... I will probably wait for the Chinese Calendar as both our parents dont want us go into the extend of fortune tellers, as they believe some are "inaccurate" too.

I've actually went to 2 of them before. One tell me 20th is auspicious, 21st is not. The other told me otherwise!!! So we decided to drop them and the whole idea.. we'll just wait for the chinese calendar to determine just the AD morning. (And the Chinese Calendar normally out in Oct or November). As for us, No changes to Banquet dinner as it has already been booked and we like the date.

thanks grace and glamourous..

Gosh.. i didnt even realise that 210909 is a public holiday.. was planning to do the customary and church on 20th and dinner on 21st (coz tot its a weekday and not so ex).. looks like im back to the calendar again..

Glamourous - so which day is your dinner? and where?

Ms vivi, You can try Julia Wedding News...Gorgeous gowns n great service!

suzanna, you are toking abt the Dream wedding or smthg like that rite...went to look a their webby liaoz, seems like they are afew hk bridal shops combined....the only thing attractive is the yatch..but for all the photos of the hk stars, its all very nice, but its all very standard pics at the same places leh..

I went to the roadshow yest.. saw quite a few designs.. However some are quite pushy in their so in e end i signed up wif signoria coz i'm quite amazed wif their fantasy graphics & e gowns are lovely too =) n good services

yeah, u might want to reconsider for tat date unless u can get ur venue soon...

anyway, Glam...wouldn't it be weird to do ur AD morning on 21st when u alrd held ur wedding on 20th? when u say AD morning, i assume it's the gatecrashing n the tea ceremony...

i mean, for us chinese, only after doing the tea ceremony u r considered as officially married rite?

Hi desjO,

yah...we planned things earlier lah thats why we able to get things done fast. We dont want to hit the 7th month also, so we plan to do the reno early in May and completed by first week of July. Then just furnishing.

Yesterday all furnitures came in. Lots of cleaning to do already. Clean so much still so dusty.

luvlove: I also tot of getting bigger flats but I think of cleaning then i sian already. So luckily we tot of starting small at 3 rooms first. Small and cosy. But my 3 room quite big siah...about 74 sqm.

Yesterday also did some light cooking. Yeah..quite blissful. Now just rest and relax till the big day.

I loaded some pics from my new home. Paiseh ah...my simple and affordable design...not the very very POSH and expensive kind...knt afford sia!

http://weilunjoleen.weddingannouncer.com

link to multiply for more pics.

Hi Vallous,

viewed ur photos. Yup agree with you, start small, simple, affordable design, so long as your hubby and you feel happy to be back into your cosy home. I guess all these matters more than POSH designs.

I will be looking forward to my own home as well

Thanks christy & peareys.

Shall discuss with my hub and see how. Now like all pkg have increase their price le.

Hi Melissa,

I'm using foto u for my PG maybe u can check it out @ foto-u.com

As for VG i'm considering wowmedia which mashi recommend. ;)

Mashi, can i check with you how much deposit must paid for wowmedia?

Hi grace,

I viewed ur mickey and minnie pics too...very sweet!

Yah..most impt is to learn to stay together in the same home. Perhaps future then upgrade when family unit expands.

Hi Desjo

the charcoal can help eliminate the cupboard odour, cos i tried tea leaves & thristy hippo but doesnt help. Dun need alot, just break into smaller pieces.
But the dust need a few thorough rounds of cleaning to clear.
Dun worry, u will be very excited to do the cleaning when ur reno is done.
R u moving in after ur reno completed?

Hi Vallous

Cos we go for balloting, by the time we get to choose only left with 5-rm & executive, since our preferred unit is still available, we just go for it.
anyway we are happy for the bigger place, at least my dogs get to run around. Just tired doing cleaning.

Nowadays resale flats prices have increased so much... so hdb WIS one still more affordable

Peareys> your reply is very very detailed, i like haha. Thanks soo much
Very reassuring to hear yr words. I thk i had the same reaction as u, as in when my SO suggested trying out Msia BS i was like har...need to travel back n forth u know.

Are either 1 of u msian? My hb is msian and we will be holding another banquet in KL. So at 1st i tot why not try KL BS, but seeing the number of trips required i thk JB trpt cost cfm much less. :p

No offence but 1 thing i realise from msia BS photos is they like to do crosspages with lots of digital effects. and i dont really like it. prefer all natural or plain background n preferable only limit to 1 or 2 poses page.

So i'm playing with the idea of renting gowns only from Msia BS and then hire my own pre-wed + AD PG. What u think?

Hi Grace & Cheryl,

YES, AD morning means the Chinese customary and all. And for chinese, we only count the Chinese customary day. Dinner date not really counted.

21092009 Is the day after Public Holiday - 20092009 (Sun). For public hols that falls on Sunday, the following Monday is a P.Hols too. So 21092009 is a Public Holiday too! =)

My dinner banquet on 21st September 2009. Shangri-La Hotel.

Cheryl, My initial plans is almost similar to yours, just that mine no church but just solemization. If 20th is not an auspicious date, then I will shift everything over and complete everything within a day on 21st Sept.

Can still be done. Just that I prefer spilt days, though charges may be higher for double day surcharges on P. Hols, both days. =)

I read in the news many ppl turn up to view the showflat... but it's expensive as well, just slightly cheaper than Cityview.. and considering if ur hubby is driving, need to pay ERP when go home (CTE) i think parkcentral is not for me :P

Vallous, can i know where u get ur book shelves from?? Looking for something liddat too.. btw how much are they??

I like ur toilet tiles too.. heh.. seems like u got most of ur kitchen stuffs from ikea eh.. hahaha..

mrswang,

if i nt wrong, wowmedia deposit is abt 50% of the package. so if u dun wan to pay so much upfront, mayb u can nego wif them first.

but muz act fast liao as he is revising the prices for 2009 soon...

21 Sept is so hot omg.. i was also looking into this date but also taken up=)

Hi Grace i did ask him but he keep persuading me to wait for the wedding case i duno y also...

Hi BTBs,

I/m having my AD on 4th july 2009 too!! Wao.. Din know that there is so many july brides here.. Thought that i'm the only one.. =)

Crystal - According to the elderly they think that double month is not good.. But i seriously thought that u personally feel which is the best dates for u guys..

my htb oso tink too expensive le.. we not applying as well.. tink me better concentrate on punggol bto bah..

but private developers are indeed faster loh.. parkcentral will be ready in 2011.. normal bto projects frm now will only be ready in 2012/13.. haiz..

He's Andrew from 1st Journal. He's style is wat i like but price too exp for me.

Yeah. Tat's why it's impt to stick to your budget so you do not overspend for your wedding.

Zhiling, raffles hotel, wow! it sounds lovely

juztea, thanks for the tip. the 'challenge' is that my HTB and I don't drive (HTB is from Sweden, hasn't converted his licence yet, and I don't have a licence in the first place haha), so prob have to go around on foot. But yea, looks like Tanjong Pagar is a gd place to start

Crystal, one thing good abt having your AD during e double month is that hotel banquet prices are ALOT cheaper .. seriously! For me, my HTB and I aren't the superstitious sort, my parents too, but they requested for us not to have the wedding during the double month for the sake of their friends who ARE superstitious. So I guess in the end, it's up to what you and your HTB want your wedding celebration to be. If it's a cosy dinner among close family and friends, I don't think it shld be too much of an issue (provided ur parents are ok with it of cos).

Shiyun, welcome!!
July is an awesome month hehe ... after all, the number 7 is the number of perfection ;) My MIL-to-be was teasing me and my HTB, that we 'missed' the perfect 070707 wedding date haha ... we weren't even engaged then :P

Hi Ixoral, u also a Oct 09 bride? What date had you choosen? Yeh, i am also an anti-cross page person. Too digital heacache ah! But going ala-crate might be costly too. But if you have the budget, y not?

I guess i must start booking VG and PG now, seems like alot of them are increasing their price.

Vallous, your home is nicely done.. simple but nice..

desjo, I tried for 1 year plus liao lor... try until i sianz already still can't get any.. *sighz*...

so envy so many of you gals got your love nest and is busy with the reno and cleaning already... still counting for my turn to come....

well, i guess he can guarantee u tat he won't let the venue be taken up for 21/09/09 frm now till the wedding show....if not, u will be at losing end also wat

was initially looking at Oct09 but FMIL say the date we want no gd, so we settle on Nov09 instead. But i havent cfm my banquet venue yet. Need to cfm it within these 2 weeks! scared the date i want gets taken up

i thot there's gg to b qute a few BS? my fren saw the ad in straits times.. hmm.. now thinking twice abt gg... when is the one at marina?

ya...actually there is quite a few bridal. i saw french bridal, sattine, julie, my dream wedding & a few more... so if u wan to browse through can actualli go there to tk a look.

vivi, i got mine long long time ago.. haha

cymk, there are quite a lot of BS.. the ppl there quite aggressive.. me and m bf scared scared, so when ppl approach us, my bf say we married le O.o

i think the marina one is the week after national day, correct me if im wrong?

hi ladies, long time never come in le. toking abt upcoming wedding roadshow? im nt gg to vivo 1 but will b gg to marina de. i wanna go get their magazine wit more goodie n nw uob cardholder reg online for 1st 100 can get free goodie too. so i had registed le.

ixoral>> Like wat II mention ala-crate might cost more. I heard frm my colleague's gf who is a m'sian she mention that KL
have nicer gowns...but it's too far for us so we drop that idea. It's really depend on wat you really like, no point taking
a crosspage wif digital package juz becoz it's cheaper but ended up you dun like it. Many bridal shop also have those
simple ones if you dun like too fancy design...At e end of the day you must like what you've sign up for.

Hi luvlove,

At least u went tat time still got 5 room and executive. I dun even got a chance, the day before my turn..all sold out. Damm sian. Gave up the idea after 6 tries.

Not really costly. I got my 3 room flat in yishun abt late Jan this year before CNY. Since near my in laws, we also got grant of $40K. We got our home for $160K at valuation, minus grant left $120K lor. We have sufficient CPF so end up we only pay from CPF each month for $75.00. haha. We estimated we will pay off in full and own the house in 2 yrs time after we saved a lump sum from our CPF.

Hi Shice,

My bookshelves are from my parents. They bought it a year back from Courts, Tampines. Forget the price already.

Thanks, I love the toilet tiles too. Most of my stuff are from Ikea cos we like to mix and match. Anyway its so much cheaper and it looks good.

Hi keitsu,

Thanks. We just want to keep it simple. Dun worry...you will get your turn soon. Most of us tried many times for a flat also. I also took a year plus before I settled for my house now.

individual couples got their own taste and dreams. For us, we are the 'stingy' sort hahahahaha...

Vallous, that's really cheap wor.. haha.. my hubby and me paying $1314 per month wor.. think really need the whole 30 yrs to finish paying the loan.. =P

Think i'll go search for shelvings soon.. hopefully can find suitable one by end of the yr.. haha..

u not stingy lah.. just cost saving.. currently, my furniture mostly second hand.. study tables @$15 each, coffee table @ $10, tv console @ $250, display shelves @ $40.. haha.. feel so proud sometimes.. hahaha... coz nobody see the difference btw new one and second-hand during my house warming.. keke..

haha shice,

mine some are from my parents..majority we get from Ikea, so tv console around $99, coffeetable is $45.

Ur furnitures damm cheap leh...

you are rite, no one can see the difference. I repainted my parents' 2nd hand dining table. It looks good as new.

You are good at cost saving too. You should be proud

Hi luvlove,
Thks for the advice.I shall try when my furniture comes in
btw is ur flat EA?Did you get it from las dec balloting?I'm same as u.When is our turn,we also left with only 5-rm & EA..really left with not much choices..compare to buying resale is still more affordable.Think I will stay over during wkend coz I believe is also the time when we need to do THOROUGH cleaning *faint*

Hi Vallous,
I saw your hse..is cosy & nice..The resale flat u bought didn't go through property agent?Owner never ask any hardcash?Those I ask min 30-40K.Ur hse is a gd buy..very soon your loan will be clear le
ease one big burden.Think when we start set up family,everyone of us will start to become 'stingy' liao ;p

Hi Shice,
Wow..you really got very gd buy le..well done

Hi Keitsu,
Dun worry,sometimes just need some luck..All of us also waited very long..who noes you may get it soon..cheers

Hi desjO,

Thanks. I went through property agent. Cos we are not fussy and told our agent, we gonna renovate eventually so no need to show us "damm good nice design type one", so average one is good enough. We are lucky, we saw one on the same day when it decided to sell off, person was first owner of the flat, did ask for hardcash, but asked for $8K. We rushed down the next day when they say OK. We had to "RUSH" cos 2 other couples also rushing down, first come first serve..we managed to be the first to put the down payment...like mad rush like tat.

There are one or two units usually up for grabs fast so must hurry. Those asking for 30K -40K are the crazy lot. Damm ridiculous, so they can wait forever haha.

I dont drive either! Its just fun, the shops at Tanjong Pagar can just walk in, no need appt and they close around 8.30pm.

For Blush Blush and Dang, think you need an appt. Cant do walk in.