(2009) Brides of year 2009

Renne, if u engage Don , u no need to worry. He is so much like a planner on AD. My friend got him as VG last year. He guide us all the way.

Hi Yi Jing,

I also haven't decide yet.. cos I haven't even select my gown.. think will decide later too.... same here, my parents and PIL haven't sit down to discuss anything yet... :P

Hi Keitsu,

Mi oso haven't select my gown too. Still taking my own sweet time.. Haha.. Let me know if you need help..

Hi Jiaple,

I think we shld be getting the same project, but it shld be Treelodge right?

Which block did you apply for?

LOL yvonne....

i also advertise.....hmmm...

LELONG LELONG!!!!!
Those haven't choose BS can take Julia Wedding News!!! Price slightly steep, but quality guaranteed!!!
Dun forget to quote my big name :JOANNE (very big rite) and receive another 2 PS photos foc....

(^.^)

hihi, My budget for AD & VG actually very low cos my bf dun wan to spend so much... so about 700-850 for each of them. its very little so i thought of using the bridal shop one... but still looking sround asking for quotes lo... my bridal shop is using simon video for VG. Is it good a not ar... i can't find any postings on them...

Junel, probably u can get BS ones. If the price fits your budget. Cos, by then 1.5 years from now, they will be very skillful already.

Dear Babes, i've finally settled my banquet venue. It's at ParkRoyal Beach Road, Stamford Ballroom, same hotel as ahBlur! :D Felicia is great and very flexible! So i'll be seeing ahBlur on that day, it sounds so exciting.

Thanks Yvonne! One thing off the list to do. I can't wait for that day to come. I have to start sourcing for BS, PG and VG already.

You all are so so lucky that you can choose the area of your love nest . I cant even choose. My HTB insisted to stay near his parent at AMK. Wow you know I only call an agent near his place and the price is 300K for a stupid 3-rm flat le. We have been toking about moving to other area but his mum say since there is a room extra, then stay here lo. I really wanna cry liao.

Anyway, 1 of my gf ask me by spend so much for a VG. I explain to her my thoughts and she still think likewise. I would like to seek your thoughts on Y you engage a VG? Or If you dont wanna have a VG, I wanna ask Y too?

Also Updates pls? How are all your first appointment??

Fatfat, same here my htb would like to stay near his parents at Tampines, similarly resale in mature estate are still quite steep, so we have also decided to stay with parents after our marriage and then look out for possible new launches of new flats in the east.

hi Junel (junel) ,i have seen some video by simon video. Not bad , i would say.
Why not u call them and go down to look at their portfolio?

fatfat,
Personally i feel a VG is good to have on AD. Since one has already spent thousands on the wedding banquet, wat's a $1-2k more? And to elaborate further, the couple would be so busy during the AD that they will most prob be unaware of many things happening around them (like wat's happening during the gate crash - for the bride to see, etc...) The video allows the couple to 're-attend' their own wedding as a guest and preview their own AD again. Even thou chances is that the dvd will only be played once a year after the AD, but at least you have a memory/ video which you can show your kids when you are a parent or even grandparent. Haha.. My VG for AD is 3k but i feel its worth it... My tots =)

belinda> yeah~~~ hope we all get it!! hahhah.. we'll be neighbours~~~

fatfat> is your HTB the only son or eldest son? i know of some guy frds who insisted to move out tho, but they discussed with their parents on their intentions and their parents ok with it la..

if you are moving in to stay wif his family, look on the bright side: you are not paying for any mortage loans or rent!! can buy a few for LVs and guccis.. hahahhaha.. =)

as for VG, I'm not getting one.. mainly cos of budget.. we only wanted our wedding to be a small affair on minimum budget, so we thought a PG is sufficient.

i understand that a VG can captures more motion on your wedding day, and these are the sweetest memories you can capture live. after researching on PG and VG, i saw the difference betw a good one and a so-so one based on their galleries. of cos, for a good one the price to pay for is also pretty "nice" lah.. if wana get, of cos get the best one la, right? hahhaha.. mayb if i tio 4D this weekend, I'll engage one.. =P

if you tink something like VG is worth an investment for a purpose, go for it!! afterall, it's a once-a-lifetime opportunity! like me, i forgo VG but i'm spending on other items like invitations and favours. one of my gfs says i'm crazy cos those things are not lasting or appreciated by most guests, but i still wana go ahead with it.. =)

New to this forum. My AD is 21nov too. My BS is Bridal de Couture. Very happy with it.. think its a pretty good bargain. =)
Thinking of having dinner at orchard parade.. any feedback?
Anyone know of good caterers?

updates~~~

me went for my 1st try-out at my bridal.. only managed to fix my WG, EG still KIV cos that day tried so many and almost all din fit me nicely in terms of colors and cut.. my next appointment is on 28/06, quite long hor.. try to diet now for measurement bah.. kekeke.. =P my PS is fixed as 26/09, hopefully all gowns will be ready by then..

just got the contract for my banquet.. me oso dunno wad to look out for leh.. hahhaha.. corkages, hotel stay, helper's room, solemnization room.. me also got my banquet co-ordinator to "quote me the replacement items for the invites and favours, should i choose not to take theirs.. wad else do i have to look out for?

junel, u can try Jayce for an AD PG but not sure what his charges are like now...I think he works with a VG around tt price. My fren used him for her AD and he was really nice...=)

Hi SS

There is no new development in the east
I have been checking with HDB, all the new flats for this whole year will only be in Punggol, sengkang, Woodland and bukit panjang. I would love to stay in east too...

Starskyz
I applied for the 5room. but i regreted it now, 4 room seems to have higher chance as the application for 5room has exceeded 4times it's supply, also, 4room has more units than 5room.
i am crossing my fingers and pray that i will get a good queue number. I am quite disheartened as i have applied for many times already.

Belinda
How many room did u applied for?

fatfat
i think to have a VG is good. i totally agree with thebsea thoughts. I think it will be very nice to watch the event of your wedding again with your hubby, there will be things that you have missed out on, but captured on the video.
my cousin regretted not engaging a VG for her wedding 2 years ago. she is still regretting it now, and strongly urge me must get a VG

by the way, Thebsea, who u engage for ur VG? 3K seems steep

SS-> Your HTB is also only son or the eldest huh?

thebsea-> Wow your VG is quite X wor! 3K le? Can I know who is he/she?? My VG is about 1.5K. Although my VG dont have many yrs of experience, his work is really quite good in my point of view la. hahahaha.

Starskyz-> You are right lo. My HTB is the only kid in the family and worse the only male in his generation lo. Sometime I think I must be crazy to agree to this marriage lo. hehe

Anyway after viewing so many PG and VG's work online. I felt that PG work is a inspiration to my sight. They caught the most beautiful moment in a piece of paper as allows my imagination to run freely. VG's work is a combine of sight and sound, they caught the moment and play it in motion. Some BTB likes to spend on PG while others like to spend on VG. I know of a couple that like to spend on their pre wedding shots. In fact, in the first few months of planning, I also have the same thought as you do. Forgo the VG and spend more on others nice like the invitation and favors. I wanted to give my guest the best so that they will remember my wedding. But after sometime, my thinking have change to be the same as your gf. I felt no one will remember anything about the cards or favors lo. It's individual, you know what is more important. I think there is a lot of BTB also don't have VG. Just do what your heart tells you. Don't regret as the moment will not happen again. Just two cents of my thought.

Anyway Can I ask if you dont have VG, are you getting your PG to do the express montage for the banquet??

Fatfat -> Yes my HTB is the only son but his parents did not insist that we have to stay with them, just that since the timing is not right for us to get a place now, will stay with them for the time being

Congratz Catty!!....I nearly beccame ah blur's neighbor for that day too....too bad my bf din really like the place. haiz....i wanted there...

junel, if you put your $$ cap at 2k, you can get either fotowerke or lightbox production. Their works both not bad, but of cos, it also have to depend on the style you like, exp on th PG. Fotowerke is still going at PG+VG @ $1550 (VG xpress highlite @ + 250). Lightbox, previously i checked is @ 1990 (include VG xpress highlite.

Yellow B Photography is also < 2k, but i didnt meet up with them. BUT, their works on the webby is good too.

If Im not wrong, CF Tien Photo, is also for budget pple like you n me. Can check it out.

For simon video, you can check out their webby for the video. Its not bad (just not wat im looking for), and their price is reasonable too.

**yawn**.......weee.....tomorow i going to my BS to top up only $$99 to "upgrade" my PS pkg, so that i can go TAIWAN for PS!! .....WWWWEEEEEEE

Meiting &amp; fatfat,
Maybe becuz both of us are in the design industry, we tend to appreciate art and are more willing to spend on this aspect.. Like what fatfat mentioned, we also feel that invitation and favors will be easily forgotten by most guests so we rather engage a better PG &amp; VG to capture beautiful moments of the day, hoping they will last us a lifetime. To me PG's &amp; VG's fees are secondary, most imptly is that you enjoy working with them, feel comfortable around them and you like their work!!

We engaged BrilliantPic as VG cuz we liked their work alot and also engaged a slightly more ex PG cuz we adored him so much. Haha.. To counter these expenses, we settled for a mid-range hotel banquet.. At the end of the day, different ppl will have diff perceptions on how they want their wedding to turn out. As long as the couple is happy, the AD will turns out happy too ;)

Starskyz - Yes.... we will be the new citizen for Punggol
hahahaha

Meiting - I apply for 4 room hope can get it lo.....

Fatfat - its is really good to have VG cos you be in the room during the gate crashing so you won't know how they sabo
your HTB and also how funny and fun during the gate crashing.

Hi Glamourous,
thats what my htb says too!but i dun want to spend too much and suffer later.
abit over the budget already. : ( Cannot do my customised favours and maybe got to change my mind about tailor making my bridesmaid dress..

Hi ju_ed,

We wanted to booked for 20 Sept 2009 for Four Season initially but Lewis told me it was taken by someone. So is you. hehe... I might taking for 6th Sept 2009. Goin to place deposit this weekend.

Hi Anita,

Jonathan Ho from Expressively Joho is good too.
He's listed in the wpn network of photographers too. www.wpn.sg

Hi Fifteenmay,

Yeah, do what U pleases and of course within your own budget set. I guess that varies across different couples too.

Hi Joyce,

U can PM me if you want the Auspicious dates. According to my gf, its calculated by the Fengshui master engaged by Pan Pacific Hotel.

Hi JuneL, i'm using simon video for vg and pg cause we didn't wanna spend so much on those, i rather spend it on my honeymoon... lol

I took up their package in end apr. 1.2 for vg &amp; pg. I top up $200 for express highlight. Not sure how much yr bridal charging you, pehaps you can check which is more worth it. I found them on sgbride forum with pretty good review and their shop just opp my home.

The package they have is comprehensive, 2 set of DVD and photos softcopy (raw &amp; editied return) and are nicely packaged, 300 printout, nice silver album. Photo and video are quite well taken, thou i do not like the video style for some portion which i'll communicate with then when time is nearer.

Hi Patsy and 2009btb, welcome welcome :-)

2009btb, are you looking at AD photographer? If so, it's better to book early espercially if your wedding date is a popular date. Some popular photographers have been booked for next year.

to be honest, judging photography skills based on the wpn network can be pretty unfair to those photographers who are good and not recognised...cos the methods or ways of how they actually got into the network is pretty questionable really...

ultimately, art is diff to many...some may tik tat taking pics is just mere taking pics...but to others, taking pics is much more than just that...it's the angles, the style etc of the photographer n the emotions he or she is trying to portray...

also, dun be fooled by a photographer who charges a certain fee...many of them whom i've seen doesn't even deserve to charge tat price for the kind of work they produce...

therefore, most impt, it's the kind of works he/she produces...whether u like it...also ur rapport with the photographer...etc etc...if u like him/her, then just take him/her

can try Kelvin Koh from Lighted Pixels too...his grasp of lighting etc is pretty well-versed...but do note tat he's a tad too ex for most where i'm also one of them who can't afford him...a pity though

another point is, i'm not too sure if Kelvin does for AD though...might have to check...his pre-wedding price alrd enough to shock liao...haiz

hi thebesa

who did u get for ur PG? I come across one PG who i like very much too.. but his fees is 3K, exceeded my budget so i didnt get him instead..

Hi Joyce!

What a coincidence! Heh. Yeah I've always had a soft spot for FS :P Guess I'll see u at the FS thread!

Very KS of us eh? We booked it last month. When we enquired, there was already one other couple ahead of us in the queue but luckily for us, they decided to shop around some more. The coordinator gave us only a few days to make up our minds cos there were 2 other couples behind us.