(2009) Brides of year 2009

Welcome Karine and Jasmine!

Karine, is it too late to look for BS in next yr Mar? If you need to MTM ur gown, perhaps in Oct you should start sourcing?

my rates are locked already. $1029 nett / table. the salesperson gave me that rate for end yr 2009 wedding. apparently, she claimed other couples (who did not book with them via the wedding show).. had to pay $50 per table. dunno whether true annot. plus free flow beer and red wine per table.. reduced rate for corkage, room stay for helpers and foc ROM venue.. which i think its really a great bargain, esp since bf wanted free flow beer.. plus a $688 nett discount.. which brings the cost / table down to abt $1015 (assuming 30 tables) so i guess at's why we jumped right at the offer

not too sure if you'll get the same price/perks if u book now.. but i know for sure the free night stay for helpers and free flow beer will be thrown in for bookings done before june.

hope all this info helps.

hi blush and shice, can you girls please tell me on 3rd Jan 09, that day, what is the animal that is "zong"? I am thinking to have my ROM on that day and couldn't find the information on the calendar. can u please tell me? thanks

hui, share your info on your wedding bah.. i'll add to the complied list when i'm free.. =)

grace, i think is tiger..

thanks shice... =)

Hi Noxy, can u share with me 17th Jan 09 is "zong" what animal please?

i know i should go to those geomancy ppl to calculate but i feel waste money to go and count for a ROM wedding. ... so hope you ladies won't mind sharing with me

hihi.

AD: 26th dec 2009
BS: L@ Belle Coulture
PG: still sourcing
VG: most prob getting one of the xiong dis (budget constrains)

grace, i dunnoe chong which animal len, i never go to a geomancer to 'calculate' the date.

paiseh can't help

Hi suz, do agree that the package n perks u got is good!!

So u r more or less settled, GOOD FOR U!!

What else is left for u then?? envious leh..

but i really headache and confuse with all the BS. ANd I still dunnoe what kind of Theme I looking for. Sweet, Romance or Elegant.

actually, I have a package in mind. Can I ask the BS to custom made a package and Budget I wan?

hi grace,

thanks for the kind offer for your list...very nice and friendly of you...i knw the meaning of guo da li, just tat i dun knw wats GDL stands for, now i understand liao..thanks for the explanation..now i'm waiting for my date from a fortune teller and i can start to preparing..but alas, i also dun knw where to start from...all of you seems to be expert, hehehe

Something funny, when my frens got married, i would give them advise on what to do, etc..now its my turn liao, my mind turn into blank...maybe i too anxious and panic liao, hahaha...but i'm glad that i meet all the experts here to help me (",)

good to hear that u r awaiting for ur wedding date, christina...

no lah...we not experts lah..we just learn as we go along...of cos each and everyone of us r at different stages...some alrd way ahead...some alrd half way...some just started...we just help each other in every way that we can...advise, comments etc etc so that we can help to ease each others' worries and more...

wow.... ladies this URL that Shice state is GOOD. This is good for brides to be to have a quick check and do the premilinary planning. ;)

thanks shice!!

What kind of package you have in mind? Care to share? I feel like taking ala crate, but it would be much more ex i think. But normally if go for BS, sure later need to top up alot for photo.

yah for BS i think they earn mainly from the top ups....

u have to see what u want most from the BS...is it the gowns? or the photos.....if you looking at gowns quality then maybe put that as the priority when sourcing BS

if its photos then check if the pg has good reviews....then maybe get a basic package and set aside the $$ for top ups...

for me gowns more important dats y i went to julia....then their pg has quite a lot of positive feedbacks so im quite looking forward to it....

i dun intend to top up so i spend abit more on the basic package. mine is 4888

hee. i became very kiasu after entering this forum lo..

wad's left are all the small small issues that i can hold back till next yr

My AD falls on 03rd Jan 09. Was told that tiger clash with us. But it depends on the zodiac of the newly weds too.. for me and hubby, we clash another 2 zodiac rabbit and dragon on actual day also..

wah, 4888! Thats sound costly to me! How much is your budget for wedding? Mine is only 40k....including BS and Banquet. So i need to look see look see....

Anyway, my ROM is in April , push forward liao. Just to sign and simple 2 tables lunch...

my budget ah....dinner usually will pay with angbao mah....so i setting aside 15k for wedding including BS, PG, VG, and all the misc costs

my table not very ex...798nett so i hoping not to lugi so much loh

Hi BTBs!!!! Nice to meet all of you.

When you ppl have ur PS?

NOXY reli nice to meet you & glad to have you working same area as me!!!!!!! Hahaha cars must b reli proud of his HAIR thingy man! So envy hehe

hi grace and all,

i had my wedding date liao...one is on the sat, 07/03/09..one is on the fri, 13/03/09(friday the 13th!!!) which i fear whether good or not...

My hubby and i are wondering whether the banquet rates are the same on fri and sat or not, anyone can advise me?

Grace, can you email all the preparation lists which you had? my email address is [email protected]

Thanks a lot in advance!

chris, i've sent the pricelist to u

i guess to answer ur qn on the banquet on fri, sat or sun..whether which would be considered the weekend price would really differ from hotel to hotel...best would be to have a range of price that is the highest and the lowest prices...from there, shortlist all the hotels (taking into consideration the min. no. of tables u have and wat the hotels can accept) and see if the prices for the specific min. required tables fit with ur range...

after which, u can probably go for the wedding show of the hotels or even email the coordinator to arrange for a meeting so that u can view an actual wedding setup...this is to allow u to visualise ur wedding easily...

Hi Busha

Due to my plus size, I need to mtm my evening gown. I might get OTR for my gown.

Some of my frds also told me that mtm gown may not turn out the way you wanna it to be. But my HTB thinks that it all depend on the communication between you and your designer. Do more research on the gown and tell your designer and I think they will give you good advise. Try as many OTR gown as possible to see what suit you the best and amend according to your desire.
Just my thought.;p

Hi Cyn26

Wow you are only 1day after me. hahahaha Im gown selection is also June but my PS will change to Oct. hahaha

I'm a bride in 2009 too..alot of things to be done, but duno what & where to start from? can I have a copy of the timeline, or what things to buy ya?
thanks alot

Hi Kelly,
My AD also falls on 11/1/09

It seems like u gals have already plan so much advance.I only made booking for my wedding dinner..care to share w me..Thanks a million !

hi hi.. me having PS in Aug.. still not sure whether local or overseas.. depends on "funds" available.. haha.. and also annual bonus.. =P

how abt you all?

welcome desjo.. hmm.. we only just started with booking of BS, PG and VG, i believe.. =)

Hello!! We are planning to take it in Oct, about 4 months before the AD. We would like to engage Simon too.

Anyway, can I check with you girls, roughly how long before the AD will you all get both parents to meet up to discuss about the "Guo Da Li"?

wow..shice,i think that's pretty fast..Im simply too lazy..btw which BS u engaged?
personally feel that 'extra fund' for oversea PS can keep it for a more luxury honeymoon?

shining, nice to meet u too! yeah man so qiao we work so 'close' to each others.

Hi shice, i might be taking my PS in Aug too, but it's the lunar seventh month though. u no pan tang as well?

Hello all jan brides!

Hi all, i am also looking at Feb 09 or Oct 09 wedding. Still pending for MIL to decide on the big day date. What does you all take in account when choosing the date? Headache sia to try to please everyone. Please help!

desjo.. no choice.. my htb will be overseas for work in Oct and Nov.. I'm with Divine Couture.. Extra funds ah.. i just wish there's no dinner.. then can use that money for honeymoon.. would have saved alot.. haiz..

noxy.. bo pian.. heh.. trying to psycho myself not to be pan tang.. coz my photographer got mention that usually 7th month he would be more free (less weddings).. so might be able to travel if ours is gg to be overseas ps..

talking abt pan tang, one of my good friend getting married in mid dec.. and i dun mind being her jie mei.. same goes for her.. cant possible allow the "pan tang-ness" to prevent us from attending one's good friend's wedding mah.. agree??

anyway i choose what to pantang in and not not to believe.. haha..

hi star, my date is choosen by master but we told him we want it on a weekend so he took dat into considerations when he helped us get the dates.

I've set my AD to be on 8 March 2009. So far have only settled the BS. Still in the midst of sourcing for the banquet..
Any good recommendations for hotel banquets which are not to ex??

Star: I agree sometime MIL advise is also impt, orelse later in future might be hard to get along. If you are really looking at Feb, i guess you need to start sourcing hotel and BS now.

Hi Jasmine and milky,

my AD is on 21 Nov...i am trying to meet up with the coordinators of a few selected hotels...before making reserations. I am also keeping a look out for wedding shows.

Is gd to be open minded..to me is like double blessing, i also dun mind if such event clash together..gd that u wun miss ur gd fren's wedding..
btw any1 know where to buy 'Xi' wrapping paper,sticker, ribbon etc'?

shiny, hey hey really nice to noe u too! heheheheheh u are my saviour (when it comes to transport hahahahah)

Shice, me too, thats if i take PS, i will take in aug too. but frankly, when they got more time, ur photos touch up oso nicer lah :P

guess wat...i'm a 25 oct BTB too..
haaa
wat a coincidence
i tot i was kiasu to go bridal shopping...end up i think i'm later than u gals here..heeee...i better hurry...heee

DesjO, I saw a Xi wrapper @ Precious Thoughts I think. The one @ Raffles City. Its quite nice. Sticker & Ribbon with Xi on it? Sticker can get from Chinatown, tiong bahru. Ribbon w Xi on it havent seen b4 hehe...

Hope it helps.