(2009) Brides of year 2009

thanks shining! I will chk it up

u engage PM as ur BS?Is it gd? me still hvnt decide, considering Sophia or Julia..
hw's ur preparation?i don't seems to move much..keke

Umm.. yes I engage PM. They r v flex. Not bad till now... Hehe... Im going for my 1st Gown selection nxt week le.. seems 2 b moving abit la ah haha...

U r 5 days b4 mine hehe... shd start planning le ma.. u havent book BS ah? Wow damn steady wor u!

Faster settle 1 thing ma.. or else damn rush de.

desjo,

i saw a wedding wrapping paper at "action city" at marina sq outlet.. quite cute.. but for stickers and ribbons i dunno..

noxy,

^5 heh.. we can all share nice places to take photos at.. heh.. but i still wish we got enough money to go overseas to take photos..

is anyone gg overseas to take PS?

Hi fatfat79,
I'm looking at those around 800nett per table. Preferably to be in city area. Im looking at ard minimum 25 tables.

I already have got carlton & HIPV in mind. Should be viewing them soon. But, I would like to also look at another 1-2 more places before deciding.

Any advise?

shice, try to take some place that is memorable, that you and your hubby always go. It is more fun and memorable later on..
my suggestions.

Beach, Parks, Botanical Garden, Bridges, ChinaTown are the normal places already but it is really depend on how good ur photographer is seriously. How he captures. so go with places that you and hubby like to go is much better.

For eg: If there is a restaurant tht u guys always dine or where he propose, take photoshoot there.

hei girls..

guess what, till now have not shortlisted any suitable venue yet.. dunno wat i m waiting for. basically dun dare to commit i suppose.

memorable? hmm.. my hubby and me usually go town.. no where that's memorable, except NTU where got got to know each other.. haha.. and he din propose.. so no propose venue.. =P he's quite an unromantic guy.. heh..

any of you got a nice proposal? wanna share stories? heh..

Hi jy27

If you choose HIPV, I might be able to see you that day as I also choose HIPV.hahaha

But For what I know, both carlton and HIPV are are above 800 per table nett. but you can try to go HIPV cause their min is 25 tables and there is a workshop this coming weekend for HPIV. You might get a good price there cause I heard that HIPV is giving good discount for the total bills for that day only.

I have only short listed 7 place. They are Novotel, Furama, Orchard Parade, Meritus, M-Hotel, Rasa sentosa and HIPV. Most of these places are slightly above 800nett.

Of course if you ask me I will tell you to go for HIPV, value for money. So far this is the only hotel that offer me FOC printing inserts for the cards. But if you want lower than 800, you can look at Furama or Novotel but remember to ask for the min tables.

There is alot of wedding show going on lately. I think you should go to view all the places before their wedding show. Once you have confirmed that place, you and your HTB go down to get more perks.

Just my thought

girl, i understand its tough.. i was like that also. refusing to commit coz its alot of money. but think of it this way.. its once a lifetime!
a perfect venue for that perfect moment!

PS: what are your concerns, maybe we can help?

hey gers,

received a call from Nobel house this afternoon. was shock they told me they still holding to my date as per my enquire earlier. They had mention tat someone else is looking at this date and ask if im still interested if nt they will let tat couple take up.

piggy.. Nobel House - whr??

suz, not sure wat is my worry. Maybe because i only viewed mandarin oriental n intercon and felt that I hv not viewed enough, hence dun dare to commit.

What if after i commit, thr is a wedding show with better alternative n better perks? sigh..tat's me lar, always worry that I will get 'cheated' of better deals

Hi fatfat27,

Abit above 800nett per table still acceptable for me if they provide free flow of beer and free bottle of wine per table. I think HIPV and Carlton has that. I'm now also looking at Novetel, Furama and Parkroyal.

Anyway, I will be gg for the workshop this weekend for HIPV. Because of the good discount that they will be offering on that day if we were to confirm our booking on that day itself, I'm thinking to view at least 2-3 other places first before deciding.

What's your feedback on Novotel & Furama, btw?

I'm also a Jan '09 BTB. My banquet will be on 17th Jan, it is a saturday. Venue will be at Grand Copthorne Waterfront.

My BS is My Bridal Room, PG & VG not confirmed yet.

i'm going to paris for my pre-wedding photos....shld be quite confirmed. booked PG liao, now just need to book flights and accomodation. very excited!

shice/noxy
i'm from NTU too! but a bit older than you 2 lah...

shice, ohhh, we same side, north block, u noe shuqi, eunice from sce?

Hi dreamz81, I have the same AD date as u! And I nearly considered GWC too!!! *hugz*

Emerald, i don't think the prices are going to go lower. And perks wise, its likely to be the same during wedding show and maybe worse as the days goes by, if you are looking at the same hotel. Check with the co-ordinator if there is any upcoming wedding show and any special perks for the show that they can offer you now.

If you are talking about the pricing and perks of different hotels, I guess more or less they going to offer what's in their quotation now. So email them to see their package, and you can just pick and choose the few which you are more comfortable with on the budget and perks. And then proceed to do site viewing and further negotiation with them.

I think only those dates in 2008 that are still not filled by now, are likely to have better perks. But waiting for that in 2009, you run the risk of not having dinner on your preferred date / hotel (if you have any).

Hi noxy, I was considering Stamford and GWC. But at that time I want to book Stamford's 2009 packages not out yet and GWC package was quite attractive, so I took GWC instead. Yours is at Regent right? Quite a nice place as well but too bad not big enough for me.

Hi dreamz, yeah, regent and GWC abt the same price, but perks wise, GWC better and GWC no pillars.

But GWC will be a better choice, stamford isn't that attractive, except that they have a wonderful suite.

So qiao same date! so have u settled anything else?

blush.. so lucky.. heh.. how much u budgetted for ur paris PS? think paris is quite expensive.. u still gotta pay for ur PG's accomodation and air tix rite?

haha.. which sch were u from??

noxy, i dunno shuqi and eunice.. maybe got see before but dunno the names.. haha.. i always skip lectures.. :o

dreamz.. ^5 heh.. i will give u feedback on GCW after my wedding.. hahaha.. maybe we can give each other feedback during food tasting.. there's bound to be some food that we wanna change.. =)

that time i considerin stamford and GCW also.. but stamford dun wanna gimme 2008 pricing for 2009 even though my wedding date is 3 Jan 09.. and they dun even allow booking for 2009.. so i went to GCW instead.. but the suites at stamford is better than GCW wor~!! haha..

Hi chuababy,

My AD is also on 21 Nov 09, but I have yet to start anything. Going to start on e ROM preparation only, you seems fast.

I'm also keeping a look out for wedding shows & fairs, if you happen to come across do let me know. Thanks!

Hi Joyce,

haha, finally found someone with the same date as me. Okie do keep me inform if there any wedding shows too...

I think Raffles Hotel is holding a wedding fair on 6 April.

Another thing, one hotel told me that 21 Nov is the week where there is some Asia Pac convention, hence cannot take my reservation....

yup. agree with shir. prices are only going to go up..

most hotels are open for 2009 booking, but maybe not for dec 2009 (may have to top up $30-$50 / table) . perks are usually better if u sign up during wedding shows.. maybe u can shortlist a few venues den email the hotel with regards to upcoming wedding shows. prior to the show, make an appointment with them to view the ballroom, bridal suite etc..

there will alwaiz be this concern about prices/perks. wad i made orchard hotel promise me (and wrote it in the contract) is that if their 2009 perks are better, i will be able to get those perks as well.. as for prices, like wad shir said, unlikely to be lower..

PS: intercon has nice ballrooms. been to one wedding before.

shice> haha can we like request for same day & time, then we ask for totally different food then we can try both sides. Anyway it will be great we can exchange feedbacks on the food.

I think most of you already book your PS..im like a snail..will check up BS next sat ;p
what about your houses? all done up??

Thanks Shice for your advice..will take note & check it up..i oso dun hv proposal wor..then how u end up getting married? keke

Shining, im not steady le..im gan cheong in fact, but hubby not worry, so I take my time..im looking around for materials to mk my ang pao box instead..keke

Blush, envy u ya..go to Paris for PS..is very romantic..maybe can share with us your Photos after the shoot..cheers

wah, so many from ntu, so qiao. shice, secarely i was standing behind u q-ing for the japanese food in Canteen A while we were back in school! :P

Anyway, me too, no proposal, bf say who ask me to plan wedding so early, he say will follow up with proposal about 6 months before the wedding, tell me how exciting can it get?

I have not settled PS too (me doing ala carte)

Noxy, ur FH is really cute le..can 'make up' with a proposal ar?..that's a gd one..then u better 'follow up' for him see if 'did' it..keke..but better than dun hv ma..cheers

mine too. We started having plans for the wedding, house and etc. It was later on then he propose, cos I did tell him no proposal I will not sign the paper. At least he propose before our ROM, better than he just dun do anything and wait for ROM since everything is already planned, cannot really back out. Also at least he got me a diamond ring although I said I didn't need one. I guess guys not in a hurry to get married lor, so in the end always become girls have to start to talk abt wedding and stuff then become planning and discussion before proposal.

dreamz.. haha.. quite good idea.. i don't mind.. but gotta see my family and my in-laws free that day anot.. coz thinking of having those "meet both parents" kinda of thing to discuss any guo da li sutffs, etc.. haha.. shall we plan the date at a later time? Btw i manage to neg for a 10 pax (1 table) food tasting.. is yours the same? btw which coord? mine's with jeremy..

desjo, we just planning to get house.. then "shun bian" rom loh.. haha.. anyway i gg to nag at him for life liao.. keke.. i already gotten house le.. reno completing this week and hopefully gg in to stay from next month..

blush, agree with desjo.. must share ur nice nice photos with us.. haha.. then we can go "niao" our partner for not bringing us overseas.. heh..

my photos will prob only be ready in dec leh! i'm going to paris in aug .... but i dont dare to think about how much this is all going to cost...

shice, yes must pay for PG's accomodation and tix. sigh... i havent figured out what to do for makeup. dont think can afford to fly one from sg. but i also dunno anybody in paris. anyone has suggestions?

shice> mine is Eddie, I think mine is table of 10pax also. Have to go back check. We arrange again at a later time ba. Still quite far away.

Wow.. that bad, so did u manage to make any reservation? I guess I have to make it fast then, coz we only have this weekend date to choose from.

desjo, hahah yeah man, cfm will 'followup' with him.

blush, u so lucky! can go overseas for pre-wedding shoot! but personally, i think it's abit safer for u to fly a MUA there. Imagine u get a MUA there, then communication problem, u can't tell her what type of make up u wan. Fly all the way there with PG then end up make up not according to what you wan. Seems abit risky to me.

suz..most hotels are open for Dec 09 ler..

i will go down to oriental on 5th Apr to discuss the package. Will see if I can schedule one for Pan Pac and Marina Mandarin at the same day too..

blush.. think u can go for make up courses and learn how to make up urself? haha..

dreamz.. ya.. we'll arrange when the date is nearer.. haha.. usually how many months in advance one ah? heh..

noxy> oops missed your msg earlier. Yup yup so qiao same date. So far hotel & BS confirmed. still looking ard for PG & VG. The rest just waiting for the time to come. Planning to go for gown selection next week and have my PS in Sep.

shice> I also not sure how many months in advance. I think GCW got stated in the timeline they give you when you sign the contract with them. Btw did you go for the millenium & copthorne's wedding show?