(2009) Brides of year 2009

mab3ru, yes of cos need to try else u dunno if u are comfortable with the design etc.....rem those dun allow you to try de bun bother signing up with them..

dat time i went JWN i think i tried about 10 gowns wor...somemore i went 2 times n tried 2 times b4 i signed with them.

My AD PG is Daniel Beh Photography. The package i signed is $1500 cos i took out some items. Now not sure his package how much. You can try to call him at 92725155. His website is http://danielbeh.com/ go take a look first see if you like the works.

My VG is Big Day Pictures....his website is http://www.bigdaypictures.com.sg/ contact: 93655030 my package when i signed up was $1280

Hope that helps

Yo BTB,
Im forwarding my chinese tea ceremony on march 30th and my actual wedding will be held in dec. issit kinda werid? cuz fortune teller says my hubby to be must go thru Chinese customs by May. Anyway i told my mum pls dun go thru GUO DA LI.. cuz its jus a show nia... Pin Jing and Tea Ceremony on the same day is okay right?

Hi bride_09

I think my PS should be Dec and my gown selection should be around Sept. But I might forward the PS to Sept or Oct.

I heard that Next yr's CNY is on the 26/1 and 27/1. So with Christmas and CNY so closeby, most likely to change the PS early to avoid overwork myself. Anyway my mum told me to avoid Dec too due to raining season. ;p

How about you?

If I change the PS to Sept or Oct, than my mtm gown will be around June or July lo.

i also dunnoe leh..wondering if i shd carry out in aug..hehe..due to busy work schedule coming up...then will colelct album in Jan...hehe

there's going to be a gathering for 2008/2009 BTB next tues...those interested can refer to the this thread for more information

http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/6/496071.html?1203652936.

just a gathering for like-minded ppl to share info and stuff...tok abt everything and get to know ppl who's going to get married ard the same time as u also

Queen, u managed to try 10 gowns? I remb going to D*G**, and they dont allow me to try at all. They mention that my wedding is still long way to go and there would be new designs. Quite upset.....

Where is JWN located at?

Actually now i dont know where i feel scare going to BS....they seems like going to eat me up. Haha!

II yah i went first time i tried about i think close to 10...then i nv sign up....

then i went again another time and try on another close to 10 gowns....then signed up...they were very good...

i at first told them wat kind of style i like...then they advise me wat kind i more suitable and bring out and let me try....

their gowns were very nice....just that their package is slightly on the higher side...

II u planning to go JB to find BS or u already book liao?

cos my husband came back from overseas during e weekend when i was supposed to go PMB. so he went too and he want to settle e package asap. went to other BS but husband like PMB e most.

i am also worried that i may not get to choose any nice pics. anyway my husband said it's ok la, sure can choose one. faint...

in e standard package, they only give 15 photos and they can add up to 20 photos only. so we tot have to top up lor.

now i am regretting too leh. how??

Hahahahaha... nvm la girl.... I tink just choose those nice ones la ah....

No choice liao...I also top up ma. haiz... faintz....

I tink PMB is quite a gd BS. So shd not b a prob...

Queen, nono...not going to JB. its too troublesome, i am afraid of the travelling.

You are tempting me to check out JWN, who should i look for? They seems really nice that they are not pushy. Did you nego for more pics?

II, yah u can look for susan or sally if u really interested in them...but i have to sae they dun come cheap...their most basic package is 3888 i think.....

as for photos, i tried my best to nego loh....but only can get a few..mostly i exchanged those i dunwan de items to photos...

anyway u can cite my name Lyana think they will give 2 more photos for referral.

my suggestion is to go to maybe 3 BS then select from there....too many BS oso will headache

hi girls, i have juz booked my wedding dinner with orchard hotel.

going down next friday to sign the contract. so excited and nervous at the same time.

hey , you gals be taking mtm rather than otr? mine is mtm but then my frens been telling me better not take mtm cos the end result may not be what we want/design..... hmmmm...i might take otr. hmmmmm....anyway,i shld be having PS in nov i/o dec due to monsoon seasons in dec...u gals have any nice places in mind for ps?

I have met Long Shifu on Sat.. Finally have settle w/ my AD date (05/12/09).. My hubby will make an appointment w/ Traders Hotel for this Sat meet up..

Hi Suz,

Congrats to you on settling your venue.

I been to a wedding dinner at Orchard Hotel last Nov. I think the place is quite nice. The couple had the strawberries on the ice sculpture with choco fondue during their recept. Very nice and interesting.

hi, im a 2009 bride, but i do not know where to look for a auspicous date leh...any one can help me? and also the BS and banquet...im at a loss now!

thanks everybody! muackz muackz

emeraldbride: u wanted orchard hotel too? i only booked the small ballroom.. but maybe changing.. and yeah, my fav colour is blue.. so hee.. love @ first sight!

teresa: my quotation was based on the perks given during the wedding show. i only have the hard copy. when im not so busy and have some time typing it out, i'll send it to you. but 2009 pricing is gonna be 1k ++ (due to F1 and inflation)

after booking, i'm beginning to regret it as my parents keep adding guest after guest after guest. i feel that the ballroom cannot hold 30 tables though they say its possible. it will be super squeezy.. thinking of changing to 40 tables (the bigger ballroom). but dunno got so many guests annot. what do u girls suggest? change to a bigger ballroom or cut the number of guests? sigh. another headache.

FYI, orchard hotel and the M&C chain of hotels have not officially "open" their booking for next year. we had to pay a top up per table in order to secure the date. i topped up $30 on top of current pricing of $999.. so its $1029 per table..

hmm suz, how many tables were u looking at originally?

Maybe can talk to your parents and ask if they really need to invite all those ppl coz if must, then you will need to book the bigger ballroom. If dun need then just leave it =) Maybe they dun realise how big the guest list is getting

If you feel that you can meet the min tables for the bigger ballroom, then might be a good idea to switch =)

hei suz... i too fell in love with their tiffany blue theme.

but it's okay.. i still hv other hotels in the list, will probably make a trip down this Sat to visit their ballroom.

Everyone seems to be pretty fast in making venue reservations - i too must fast fast liao.. aish..

originally looking at abt 28 tables. but parents like not very happy when i mentioned muz cut ppl.. so if gonna increase, i dun think the original ballroom i booked is gonna be the "cosy" feeling i wanted already...

emeraldbride: how mayny tables u're looking for?

Suz: Its ok.. take your time.. My hubby said his father may be can get cheaper as he have a good friend work in the Orchard hotel w/ high post.. hehe.. dun know true or not...

hi girls, i have juz booked my wedding dinner with Holiday in and my date is fix on 09Oct 09.. still long way to go...
So I think i will look for BS next year Mar like that...

Hello everyone.. I'm a OCT 09 Bride too.. anyone book with Holiday Inn park View Hotel?

Wow, seems like everyone Source for BS nw... I will get my BS next yr Mar. Not to late rite...

Actually everyone can try Holiday inn park view. They give very good FOC...

Hi Karine, I'm a May 09 BTB. I'm looking at Holiday Inn Park View too. Signed up for their wedding workshop on 16 March 08. Have you seen the place? What you mean by they have very FOC??

Holiday Inn Park View is it the one at orchard or havelock?

I been to the one at Havelock, not too bad..service was quite good.

Hi, Grace!

I'm a 2009 bride, but i do not know where to start off preparing...can you please help me?
Can send me the wedding budget list, timeline, and the schedule for AD?

Btw, what is GDL stands for?

Pardon me for my ignorance, hehe...hope you can help me!

Lost bride-to-be!!!

hey ladies, long time no come in le. see so many gd news from all le.

Congrate to Suzanna & Karine!

Karine, u confirm which Holiday inn hotel?

I settled mine as well finally.
AD - 8 March 2009
ROM - 8 March 2009
BS - jawn happy ever after
Dinner - Noble House
AD PG/VG - leonard photograpy

Don worry Christina, you can go to fortune centre or check out the forum, quite a number to look at.

Busha,

I am MTMing all my gowns. But if you don have any idea what you want you can discuss with the designer to try out what kind suits u, they will tell u what suits u best.

Bride 09,

I will be starting my gown process in june. My designer said it will be the just nice timing to meet my photoshoot in Dec. Should be fine.

suz, i m looking at abt 25 tables or less, not very sure yet.

Most of the hotels min are abt 30tables on weekend, esp Saturdays.. dunno how can i make up to these numbers.

but it is good tat u tied down the price first, juz in case the price went up more than $30 next year, u will still enjoy the 2008 rate

christina, welcome *waves*

no worries...i'm not an expert on weddings but i'll tell u wat i can...perhaps u would like to email me so i can forward u the lists i have?? [email protected]

GDL stands for Guo Da Li...that's the traditional items that's required for wedding..usually this is done 1 week before the AD (actual day) where gifts like canned pig trotters, etc r given...alot of the gifts r pretty symbolic...there are also couples who just do the GDL with an angbao...it all depends on ur parents and ur in-laws...

emerald, I think suz topped up $30 inorder to book her date in 2009. So her table rate is $1024+.

I think most hotels doesn't offer 2008 rate for 2009 anymore, unless its for wedding in the early part of 2009 (like jan etc). Those hotels coordinators turned smarter. But bad for us.

Suz,

I also think that its better for you to communicate with your parents on it. Better act fast, incase you really need to change to bigger ballroom and before its scooped by other.

When I 1st test water with my parents, my daddy also had a lot to invite. So I told them to give me a rough list like who and who etc.. to estimate the number as well as to see who sit together etc...

After a few days, I think the idea set into them and they omitted a number of relatives who wasn't that close. Like my grandpa's brother's children and grandchildren, who are my daddy's cousin. Quite distant and they only see each other during wedding.

Most parents are like this, initially very heat up and want to invite EVERYONE to announce their daughter getting married. Then when the excitement went off, they become more realistic and really think of who they really want to invite.

If your parents really had to increase their guest list, I think still can make changes now.

Last time, I seen my colleague's parent, increased the guest list during last min, like 2-3months before the dinner. That time quite jia lat as the ballroom cant increase anymore tables and their parents (both-sides) insisted on adding their guests. So started all the quarrels like who's guest should be omitted etc... quite cham..

Better for the guest list problem to occur now than later.

shir, rate for orchard hotel for the month of dec 09 is not out yet..so suz only prob paying the first quarter of 09 rate..which is good for her cos if 2nd quarter comes, she will prob hv to pay more cos for sure these hotel will increase the $$$

hi Jasmine, Holiday Inn Park View can nego.FOC= Free of charge.
By the way, they are going to reno on July till Sep this yr.

Queen, Holiday Inn Park View is @ Somerset, beside Starhub centre. Next to CTE.

I have pay deposit SIN$ 2500 le..

How many tables you gals having? me 26Tables.

hey Piggylover, Holiday Inn park View next to starhub centre

Jasmine, yup. I got their package you can DL from here.
http://www.singaporebrides.com/hotels/hipv
Min deposit is SIN$ 2500.

hey Shir, ya. like the hotel I'm having is 30more then 2008 package.Heard they just increase price after I sign with them. Lucky.. :P
Traders hotels will be SIN$ 50 more then 2008 package.

Hi Brides-to-be,

I am getting married in Oct 2008 and is also looking at pre-wedding photoshoots. Not sure if you are having the same headache as me! I am considering doing it outside Singapore for more fun and interesting scene. But a lot of such packages from SIN are way above my budget!

I have found a WPJA photographer outside Singapore and is checking with him on his availability.

For anyone who is keen to take pre-wedding shoot out of Singapore in end Jul 2008, pls contact me.

Let's plan the trip together to get the economies of scales and also hire a makeup artist to bring to location together. One thing I notice from a lot of overseas pictures is that the pictures are so beautiful but usually the brides are short of having a nice makeup and hair-do and styling. I would like a nice picture including a beautiful me! :-)

I am considering either Koh Samui or Perth.

Pls email me at [email protected]

Hi Karine, me looking to have 30 tables. I'm going for the 16 March wedding workshop. Will take a look at it then!We're also looking at Grand plaza park or Novotel